The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Embassy Suitesovercharged

So I checked in today with my company for a conference we are having at the embassy suites in concord north carolina.

My company is paying for all the rooms with corporate billing but I was asked for a credit card for incidentals that might be charged to the room. I asked would there be any charges made to it or any kind of hold and was told NO by the front desk clerk.

I had no more made it to my room than my spouse calls me and lets me know they have already charged $40.00 to my cc.

I went back to the desk and spoke to another person who then informs me that they always charge 20.00 per day ( I am staying 2 days) upfront incase of extra charges. (like im going to make 40.00 worth of phone calls!)

I am not sure why i was told no they wouldnt charge my card and they did but I don't like anyone screwing around with my money. Nice hotel but honesty is more important. I will not stay here again and neither will my company since the same thing was charged to all 60+ people who checked in.

Responses

  • Sh
    Shannon36535 Apr 18, 2010

    ps. i travel 4-5 days a week for the last 4 years. having 2 hotels overcharge me isnt unusual since i work on the road most of the time so keep your nasty little judgements to yourself.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shannon36535 Apr 18, 2010

    I am not busted about anything .. I didnt do wrong here but embassy suites did. they did finally manage to give all of us on this trip our money back. and thank you very much I can afford my kids.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dont like being duped Sep 18, 2009

    Sweet!

    1 Votes
  • Cu
    CustomerServiceDept Sep 18, 2009

    I am sorry. I am going to have a 2010 Honda Accord shipped to you.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dont like being duped Sep 17, 2009

    Wait a minute! If the clerk at the front clerk checked the patrons in and asked for a credit card, it seems like the clerk at the front desk would have run those extra charges through? Isn't that how that works. So when the card was physically taken from each patron and run through for incidentals, an amount of $40.00 had to be entered and charged to the card. wouldn't the clerk have to enter that amount? You can't just take a card and the card decides how much to charge itself? The timing of the charge is important here to. The patron didn't even get to the room when the charge of $40.00 went through. Something doesn't add up here. With all the facts presented, it seems the front desk clerk was not honest.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dont like being duped Sep 17, 2009

    Now you are playing games with semantics. It doesn't matter if they were lying or not. Have you not heard? Ignorance is NO defense.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    CustomerServiceDept Sep 16, 2009

    There were charged, I am not doubting that. I am saying what proof is there that the person or persons were lieing? Are you sure the person wasnt just someone that didnt know what the heck is going on?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shannon36535 Sep 15, 2009

    My Spouse and the other 60 + co-workers who were unaware they would be charged 40.00 each for nothing. I would say that is pretty reliable proof.

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    CustomerServiceDept Sep 15, 2009

    What proof do you have that it was a lie?

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dont like being duped Sep 14, 2009

    It's their job to know "how these things work". Are you kidding?! The expectations is that you have people that know what is going on at the front desk. It's nonsense to think that half baked customer service is ok. It's not ok. In my opinion the question was rather straight forward. It was either a YES or a NO. The question was: [I asked would there be any charges made to it or any kind of hold and was told NO by the front desk clerk.] Clearly a NO- it wasn't an "I don't know" or let me check and get back to you answer. It was a NO!
    That was a lie-plain and simple. Of course these people have reasons to lie and that's what it was -A lie because what she said WAS NOT TRUE! Very basic here- that's the fact. The patron was lied to. The reasons for lying could be many. One- the clerk doesn't give a crap and she is leaving her shift shortly and doesn't have to deal with it. Two- doesn't like confrontation and thought someone else could deal with it better. Three- really doesn't know what (s)he is doing and therefore shouldn't be running the front desk. Four- Was told by his/her boss that to lie to the patron. They won't notice the charge to the card until they get home. Four- Adding a allegedly legitimate hotel charge to see if they can get away with it - wait a certain period of time and then illegally charge unauthorized criminal purchases with it when those original charges don't get noticed. Oh! The reasons for duplicity can go on and on ad nauseaum! You bet I would have a problem with someone randomly charging things to my credit card without my consent. IT'S WRONG!!!

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    CustomerServiceDept Sep 14, 2009

    They have no reason to lie. Nothing would benefit them by doing it. I think they were just not aware of how these things work.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shannon36535 Sep 14, 2009

    no it was charged. not pre authorized ... and i do not mind the pre authorization at most hotels if they are just honest and upfront... but why tell me they wont and then do it anyway...?

    1 Votes
  • Cu
    CustomerServiceDept Sep 14, 2009

    Charged or pre authorized? And I can tell you that you may not stay there again, but any hotel will do the same.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.