The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Grand Canyon Universityfinancial aid

G Review updated:

I can certainly relate to difficulties with Grand Canyon University Financial Aid. My "Finance Counselor" Melissa Penny told me that my disbursement refund would be sent to me by the 14th of July. Then all of a sudden, there is this code on my account for the student loans. Well she claims it held up the Pell Grant too. The student loans had already been applied to my account. I never even got a notice that the funds would be late and I was depending on them as a single parent returning to school. My son is disabled, and I could not complete my Bachelors Degree in the past. So, I thought I'd do so at Grand Canyon. Three FAFSA Representatives advised me that there was no reason why my disbursement would not be posted and available for my use. But this Melissa Penny claimed that "they" will be reviewing my account soon. She never told me who "they" were. In fact she acted as if she were disinterested. I was lucky when she even answered me at all. And her boss, Chris Nicholson (F.A. Admin. at GCU) was worse. He flat out lied to me. He said he had personally mailed the disbursement refund to me, then she came back days later and said it was mailed at another time. It's ridiculous. He was very rude to me and acted as if I were bothering him. I tell you--I wish I had not chosen this school. I honestly feel that they are stealing grant and loan money or mismanaging it. I applied for the Teach Grant and they won't even tell me if it is being processed or not.
They sicken me and I wish I knew who at the US Dept. of Education to report them to. I am currently reviewing other schools to switch to.
Gloria

Responses

  • Fe
    Feed Up with GCU Sep 19, 2009

    I have also had trouble with Grand Canyon's financial department. I understand exactly what you are saying in regards to the refund sitaution. My financial counselor was Kimberly, she was promoted to financial manager. Prior to her promotion she never returned calls in a timely manner. I was enrolled for about seven weeks before I finally received a refund. She along with her co-workers informed me that I would be receiving my refund in check no later than five weeks. No one bothered to inform me that I had a new financial counselor, once Kimberly was promoted. That leads me to believe that my file was somewhere in a file cabinet or sitting on someone's desk. I am want to drop the entire program, at this point. The financial staff is not on one acccord and many are not personable to the students needs. If you call in regards to your refund, they make you feel as though you are a bother. Kimberly informed me that my loans had already covered the cost of my classes and I would only be responsible for the drop fee of $30 and or drop fee of $75 through via e-mail. Sarah Nelson, my new counselor immediately left a message on my voice mail stating that GCU would have to return a portion of the money to the lender, if I withdrew and attended another school. I saved Kimberly's e-mail. I read it to Sarah over the phone, she did not want to acknowlegde the e-mail. I am started the program 7/23/09 and they both informed me that I was over the 60% mark, that should not cause me to owe the school. But my new counselor is still not sure if I will owe the school an additional amount. In conclusion, she states I may or may not be responsible for paying GCU and suggests that I save some of that refund check in the event I need to pay them back. With GCU there has been no consistancy. I relieve I will have to pay back the student loans but the money is there to help students while they are working towards obtaining his or her degree. Why does GCU make you feel like you are no entitled to the money that the federal government has allotted to students. Last but not least they also decide that students are not to borrow the full amount that's offered at master's level, which $20, 400, that should be the students decision not theirs.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amber Washington Sep 21, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Feed Up with GCU I'm currently attended Grand Canyon University I've noticed this may be a mistake. My classes are way more than what I was told and they shorted me on my refund that I received back. I have a scholarship for 3980.50 they only sent me a check for 608. I asked them to explain to me why I didn't receive all my money. I was told I have to complete two semesters to receive it that doesn't make any sense to me. The classes are two expensive and I feel like their just getting over on people. I will be withdrawing.

    0 Votes
  • Ea
    Earle19 Oct 29, 2009

    Address (optional)
    I should have been billed at 415.00 online a credit hour was billed at 687.50 as a ground student and has never taken a class on ground from the beginning day 2 contacted Laricia Nelson from enrollment, Tim jones, Erica aguirre, Mwooden, am contacting the BBB and the Presdent of the University Kathy Player, and Brian Mueller CEO of grand canyon univerity. I have went in to university several times no answer on the phone no email returns or nothing.

    0 Votes
  • Gd
    G-dragon Feb 23, 2010

    I agree completely! I was told by my academic councilor that my pending financial aid would cover the total cost of my bill while attending GCU. While I never saw the number I was picked for random verification and my Financial Aid councilor (Alicia Rogers) said that she couldn't (or didn't know how to) open the files that I sent her via email and wanted me to resend them in Microsoft word format... excuse me? It was a photo file. We reminded her that it could be opened in any photo software to which her response to my father (who was in charge of most of these financial documents since they pertained to 2007, a year before I was married) was that she didn't want to have to contact someone else to figure out how to do that! After all of this I didn't receive my financial aid so I contacted my Attorney General to whom they openly lied to on several occasions! While I admit that there was quite a bit of confusion surrounding the whole situation I still cannot believe the complete disarray that school office is in. I will never deal with them again, and I'll make sure no one I know does either.

    0 Votes
  • Tb
    TBAllen May 01, 2010

    I agree totally! It's now May and they still haven't posted my financial aid package for the upcoming school year (including the summer term). I don't even know if I'll get financial aid. So if I don't, how am I to pay for my summer classes? They keep giving me this story that they have to manually enter all the information by hand and it's taking a long time. They don't even know if they'll be done by the end of this summer (this is after three people telling me it would be finished by different times - times that have long passed!). No one returns my calls or emails. When I call and wait until a financial aid "advisor" is available, they can't tell me anything. One "advisor" told me that you can't use financial aid money for living expenses. That's totally wrong (I've verified that with the Department of Education). This is ridiculous. I'd change schools but I'm almost done with my program and I don't want to deal with transferring because I don't know if all my credits would transfer. I'm so frustrated but I don't know what to do or who to contact (that's the problem with online schools I guess). I would tell anyone considering GCU NOT to go there!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Pa
    papouti1 May 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree your diploma will be a joke for many institutions beleive me

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chiefpropellerhead Jul 01, 2010

    My wife is almost finished with her Masters Degree through GCU and has been attending online for the last two years. Up until this last semester everything went smoothly with regards to the student loan refund checks. Typically she would have already gotten her refund check in the middle or last week of May. Here it is July 1st and we still have not gotten the refund check. On June 21st the account showed that it was zero'd out which usually means the check will be written and mailed to her. They told her that they can wait up to 14 business days before they have to dispurse the funds. That means they may not mail the check until the 9th of July and we wont get it until the middle of July. We were told that an accounting procedure was changed and that everything has to be manually entered into a computer in accounting before anything happens. GCU has 30, 000 + students and they really only have 3 employees in Financial aid that are capable of doing this? This is the year 2010 and they are really having to manually input EVERYTHING into the computer system for 30, 000 students? How long as GCU been in business and how is it that they are not able to harness todays technology in order to do business more efficiently and quickly? I just do not understand. If it were not for my wife being almost finished with the degree program and doing student teaching this next semester she would drop them like a hot potato.

    -1 Votes
  • Co
    ColleenG Oct 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My first financial aid excess funding check was delayed because my bachelors degree posting was on two separate pages and they "lost" the page with the posting. Other checks have been delayed because of computer change overs and because they sent it to the wrong address. I wanted to get my masters in technology to give me more options in teaching because I have Multiple Sclerosis. The stress that this causes each time does nothing to help my condition. I'm tired of the run-around I receive each time and of being made to feel by the financial aid workers as though I've done something wrong. The managers aren't there or they're on the phone. I never get a straight answer. The excuses I get sound a lot like the excuses I used to get when I worked in debt collection.

    0 Votes
  • GCUStudentResolutions Oct 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi ColleenG,

    Could you kindly contact me directly and I'll be sure that someone in senior management is advised of your situation. I apologize for any inconvenience you've experienced.

    Robyn Itule

    [protected]@gcu.edu
    [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa78230 Nov 09, 2010

    I am in the same situation! I have waiting for my disbursement check and for a tuition grant I was awarded. I was awarded the credit back in May and it is still pending. I am getting the run around from financial aid about my refund check and the grant that GCU awarded me. I am going into my 3rd week into my second semester and still nothing. My school year ends in March. I called Nelnet (my loan provider) and they told me to call GCU because they received the funds and should have it out to me in 2 weeks according to the law. I really wish I had looked up the complaints against GCU before enrolling. Once I finish out this year I am done with GCU, their false promises and their lies. I want to attend a school where I am able to contact reps if I need to talk to them. The funny thing is I have to pay $225 for a task stream account and I will not come out of pocket for it. I fully intend on using my disbursement to pay for it. I have to 2 weeks left to pay for it for my current class. It would have been nice had I been told that I have to pay for that when I enrolled. I could have budgeted it.

    0 Votes
  • GCUStudentResolutions Nov 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Lisa78230,

    Please contact be directly and I'd be happy to assist you. I can be reached at [protected]@gcu.edu or via phone at [protected] between 9am-5pm Mountain time. I apologize for any frustration or inconvenience you've experienced.

    Robyn Itule

    Social Media Strategist

    [protected]@gcu.edu
    [protected]

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa78230 Nov 11, 2010

    It's funny how we are unable to reach our financial aid counselors but when we post a complaint on a community board you respond within 24 hours. Ironic isn't it??? You will be hearing from me tomorrow.

    3 Votes
  • Al
    alcorona67 Jan 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same exact thing happened to me also. I spoke to Chris Nicholson and I was promised the same thing that it was in the mail. One person even said that they personally delivered it. Funny how they always made that promise at the end of the week on a Friday. Friday meaning that we are talking business days and that I would not receive the promised letter or money but they could cover there own backs by saying, " well...it went out."

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    sk8ermadre Feb 09, 2011

    I agree that there are many problems with the financial department. They do not answer the phone and they take forever getting back to you. In addition, every semester I am charged for ebooks that the classes I took did not use or charged for classes that I am not scheduled to take. I am a single mother of 4 teenagers and a two year old, and a cancer survivor. My finances are very tight, making me very well aware of money, so I am very capable of calculating tuition charges and my grants/loans total. I know how to subtract what I owe from the total amount of loans received by the school. It is not my job yet I am correct every time. My question is how can they be wrong or mistaken every single time? It is their job to know these things. I eventually get my complete refund but it is like pulling teeth. It takes many phone calls, emails and having to repeat my calculations over and over again. When I do finally get them on the phone, I am always treated as if I don't know what I am talking about or like I am a 2 year old. I always know exactly what I am talking about or I would not be talking to them. Whenever I prove my point or successfully prove their inaccuracy I am told, " umm...uh... I'm not sure, can you please hold for a minute". Eventually I am told it looks like you are right and I am not sure why the account statement is inaccurate but...
    Then they have to submit a ticket to have the charge removed before the amount can be credited to my account, which takes another 3 weeks. It just seems to me that they are a little scandalous. I don't expect people to be perfect because we all make mistakes, but we learn from our mistakes, as to not repeat them over and over again. Yet they do not learn obviously because I have attended school there since November 2009 and here it is February 2011 and i have been dealing with inaccurate account charges since January 12, 2011 when they received my financial aid (still have not received my refund). Another problem with GCU is the scholarships that they offer never seem to get entered into my account without months and months of question by me. I had not been in school for 18years, due to being a stay-at-home mom since I was 17 years old. I am an outstanding student to my surprise, receiving 100% on almost every assignment that I turn in. I received an A in every class and had a GPA of 4.0, until biology and now I have a 3.79 but I am on the Dean's list and I work really hard to be the best student I can be. I just expect to be treated fairly and would appreciate not being lied to by finance counselors. When I receive letters telling me I have been issued a GCU retention credit, or exemplary student credit or any other scholarship that I have worked hard to receive than I expect them to honor their promise. I should not have to take lots of time away from my studies and my children trying to find out where my scholarships are and why I have not received a refund yet or why my account says I owe for geology class that I never took... What bothers me most is what about the people who don't notice all the extra charges, that sucks. Imagine the grandmothers out there that are spending their life saving on university education for the grandchildren, unknowingly paying for all this extra stuff that shouldn't be on the account. IT'S JUST NOT RIGHT AND SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE TO REFORM GCU'S FINANCIAL DEPARTMENT.
    Thank You,
    present student

    1 Votes
  • Al
    alcorona67 Feb 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You know I havehad the same problem with them over and over again. I am now speaking with an attorney from an LLC who deals with this type of stress and problems. I have legal documents from GCU and the financial aid department that state when I would receive my financial aid and then never received it. I have all conversations documented and recorded for this very reason. Now I am going to sue the heck out of the fake little world. The attorney I spoke to already told me that there first mistake was to make these promises on paper/email then not to go through with what they put in paper/email form. I have been so stressed over all of this that it is making me sick. Dont pay any attention to the person Robin that intervenes for GCU because I was promised by her too that someone would reach me concerning my issues but ya know...thats GCU for you a school that never EVER goes through with what they promise their students. I am also enrolling un another school that knows how to treat their students right after this pathetic overly expensive $60.00 community biology class is done.

    0 Votes
  • La
    LavLis Apr 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm also having problems with GCU, however, I never attended the school, I was going to, but backed out on the first day. GCU still charged federal finical aid for classes I did not take and they were going to charge aid for the spring semester, while I was enrolled in another school, when I discovered what they were doing. They are refusing to send over $2ooo.00, in aid back to the Department of Education and they will not tell me what happened with the money. I have filed a consumer complaint with the Attorney General in my state and I'm asking others to file complaints with their State AG as well, if their issues have not been resolved.

    1 Votes
  • GCUStudentResolutions Apr 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi LavLis,

    Please contact the Student Resolution Team directly by emailing [protected]@gcu.edu or calling [protected] with the details of your issue and someone will reach out to you via phone or email.

    Thank you for giving us the opportunity to resolve your issue.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    alcorona67 Apr 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Do not believe anything this school or resolution team has to say. They will make things worse and will somehow make you feel as though you have done something wrong.

    0 Votes
  • La
    LavLis Apr 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just found the information to report the school to the departnment of education:
    Anyone suspecting fraud, waste or abuse involving Department of Education funds or programs should call or write the Inspector General's Hotline (choose the method of contact which best suits you): •Call the OIG Hotline's toll free number 1-800-MIS-USED. Hotline Operators take calls during the hours of Monday, Wednesday and Friday 9:00 AM until 11:00 AM, Eastern Time; Tuesday and Thursday, 1:00 PM until 3:00 PM, Eastern Time except for holidays.
    •Complete and submit a Complaint Form (English, Español)
    •To ensure complete anonymity, download a hardcopy of the special complaint form, complete, and mail to:
    Inspector General's Hotline
    Office of Inspector General
    U.S. Department of Education
    400 Maryland Avenue, SW
    Washington, DC [protected]

    http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/oig/hotline.html?src=rt

    2 Votes
  • Fk
    FKnuckles Apr 03, 2011

    I am having the same problems with the financial aid department. My finance counselor, AnTony Reed, will not return my emails. I have sent seven emails since March 17, 2011 and have yet to receive a response from him. I am showing a GCU Retention Credit in the amount of $1330 in my award letter, but it is not posted to my account. I had a credit of $2282 three days ago and now my credit has gone down to $2162. Of course, this credit still does not include my retention credit. How can the cost of my classes go up within three days? They can't. My refund from all of my aid should be $3492 if I eat the $120 that disappeared from my account. However, Mr. Reed will not respond to me about the credit or about when my refund will be issued. This money has to be paid back by me. I should not have to pay for another person's lack of expertise or motivation. I should get prompt responses from the financial aid department. Financial issues are a huge burden to a student. We should not be ignored or given generic answers. I intend to put another call and email in tomorrow. I want all refunds due me by the end of the week. I had hoped to continue with my Master's with this institution, but if this continues I will not. I chose them because of their "so called" Christian values. I am deeply disappointed and am praying for the institution as a whole. We should not ever use Christ's name to lure someone in for material gain. It is an un-Christian thing to do.

    0 Votes
  • La
    LavLis Apr 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    FKnuckles:
    Please contact the Department of Education, Office of the Inspector General and report suspected misuse and fraud of federal funds. The contact information is posted above your last post. I recently did this; however, this course of action will be more effective if everyone having issues with the federal finical aid complains.
    FYI: I also have a good school suggestion, National University, has great programs whit highly qualified staff and professors. I just completed my first Masters degree and I am now starting my second.

    0 Votes
  • La
    LavLis Apr 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    P.S. to my last response, the school I am now attending has nothing to do with this complaint, just in case the GCU spies on this sight try to make trouble.

    -2 Votes
  • Fk
    FKnuckles Apr 04, 2011

    I will do that this week if I don't get the answers that I want to hear. I am trying to give them the benefit of the doubt, but this unresponsiveness is leaving me no choice. There is no good reason for not replying to a simple and straightforward email. Thank you for your advice. I will definitely take it.

    0 Votes
  • Yj
    Y. Johnson Aug 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    On [protected] I was mailed a check in the amount of $665.00. I had already received what I believed to be was my stipend from GCU so I called and spoke to a couple of representatives and I was advised to void out the check that was sent to me and mail it back to GCU accounting department. I did this and mailed the check back via certified. After receiving my return signed receipt back from GCU, I became concerned because weeks went by and my balance was still reflecting a balance of $665.00. After speaking to my financial aide advisor and Tyler Nelson the assistant Vice President of the College of Liberal Arts, he confirmed that it would take a little more time but accounting would credit back the monies to my account so that the account would reflect a 0.00 balance. I pulled up my GCU account on 08/12/2011 and found that the balance reflected a 0.00 balance. Two days later I pulled up my account again just to make sure everything was ok and I saw that my balance once again reflected a balance of $665.00. I immediately called my counselor and left a message and sent an email trying to understand what was going on with GCU. I spoke to my counselor and she told me that because I sent the check back GCU as a voided check, they are obligated by law to send the check back to the government and because of this I have a balance of $665.00 that is owed to the school????? Of course I am very confused and upset with what is going on with my account right now. The counselor advised me the following information “What happened is when you sent the check back voided we by law have to send that back to the lender which created a balance on the account. What we can do is when your next disbursement comes in and we send you another check, you’ll be in a whole new academic year so we can’t roll those funds to cover this balance but you can use that check cash it and make a payment towards the balance that is now on the account.” My question is how does it make sense that I need to make payments back to the school for monies that I sent back them???????????? I was told that after becoming a junior I no longer receive retention credits. My counselor advised me that these monies are retention credit monies and it does not matter the student’s college year, it is possible for that student to receive those monies. Someone please help me understand what is going on with this college and its accounting procedures right now????????

    0 Votes
  • GCUStudentResolutions Aug 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello Y. Johnson,

    Grand Canyon University’s Student Resolution Team works to facilitate resolutions for GCU students. To report an issue or complaint, you can reach the Student Resolution Team directly by emailing [protected]@gcu.edu or calling [protected] with the details of your issue and someone will reach out to you via phone or email within one business day.

    Thank you for giving us the opportunity to resolve your issue.

    0 Votes
  • Jt
    jtgcu2011 Oct 26, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Make sure to file your complaint with the Better Business Bureau (BBB serving Central, Northern and Western Arizona):

    http://www.bbb.org/phoenix/Business-Reviews/schools-academic-colleges-and-universities/grand-canyon-university-in-phoenix-az-34001345/complaints/

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bethridge Mar 21, 2012

    Everyone who has had problems with Grand Canyon University please call the BBB Arizona and report them. Also contact the Higher Learning Commission they give accreditation. Maybe if enough of us turn them in we can get help.

    0 Votes
  • Il
    Iloveattention2 Jun 09, 2012

    My first online school financial aid department was the pits; I had so many problems with this school so I decided I couldn’t take it anymore and changed schools. My second school was great; everything went smoothly. My financial aid was posted to my account correctly and I received my refund after two weeks of classes. I graduated and decided that I wanted to receive my masters degree, so, I was recommended GCU. I had no problems with them at first, now I having the same problems as most of you. They changed financial aid advisors on me and never told me; if I call no one answers. I’ve had to call my enrollment advisor plenty of times for assistance, who still keeps in contact with me just to see how I am doing in my classes. It is sad how far they have fallen. I am waiting on my financial aid to post to my account and it has been over 2 ½ months and then when that post they will take their precious time sending me my stipend. I am so close at finishing this is the only reason I am sticking it out. I will not be recommending them to anybody.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    connie lee 260 Jul 18, 2012

    I do not understand how we get put into a class in a new financal year, without our money. My class is now half over and I still have no money to buy the book needed. The hold up is not fair. they give you a run around and still hold the checks. They have two of my loans in now and they keep that for thier pay. meanwhile, they say the pell is not in and that will be whats left for me. NOW! how fair is it to spend so much money for a class and have no materials to do the class. Meanwhile, one can not get out of that class with out lossing money all to gether.
    I was reading how gcu just lost a 5million dallar law suit. they are perhaps tring to make it up with our checks. also they have raised the cost on classes that are already to high. What a christian school this is.
    I am stumped at what to do now. Just wait I suppose.

    0 Votes
  • GCUStudentResolutions Jul 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Grand Canyon University has a resolution team who may be able to assist you.

    If you'll kindly send the details of your issue to [protected]@gcu.edu, someone will reach out to you to help facilitate a resolution.

    Thank you for the opportunity to provide assistance in resolving your issue.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    TaJa232 Aug 27, 2012

    I unrolled with GCU in January 2012. After talking with my financial counselor, he explained to me the balance that was left from my class that I didn't finish. The remaining balance was $350.60. A week later my pell grant ($528.00) was applied to my balance and left a credit of ($177.40). About the middle of February I received a check for $1325.00. I called my financial counselor and explained to him that I was not a student anymore and I needed to send the check back. I was instructed to write void on the check and send it back. Since I didn't hear anything from the school I looked at my account online and noticed on 2/21 the check was voided. On 2/22 the check was added back to my account and I started receiving statements to pay this money back. My financial counselor said, "The balance is from the last class you didn't complete". I explained to him that my balance was resolved and the school actually owes me money. Of course, all I kept hearing was that I owed this money and when would I be making the first payment. I know that there has to be some type of legal help out there for people who are being taking advantage of.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    morganregan Aug 28, 2012

    The financial aid at GCU is horrible. I have switched programs which has become a disaster. Somehow I now owe money to them even though I should be fully covered by financial aid. I was alo rewarded a grant that I have now taken back! I recieve no letters or information explaining any of this. If I had known this was going to happen I would have changed schools not just programs.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Angel-Ruston Jul 02, 2013

    I am currently a student at GCU, and I am having trouble getting direct answers from my financial aid advisor. I asked when will the Pell Grants post to my account. The answer I got was, all of your financial aid is taking care of and we can't even post it till July comes. Okay it's July, it still says Pending... I need my money, I have kids and plans for that money. And they can't even give me a date of when it's coming. Why? It has never took this long for me to receive aid. And this is my fourth semester.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcusss Dec 20, 2014

    I might have to leave school permanently thanks to GCU financial aid department. I transferred from Phoenix last year. Everything was fine with my finances the first semester. Then during this semester (the second) I did not receive my student loans only my Pell grant. I was told all different stories from Gcu the latest being that Phoenix changed my exit date a few months after attending GCU. GCU had me contact the school which I did several times and got no where. Now there telling me that maybe they can get me a scholarship to cover some of the costs. I am scared that they may be lying to me and pocketing my loans. I am a single parent and I am worried about being stuck with thousands in loans. Obviously there has already been errors that they claim they cannot fix like losing over 5, 000 in student loans. I feel like I should drop out before something else goes wrong.

    0 Votes
  • Kb
    KBaker1983 Dec 10, 2016

    Hi I receive a refund check From GCU. I deposit the check into my bank and the bank said the deposit would be clear the next day. Well I woke up the next day and got a alert that my check has an hold on it. When I call they inform me they went to collect and the funds was noncollectable and now I have to wait for almost two weeks. I have never had any issue up until now and this is very frustrating to have to wait for a school to pay me my money.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hazel Chojnacki May 17, 2017

    Can anyone tell me how long it is suppose to take after recieving the financial aid package, that we are suppose to get our remaining amounts.
    I have received my package but have not recieved the remaining amount via USPS. I am in the online courses, and cannot get an answer from counselors or anyone for that matter. How long does this generally take?

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Shay90 Jun 16, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Hazel Chojnacki Hi did you get your stipend?

    1 Votes
  • Ne
    new student3029 Sep 19, 2017

    @Hazel Chojnacki did you get any information on this I am waiting on mine as well student portal says packaged but nothing eles and no answers from no one so frustration if you got your stipend how long has it been since they told you were going to get one

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    newstudent18 Oct 01, 2018

    @new student3029 Where do you go to check all of this information? This is my first semester at GCU and I was curious as to when I should expect to receive the remaining amount.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem