SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Duracellleaking

1
S Review updated:

I have been buying Duracell batteries for 30 years. Over the past 2 years their product quality has fallen to a level they were at 30 years ago. I bought the product and reccomended it to others because it lasted longer, and did not leak. The past 2 years has proven to me that Duracell is no longer a trusted product. The Durability is GONE. Leaking battery has destroyed a $400 tool when the battery was only for a light in the tool. There have been so many of the Duracell batteries leaking in my equipment that I would rather purchase a product that does not last as long over one that will destroy my things. Both choices are horrable for the environment.
On top of that, Durracell and their parent company Proctor and Gamble do not have a place to complain about the product, so it is obvious they are too large to CARE.
I guess I am now a follower of the bunny.

Responses

  • Jo
    johnny01212 Apr 02, 2009

    Yo man, that is like so not true (sorry to burst your bubble). They do have a number that you can call to complain about leakage and they will issue you a reimbursement for the amount of the product. ex. a battery leaked in your $400 tool- they will send you out a $400 check plus a free coupon for the pack of batteries that you purchased. So like don't complain and get all hissy on me man... here's the damn number... 1-800-551-2355. I think that is the number off the top of my head. If not then the number is 100% defenitely on the back of the Duracell package. Also, if you have any questions man feel free to send me an email to [email protected] or [email protected] allright... i'm oughta here man. Just trying to help the world one person at a time.

    Peace out dude,
    Love,
    Johnny

    -7 Votes
  • Di
    disgusted with Duracell Aug 12, 2019

    @johnny01212 I complained about a 12-pack of Duracell AAA batteries I bought recently is leaking. They tried to blame me on how I stored or used them. I put the first two in a TV remote and another two in a digital thermometer. Within 2 weeks I found the remote was leaking. I went to replace the batteries, and all of them, still in their plastic case, not shorted out or anything, were leaking. I checked my digital thermometer, and they were leaking in it also. They sent me a coupon for up to $10, which does not even cover the cost of the 12-pack. Do NOT buy Duracell batteries. There might be an eventual class-action suit, but usually only the lawyers benefit.

    2 Votes
  • St
    stanward Jun 28, 2010

    I do agree with the original poster of this column.

    I had a maglite and a flexible/bendable light that were affected by the leakage.

    I did send my tools back for repair or replacement. Here is what Duracell did, they sent me a check for $9 for the damaged maglite, but they did not give me money for the flexible/bendable light (nor did they send it back to me).

    I called them to complain, and to ask where my second light was. They did not know! I asked them, if they can't fix it, I would want it back so I could fix it myself.

    I was pissed! If you don't plan to pay me for it, or repair it, at least send it back!

    Stan

    9 Votes
  • Vi
    Viper57 Dec 24, 2010

    YO Johnny... I hate to burst your bubble but will do so. Yes they do have a number to call but, try getting reimbursed for your equipment and time. I was told they would not accept a claim unless you have the original battery packaging and receipt for the equipment. Really!?! How long do you keep the bubble pack after you empty it? Days? Months? Or do you 86 it with all the other trash. My total loss right now is well over $650. Not to mention the time it will take to empty my desk and haul it to the furniture doctor for re-finishing. And what will I do without my work desk? HMMM! I had one vendor for a piece of equipment that was repaired under warranty, even though it was obvious what caused the failure, STRONGLY suggest that I use only Energizer batteries in the future. I will take their advice since they saved me $250!

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Peter Dec 27, 2010

    I also noticed a dramatic decline in quality over the last two years. Their AAA batteries leak after only a few months. I have ruined 2 aircondinitioner remotes and a portable radio. The batteries in question have expire dates saying March 2013.

    10 Votes
  • Ka
    kaochi Apr 05, 2011

    Attached photo shows the latest case of the battery leakage I experienced. I was not sure about the Duracell's quality degradation till I read posts online including here.

    4 Votes
  • Ba
    Bad stuff Aug 04, 2011

    Totally agree with everyone about the quality going downhill. I did send P&G a complaint but won't hold my breath about getting reimbursed for any damage, simply going to send all Duracell batteries to the recycling depot at my local dump and will purchase Eveready from now on plus maybe buy some of their stocks as it seems everyone is having this problem.

    4 Votes
  • De
    denny May 05, 2012

    In the past year I have had 2 AA Duracells leak all over a Walkman and ruin it. 4 D Duracells leak in a Maglight flashlight, and 2 AA leak in a clock that had to be thrown out! I have a nice airconditioned house and the batteries are inside (just so you don't think they are in a garage in the desert or something) It was April of 2012 when the AA's were found leaking in the Walkman, and the expiration date on those batteries is 2014! similar dates on the other items too. The point is that their batteries should not leak like this. This is what happened in the 50's before they conquered this problem. I'm done buying Duracell. Who wants to have their equipment ruined and then try to get them to make good on replacements? I have better things to do with my time and I'm sure most other people feel the same way. Avoid Duracell and save yourself a headache!

    6 Votes
  • Gr
    Greg_P Sep 14, 2012

    I had the same thing happen to me recently. I contacted customer support. After providing some basic information, I was told I'd be sent an envelope and some information by mail so I could send the batteries and my device to Duracell for "examination". I was told the device would be returned to me in approximately 6 to 8 weeks. Well, the package arrived today. Inside the package was a coupon for a free 8-pack of batteries and a form requiring my signature to acknowledge that I understand my device will be "thoroughly examined" and cannot be returned to be because "the examination will destroy the product". You have got to be kidding me! Shouldn't they be examining their leaky batteries instead of the $250 digital recorder that was destroyed by their defective batteries? How does destroying my recorder help me? How does this resolve anything? If anything, it would appear they're doing nothing but destroying the evidence. Did they honestly think they could resolve this with an 8-pack of batteries? I assure you, they've lost a 30+ year customer over this. I'm extremely disappointed. Photo attached.

    8 Votes
  • Na
    NastyBatteryAcid Dec 08, 2016

    @Greg_P Same with me. I bought expensive Lumiere battery operational candles, have 6 high end, another 6-10 less expensive copycats. Limited editions too. Change batteries in the every January after Christmas...every single battery leaked. Livingroom clock, flashlights, my Sony Sureshot camera, etc etc...I changed 11lbs of batteries the other day, most had leaked. Furious??? YES. Send all my ruined things in? Are they going to pay for the moving van and replace it ALL...what about my vintage holiday decorations??

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    hojong Sep 24, 2012

    Greg,

    I also have an audio recorder (Tascam DR-40) damaged by Duracell batteries. However mine were NiMH batteries that somehow overheated (I did not put them in backwards) and melted the battery door. Should I not bother with sending the device back? I also am leery of their form of the "examination will destroy the product." Did you send it back?

    4 Votes
  • Dave43 Oct 03, 2019

    @hojong Same here. Just through out a remote because the batteries leaked. I'm done with this brand

    1 Votes
  • Gr
    Greg_P Sep 24, 2012

    Hojong, I did not send them my digital recorder. Remember, there's no guarantee Duracell will reimburse me for any damages. So, if they refuse to reimburse me for the digital recorder their leaky batteries destroyed AND they destroy or refuse to return the digital recorder to me I'd be left with absolutely nothing. Then what can I do?

    1 Votes
  • Ps
    psycom Oct 31, 2012

    I have experienced the EXACT SAME THING over the SAME TIME PERIOD so bubble busters or not all I can say is I JUST hung up the phone from a lady at Duracell and they are send Call Tags for my equipment. however it really doesn't help when you need something and find out that its full off a nice alkaline powder that'll eat holes in your clothes... and before some chimes in about THAT not being true go put on a tux and play around with a few and ignore the dust. If it'll eat the wiring away in a device silk is a piece of cake.

    Wasn't until I began writing this that I realized I forgot to mention tho the really nice lady doing her job about a device for the list. Yes a LIST as I've been bagging these batteries and devices for awhile now. Last 2 years so add that to the original post and how many years are we spanning? I already had one go around with them on a device ... a Weather Direct system which is not cheap. They paid me for it and sent me coupons which I would have thrown away had I known the next 2 years were gonna be such a powder fest!

    My list of Logitech gear like A Harmony Remote ($90.00) that i never got to use because the batteries that expire 3 years from now ruined it fast! Before I even figured out the programming but then I'm rather slow (figuratively speaking) but we'll skip that part. The a Logitech "EASY CALL" wireless mouse keyboard and audio center that runs $100 or more. Another Logitech wireless USB remote which at this point I began to wonder about what Logitech and Duracell have against each other.? A couple clocks which I did throw away but kept the batteries. More Weather Direct devices... the sensors which the wiring was eaten away. Funny... the one they replaced using their free batteries got the same treatment. You ever buy a Fluke DVM (Digital Multi-meter)? I have. Wish I still had one.

    I work in electronics. I know my stuff. I'm also a musician that works with power supplies daily since the mid 70's. I also do custom mod work on guitars and outboard gear. In the midst of being nice to the lady, picking up batteries I think are illegal to mail I forgot to mention the latest .find. I have a 1978 Fender Stratocaster worth about $4, 000 now. I'd done some mods to it and it required a 9 volt. Imagine my thoughts as I opened it up to see a powered 9 Volt sitting next to a custom made pre-amp nestled inside a $4, 000.00 guitar. How what joy. You think I'm sending THAT in? HA! But I will take a picture and include it. Along with a repair bill. Then I know without looking there's another 20 year old brand new Jackson Charvel Telecaster which is worth quite a bit that has the same pre amp in it. With a 9 volt Duracell that my money says leaked all over inside the cavity. Another repair and pictures to include.

    So now we aren't talking about a throw away flashlight but rather collectables that will continue to rise in value UNLESS the finish is tarnished, electronics are ruined and it's all because of something I grew up with trusting I can now trust to fail.

    There are things I was told that will mess a battery up and cause these to leak. Storing in a hot humid place is one. Now I'm thinking these are coming by boat from hot humid places where they are made. And I'm not talking about the Mississippi and New Orleans here either. 90% of mine came from WalMart. They are outta where? Do they HAVE a USA product? The other 10% came from Krogers plus I live in the southeast which is lovely during the summer. Our sister city is in the Amazon.

    It's unfortunate that I can now depend on these to fail and am worried about a Guitar sitting is a studio in Nashville right now. Is Duracell being helpful? Yes. Does it really help? No. After this long and seeing a repeat performance and only an increase in the speed at which these decay I don't hold much hope. I see commercials of kids at St Jude's getting presents powered by Duracell's and feel kinda bad actually. NASA has got to be getting a specially made battery. No ifs and or buts about it.

    Keep your products and bag those batteries and write down the list of items, prices and the places where you bought your batteries BEFORE you call. Then tell THEM to pay to pick it up. That's what I did.

    Something is wrong. At least I'm trying to help them figure it out. Now if they care or not is another story. My guess is they aren't in the business to ruin our gear. However for the last few years that's what has happened for me and a lot of others. If i needed a pacemaker I really wouldn't want a Duracell running it. Would you?

    Richard / Knoxville TN

    2 Votes
  • Na
    NastyBatteryAcid Dec 08, 2016

    @psycom I don't want to send in my rotten batteries nor my ruined items because then I have NO PROOF if there is a class action lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Driver May 05, 2013

    Well, recently I went to use my trusty, much used, Mini Mag-Lite, only to find it nonfunctional. I thought that maybe the grandsons had been playing with it again, and had exhausted the batteries (Energizers). I opened it, only to find the Energizers welded in by corrosion. These are batteries that had been replaced only about a month earlier, and the flashlight had been used on, and off regularly in the house. Energizer replaced it with a $15 coupon for their products, of course. I've been using Energizers ever since a set of fresh Duracell AAs nearly destroyed my $2, 000 + Nikon professional camera several years ago, which, after jumping through many hoops on my part, Duracell begrudgingly offered to have me send the camera in to them, or I could send them the repair estimate. I sent them the estimate, and, surprisingly, I had a check for the full amount in my hand within the week. But, that incident, along with some less devastating leaks in Duracell products caused me to stop using their products altogether. Two days ago, my wife hands me her 2D Mag-Lite, and asked me to replace the bulb since she knew the batteries were still good as the flashlight had worked the day before. I decided to check the batteries with the multimeter while I was at it. Now, I'm a strong man, upper body wise as my lower body is disabled, but I struggled mightily to get the end cap off. I found a HORRIBLE mess of corrosion within. I banged the end of the flashlight on the wood bench until I got the first battery out. It was, of course, a Duracell which we had put in about 5-6 months earlier when we couldn't find some Energizer D cells for some reason or other. This flashlight gets used frequently for short bursts looking for things in dark places, so it hasn't sat idle unused. The Mag-Lite is ruined, needless to say. I went to the Duracell website, clicked the appropriate page, only to get 404 : page not found. None of their links, other than product promotional links, work. I searched the web for an hour before I happened to stumble on a random Duracell product rating page, that no longer works, and the last rating was posted as late as February 2013. Luckily there were a couple of responses from Duracell customer care listing a phone number.. I tried calling, but the number only works M-F 9a-6p. It appears that Duracell has gone cheap, and can't be bothered with email communication. The answers given on the rating page were all exactly the same for every complaint, and always blamed the consumer for the product failure. I do have to give it to Energizer, my entire dealing with them was through email, and they were apologetic, and contrite. They also paid the postage for me to send in my damaged flashlight without me even having to ask.

    2 Votes
  • Cg
    cgandclg Nov 25, 2013

    I have also had multiple items affected by leaking Duracell batteries. All of these instances have occurred over the last couple of years indicating, to me, that the product has been cheapened considerably. All batteries were not even close to expiration and were in controlled climate areas. Multiple items are now not working or not working well (after my cleanup). I have asked to speak to an "engineer" but one can't get to that department. Send something to them? I don't think so...no one to talk to or get explanation about the problem and "maybe you won't get it back because they may destroy it further inspecting it"? In addition, they send back to you a standard typed letter saying that "they found nothing wrong" even the battery was obviously destroyed by the leakage. It use to be my only brand for batteries. They no longer earn a look now. On to the "bunny". I hope that all of the big box stores pay attention to the complaints and go to another brand.

    2 Votes
  • Vc
    vcr85 Dec 15, 2013

    I have a Sony radio damaged by three leaking Duracells with a 2019 expiration date. I can't at the moment seem to locate any sort of complaints service one can contact here in France. This is not by any means the first time I have encountered leaking Duracells and in fact the local hardware supermarket where I used to purchase them no longer carries them due to the number of complaints received. Will be using Energizers in future. A shame since Duracell batteries used to be really good.

    1 Votes
  • Tw
    twistan Jan 27, 2014

    In just one year I have had two Duracell AA batteries that leaked and destroyed valuable electronic equipment. A friend of mine reported the same issue with Duracell batteries that had an end date of 2017. Procter & Gamble offer compensation but if your battery is one month over the end date then you do not get a penny. I asked them whether we consumers should maintain a spreadsheet with the expiry dates of all batteries in the household and check all devices before leaving home for a few weeks. As fas as I am concerned I shall not buy Duracell again. Have a look at Energizer, I think they guarantee that their alkaline batteries will not leak. For the technically interested ones: alkaline batteries contain potassium hydroxide (KOH) and they develop hydrogen (H2) during operation. Over time KOH destroys the battery's metal housing.

    1 Votes
  • Tw
    twistan Jan 27, 2014

    Here's the photo.

    0 Votes
  • Nu
    NukeDog Sep 12, 2014

    Duracell damage can be addressed through the following information.

    DURACELL
    — http://www.duracell.com/en-US/battery-care-disposal.jspx
    DURACELL® BATTERY GUARANTEE
    If you're not completely satisfied with a Duracell® product, contact us.

    All of our batteries are guaranteed against defects in material and workmanship.
    Should any device be damaged by these batteries due to such defects, we will
    either repair or replace it if it is sent with the batteries. Send with postage prepaid to:

    Duracell
    Berkshire Corporate Park
    Bethel, CT 06801
    Attn: Consumer Dept.
    Phone: 1-800-551-2355

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Seng Sep 19, 2014

    Worse than ruining remotes, I have had the damn things leak out onto furniture and destroy it. I will no longer be buying Duracell again after having had the 3rd piece of furniture ruined by their batteries in the last couple of years!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NastyBatteryAcid Dec 08, 2016

    @Lisa Seng I had a Lumiere (battery candles) leak liquid battery gunk onto a pretty pricey buffet cabinet...ate a hole in the top. Buy Duracell? No way. Sold my stock, bought Energizer instead. so I'm going to send in an entire buffet cabinet??

    0 Votes
  • Po
    poop in diaper Oct 31, 2014

    mag lights remotes, clocks ect.It seems MAR 2016 is a very bad exp date I have D cells that have a date of DEC2023 never used that are almost dead. A 30 year Duracell user I will change brands. It is a shame when a trusted brand of quality is compromised due to rising costs. I have not called Duracell yet and hope to have positive results.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MamaRoach Dec 31, 2014

    Completely agree with everyone saying that Duracell batteries are horrible and leak. All the batteries in all our household remotes all leaked battery acid inside the remotes. I have other electronics with some crappy cheap batteries that came from the manufacturer that outperformed the Duracell batteries. And when I say outperform, I mean that they did what they were supposed to withOUT leaking. Proctor & Gamble should be ashamed of themselves for charging premium prices for subpar products!

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    Edward Jay Jan 08, 2015

    I was quite alarmed at what I have been reading and was feeling a bit apprehensive about my damaged batteries and 2 products that were damaged: 1 collectable Spyderman clock and a $59 Microsoft wireless notebook mouse.

    I called the suggested number and after speaking with a rep (who shall remain nameless but was the first responder, I have to say I was pleasantly surprised and received treatment that was totally opposite of the mentions in this forum.

    I was asked the property damaged general information, on hold to get a claim reference and finally TOLD THAT A DEBIT CARD IN THE AMOUNT OF THE DAMAGE ALONG WITH A COUPON FOR A 20 PACK OF DURACELL BATTERIES SHOULD ARRIVE IN 2-3 WEEKS. Further she asked me to hang on to the destroyed merchandise for 8-10 weeks, so that if the technical department wanted to examine the damage further that I have it to send back and that she would send a pre-paid postage label.

    I could not have asked for a more comprehensive handling of my complaint...She required NO PROOF of loss, and was genuinely concerned that I was totally satisfied upon termination of our call and given the reference number should resolution not be as described. In addition I told her to ask Duracell make a post to this thread and give the 'real deal' as far as correct information.

    The number I called was 800-551-2355

    many got this totally WRONG, I invite you to call with your problems and be polite.

    Happy in California

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Schimpf Feb 12, 2015

    I have had the exact same experiance, several devices have had leaky batteries, my clock was fading so took it off the wall and low and behold more leaky duracell batteries, these dated 2017, so appeartly Duracell is not doing anything about fixing this issue since it has been happening for years. The lost me as a customer, sending me a coupon for more batteries dont solve a thing, how about fix your products.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    Forestio May 31, 2015

    I Just bought a Klipsch KMC3 portable speaker. It arrived, I put eight D cell batteries in it, took it to the patio and rocked out. The batteries lasted an hour and a half then kapoot.I then put it away wondering if I should sent the unit back as the Speaker was supposed to last 20 or so hours. Then the next day find two of the batteries leaked out melting the battery cover. What the hell? Such a disappointment from a trusted brand.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    poikaa3 Jul 30, 2015

    I am an electronics repair technician, mainly on radio receivers and most times the popular SONY ICF-2010. About half of the repairs I have done for my customers is to clean up battery leakage caused by AA batteries. At times the only way to make the repairs is to replace the circuit boards of the receiver. This can cost between 35 to 190 dollars and depends on the availability of replacement boards or repair of the same. I have recommended to use cheaper batteries to avoid this but the lack of a good track record makes for poor advice! Since two AA batteries are used in this application, I have resorted to using 3 volt 'coin' cells in holders as a substitute. This rash of leaking batteries has been happening for about 5 or 6 years and is not isolated to Duracell!

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Burned31416 Aug 31, 2015

    Duracell batteries will leak when the device is turned off or inactive - guaranteed. I have three ruined phones, a ruined keyboard, and a ruined expensive clock in just the last four months to prove it. At first I thought it was just bad luck, then I started to check other things I had Duracell batteries in. At least half the batteries were leaking in less than a year. Never buy this brand again.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DanPM Sep 20, 2015

    Had several issues with Duracell batteries leaking in the past few years, often even when the battery still has a charge! Last night, I was startled by a load CRACK sound. Thought a small rock had hit my window, but no signs of any one outside, or any marks on the window. The next day, I found an small spot of clear liquid on the table in front of window, coming from an LCD clock / theremometer. I had just put two new Duracell (exp 2023) batteries in there last month and one was leaking, even though they show almost full charge on my little cheap meter. Don't know what's happened to Duracell, but I'm done with them.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NastyBatteryAcid Dec 08, 2016

    Same problem here...today I took out 11lbs of Duracells out of everything I could find, thermometers on my weather system, remotes, cameras, lots of candles, temperature guages and test equipment our business uses, flashlights, clocks we have in every room and office, keyboards, mice, etc. Then dug out my holiday decorations and bailed the Duracells out of those as well, so many were leaking!! I was able to use a child's toothbrush and baking soda to salvage a few things but others are now garbage. After so much has been ruined, including the top of a very nice buffet cabinet where Lumiere candles leaked, I'm so done with Duracell.

    I always keep at least 4 dozen batteries of each kind on standby. We own an HVAC company and it's disturbing how many people call us about their heat pump not working. Turns out, the AAA and AA batteries that support the thermostat have corroded and leaked, ruining it. We have to replace them. We bill about $290 for the stat, and another $120 for the service call. So nearly $500 because the batteries leaked. I've been posting to my friends and family on social medial to check the batteries often and replace them before they leak.

    0 Votes
  • Ck
    CKats Jan 01, 2017

    I had 8 AA Duracell batteries in a remote controller. I placed the remote controller on my leather seat of my Cadillac. In 5 minutes they leaked and made a whole in the seat and discoloration everywhere. In the last few years Duracell batteries made in China are experiencing more problems with leaking than ever before. The Duracell batteries of the past were very good and never leaked. I have contacted the company and awaiting response. The replacement for my seat can be very expensive. I am prepared to take them to small claims court. My advise to everyone is to take the batteries out of everything after you use the item. Stay away from the Duracell products.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NastyBatteryAcid Jan 02, 2017

    @CKats Caution, CKats, i looked at your battery set, 3rd battery from the right is installed backwards. I use the B&B method of battery installation...butt end on bing-boing...meaning bottom of the battery goes on the spring. Don't use that photo like that because they'll probably say it's your fault for not putting batteries in properly. Since Christmas I have found more batteries leaking. I'm sickened by this. So many things ruined. Oddly enough I've stumbled on a few things that have batteries that were supposed to expire in 2010 (meaning I probably installed them 15 years ago...the battery is dead but never leaked.) Like my old 35mm camera, a battery back up for my video camera, and a couple old flashlights and pen lights. So I think you are right, when they farmed it out to get them cheaply made in China, the quality went right into the toilet. Most of my leaks have dates of 2023-2025.

    I have since bought all new batteries from Batteries Plus or got Everready or Energizers. I think we spent nearly $100 replacing batteries and aren't anywhere near done replacing.

    0 Votes
  • Sr
    srcal14 Jan 29, 2017

    I am working with digital instruments for more than 30 yrs, It is my very bitter experience that DURACELL has damaged
    hundreds & thousands of measuring & testing instruments for ever. Apart from extreme chemical leakage, it has damaged
    the pcb in such a manner that it is beyond, any kind of repair, even in some some pcb trucks are completely vanished due to
    its corrosive chemical effect. It not only today as in Januray 2017 I am observing it for last 15 years or even more. There are
    other alkaline batteries worldwide, but as per my experience DURACELL, is the poorest one in terms of leakage factor.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Panamacox Feb 20, 2017

    I had a piece of test equipment that I put DURALEAK AA batteries into they leaked on the circuit board and destroyed it, I contacted Duracell customer service and was told they had to have all the batteries, the test equipment and the rest of the batteries from the package back, so they could test them and determine the cause of the leak. Since I didn't save all the leaking batteries they would only give a 50.00 gift certificate. We are a nation wide company and will no longer allow Duracell in any of our equipment, During this we found a Simpo hand held tach, two computer mouse, four flashlights and two VHF radio's ruined all with duraleak batteries less than 60 days old

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NastyBatteryAcid Feb 21, 2017

    Panamacox...thank you for your addition to the complaints. I've been posting to social media about the problems with the cells. Only a few people have added comments and most blow it off. I suppose they haven't ruined anything yet. It's shocking how many things I have batteries in that I've had to change. I have saved EVERY Duracell battery that failed and will be sending them backI I have collected over 11 pounds of AA batteries. I have noticed that the leaking offenders have a expiration date between 2023-2025. I still won't use them. Using Eveready now.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    techchap Mar 10, 2017

    I suspect that with the advent of rechargable nickel metal hydride and lithium batteries taking over the market that alkaline batteries are considered by the manufacturers to be heading for extinction and as such are being treated as a 'cash cow' that is milked for all the profit that they can make out of them in their remaining lifetime. This involves using cheaper not leak proof casings anymore. Someone could perhaps chop an old and new battery and see what they have skimped on, less seals, thinner steel in the jackets, cheaper stainless (more iron - test with magnet?). It was not beyond the wit of man to make leakproof batteries previously. I have had many alkaline batteries leak recently, particularly Duracells and have moved to nickel metal hydride.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Walther Mar 30, 2017

    I have lost thousands of dollars worth of equipment due to these terrible Duracell batteries. Triplit analog fast test meters, digital test meters. clocks, many flashlights, remotes, even smoke alarms, pretty much any thing that uses a battery. I have the latest batch with a date of 2023 and they leak just sitting on a counter not even in a device . I don't care ! how much power they have if it kills my equipment when I need it.
    Sure all the expensive advertising say's all the emergency personal uses it, but they don't own they equipment and can throw it away, or use the batteries to full use as soon as they put them in.
    It's better to buy the cheapest off brand batteries from whatever store than to buy Duracell at least they don't leak and destroy your stuff before an emergency, ; When You really need them...!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    NastyBatteryAcid Mar 30, 2017

    @Mark Walther Thank you for confirming what a few of us already experienced. Leaking Duracells. I see those commercials too and get so pissed at the things they ruined. My freaking FURNITURE because I had battery operated candles on my diningroom furniture. Who is going to fix that?? My fireplace mantle...same deal, leaked Duracells in holiday lanterns...they were only there for six weeks and I put new batteries in them!!! I recently bought a ton of Sam's Club batteries. Don't know who makes them, so will have to be a battery checker for a couple years.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    bayareakirk Jun 13, 2017

    I just came to work and my mouse wasn't working. Sure enough, two badly leaking Duracell AA batteries dated to expire 2022. Mouse is used weekly so not an issue of non use. I think it's criminal, or should be criminal, to sell batteries known to leak for years and years without fixing the problem.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dotsie Watson Aug 02, 2017

    I stopped buying duracells many years ago after one leaked into my hvac thermostat and I spent a cold heatless winter morning repairing/rebuilding the corroded parts in it.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Douglas Toltzman Mar 08, 2018

    I used to purchase Duracell batteries because they didn't leak. Recently, the Duracells I've been purchasing have been leaking before I even install them in anything. I generally keep some batteries on hand for emergencies, and they are stored in an air conditioned home. When I go to use them, I find they are leaking in the package. The expiration date is 2023!

    I'm finished with Duracell. What good is a battery you don't even get to use? That's not even to mention the equipment damage that results from leaky batteries. Duracell went from being the battery that didn't leak to the battery that always leaks.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott Garrett Neil Jan 25, 2019

    Agree with the OP. At least 75% of the Duracell batteries I have ever used, going back three decades, has leaked, often destroying what they were installed in. I avoid them like the plague, but occasionally you get stuck using them. I have had good luck with EverReady products. Here in Asia we are often forced to use Panasonic, which are seven orders of magnitude worse than Duracell, if that's even possible. I have become an expert at cleaning up contacts -- baking soda and a drop or two of water on a Q-Tip. But if you don't catch it in time, the acid will leach down into the circuitry and can't be repaired. I have never used the Duracell repair/replacement service, but finally I must start. I have lost many hundreds of dollars worth of equipment due to Duracell's incompetence -- sometimes I have lost cherished, irreplaceable devices. If other manufacturers can make batts that don't leak, then so can Duracell. They simply CHOOSE not to. Maybe they save a hundredth of a penny per unit. Penny-wise and dollar-stupid. They leave a trail of enraged ex-customers around the world.

    1 Votes

Post your comment