GameStopcustomer service

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I went to my local Gamestop to trade in a game against an 18 rated game. As soon as i attempted to buy it the guy says " your not 18", i replied "yes I am", he then says "your not", in an arrogant tone. I showed my ID, he accepts it. The other worker then says "bet you feel good about that", which i shrug in agreement and he says "there's no need to feel embarrassed by it".

I said "I don't feel embarrassed, he's the one who should feel embarrassed", to which he replied "I don't feel embarrassed, you don't look 18, you look about 12".

He was put firmly in his place, but yet his arrogance still prevailed. This was then followed by him trying to find a way out of letting me get the discount on the traded game, which he couldn't do either. I left the shop insulted and annoyed I didn't ask for the manager.

Responses

  • R2
    r2d2thecat Dec 08, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If they like to try and fraud you. your bank can help. always use a card to be safe at gamestop. and only use a chargeback if they wont help and its a last resort. horrible customer service.

    1 Votes
  • R2
    r2d2thecat Dec 08, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Horrible Customer Serivice. I ordered multiple copies of the same game online...then they don't ship them to me just one copy yet I paid for 3 copies. and the "corporate headquarters is just a bunch of kids trying to be professional. I have no choice but to chargeback on my credit card for what I did not receive or what was damaged. they really have no clue. according to my bank gamestop gets a ton of complaints and or chargebacks.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Millfieldman May 30, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought two DVDs in game stop 2 weeks ago, one had no disc the other would not play in either of my 2 DVD players, I returned the following day and explained not looking for a refund, just to let them know, a week later I bought 2 more and had to return to the shop within 15 mins because one of the DVDs had a completely different movie in it, got another one, no problem, yesterday I bought a copy of Spider-Man 3 and if you seen the condition of the disc you would not believe the would buy this off somebody, it's a disgrace and to be honest I will not be returning

    1 Votes
  • IronGrudge89 Apr 09, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    "WhoCaresAboutYou?" there's an obvious difference between ID'ing someone and belittling them. Reread the post.

    2 Votes
  • Wa
    walkinourshoes Jan 08, 2011

    but now that i read this one...i repeat - dont be a stupid customer.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    walkinourshoes Jan 08, 2011

    oh my gosh...disregard my comment-it was intended for a different post. somehow when i entered my info it switched me to the next complaint.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    walkinourshoes Jan 08, 2011

    when you have something on reserve you get an automated call the day before your item is released. they don't personally call each individual that reserved something. there is no way they told you that you were 10th on the reserve list because there is no way for them to know that. those stacks of boxes you saw were empty boxes used to promote the new console...it doesn't mean they actually have them-it is just marketing. also you have to pick up your reserve at the same store you reserved it at. don't be a stupid customer.

    0 Votes
  • La
    laceymeagan Dec 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We as a family of 8, are very unhappy with the customer support we received from your Welland store at the Seaway Mall. My son purchased Left for Dead II for the pc. When we tried to install the game it would not work. Opening the disc in windows explorer showed that there was absolutely no files on the disc. Tried disc 2 and the same thing...tried it on 3 different computers in my home and there is no files on either disc. So we took the game back and they told us they didn't have any more copies but they would exchange it with another different game. We said no he wants that game so give us the money back. She said she couldn't do that and we would have to deal with the manufacturer of the game...I didn't but thte game from the manufacturer...I bought it form Game Stop...So with all I've heard it seems that you sell things but don't have any customer support at all...put it off on the manufacturer...Well guess what, it ain't right and if I cannot get my money back tomorrow I will be sitting in the shiatsu chair outside of Game Stop at the Seaway Mall with a big sign that will outline all I've been through...Won't that be a sight to see when your trying your best to make some Christmas receipts...I'll tell everyone I come in contact with that Entertainment Overload is in the next building and their customer support is second to none...I've already told my 4 children that are old enough to shop on their own to avoid your store...I surely hope that you can rectify this situation and my son can get his birthday gift after all...Please respond by tomorrow afternoon or you may see me on chch news with my placards...
    Sincerely
    Gord Brown

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Dave75 Dec 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm standing in line while there are two cashiers waiting on the two customers in front of me. During this time, both cashiers are talking with the guy in front of me since he is asking about what hard drives go with what. I stand in line for about 5 minutes. There is nobody else in line at this time. Both sets of customers leave at the same time and by then 8 or 9 people have gotten in the lines. The cashier on the left(who was not waiting on the guy in front of me) says to everybody that the line is actually supposed to come towards him and to the other cashier. Everybody behind me gets into his line before I'm even able to move. The cashier in front of me looks like he doesn't know what to do so I ask if I'm at least going to be the next customer then since I was next. The cashier who told everybody to move ignored me and started to wait on the person who had been behind me. I turned and walked out. I will never shop at that store again.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Katara_T Dec 16, 2010

    All mid-night releses start at 10 pm and go on till about 12:30, Just because they're still in there after the store closes doesn't mean they have to serve you. They have to clean up the mess people lest behind and organize the store and finish up paper work. If it's not that important of a game it usually goes on till 12:30, unless it's like the must have game of the year. Then the store will stay open a little longer. Don't be pissed because you came in a minute bef9re closing and they probably aleady shut down the registers and you don't have to pre-order a game just to go to the mid-night relese. If you go there when the mid-night release party starts and ask them if they have any extra games and they say yes you can purchase it and wait a couple of hours till the game comes out. They only tell you to reserve the game to insure that you will get a copy. GameStop is not ripping you off, they make no profit off of the games you trade in that are new. The only profit they make is for old used games, which you get very good deal on. The money for trading in a new game goes straight to the video game company, not game stop. They probably get a very small precentage of the cut, but other than that no profit. They tell you to do trade in for credit instead of cash because you get more and mostof the time the money is spent at GameStop, so why not get the perks of it, instead of cash. Also having an edge card, which is now the power up rewards card is a big helper. If you don't have one I suggest getting one. You save so much money and get great deals. I don't care for people who make bad accusations of a store, because they only see one side of it. Go to your local GameStop and ask them why credit is better than cash or why to preorder and don't give them an attitude for doing their job. Yes some GameStop employees don't know what they're doing, but there are those that are great.

    1 Votes
  • Ev
    Evolus Dec 13, 2010

    Is it really necessarily to personally attack someone just because they wouldn't sell you a video game?

    Customers are unable to pick up a game during a midnight launch unless they've A. preordered it ahead of time and B. are there AT or BEFORE midnight. You showed up at 12:30, most likely after everyone else had left, and most likely didn't have it preordered, and you were surprised when you were turned down? Maybe next time you could learn some common sense, and patience. It wouldn't have been a big deal to wait until the next day.

    1 Votes
  • No
    NotAngryInKettering Nov 08, 2010

    I dont think you should attack bartending school! Had nothing to do with it!

    -1 Votes
  • IronGrudge89 Jul 29, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have never once been ID'd at a Gamestop. I've been buying games there for over 2 years.

    1 Votes
  • Wh
    WhoCaresAboutYou? Jul 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    As a former worker there, I will say this: If we didn't ID people for trades/buying used games, we were fired. What's even worse is if the ESRB is doing checks and they catch someone not ID'ing for games, they not only got fired but something like a $5k fine. I knew some stores that got busted in NYC for this, so don't feel so singled out.

    -1 Votes
  • Gh
    G.Harrison May 28, 2010

    The complaint doesn't make sense if the game was that important then you should have driven 30 minutes early they do open back up at 10 and they will not wait till 1 am just for you. Get over it and if you think your such a badass stop your whining.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    theevildeadgirl May 24, 2010

    What is this guy talking about?!?!

    1 Votes
  • Un
    Unscrutible Wizard Mar 30, 2010

    At most midnight premieres, I've heard that they only typically hand out games to those who pre-order them. Next time, make sure to go in the morning or the day after to get your game with no problems. Or just avoid the problem store in particular. I know I've got Gamestops right next to each other, and one is horrendous, but the other one is pristine. Ironic, eh?

    0 Votes
  • So
    SomeoneWhoWorksAndBuys Mar 22, 2010

    I think this is more a complaint about policy than customer service. If their policy says same item only, then it's same item only. They could get written-up or even fired just for "keeping loyal customers happy" & in this economy, no way is some random person they've probably never even seen worth losing their job.

    0 Votes
  • So
    SomeoneWhoWorksAndBuys Mar 22, 2010

    WTF? More info is needed, though it sounds like you came in after closing or after they were done doing the premiere? Sorry buddy, if you're late, you're late.

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    faint Jan 26, 2010

    I don't think the School of Bartending counts as "college".

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    I hate you Jan 25, 2010

    Dear store #6173. You have GOT TO BE KIDDING ME. I come in at 12:29 and you really think that you are above doing your job and selling me the game that is on sale at the midnight premiere. So the doors open the gate is up and all your employees are standing around. I'm a 6 foot white male dressed in shorts and a Cutter and Buck jacket. Who the hell do you think you are to say you won't sell me the game I had exact cash on me and another $500 dollars. I hope you burn in hell for your lack of Southern Hospitality. By the way, it was a 30 minute drive from one Gamestop that matters on Eastchester to your POS location on S Main. I'll be sure to call tomorrow hoping to speak to the women that turned me away and laugh at the fact that I go to college, I make more in a month than you make in a year as it is, and your kids are hopefully starving to death because you work at a GAMESTOP.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scripmoms Sep 26, 2009

    I was a loyal and frequent customer at this store but no longer. I was unfortunate enough to buy a RC car for my son from there and came home to find it poorly made, cheap, and not working at all. I went back within 7 days and asked for a store credit because obviously I did not want the same cheap toy that I spent $25 on but was refused. Yes, maybe that is their store policy, a bad one at that, but I think keeping loyal customers happy would be more important. I was not asking for my money back, I was glad to spend that money and more on something else but they just did not care. I will chalk this up to a lesson learned. I should have trusted my instincts and took him to Target to pick a gift. I will not spend my hard earned money to store who treats their customers like they do not matter.

    1 Votes
  • Th
    TheDragonHead Sep 15, 2009

    I was trying to place an order online and have the games shipped to Taiwan. I was able to register all my info on the website (my Taiwan address, my Taiwan credit card info...etc). When I was on Step 3 of the checkout process, there was no shipping method for me to click on. Thus I was not able to proceed to the next step and complete my order.

    I made an international call to the customer service around 9:54 am and explained my problem to a male rep. He said GameStop does not ship to Taiwan at all and he already checked that Taiwan is not listed on the shipping charge list. I said to him that I was just on that page and the shipping cost for Taiwan is $24.99, but he said he was not just saying. X&#@

    Please take a look at this link and tell me he is bull$htting:

    http://www.gamestop.com/gs/popups/internationalrates.aspx

    These people don't really care where their paychecks are from, do they?

    Gamers don't really care where they get the games from because it's the same thing with same price everywhere, but at least we deserve a experience when we shop.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Rorick Taylot Apr 20, 2009

    I was informed by sales reps the the 119th location (around Ashland / Vincennes) of this great promo where you can trade in a used PS-2 and get one hundred dollars off a new PS-3, well after I went all the way home and packed up my PS-2 with all of the accessories and went back to the store location I was told afterwards the promotion started a week after what was originally told to me and that they couldn't do anything about it, but asked if I was coming back once the promo begagnad. WELL THANKS A LOT GAME STOP. I PROBABLY WONT BE COMING TO YOUR STORES BUT MAYBE I'LL SEE YOU IN AN AFTER LIFE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bd
    bdennis02 Jan 20, 2009

    the using a card on the website is pretty new to our websites so it has a lot of glitches in it but it should be fixed soon

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carole jones Mar 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I tried to purchase used games from gamestop.com and they would not accept my card.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.