The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Freelotto Mobile Promosending scam message

Dear Compliants Board,

My name is Ms S. Le-Jimmne I received a message FROM +[protected] stating my mobile phone was nomimated I won 2, 000, 000 usd in the freelotto mobile promo. sent at 8.05 am on the 1st february 2011
It then reads, FOR CLAIM, SEND EMAIL: [protected]@HOTMAIL.COM & TO CALL [protected].
My sister and I were excited so we called the above number and we hesitated but out of curiousity we sent an email with my number and name but NO account details or passwords were sent in the email. Just my mobile number and name. NOW we are no longer happy but worried. What can we do to find out who this is I regret now having sent my name and mobile number.
I hope the complaints board can advise me as to what steps to should be taken next as I am very unhappy as this seems to to be a scam which is very cruel and mean. Please email me at [protected]@hotmail.com and advise on appropriate procedure. Below is the email I sent for your viewing.
Dear Sir/Madam,

I recieved an message on my mobile phone stating my mobile phone number ( 0413815 xxx ) has been nominated for a prize in the free prize lotto promotion.
The message was sent at 8.05 am 1st February 2011 from [protected]@hotmail.com. After receiving this message a call was made [protected] and was informed
to send an email to [protected]@hotmail.com. I hope this a sincere prize is as it has myself and family very happy. In order to validate this claim what must be done
to proceed with claim of this prize.
sincerely Ms S. Le-Jimmne

Responses

  • Sc
    Scatty Cat Jul 21, 2013

    My sister received a SMS asking for her e-mail and to check it immediately. It said she had won $2 million and we we would be contacted by a courier company wanting to deliver the packet with the cheque. They were asking high fees for delivery, insurance and certificate. We stupidly sent the money and they said they were going to deliver the cheque. Then they asked for more money for non residential tax as the company were in the UK and we were living outside the UK.

    Too late we realised it was a scam but they have promised to return the courier fees (within 14 working days). That time has passed and we are writing daily e-mails to ask when we will get the fees back. I wanted to give them a chance to give the money back before taking further action and reporting it to the police. We cannot be the only ones to pay money upfront to receive the magic cheque.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    donald bedri Jun 07, 2012

    please det me one answer

    1 Votes
  • Do
    donald bedri Jun 07, 2012

    my number phone is [protected]

    1 Votes
  • Do
    donald bedri Jun 07, 2012

    I getmy phone a message that says you have won 2, 000, 000 USD what to do for you get this

    1 Votes
  • Ku
    Kujtim Cela Jun 07, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My name is Cela memory from Albania and in date07.06.2012 at 22:08:27 o'clock arrived with a message from +[protected] and +[protected] numbers in my phone number AMC .[protected]. Shes informed about the importance of this message after i am very excited by the idea that i could be the winner of this llotarie.Me respect Cela memory

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john1234567890 Jun 05, 2012

    just recieved the same text, who is doing this? any way to trace them? the email was [email protected] how did they get my phone number?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john1234567890 Jun 05, 2012

    I just recieved the text, not falling for it, not that stupid. but i would like to know who is doing this and how they got my phone number?

    0 Votes
  • الاسم/ هانى السيد عبد الرحيم
    رقم الوبايل/ [protected]

    0 Votes
  • El
    ella marthin selle May 12, 2012

    fakkkeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

    0 Votes
  • So
    souad abd el rhman May 06, 2012

    name:souad abd el rhman number:[protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mohamed mousa May 05, 2012

    My name is / Mohamed Mousa Abdelhlim
    Mobile No. / [protected] ( Egypt )
    Email / m.mousa_83 @ ​​yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • mahmoud salah kamel hassan farag
    my mobil number : [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    TIKARAM KHATIWADA Apr 22, 2012

    Hi, I am Tikaram Khatiwada from WA-7, MOSNEY CENTRE, jULIANSTOWN, CO-MEATH, REPUBLIC OF iRELAND AND CELL NO 00353-[protected]. i WON THE FREE TOLLERRY WINNER IN 2012 THAT i GOT MESSAGE YESTERDAY AT 22-25 FROM [protected].i AM HAPPY BUT HOW CAN I GET THIS PRICE.i AM WAITING REPLY THANX GOD.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maytexu Apr 21, 2012

    I meant: they asked me to send that information, but I didn't. Just to let you know.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    maytexu Apr 21, 2012

    Just go this now:
    same prize as above: $2, 000, 000 sent my cell and name to:
    [email protected]
    +[protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    kamranarain Mar 24, 2012

    MY NAME IS MUHAMMAD KAMRAN ARAIN FROM HYDERABAD (PAKISTAN) I AM WINNER FREELOTTO LOTTERY .
    A lottery scam is a type of advance-fee fraud which begins with an unexpected email notification that "You have won!" a large sum of money in a lottery. The recipient of the message — the target of the scam — is usually told to keep the notice secret, "due to a mix-up in some of the names and numbers, " and to contact a "claims agent." After contacting the agent, the target of the scam will be asked to pay "processing fees" or "transfer charges" so that the winnings can be distributed, but will never receive any lottery payment.[1] Many email lottery scams use the names of legitimate lottery organizations or other legitimate corporations/companies, but this does not mean the legitimate organizations are in any way involved with the scams. MY ADD:HOUSE NO E/27-48 ASMANI PARA HYDERABAD SINDH PAKISTAN (71000) MY CELL NO IS 92+[protected] PLEASE SAND MY PRIZE MY BANK ACCOUNT NO.

    -1 Votes
  • Sw
    swedwolf Feb 16, 2012

    Hahaha ! i have gott whis message to that stats i have won $ 2.000, 000 on my mobil number, Freeprize lotto.
    to clame the money i should emal; [email protected] and phone +[protected].. to bad its all scam :-(
    We all that have gott whis scam should finde the persons sends whem and make whem pay out what whey say we have win
    or help eatshouter put whem behaind bars wher whey belongs !!

    Swedwoulf..

    0 Votes
  • He
    helst Dec 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The sms, telling I won $ 2.000.000 USD just arrived. Wow!
    Ruth, Norway.

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    IRONFIST99 Oct 09, 2011

    Hi guys, i just recieved a text last night saying that mymobile number won the sum of, get this $2000, 000! &to contact [email protected] can you believe that my e mail is [email protected] let me know what i can do thanks, my name is Adam cheers

    0 Votes
  • El
    elghondakly Sep 24, 2011

    i received a massage told that i won 720, 000 pounds would u please answer me for this, my phone number [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    ARJON Aug 23, 2011

    I HAVE RECIEVED A MESSAGE FROM YOU THAT SAYS THAT I HAVE WON 720000 POUNDSAND I AM WAITING FOR AN ANSWER MY PHONE NUMBER IS +[protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    salaheldin Jul 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    الاسم / صلاح الدين السباعى السباعى بدر
    رقم الموبايل / [protected]

    0 Votes
  • الاسم/محمد إبراهيم دياب إبراهيم
    رقم التليفون/[protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ib
    ibrahem mohamed Jun 30, 2011

    ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed ibrahem mohamed

    Comments

    1 Votes
  • Ib
    ibrahem mohamed Jun 30, 2011

    i irahem mohamed

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tarek2011 Jun 24, 2011

    YOUR MOBILE NOMBER WITH TICKET NOMBER 501120 HAS WON 720000 POUNDS IN THE FREELOTTO MOBILE PROMO FOR CLAIMS EMAIL: [email protected] your (full names & mobile no)
    MY NOMPER [protected]
    MY NAME GAMAL KHLEL METWLY KHLEL
    TICKET NOMBER 501120

    SENDING NOMBER +[protected]
    PLESE REPLY ON THIS EMAILS [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • My name is / Reda Mohamed Abdel -Latif Abdel-Hady
    Mobile No. / [protected] ( Egypt )
    Email / Safygrob @ ​​yahoo.com

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    A&N Apr 25, 2011

    Hi.I just got a text right now stating my phone number won the sum of $1, 000 000.00 USD on aFREELTTO mobile pomotion.And on the text I can contact [email protected] with tel. number +[protected]***.The I went on the internet right away to check if there is such like this and I found out about the scam which is same as mine.I will be very happy to win this amount.This is not a good joke though.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sera Le-Jimmne Feb 02, 2011

    Thankyou A. Soprano, For a minute there all my dreams would come true, I would finallly have my baby grand piano, and my own home. Stupid me I should've known better That its TOO GOO TO BE TRUE> .

    1 Votes
  • As
    A.Soprano Feb 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    LOTTERY SCAMMERS!!! DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM!!! JUST IGNORE THIS MESSAGE, OTHERWISE YOU WILL LOOSE YOUR MONEY !!!

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.