The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Easy Warm FloorUnauthorized charges

R Review updated:

I purchased an easy warm floor in August of 2008 and authorized the purchase via a telephone call, since there was no way to order the form online. The company sent me a confirmation email with an itemized bill and a line item clearly stating 'Grand Total: $465.00'.

The item arrived on time and works great. I installed it myself and the installation was easy. In fact, I held this company in pretty high regard until November 21, when an additional charge for $137 appeared on my credit card bill.

When I called to dispute the charge, the snooty and less-than-helpful customer service rep referred me back to the confirmation email (that I received AFTER the purchase) and pointed out in very fine print at the bottom additional fees that would be billed separately. He then refused to allow me to speak to anyone else within the company, and refused to refund the charge.

Now, momentarily putting aside the fact that these fees should have been BILLED and not CHARGED, this is an unfair and deceptive business practice. 'Grand Total' means just that - it implies the figure represents the complete amount of the purchase. Had I known the warm floor unit would cost $137 more than the $465 figure, I probably would not have purchased it in the first place.

I'm disputing the charge with my credit card company and I am positive they will agree with me. However, anyone entering into business with Easy Warm Floor needs to be aware of this practice so they don't get bitten as well.

Responses

  • Yk
    YK11 Feb 16, 2009

    I totally agree that this company is not to be trusted. I have purchase from them in the past, and material that was returned and accepted by them was never refunded. I got the run-around for so long that I was not able to dispute the charge with my credit card company.

    Avoid this company at all cost.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlie Mar 06, 2009

    Same thing has happened to me. Ordered materials many months ago and paid via cc online. Just this week a charge appeared on my CC for $98.00. Your right, you can't contact anyone via phone and I have have disputed the charge with my CC company.
    Very shady company IMO and not to be trusted.
    Avoid this company...there are to many reputable companies doing the same business.

    -1 Votes
  • Te
    Texas builder Apr 11, 2009

    Anyone having the same problems with Easy Warm Floor doing business in Chicago should contact the BBB in Chicago and lodge a complaint. Easy Warm Floor is not a member of the BBB for obvious reasons and is listed with them as "Unsatisfactory" due to the unresolved complaints. I have also filed a complaint with the Illinois Attorney General for "deceptive business practices". Hopefully we can shut this crooked business down.

    0 Votes
  • Mh
    mhickman Aug 19, 2009

    Very crooked company. I tried to dispute my charges and VISA told me it was buyers remorse and would not reverse the charges.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mr. Bob Oct 20, 2009

    I certainly wish that I had found this site this past June ... ! I ordered enough mat and thermostats to do three separate areas. I received the mat and two of the thermostats in a timely manner but the third thermostat has never arrived. Been on the telephone with Clinton, Justin, Brian, and others and have been told that they have thermostat has not received the thermostat from the manufacture; that the thermostat has been shipped to me; that they would refund my money; etc., etc., etc.

    It's only $95.00 (if I don't count their over-estimate of 50 square) but it sure is a shame that this outfit can get away with shafting so many people!

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cornavaca Nov 09, 2009

    We ordered a floor system from them last year. The product is great. The people in the office are dishonest and should not be trusted. Our thermostat was defective and they refused to take it back. They wanted us to buy a new one and then send the old one back to them. I refused to that but then when they finally agreed to examine the thermostat they took so long (and I called EVERY week) that they said, "Yes, it is broken but it is no longer under warranty" I do not know who owns/runs the company but it certainly seems that this level of dishonesty is standard and there are other floor systems out there. AVOID doing business with them as they will not stand behind their product and honor warranties.

    0 Votes
  • Uh
    Uhale Nov 26, 2009

    This company WILL SCAM YOU!!!

    0 Votes
  • Uh
    Uhale Nov 26, 2009

    I purchased from them over the phone in 2007, and was certainly scammed. They sent an inferior product then what I ordered, and shorted me a thermostat. I tried for months to get a refund, called the Illinois Attorney General's office, filed complaint with VISA, which finally helped out some. Ended up with an exchange for a different product of theirs, which two years later, I find out, is suspect and inferior to other competitors. The radiant electric heating mats DO NOT HAVE A GROUND WIRE! They are not shielded either. These people are total scam artists, stay away from them. The company is linked to multiple online websites, so BEWARE.

    After some digging, I found out the company shares an address or fax number with many company/website names (a clear red flag!): easywarmfloor (easywarmfloor.com), floorheatech.com, BuilDIY, Sauna Treatment (saunatreatment.com), US Solar Heating (ussolarheating.com), greenelectriconline.com, usfloorheating.com, heatingonline.com and probably more!!!

    0 Votes
  • Dg
    dgman Jul 21, 2010

    Thanks for all the warnings. I just received a quote from them that had the words 'Total Charge'. Now I know not to trust those words (from what I read here). I talked to an individual that is named in one of these complaints, and I will be contacting him again to let him know that I will no longer be purchasing his product because of all the complaints I've read. It was a large order, and now they lost my business. Thanks everyone.

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Robert Nov 21, 2010

    I'm not a complainer, but I bought mats from this company several years back and installed them under a tile floor. I had similar problems with them delivering on my order...they never ended up sending me a themostat and I was missing a floor sensor.

    Anyways, now I am learning that there is no way to ground the system and I am very concerned about this new data on electromagnetic field radiation. This all means I probably don't get to have warm tile floors because these guys are so dishonest.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    alix saintil Feb 03, 2011

    I totally agree with all the comments about this company - Fraud - Scam artist - rude - and very deceiving - I had some of the same problems with them - I wanted to send back my purchase and they refuse to accept it back - unfortunately when I called my bank they said it's over 90 days and I cannot dispute it - this company kept stringing me along until they know the 90 days was over and I cannot file a dispute and then told me they cannot the product back - even though when I was calling they kept telling me they will send me returned receipt info to mail back the product never received anything - then got the nerve to charge me $139.00 for a maintenance fee - I lost my $1, 455 but I was able to get back the $139.00 - They should be out of business!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sandman51 Apr 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought from easy Warm Floor in April 2013.. Justin was great till I got my mat and the thermostat did work right. No matter what I did it always went to Tuesday, and was always a day ahead. They sent a new faceplate and control box, only they sent a 120 and not 240. They sent out another one and it still didn't work. It's always Mike I have to talk to, but Mike is never there. I returned the 2 faceplates and 3 controller boxes after I bought a thermostat from Home Depot (works perfectly), and they refused to accept the package. Try to give an American company business and this is what you get.

    0 Votes
  • Er
    ErikI Nov 02, 2018

    Mine were delivered but rejected by the city building inspector because they are not UL approved, despite that being advertised on their web site. I called UL and they said they are allowed to say this because they are approved for a VERY limited application of the product but not what it's marketed for. I'm also in the middle of an Attorney General complaint and a likely lawsuit as well. They are also known as US Floor Heating or usfloorheating and a bunch of other names.

    0 Votes
  • Ci
    CIAcia Sep 23, 2020

    @ErikI What was the outcome ?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.