Grand Incentives / Great Gatewaysscam grand incentives!

L Review updated:

I received Great Gateway’s free cruise certificate after listening to the timeshare representation from “Elite Gateways”. I mailed in the attached form on 07/27/07, and received my first registration letter called “cruise registration validation form”. Month later I received “pick your cruise form”, after another month I received “7 night cruise registration form”, after that “7 days cruise planning form” asking me to choose TWO EXACT DEPARTURE DATES 90 DAYS IN ADVANCE, ONE MONTH APART, ONLY THROUGH FEBRUARY 29. By the time we finished with never ending mail-in forms, I only had two choices of days within all these restrictions. And (what a surprise!) another letter says that they have no availability for these dates along with advertisement of another cruise for regular price. I called asking what proof do they have since almost all cruise lines were widely available for these dates especially so many days in advance. Great Gateways Rep says that they do not have any proof but only have 4 free (!) allotments per cruise. Let see, all the people at work and my neighbors received this invitation for free cruise, and when we were at the time share representation they were booked every day, every couple of hours with auditoriums full of people. Thousands and thousands of people got these “free cruises” which they unquestionably could not fulfill since there are only 4 allotments per cruise. This is a false advertisement and scam.

I also received Grand Incentives ” $50 gas rebate voucher after listening to the timeshare representation from “Elite Gateways”. I mailed in the attached form on 07/27/07. I mailed in my first $10 rebate form (I am not allowed to have more than $10 rebate in one month period). After 6-8 week period (as it is stated on the terms and conditions) passed I called and was advised that they are understaffed and hiring more people, next month call - same problem, in beginning of December they said not to worry “thousand checks are being mailed out” and I definitely will receive main before New Year. Today after 5 month waiting I called again and was advised that they are not sure when I will receive it. Please keep in mind I only allowed to receive next $10 after the previous one was processed and rebate voucher is good for one year only. Check out unsatisfactory report from BBB at: http://westflorida.bbb.org/WWWRoot/Report.aspx?site=47&bbb=0653&firm=90017298
Than I read about this kind of scam in Dep of Agriculture Warnings. Please everyone in the same situation post your reviews everywhere on board so other people would not go through that too.

I CAN NOT EVEN IMAGINE HOW PEOPLE WHO ACTUALLY BOUGHT A TIMESHARE ON PRESENTATION GOT RIPPED OFF.

Responses

  • Sa
    Sarina Eliyakim Jan 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    1/11/2008
    Hi,
    I was ready to mail to Elite Getaways my money order for $65.00 dollars for the flight and when I read the above, I think I saved some money, time frustration.
    Thank you very much for taking the time to post the above.
    Sarina Eliyakim

    2 Votes
  • Bo
    Bonnie Mar 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Let me tell you.....if Elite Getaways ever dare call me again, they'll wish they hadn't. After sitting for a couple of hours, and being highly pressured by two different sales people, I was never able to cash in on the "free cruise" or "free trip to Vegas" etc. By the time you add on their "processing fees" and "taxes", it is cheaper to book your own cruise and go when you want to go. Just like the previous writer, it was a very aggravating experience and totally wasted my time. They are liars and cheats and should be put out of business!!!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mary Cedeno Apr 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I hunted on the pamphlet for a phone or web site, nothing. Finally did a search, found a number and called. Have to "be sure to read the terms and conditions" on the form and mail in form with check for $50. Didn't do it, did this research instead. Glad I did'nt do it. Got the voucher from Rainbow Vacs. Lame.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    joe Apr 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    With people like you trying to get things for free... no wonder these type of guys stay in business. Why go to these presentations if you are not looking to get something for free? Both you and the "presenters" waste time with each other. Don't any of you have children you can spend time with, or work some overtime?

    -6 Votes
  • Jo
    John May 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I mailed in the attached form on 10/10/07. Completed the process in 3/10/08. Call them after two months (5/14/08) and they said the person working on my case is no longer with the company. Then (what a surprise!) they says that there's no availability for these dates and 'I will have to send you a new planning form for you to pick new dates'. BAD Company and SCAM. SCAM. SCAM.

    After all the emails about my dates, he gave me quotes on a different date and the quotes is like full price if you do your own booking (better cabin and option anyways). True, 'it is cheaper to book your own cruise and go when you want to go'.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    kevin cheek May 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a time share from kings creek plantation in williamsburg v.a and they gave me a free cruise certificate from grand incentives, and yes it is fraud. the certificate has a expiration date of 9-2-08 and i have been trying to book this cruise for over a year, they keep sending me forms thats saying almost the same thing. So i decided to call them and they mailed me a planning form.They will not let you fax this form only by mail. After you mail it in, there going to reject your request and you have to wait another 90 days before you get another rejection letter stating the same thing "cabin level allotment requested was unavailable".They have no intention on giving you anything, so know it 5- 24 08 and im sending one last form before this certificate expire on 9-2-08 and i bet anything there going to say the same thing than the certificate is void. The time share has gotten over an grand incentives.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    susan morin May 30, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have read all these complaints and Boy do I agree.
    I have sent in my cruise certificate form 4x. Every time it is returned no availabilty, no entry level cabins etc.. They keep trying to make you pay for upgrades but never give any prices. My certificate exspires 9/08. They make you choose 2 dates ninety apart... There is no way... Boy was this a rip off.

    1 Votes
  • St
    Stacie Jun 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received a postcard for free airfare and hotel from Elite Getaways, has anyone recieved this before and found out it was a scam? It does sound too good to be true, but just wanted to check first before wasting my time. Thanks

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Raj Jun 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree, its a waste of time. I got a postcard for free airfare and got invited to Modern Travel Agency in Fairfield, NJ. We were the only couple there. They wanted me to buy a $9000 or $5000 travel club membership that will give me cheap rates to travel. I've been traveling for 20 years and I can always find cheaper rates on the internet. At the end to presentation, I was promised two airline tickets. Instead I got a form to fill out and send a certified mail to Grand Incentives Inc. in Florida. They will send us back another form and I'll have to send it $25/each ticket, total $50 to them and select three dates I would like to fly 90 days in future. There are tons of exclusion date, 1 week before and after all holidays and all dates subject to avaliabilty. They can just ask you to pick different dates. After reading the horrible reviews I'm going to save my $50 and stop wasting my time. This has SCAM written all over it. How can they stay in business? Why have people not complain to BBS and put them out of business?

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Sharon Jul 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Absolutely horrible scam!
    These people ought to be ashamed of themselves. Someone should check into other wrong doings of this organization, because I bet they break laws everyday, but no one has caught them yet.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Ann Jul 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We have a certificate for "a 4 or 5 Night Cruise" on Carnival - actually purchased at a March of Dimes auction. The certificate did not state specific dates, etc. When I contacted "Vacation Tour and Travel Agency", they said I was missing the folder with the additional info and exclusions. The cruise - for an inside room - would be an additional $857 - and was only available on specific dates - not days that I could take off from my work. In my discussion with the agent, I asked what GI was at the bottom of the page - and she said that she wasn't sure - she thought it was for Grant Incentives - actually from the internet site, it looks like they work together. I told the agent that I was surprised any reputable travel agency would be associated with GI. We had already had issues with GI with another "certificate" for a 2 night stay - and realized it appeared to be a scam! I'm not sure who the "scammer" is - maybe both! I agree with others - I don't know how they can keep doing this!

    1 Votes
  • La
    Lana Aug 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Could someone please advise how after so many complaints and so OPENLY scamming people THEY ARE STILL ALLOWED BY AUTHORITIES TO EXIST.
    Please if you do care send your complaints to Dep of Agriculture and State Attorney!!
    They should be stopped.
    It is America and not some third world country for God Sakes.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    Jesse Thomas Mar 09, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Lana Actually... America IS a third world country.
    sorry.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred Rawlins Aug 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree totallhy; my company has been had by these peoiple and the Incentives are big time dis-incentives. Peeople like this deserve vacations IN JAIL.

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    James Patterson Sep 02, 2008

    How can these people be stopped----how about all the people that were hurt by their dis-honesty get together and form a class action lawsuit? My husband & I bought the whole package from the seemingly honest group, what a joke. We have gotten nothing but the old run-around treatment from these people. We have gotten nothing but worthless flyers & hollow promises after each and every phone call. If this is anything that you would like to be involved in please contact us. With great appreciation. Nan Burgess

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    gringa Oct 17, 2008

    Elite Getaway - SOLOMON ARROYO are ### of the earth. Ripping off people as your job is criminal and they should be in jail. I'd do anything to get them there. ARROYO even has his wife and pre-school child playing the 'scam'. that is so disgusting. SOLOMON ARROYO is the ### that gives all humanity a bad name. If anyone has a class action suite going - email me and. It would be my pleasure.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    george Feb 01, 2009

    my wife and I recieved the free phamphlet for listening to a time share promo. We have sent in 2 request and never heard anything back from Grand Incentives. I will be following up with the Postal Service Inspecitors on mail fraud. They need to know about this!!!
    Send it to :
    INSPECTION SERVICE SUPPORT GROUP
    222 S RIVERSIDE PLAZA STE 1250
    CHICAGO IL 60606-6100
    or online at https://postalinspectors.uspis.gov/forms/MailFraudComplaint.aspx

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bentaylor Oct 14, 2009

    They sent back our $198 postal money order after the deadline saying it was void since we did not fill out the form correctly. Looking at the form they sent back they circled the night time phone number. SINCE we had not filled in the night time phone number they voided the entire thing. The ironic thing is the phone number I put for the main number was my cell phone, they could have called it at night, or any time for that matter. Sounds like if this first trip up had not happened we would have had something else happen. What a waist of time! Thought about mailing them some roadkill or poop.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    D and E Petersen Jun 08, 2010

    RE Grand Incentives While on a cruise wE were conned into this also walking along the beach in st Maartin A girl stopped us to pick a lucky card She said my husband had won a free cruise.Anyway bottom line is we did buy 4 weeks of ""LUXURY" travel from Grand Incentives $4k u s
    WE have never received any cruise, hotel, flight, or ANYTHING at all from them WE knew immediately it was a scam WE got back to the ship and I called my credit card to cancel the deal IT was too late
    WE returned to St Maarten the following year and went to see them They were so rude to us and totally ignored us ...Nothing refunded at all...WE drove to Sarasota in Florida to actually go tothe office and they had closed and were moving to a new LOcation????I still have all the docomentation and Know All the names of the salesmen and agents ...I have tried many many times to get some satisfaction, but again to no avail WE are in our 70's and did think this was the answer to our vacation time Thank you Mr/Mrs Petersen in Canada

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Believe It to Be Jul 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My close friend worked for the Grand Incentives headquarters in Sarasota, Florida for 2 years and finally left from all the guilt that built up from being required to lie to "members" and "customers".

    The internal term used to describe all the ways to block people from ANY refunds or discounts is called "breakage". Yep, that's right, all documents are built with specific "breakage points" that prevent any money from flowing out of the business.

    For example;
    1.) Misspelling ANY names or words on ANY documents is grounds for refusal of payment; this "breakage point" allows the company to return the documents to the sender for "correction".
    2.) Providing only two desired destinations for your "free" vacation instead of three; that's right-a "breakage point" that is grounds for refusal to even start working on the document by a customer service rep.

    Ready for this; the redemption rate for "Rebates" and "Vacation Rewards" is 3%. So 97% of every "Rebate" that is submitted, or "Vacation Reward" sent, is blocked by "breakage points" to prevent any money from actually flowing out of the business.

    The owner of the company is Jose Martinez who rules with any iron fist. That's why nobody is coming forth with any testimony or going to the justice department for help; he has very bad temper and will ruthlessly fire people under any suspicion. My friend says they call it the Mexican Mafia.

    The only way to fight this guy is by spreading the word of what a deliberate scam the whole company is.

    1 Votes
  • Es
    esanchez1951 Sep 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also went to Kings Creek Plantation and received a free getaway from Grand Incentives and $100 gas voucher. We also sent in the forms with the requested vacation dates and three times were rejected with "travel dates not available." When we called to inquire they just kep saying they would send another application form. We finally gave up. As for the gas voucher, we never did receive a penny and never heard from them. We filed a complaint with Virginia Department of Agriculture and received a letter that they were investigating my complaint. However, I called Joseph Boisineau, the one who signed the letter, and he never returned my calls or followed up on my claim. What a waste of time. My advice - if you are not interested in a owning a time share, don't go to one of those presentations. Don't let them suck you into their scam.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Getyousucka May 22, 2011

    If there are this many people being dooped by these incentives then I want go start selling them. I'm in the money $$$ ripping off you dummy

    -2 Votes
  • La
    Last time going Jun 11, 2011

    Scam, Scam, Scam, Scam, Scam, Scam. Rip off, Rip off, Rip off, Rip off. Scam, Scam, Rip off, Rip off. Never received the cruise or the gas card. Beware and do not go to the presentation

    2 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuckster Sarasota Sep 03, 2011

    I have had a very similar experience with Grand Incentives / Great Gateways also dba International Rebates LLC. Long story short, my wife and I did not receive the items promised at our sales presentation: 2 free airline tickets and $100 Visa gift card. After not receiving my items as promised I called them and got a request to send them another request for the same items. Then I googled and discovering this site and other BBB complaint that have virtually littered the Internet. I filed a complaint with the Attorney General and the Dept of Agriculture - Consumer Complaints. Today I received two checks from Grand Getaways for $50 each. No letter of apology or explanation. Still no airline tickets, but I am documenting very point of contact with Jose Martinez and all the related companies, Grand Getaways, Grand Incentives, Grand Navigator, Coast to Coast, and International Rebates LLC. I encourage any Florida resident to contact the Dept of Agriculture and Attorney General to report these companies and get some justice.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    JORI Sep 13, 2011

    I just received a call today telling my "I was the winner of the vacation package and Won a 4 day, 3 night all inclusive vacation for two" I was excited at first, but then he wanted to know my income and asked if I had a major credit card to bring with me for proof of i.d. I lost my excitment asked if this was a time share, he said, "NO" Marcus at 1-916-712-9912 told me that someone had to win and t was ME. I asked for the name of the company and Googled this. THANK YOU SO MUCH EVERYONE who wrote in to save my 2 hours of driving, all day in a seminar (I was not told about this part). The head ache of trying to get the "Free trip" that I signed up for at a fair was/is a scam and I am not going. Thanks again!

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    Chuckster Sarasota Sep 18, 2011

    Update. Department of Agriculture is assisting me. Grand Incentive sent me a letter asking me to agree to their terms and conditions for "2 free tickets to anywhere in the US". I can not and will not sign this agreement. The terms and conditions include "the vacation planning form ...along with $50 per person processing free...in the from of US Postal Money Order -non refundable must be submit by mail". You have to select 3 different dates, 30 days apart and mail it in at least 90 days in advance of your first departure date choice. Departure days must be on a Tuesday only and Sunday returns not allowed. Chances of beating all their restriction limitations and "breakage practices" described in an earlier post are slim to none. This is an insult. I will be forwarding this information to the Dept of Agriculture for further assistance. I don't mind jumping through hoops to see this to the end. It is now a cause.

    1 Votes
  • Dj
    djoramo Nov 11, 2011

    I just spoke to these people on the phone while i was reading all of these complaints...glad i was reading while on the phone doing his whole schtick. I asked him pointed questions about all of the complaints about their reputation and he assured me that these were all false. What a scam! Glad i told him where to stick his offer.

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    dmdodson Dec 10, 2011

    I had the exact same experience that everybody else is describing here. I do not want to waste any more time on this stupid fiasco so I'm not going to go into details. Suffice to say I wish I had listened to my husband, who did not want to go in the first place. I do not approve nor would I ever recommend the Grand Incentives packages or the Great Getaways travel brokers that lure people in with these offers! Buyer be ware.

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    JTH 01 Jul 12, 2012

    I am still in the middle of my "free" cruise process with Grand Incentives. After at least 5 letters and forms I got my cruise dates. The cost of the "free" cruise was the same as it would have been had I booked it on my own through one of the many discount cruise sites. Don't waste your time pursuing these free cruises. The fees add up to the cost of a discount cruise and you will save a lot of time and form filling out.

    0 Votes
  • Sd
    sdfjkhsjkfh Aug 06, 2012

    No question this is a rip-off. We should have all known better than to send in any kind of "processing fee". No legitimate travel business works via snail mail any more-that should have been the first clue. I gave up after my random dates and locations were rejected twice-who has time for this? I admit it's kind of funny listening to those stupid time share presentations and I look forward to the salesman's ridiculous "anger" when I just say not interested, oh and then let's go get the "closer" to try to make you look cheap for not buying in. What a joke - I can't imagine how desperate you must be for work if you'd take that job!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KAREN W.A Dec 23, 2013

    I bought the elite get away package, they kept on at me till i did, then they said i needed the extra 7 vouchers, which cost me anther $100 i have tried 5 months early the get a hotel in adealade with them and can not find any accomadation at all, i told the sales woman i would need to use them in april tpld her the dates and she assured me there was plenty of hotels in adelaide, so why can i not get any accomadation with elite? when the hotels are showing vacencies on line, I WANT TO CANCEL THIS PACKAGE, and will fight to do so... PLEASE PEOPLE DO NOT FALL INTO THIS TRAP... BASICALLY ITS A BLOODY SCAM!!! BIG TIME...

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    KAREN W.A Dec 23, 2013

    this company are a scam... be aware!!! i bought a elite getaway package, and for 5 months in advance i have been trying to find a hotel with them, funny thing!! all the hotels on their list are fully booked... strange how all those hotels have rooms available on line ? ive been ripped off $315, NO DEALS TO BE FOUND HERE``!!! dont bother wasting ur time or money, they refuse to refund my money because after i complained they conned me into filling in a voucher form so they could try and get the accomadation i had chosen, over the phone she told me fill in this part, fill in that part, tick the box and send it us, i refused to give my credit card details untill a place was found, now i can not get a refund because its over the cooling off period for 1, and i ticked the box saying i understand terms n conditions !!! if they had cancelled like i asked on the first call it was within the 14 days cooling off period and i wouldnt of been conned into ticking the box... very angry, please please please dont fall for this company, save yourself heart ache, frustration and money...

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Flossytot Jun 17, 2014

    Was offered this vacation voucher, tried to pay deposit online but now I have to mail it in!?? And my vacation plans are now no longer options because I've tried for days to get someone on the phone. When I finally get a rep, 45 minutes after being on hold. She was mean, rude, and just plain useless as far as providing any info. Do NOT offer this incentive to your employees!! They will HATE you for it!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joshua2222 Jul 01, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Is anyone been in play with Elite Getaways offering vouchers at the total cost if $215.00 which can offer up to 20 nights freee of charge?

    Any help would be great.

    Thanks

    Josh

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doreatha Sep 08, 2014

    Grand Incentive is a fraud I sent a form stating a Now Boarding free air Flight for two ..I received it on April 24th 2014. I had until July 1, 2014 to fill it out and mail it in. I mailed it on May 7, 2014. I received a letter stating congratulations on selecting Now Boarding . This offer is valid for two people 21years of age and older.Offer is valid for 2 complimentary round -trip airfare tickets for travel inside the continental United States as well as Hawaii and Puerto . Step1: Read the Details of Participation provided with this form.
    Step 2: Fill out and mail the registration form below to: Grand Incentives, Inc., Attn: Now Boarding, 7560 Commerce CT., Sarasota, FL 34243 Further correspondence will be mailed to you upon receipt of your registration form. Please allow 30 business days for processing.
    I did all above but, to my surprise I received a letter stated : /Dated August 12, 2014 Thanks you for sending your registration /Planning Form, however wee are unable to accept it for the following reason - your certificate /registration form was not sent via certified mail. I was upset and call to let them know it didnot state to send it via certified mail . I talked to a Carol she was very rude and nasty and said she would send another form but if I did not do what it say this time it would be void regardless. I did received another form and has been trying to contact them to change form Nom Boarding to a two week Resort weeks . I cannot get in touch wit anyone. I have been trying for two weeks.Do anyone have the number to contact direct ..This is the # I have 941-552-5070/ 941-552-7885. I have been put on hold for the last 2 weeks. This is a JOKE.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer35722 Dec 21, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    TERRIBLE!! TERRIBLE!! TERRIBLE!! Made a reservation over a month ago as I call to confirm everything was ago a month before my trip, I was told the dates I selected were never available!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Drewmonizer Mar 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received an offer today in the mail for a free 7 Day Norwegian Cruise Line cruise with the requirement to attend a briefing at King's Creek Plantation. Thank you very much for providing enough information for me to toss this into the circular file. If it sounds too good to be true...

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    rigsby Sep 11, 2018

    I was given a free trip by Ambite Engergy in March 2017 I followed everything they said to do and on june 13 2017 I sent in my deposite of 50.00 and now its oct and no comfrimation from them at all so please just send my money back are fraudes...thank you nancy rigsby 1413 lincoln street portsmouth ohio 45662...

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katinak Jul 07, 2019

    I have not received any response regarding my certificate That I've paid for please contact me ASAP
    I have contacted you business on numerous occasions with no response.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem