KLM Royal Dutch Airlinescompany logo

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Learn how the rating is calculated

3 83 complaints
36 resolved 47 unresolved

Is this your company? Claim it and get a lot of features. Read more

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines Go to website

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines reviews & complaints

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines complaints 83

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - Online booking system

Filed a complaint 01/11/21

No one has responded yet. I have made sever calls, waiting upto 1hr each time for the call to be answered.

Terrible customer service

I made a booking online the payment was accepted, the locator was given. Received an email 10 minutes of making the booking advising payment failed, even though klm held this payment for 5 days.
The same flight was booked the following mor with the sa card, I a a freq flyer member and the fare was gbp58 more which went through

Desired outcome: Difference in the flight cost to be reimbursed

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - Refund issue

Hello, I tried to send you an e-mail with my complaints, but no respond..
I have recieved a decision from an attorneys office, regarding I have the right to recieve back economical refunds from KLM. How come you will not respond to the courts already decision?
Please see the attached file and contact me for to solve it.

Thanks in advance,

// Daniel

Desired outcome: Get my refund back, in cash

D

inguiry regarding the decision from ARN D Daniel . Till: [email protected] Ons [protected]:23 041 - Beslut [protected]) PDF280 kB Hi KLM / Customer Care Services! I have received a decision in this case from ARN [protected]), that according to EU Regulation 26/2004, and EU case law, passengers are entitled to compensation under Article 7 (1), if a flight is canceled, or delayed, so that passengers arrive 3 hours, or more according to the established timetable. In its decision, ARN announced, among other things, the amount of EUR 600 per passenger, plus interest, in accordance with Sections 4 and 6 of the Interest Act per passenger, to me. Thus, we were two travelers in this case. We now wonder how KLM intends to utilize this financial compensation for us. Would be extremely grateful if KLM would heed ARN's decision in this matter, and promptly replace us in accordance with this decision. Advantageously, this can thus be done by depositing in a Swedish bank; thereby substantially facilitating the replacement process. Please pay the amount and interest that ARN has announced in its decision [protected]). Thanks in advance, As well as on reunion; Nils R. Daniel Kämpe Advantageously, the payment is given to: Swedbank BIC: SWEDSESS                            SWEDSESSXXX IBAN: SE23 [protected] Amount: 1200 EUR (600 EUR per person),                                   plus interest

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - KLM Cancelled my booking

I booked a two-way flight from MEX (Mexico City) to MUC (Münich), and paid $20, 000 MXN, then after a while, I changed the date of the flight and two things happened:

1.- The date didn't change
2.- my return flight booking was CANCELLED

After an odyssey trying to figure out what happened an unhelpful customer service, they told me that my only option was to "reschedule" my flight and they charged me $16, 000 more on top of what I had already paid. No vouchers, nor refunds for a mistake of their software.

Desired outcome: a return of my money and an explanation of what happened

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - Attitude was worst I've seen in 30 years of been in business

I was on the flight (KL 1230) with your airline, and I have some concerns that I wish to address. And the reason this has come about, is I had a connection to make at AMS to an international flight...

Read full review

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - Racist against brown people

Recently we bought 5 tickets to travel from Cambodia to Ecuador. We are all Cambodian nationals. Upon arriving in Singapore to board the flight to Amsterdam. We were told at the gate we would not be...

Read full review

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - Contacting KLM in †he Netherlands

Dear Sirs,

When staying in the Netherlands, I and my wife Guurtje Kisch-Heringa needed to postpone our return flight to Israel from July 12 to July 21.
Since no email address was given to do this, I had to do it by 'phone
When trying to contact the KLM servicetelephone [protected], on July 5 and 6, I received recorded messages variously stating that that waiting times were over 10 minutes or one hour. On at least three occasions I waited for a reply for well over an hour, without getting a response.
This is appalingly poor service.
If you are unable/unwilling to let me have a convincing explanation beyond the standard "we are very sorry for the inconvenience", I will seriously have to consider not flying KLM in the future.
I may mention that I am a Flying Blue member of old standing, nr [protected] 3.

Yours sincerely,

(Prof.) Hanan Kisch
e-mail : [protected]@bgu.ac.il
Tel : +[protected]

Desired outcome: Explanation for poor telephone service

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - Ticket refund amount

Dear sir or madam,
I recently requested a voucher be issued for the remaining part of the journey (Minsk-Aberdeen) Booking # J9NPKE (Alena McRobb) I received an email from KLM providing a voucher for 115EU this is 25% of the original ticket purchased and an absolute insult to your clients, especially flying blue clients whom have regularly utilised the KLM service over years and when there is a travel ban the refunded part of the ticket is not even sufficient to travel back to the original destination.

I have made several calls to your KLM Netherlands office (at my cost) I have waited 30-40mins on hold, been cut off and not provided with sufficient answer as to why such a terrible refund would even be considered. I would appreciate an official answer as to why a reasonable offer wouldn't be made considering I have a friend whom was offered 250EU by KLM AMS just to take the next flight out returning to the UK, it would appear to me there are some serious flosses in the refund system?

To be completely frank I am so disappointed in KLM regarding this complete process, I would like this to be taken as an official complaint.

Alena McRobb
alena.[protected]@me.com

Desired outcome: Voucher reviewed and alternation offer provided (acceptable offer)

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - Delay in refund

I was suppose to travel with my family (5 tickets) to LAX, USA on 30 May 2020. The Flights cancelled due to the current COVID-19, I requested for refund and waiting since 09-June-2020. Its Almost 5 months and there is no response from KLM. Then a Mail came to provide bank details and no updates since then. What to do next?

Ticket numbers: [protected], [protected], [protected], [protected], [protected].

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - about flight delayed

5 March my flight from Kuantan to Kuala Lumpur MH 1281 7.50 was announce delay at 6pm to 9pm. Well is ok I still can catch up with my klm flight to Amsterdam at 11.50. Then second announcement that the flight delay from 9 to 10.40. Why not announce once at 6 saying that flight delayed to 10.40 so that I can take a cab from Kuantan to klia? I still can make it. Now I have to rebook my klm flight and pay extra 500 USd. Your airline is really unreliable. I should have listened to my friends advice not to take this flight from Kuantan to kL because is always delayed. Very disappointed.

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - refusing to pay compensation

Customer reference number [protected] kl1432. Why is your reply information system not recognising this number above, I have tried for four weeks to send you my passport information again and again...

Read full review

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - excess charge of amount onboard

I travelled by klm1653 on 01 nov 2017 and made a onboard purchase of jbl cordless headphones (art code 72) costing 99 euro.
Txn id [protected].
Sales id 652920,
Auth code 84612
Df name a0000000041010
Whereas as per statement of account as recd from hdfc bank, I have been charged 115.68 euro. kindly help in remitting the excess amount asap.
Thanks

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - airline & poor customer service

Do not use KLM ever!! Below is a copy of our self-explanatory email sent to CEO of KLM on 9/17/17 and when no RSVP sent again on 9/21.
To date we still have no rsvp!! Not even the courtesy of an acknowledgement so we filled a complaint with USDOT:

Sent: Sunday, September 17, 2017 7:09 AM
To: Pieter.[protected]@klm.com
Subject: EBB to JFK Experience

16 Sept 2017
Mr. Pieter Elbert, CEO
KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Pieter.[protected]@klm.com

Dear Mr. Elbert,

When we traveled to Kenya in 2009 we used KLM booking thru Delta, as we have used Delta Airlines for decades. When my daughter and I planned to travel to Uganda in we booked thru KLM in February 2017 at a cost of some $1919.46 (Originally $1823.88 plus seat charges of $95.58) for our trip to and from Uganda on KLM/Delta from Sept 3 thru 14 of this year. The first heads up that much had changed since our 2009 trip was when we had to pay additional charges for our seats after confirming our flights, but we let that one slide.

No doubt you would be interested in our trip back from Uganda. As a former CEO of my own company I believe that you may want to be informed if your employees and airline are not living up to high standards. We are sorry to report that on the return back we found several of your personnel who were unfriendly, disinterested, and inaccurate - repeatedly giving us erroneous or worse, false information. At least two of who were downright rude in ignoring our fair requests as if we never spoke to them!

The specifics: When we arrived in AMS on your Flt KL935 on 14 September, we noted that our next flight [KL1723] had a ten-minute delay. As we only had about a 70-minute window to make that connection, we went to your Customer Service desk at AMS. Your agent advised us that there was a direct flight from AMS boarding at 11:35 but that our flight should arrive in time to make our connection to KL6141. A bit later, at the gate we saw flight KL1723 was further delayed. We mentioned our concern to your male agent at the gate, asking him to change us to the later flight out of AMS. Instead of acknowledging this request your agent told us we would arrive on time. As the flight was delayed again, we more urgently again asked the same gate agent to change our flight. Completely ignoring our request he told us we could still make, it someone would escort us off the plane to the other flight, and that the airline and that flight was aware of our delay. Everything he told us was inaccurate, of doubtful veracity, and the behavior of that gate agent in totally ignoring our request to change flights when he could was downright rude! On board we again mentioned our close schedule to several of your crew members and were told they would try. The crew was unable to tell us the gate number of KL6141 but again advised gate agent at destination would escort us to our other flight. Another falsehood!

We landed in Brussels right around the time flight KL6141 was taking off. When we got to the gate another of your very rude agents gave us a piece of paper with “Avipartner” written on it telling us they had rebooked our flight. We asked for someone to show us where this Avipartner was but the rude agent just pointed and said, “that way”. We advised we were told someone would show us the way as we do not know the Brussels Airport but your people ignored that request also. We went “that way’ and found a closed Avipartner desk so went back again repeating our request for an escort and were again told that way then turn left which was still not fully accurate or complete directions. To make a long story shorter after this 73 year old disabled Veteran, who is not in the greatest of health, and his daughter trekked around the Brussels airport with hand luggage for 45 stressful minutes of hunting and asking various airport personnel for information, we finally found another Avipartner desk, which was NOT “just that way” or just “to the left” as your agent advised. Shame on them and KLM!!

We certainly understand bad weather delays but fail to understand the lack of customer service, unfriendly, uncaring, rudeness, and disinterest of your employees. We trust you will not either.

Avipartner booked us on a Lufthansa flight to Frankfurt with another short layover to catch a flight from Frankfurt into JFK. We again asked for a longer delay or direct flight but were told none were available. That flight was also delayed and landed about a minute before the scheduled takeoff our connecting flight, which was quite far from the landing gate. My daughter literally ran to the next flight to hold it for me. She ran with her hand baggage having to run up several flights of steps to get there only to discover we had again missed the connecting flight. As I caught up to my daughter she did not look well and had to sit down before we went over to the Lufthansa Customer Service Desk. The Lufthansa employees were a much more friendly and customer oriented. They had to put us up in a hotel with a Delta flight back to JFK the next morning. We finally landed in JFK about 1PM 15 Sept, some 24 hours after we were supposed to! Both of us were worn out, and not feeling physically well after this long trek around the airport and the physical and emotional stress of missing the flights. Some of your people need the same customer friendly oriented training that your partner airline Delta gives to their employees.

Based on this terrible experience we have lost confidence in KLM and will never again select KLM as our airline of choice. We will tell of our experience on various travel sites so future passengers will be aware. We look forward to your response to our concerns.
Sincerely,

HK

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - airlines seat charges

Happy to get good rate for KLM flights to Africa but then got bill with almost a hundred dollars in additional charges for seats. We were not advised, nor did we agreed to these additional charges. These were just regular seats not extra space or anything like that!! Called KLM and they advised charging for seats is their policy since 2016. I advised that our state looks down on charges that customer is made made aware of and agree to at time of purchase. told they can do nothing so had to pay.
KLM get the shame of the year award!!
We request a credit of $95.58

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - klm ticket counter at kuala lumpur & klm customer care europe.

My Vietnamese Partner and I travelled with KLM (for the first and only time on 18th December 2016), and with many other Airlines we regularly use.

This time with KLM at the KLM Ticket counter at kuala lumpur after going on-line to confirm our booking and printing out our boarding passes we only wished to have them take our luggage etc and check everything was good to go, nothing more we thought.?

Unlike all other Airlines we used on this trip (Jet Star, Cathay Pacific, Air Asia etc) the ground ticket crew put us through horrendous humiliating and embarrassing questioning in front many lined up customers and staff. We were treated we feel like criminals!

We brought this up with the manageress over the Ticket counter at KLM and she was very unfriendly and rude, very dismissive etc!

The Male steward on the flight suggested we speak to his manageress who attempted with her poor English and writing / typing skills type out a complaint. This was on 18th December 2016 and by the 8th January 2017 we had heard nothing in the way of a reply.

Ignored we contacted their KLM President via email (Mr Pieter Elbers who could not be troubled to email even from one of his staff) and yet entered KLM so called 'customer care Europe' with the unbelievable Dismissive attitude saying 'From your account there appears to have been a misunderstanding' well the male steward of KLM who said it was not their policy did not think so!

How can a customer be treated with such contemptuous attitude and humiliated in front of many fellow passengers and staff at an Airport ? Especially as No Other Airline ever treated us as they did! How can a 'Customer care' unit so readily dismiss our concerns with indifference in a way that added to the harrowing abuse we were subject to!?

This is inexcusable and yet this 'customer care Europe' man at KLM did everything he could to excuse this behaviour stating policy no other airline have ever used with us ever.

KLM WE are valued customer NOT Criminals ! Sadly Not Valued by KLM! We Will Never fly with KLM ever again and be humiliated and embarrassed as Your staff chose to do to us Publicly!

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - unprofessional/negligent attitute

BOOKING REF: 6GYR2A
This is to bring into the notice of the concerned authorities of:
1. KLM Royal Dutch Airlines
2. Etihad airways
Please find attached the concerned ticket.
I took Etihad airways (through KLM) from NYC for Lahore via Amsterdam/Abu Dhabi I was supposed to board on Etihad aiways for Lahore (PK) on 17th and land on 18th of July. I had payed the full amount and had confirmed ticket with me. I arrived from Amsterdam 2 hours earlier than the connecting flight. At the check-in time was denied to board on the plane. the reason given to me was that KLM did not confirm my ticket with Etihad airways, despite me showing them the e-ticket I had. Now I am stuck at the airport and I cannot find any representative of KLM inside the Airport building to offer any help. I dont have visa to go out. I called the KLM helpline in Amsterdam and they said that my ticket has no issues and they cannot do anything to help me as Etihad's system is messed up and I should talk to them. This quite annoying! I had to purchase a ticket of etihad again so now I have two tickets for the same destination. I have to stay more than 48 hours on the airport with no one willing to take the responsibility! None of the Airline is willing to pay for the ticket or stay even. If this is the state of affairs with your services, at least me myself, and all of the people I know will never select these airline for traveling anymore, for sure. The duty manager of Etihad was unavailabe all night between 17th and 18th July.
I am very disappointed with this unprofessional and negligent attitude of the airlines. I need a complete inquiry of this matter by the responsible authorities and I assure to peruse this to any level till I get a satisfactory explanation.

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - klm ban medical equipment

Having booked a series of long-haul Business Class flights with KLM, I searched their website and their Terms & Conditions just to make sure that, in line with all other airlines, they allow the...

Read full review
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - lazy and incompetent airline

I had a problem with KLM than eventually can be easly overcome by common sense, something that in Amsterdam KLM, does not seem to produce.I'm a long term custmer of KLM, I'm not a frequent flyer but...

Read full review

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - not honoring platinum for life

See attachment:
KLM refuses to honor the notice they sent. We have been over this many times and they've basically called me a lair when I stated my qualification for Platinum For Life using their notices. They demanded "proof" as if I was a liar. I supplied the proof, below, and they still are in denial. Have they no shame? Have they no respect for their loyal clients?

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - refund

On booking an upgrade to economy comfort on a recent KLM flight from Edinburgh to Bahrain, KLM decided to take 3 payment from my account for the one seat.. Since this day, I have called several departments in many countries to try and have my money paid back into my account. I have sent several complaint through the hopeless online customer support website ( customer support, you have to be joking), sent my bank statement 3 times and still no reply and no money back in my account..I have called the saudi office and they dont even answer the bloody phone.. KLM this is against the law to take money from someones account with authorization.. Your customer service is disgusting and the worst i have ever encountered. you are a joke. ..

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines - onvoorziene kosten

Flight Mr. Adrianus Dingjan and mrs Helena Moors, January 31, 2013, KL 0835 from Amsterdam to Denpasar, connecting to flight JQ0038 from Denpasar to Sydney. In stead of going through transit in Denpasar from one flight to the other, we were forced by the Indonesian customs to follow Indonesian immigration rules. This meant buying two Indonesian visa, 2 x US$ 25, -= US$ 50, - = Rp 510.880, - = € 39.52. Further we were obliged to pay airport tax 2 x Rp 150.000, -= Rp 300.000, - = € 23.20. Total unforeseen costs € 62.72. We would like to ask for compensation of these costs.

1 2 3  ...  5