The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Green Dot - Wal Mart Moneycardtheft - poor customer service

On January 7th, 2009, after changing jobs i was issued my pay from my new job. I needed to send a payment, I wasn't going to have time to get to the bank and the paymybill.com website doesn't accept Visa... so I decided to get a GreenDot money pak.

I went to the register and loaded the funds ($250.00 plus $4.52 service fee) onto the "Money Pak" and left the store, went home and attempted to load the funds onto my Green Dot Mastercard.

The load was unsuccessful, according to the website, the load had already been made to my card. So, I logged in and checked my account balance, but no funds had been applied to my card. I attempted to call Customer Service, per the back of the card, but couldn't reach a live representative, just recordings. Finally I followed the voice prompt to "report a lost or stolen card" and then didnt key in any information (they ask for card number and SSN) - at which time I was directed to a live person.

The "Customer Service Department" must be in Malaysia or the like, because while the representatives DO speak some version of English, each one I have spoken to carries an extremely heavy accent and is very difficult to understand. I give them credit for speaking a second language, but it speaks volumes about the company when they dont want to spend the money to have Americans answer their Customer Service calls.

The representative advised me that I would have to call "Loss Management" because the number I called doesn't handle MoneyPak problems, only lost cards. I was given a number and called it immediately the next morning upon arriving to work.

The Loss Management Representative advised me that they wanted a copy of the register receipt where the MoneyPak Load was processed, and if I had it, a copy of the MoneyPak card that I used to initiate the load. I made a clear and legible copy of the requested items put my name, office telephone number, cellular telephone number and home telephone number on the paper... and faxed them to Loss Management immediately.

Loss Management (also located somewhere in the Malaysian countryside) first advised me they hadn't received my fax, although I had two fax confirmations that stated that they had... and so I faxed again, and they said they got it. The representative indicated that he did not handle this type of claim, that he would forward it to another department and that these issues are resolved within 24 hours.

I called back the next day, after being put on hold and disconnected on 3 separate occasions, I got another representative, who advised me first that I would have to refax, then that she had found my information, and that it would be 48 hours until I received resolution on my issue. The representative started verifying my information and asked me if my telephone number was (814) XXX-xxxx. I live in the (304) area code, and had never given them an 814 number. (Remember my numbers and name are PRINTED ON THE PAPERWORK I FAXED TO THEM!) I was advised that the card to which my funds were deposited had already spent the funds, and so they would have to put a "Hold" on the card and get the money back from that account. I was advised that the information had been sent to a specialist for processing... I should call back Monday.

I called back Monday. After more headaches and disconnections, I finally spoke to a representative who indicated that they paperwork had not been submitted until the 9th, so that this was only the beginning of the second business day and I would need to wait, that someone would be contacting me by the close of business to let me know that my funds were available for me to use. The representative started verification of the call back numbers, and again informed me that my number was listed in their system as (814) XXX-xxxx. My number has never been 814 anything, so ONCE AGAIN... I gave the correct numbers to the representative, that they should have already recorded when they got my fax... or on the previous phone calls. I was told to call Tuesday and all should be completed.

I called the GreenDot Loss Management department today at 12:00 p.m., and was connected to Jason. Jason also had a heavy accent and was difficult to understand, but he advised me that they had started processing my request on January 10th (WHAT? I sent this in on the 7th.. and was told THEN that it was going to be 24 hours... and NOW I HEAR it hasnt even been started until the 10th???) I advised him of all the information above, and he put me on hold to come back and let me know that "the person who handles these claims is not answering their phone and I will have to have them call you back". After further verification, Jason advised that he would give me a call back, and the phone number he had on file was...

Guess what...???


I bet you know...


Yes.. it was listed as (814) XXX-xxxx. I advised him that I had given correct information to THREE prior representatives and that I was very upset/frustrated... I feel that the representatives have NO IDEA what they are doing, they have NO Customer Service Skills, either they don't document or read screens, and I am still out my money that originally I was told I would have back within 24 hours... on Thursday morning of the prior week... and fully FOUR business days ago, and SIX actual days from today.

As of this moment, I still am out $250.00, I still have no idea what is happening or if I will ever see my money again, and I am faced with poor customer service and no recourse to getting this resolved in a more timely manner.

My suggestion... Don't buy a GreenDot card, unless it's money you have to burn... and if that's the case... BURN IT... at least you'll get heat for a few moments until it extinguishes.

Responses

  • Iv
    IVA Mar 06, 2009

    I HAD TO HOLD 200 ON A CREDIT CARD AND I CHOSE GREENDOT BECAUSE I DONT HAVE A VISA. I HAD TO GET A RENTAL THROUGH AN INSURANCE CLAIM BECAUSE SOMEONE REAR ENDED ME AND MY CAR NEEDED REPAIR, BUT IN ORDER TO GET THE CARD THEY NEED TO HOLD $200.00. THEN THE RENAL COMPANY GIVES THE $200.00 BACK ON THE CARD. GUESS WHAT? HERTZ SAID THEY RELEASED MY MONEY BACK TO THE GREENDOT CREDIT CARD. SO I TRIED CALLING GREENDOT CUSTOMER SERVICE IN IT DOESN'T WORK! I HAVE NO WAY OF CONTACTING THEM. THIS ### SHOULD BE ILLEGAL. IM PISSED. I HAD TO BORROW $200.00 TO GET A RENTAL BECAUSE SOMEONE SMASHED INTO MY VEHICLE WHILE I WAS AT A STOP SIGN. THEY WAS DRIVING RECKLESS AND THEY DAMAGED MY CAR. I WENT THROUGH HELL WITH THE WORST INSURANCE COMPANY (THE DRIVER THAT REAR ENDED ME) WHICH IS COMMERCE INSURANCE, THEY DIDNT WANT TO PAY FOR THE RENTAL EVEN THOUGH THEY INSURE RECKLESS DRIVERS. FINALLAY THEY AGREED. AND NOW THAT MY VEHICLE IS FINALLY FIXED AND I RETURNED THE RENTAL BACK, ALL I AM WAITING FOR IS THE $200 THAT I BORROWED FROM GREENDOT SO I CAN GIVE THE MONEY BACK TO MY MOTHER... DONT BUY GREENDDOTEVER UNLESS LIKE SHE SAID ABOVE, YOU WANT TO BURN IT!


    IM FURIOUS AND I HATE GREENDOT!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    chrisgoat Jul 11, 2009

    I have been using greendot for about 5 years and I have never had one problem with them or the card, but I do agree about there customer support they could use some English speaking support staff.
    I hope you recovered your money but as far as greendot it has served me well.

    Thanks

    2 Votes
  • Re
    refrefref3rd Jan 12, 2010

    Got a gift, of a green dot card, from a friend and I am lead to believe by the Green Dot web site that I must relinquish address, social security number, etc… to use this card.

    After reading this blog I would not trust this card supplier nor and anyone showing the lack of sophistication and subtlety or of critical judgment and analysis that would affiliate with it especially Wal-Mart!

    I am happy this research has permitted me the dodging of this possible financial nightmare, but what of my friend. I am uncertain (due to the inaccessibility at the card’s site or by phone) of how much money he had put on the card as a gift to me and now he is out. I don’t want to tell him his gift was no good. I do want to let him know of the matter of significance and caution he should use with the purchase of products at so called trusting retailers (Wal-Mart).

    Well I guess these types of operations will be permitted to prey on the unknowing by hiding behind bureaucratic technology cloaking pertinent information from consumers and pilfering their money with the combination of inaccessibility to data and expiration dates. And with the assistants of large retailers such as Wal-Mart will be permitted to directly plague the population in these hard economic times.

    0 Votes
  • El
    elvorie Jan 13, 2010

    they just took my money too. from walmart greendot also these people should be investigated.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    redstop Jan 15, 2010

    Had terrible experience with Green Dot today mysel[censored] ughh!

    1 Votes
  • Tj
    TJ R30 May 29, 2010

    As for me, I have had Greendot for an exceptionally long time. I have victimized by ID Theft from Bank Of America over 5 years ago, and have had a GreenDot card ever since that, since I'm unable to get approved for any actual bank account or credit card.

    Has served me better than Chase, Bank of America, Wells Fargo, etc. I couldn't live without it.

    As for your complaints of getting money put back on your card after you return the car. Credit to your card in those circumstances can take upto 10 business days, It depends on when Hertz and when the bank process those types of transactions. Some banks do them every day (troublesome process for their automated systems), or every 3 days, 5 days or every 2 weeks. Though I'm sure your bank will tell you that it will be returned tomorrow, They couldn't honestly tell you because it's not seen when it's on the back end of the systems as pending. Only when it actually HITS your account as pending.

    As for the Moneypak being pre-spent...I've NEVER had that problem in the over 5 years that I've had my card. Don't know what to say to that.

    As for your address and SSN...This is NOT a prepaid gift card...This is actually a DEBIT Card (VISA) that is registered to your name in "actually" a BANK ACCOUNT that is set up specifically for prepaid services thru GE Money Bank.

    To open a bank account, you are REQUIRED to give your SSN, Address, name, etc etc etc...Just like if you went into Chase bank and asked to open up a checking account. That's why they require that.

    But as far as I can say, I've NEVER EVER EVER Had a problem with GreenDot and sometimes I feel I would rather spend life with them then with a standard bank like Chase, Huntington, Bank of America, Wells Fargo etc

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    nikkibrown Jun 14, 2010

    I totally agree with you. I've worked at a bank and have banked with Capital One and Bank of America as well as Green Dot. I have accounts with each of those companies and I must say I've had issues with them all with the exception of Green Dot (Thank God!) I think it's just unfortunate that sometimes people fall through the cracks due to poor customer service or the rep not paying attention to detail when keying in someone's information. My purpose for using green dot is because I like to shop online and I use it for my netflix or redbox rentals. I dont' like to connect my primary bank accounts to any of those things or put it online due to all the hacking going on these days.

    I hope you guys have recovered your funds and hope things work out for you.

    Sincerely,

    0 Votes
  • St
    StaceyS22 Jun 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To nikkibrown...You said you use the GreenDot card for Netflix? I wanted to get one for that purpose but just want to make sure it actually works. I had a different prepaid Visa and Netflix wouldn't accept it because it was "prepaid"...

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Vanessa M. Aug 12, 2010

    I am in a battle with them right now..$750 was stolen from my account and after a million attempts of trying to get my money back, I've had no luck. I spoke to countless representatives. I've been hung up on over 10 times over the past year. I've spoke with 5 managers or more and they finally sent me a very unprofessional letter that simply said "we can not return your money. Sorry for the inconvenience". They didn't do any sort of investigation what so ever. It has already been over a year. I've contacted the BBB and sent numerous letters. Finally someone contacted me from green dot and guess what happens.."I missed the damn call!"...i called hr right back and she hasn't answer since. Now I am taking this to court. So my advice to you all of you...never put alot of money on a pre paid card! The company who sold it to you don't give a [censor] about you! you mean nothing to them. Basically if you money gets stolen, you are [censor] out of luck! And there is no such thing as customer service. Either open a bank account with over-draft protection or simly keep a safe.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dovesrun Dec 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am so glad that I found this site. All of the comments are interesting. I got a Green Dot card because Bank of America would not close my account as I requested and then kept adding up fees until the account became negative. So I was unable to open a conventional bank account. So I thought that I would try Green Dot. My part time employer did a direct deposit to my Green Dot account and yes, you guessed it. The people at Green Dot cannot find any record of it. They asked me to find out the trace numbers which I provided to them. They still can't find any record of the deposit. It's only for $104, but I live on disability and $100 to me is like $10000 to others. I need every penny just to exist. If I ever get my money out of them, I am closing the account as soon as possible. I plan to tell everyone I know that this company is a fraud. Their customer service eis deplorable!

    0 Votes
  • Ec
    ECTZ Jan 24, 2011

    I had one problem with my green dot card so I took it to Wal Mart, got in one of the electric carts, went to customer service, asked for a manager, and he immediately got on the line with GD and my problem was corrected within 30 minutes.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.