eHarmonyexpired member matching

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

After a couple of weeks of matching, over 50 matches reviewed, contact with all, as eharmony recommends, only one who got to level 4, "open communication" and subsequently decided he "wasn't ready for the next step, (why was he there, then?)," it occurred to me that something was wrong. My picture showed an physically attractive, happy, 64 year old, and some of the ones I was contacting looked as if I might be their first date. Was it possible that they matched me with people whose membership had expired? Customer Service admitted that they did keep everyone in their data base whether they paid or not!!! I asked to be matched with only current members, actively seeking, as I explained that people of a certain age (ahem) may be dead, married, or not have enough, ahhhh, energy to pursue a relationship. And I asked, "does that mean I will be in your data bank forever?" They said yes, and I protested. I do not want to be a ploy to get people back who have cancelled. They gave me a Customer Relations address, Attn: Louise at POB 60157, Pasadena, CA 91116. I am awaiting their reply to my request to be deleted from their files. Oh, I was able to delete my picture and some of my profile, but not all.

Responses

  • Sa
    Sarah Lewis Oct 17, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I called the eHarmony customer service (which I got, not from their website, but from a complaint board such as this one. If it's on their site, it's very carefully hidden) to complain that I was not receiving many matches, and the ones I was receiving were not interested in communicating with me. I wanted to get my money back for the next two months of service, and just pay for the month I had received. I was told that I had signed a contract, and that they cannot refund my money because of that contract. She suggested that I re take the profile test. They widened my search radius and age limit and started sending me matches out of state and way too old for me. They are not remotely worth the amount of money they charge and the service is just plain worthless. I would not recommend them to anyone, unless you like wasting money. The free sites are a much better value (Plenty of Fish and Just Say Hi ).

    0 Votes
  • No
    Norah Denman Jun 23, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    e-harmony is a total scam. They keep on and on until they get your money and you are never able to connect with anyone of your (so called) matches.
    I cancelled my VISA so they cannot automatically renew. They prey on older or very lonely people.
    I am going to report them to AARP so it can be put in their mail outs.

    1 Votes
  • Go
    goldheart Dec 20, 2008

    I agree with the complaints, as I too believe that Eharmony is a scam. Before becoming a paid member, I would receive up to 6-8 matches at least 3x per week., however, after becoming a paid member, I was lucky if I received 1 per week. Not only that, but out of the 200 or so "ideal" matches only one contacted me! and then I learned later that Eharmony terminated his membership because he violated their terms and conditions!

    I contacted Eharmony because I suspect that they entice you to join by having you believe that you have all these ideal mates you are being matched with then once you join...nothing! I also beleive that they match members with non paying members in order to entice them to join! I mentioned to Eharmony that I would be very upset to learn that I am an unpaid promoter of their site! They responded with the ususal be patient jorgan...but they are a hoax and the word should be spread!

    I requested that my membership be cancelled and a refund for the balance remaining...I am waiting to read their response!

    1 Votes
  • St
    Steven May 09, 2009

    I was about to try eHarmony when their price temporarily came down to within reason, but after reviewing more of the negative comments, I decided to stay away. I know of a much better site that's getting off the ground which I heard blows eHarmony away, and it's being offered for free temporarily, so that people can "try and compare" the two... I'm eager to give it a try and see what happens...

    1 Votes
  • Ov
    overeharmoney Aug 04, 2009

    I too am upset with eharmony,

    I Canceled my membership more than 7 months ago and on a consistant basis still getting John Doe "want's to communicate with you" emails, for a price of course.

    The thing that really bothers me most is that these men are from my area and are not told that the person they're trying to reach is no longer an active member.

    My concern is that if I happen to meet one or two of these men in the future @ another singles event or in business! that I will automatically be labeled a person that blows people off by not answering them. I am very saddened this would be a conception that is very untrue...What to do?

    I feel bad every time I receive a "message" or "want's to meet you"" and can't respond one way or the other...Don't feel I should have to pay to hold a good name for myself.

    Thanks,
    overeharmony

    2 Votes
  • Ov
    overeharmony Sep 06, 2009

    Recently received an email from eharmony allowing free communication through labor day weekend...I have not been a member for at least a year now and was curious to see what the catch was. Not surprised at all that they had been using my profile the whole time as an active member and had over 100 matches with several "closed messages" because I hadn't responded...DUH!!! I need to apologize to all those men for not responding I'm just saying be aware that you may be trying to contact a ghost. Also with the free deal you can't see pictures which in my opinion is kind of important for me to decide if I'm initially attracted or not, but for a small fee of course you are allowed. I personally don't have the time to communicate with 45 or so men only to find out in meeting that I'm not at all attracted to them.

    1 Votes
  • Ve
    verygoodidea Mar 19, 2010

    Some one needs to go there to the company and BREAK ALL OF HIS FINGERS!!! I hate that kind of company! Tell everyone to break the guys fingers that runs the place!

    1 Votes
  • Un
    Unethical Eharmony Feb 04, 2011

    EHarmony is not an ethical company. I read a lot of bad reviews after I joined but, of course hind sight I wish I would have seen them prior. You're not able to get a live person at the Manager or Corporate level because they have so many people that are dissatisfied. Their own marketing department sends you promotional codes for you to re join at a lower rate and they don't honor them ! When you call Customer Service ...they tell you "sorry about that" but, then proceed to sell you a subscription for $59.95 and give you 1 month free ?? The worst company I've ever had to deal with that is out right dishonest !!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem