Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Universal Vacation Club

Posted:    

Buyer beware of the villa group - uvc

Complaint Rating:  87 % with 63 votes
87% 63
4.35
Contact information:
Villa Group - UVC
San Diego and Mexico, California
United States
We need to get the word out before more innocent people get scammed. The Villa Group and UVC are in the process of building 2 new resorts and you know what that means, they need more timeshare owners. If only they honored what they sell... that's all anyone wants, no more, no less.

The Villa Group or UVC does not seem to care about their existing customers and they do not tell the truth in their sales presentations. We have tried to fix our issues with just about everyone with the Villa Group and UVC and they have done absolutely nothing. Below is our original complaint sent to UVC and the Villa Group. Since complaining, all 3 of our referrals that are joining us next week at the property were called within the last day and informed that they are "ineligible for the referral program because they are traveling with us" - so they are no longer being offered the round-trip transportation to/from the airport/resort or the $300.00 in resort credit - retailiation? Who are these people? Should we be afraid when we arrive on Sunday? Stay tuned!

To make matters worse, today I get my UVC newsletter in the mail where they are promoting their "referral program" and claim that referrals can stay for $25.00 per night. So why was I charged $987.00 to upgrade my unit to accomidate our "referrals" that are joining us and why did we have go through a travel agent to book an additional night at the resort when our flight was cancelled and we were booked on a flight a day later? (UVC said they were sold out and couldn't help. So what exactly are we getting for the $17K we've spent plus yearly maintence?

Background:

On August 4, 2006 while we were in Cabo San Lucas, we were approached by a Villa Group Senior Sales Representative, Linda Salisbury, about an exciting opportunity to purchase a timeshare at a soon to be developed premier resort called Villa Del Arco. She invited us to tour the property and hear about the exciting pre-development discount pricing being offered by the Villa Group/ResortCom International. Ms. Salisbury then drove us to the property where we were shown the future layout of the resort (still under construction) and an already built and furnished 1-bedroom unit. Liking what we saw, we then sat down with Ms. Salisbury to discuss the details of purchasing a 1-bedroom unit at Villa Del Arco. Following are the contract terms we were promised if we purchased and became owners of a 1-bedroom unit during the summer season (weeks 18 - 43) for the purchase price of $16, 995.00:


1. Two 1-bedroom ocean view/pool view units for the price of one unit - second unit was called a "Gold Week"

2. Guaranteed use of 1 1-bedroom unit for two weeks each year or 2 1-bedroom units for 1 week each year.

3. As a "Gold Member/Property Owner" we would have the right to use our "Gold Week" anytime during our summer season.

4. Guaranteed stay at Villa Del Arco during our time slot or the option to use Interval International to travel elsewhere.

5. Guaranteed owner priority reservations.

6. Guaranteed owner priority upgrades to larger units if available at no additional cost.

7. Guaranteed extended stay at maintenance fee rates.

6. UVC and Interval International membership.

7. Maintenance fees not to exceed $602.00 per unit per year.

8. Complimentary resort shuttle service to and from the airport to the resort.

9. Resort use is exclusive to timeshare owners and will not be available to the open market. This was explained to ensure member use, unlike other timeshares.

All sounded wonderful to us and we entered into a contract and became timeshare owners, paying for our purchase in full.


Issues from the beginning:

Our problems began with our first attempt to stay at the property:

We wanted to use 2 units for 1 week in June 2007 and were told that because of the high demand from owners, the Villa group could not honor the 2nd unit. After a lot of complaining and run around, we were finally granted the use of the second unit. We were also informed that the complimentary shuttle service was not yet being honored and we had to rent a car for the week at a cost of $875.00 Upon arrival at the property we were put in units that faced the swamp next door (no ocean/pool view) and in the middle of very noisy construction. We complained to member services and they informed us that there was nothing they could do - the resort was sold out.

After being at the resort for 2 days and constantly going to the front desk to see about being moved, we learned from the hotel manager that the resort was not sold out and in fact units with views were available but not for "timeshare owners" - the Villa group only owned 35% of the resort and those were sold out. If we wanted to purchase units with better views we could directly from the hotel at a cost of $425.00 per night. This was clearly not acceptable and we immediately went to the member services desk where we literally made a scene. We were quickly moved into the type of units we purchased.

2008 reservation issues:

We elected to not vacation at the resort in 2008 when we were told there was no availability for 2 units - clearly a breach of contract.

2009 reservation issues:

Over a year ago we booked 2 1-bedroom units for the week of 7/12 - 7/19, 2009 - we originally wanted to vacation in June (not July) but even booking a year in advance we were told it wasn't available - so we adjusted our plans and made a reservation in July.

Shortly after two different couples we know were interested in vacationing with us and to possibly buy into the resort. We contacted member services to see about upgrading one of our units to a 2-bedroom so that we could all fit. We were told that the resort was sold out and there was nothing member services could do about an upgrade. We then called the hotel and learned that was not true and 2-bedroom units were available (again through purchase direct from the hotel) we also checked Expedia and Travelocity and sure enough there is availability. We contacted UVC and were told those units were not available to us - the Villa Group only owns 35% of the property. We then called the on-site Villa Group reservation manager, Blanca Montes, who confirmed the same. After many phone calls and threats, we were able to upgrade 1 of our units to a 2-bedroom at an additional cost of $987.00. So much for your referral program. 2 days later we saw on your Villa Group website that we could of and should of been able to upgrade that unit for only $25.00.

Then in early June we we received a call from Alaska Airlines informing us that our return flight on 7/19 was canceled and we were moved to a flight on 7/20. We immediately contacted UVC about adding an additional night for each unit and were told that we could not - the resort is sold out. Knowing this was not true (we called the hotel and looked on-line) we began making phone calls everywhere. To this day this additional night has not been resolved and we have no idea where we are staying the night of 7/19.

Class-Action Law Suit

Clearly we are not alone in being misrepresented by your company/company representatives. We were contacted recently by an attorney representing 48 other Villa Group/Villa Del Arco property owners about a class-action breach of contract law suit that will seek full purchase price refunds. We have our own file documenting everything as well as the video tape from the sales presentation.

This has become the biggest nightmare and possibly the biggest investment mistake we have ever made. We have spent numerous hours trying to work with your company and have no choice but to keep our reservation this year, but still need an additional night. We also do not feel we should have had to pay the additional $987.00 for the upgraded unit since we are bringing people who are set up to hear your sales presentation. We also do not yet know how we are getting to/from the airport to the resort - apparently your shuttle service is "still not available." (current status: we booked on own final night through a travel agent - UVC still couldn't help us)


We look forward to hearing what your/your company plans to do to rectify this situation and ask that we receive an email back within 24 hours. We would also like to inform you that our family attorney will also be in Cabo San Lucas the same week we are there to do his own investigation on our behalf. We refuse to be taken advantage of and also feel an obligation to ensure this never happens to anyone else.


Sincerely,


Ernest and Terri Silva
Member #: 16-25063
Complaint comments Comments (98)    Updated: Complaint country United States Complaint category Vacation Clubs

Comments

Sort by: Date | Rating
N  14th of Apr, 2016 by    0 Votes
Has a class action lawsuit been started? I have a timeshare and was disclosed to the 5 day cooling period. Instead I was told that if I cancel a penalty of the deposit will be charged. This was a complete scam and a total disregard of trust. If anyone has filed for this please let me know.

Email - Nocmoto@yahoo.com
A  24th of May, 2016 by    0 Votes
I would like to be added to this group if there is a class action lawsuit. I kick myself every time I hear their name. We purchased in March of 2016. Everything they told me was a scam and utter false and lies. I've tried to contact our sales guy and the manager in Nuevo Vallarta at villa deal palmar flamingos to get the run around. For some reason they are never in. We paid over $25k. I feel terrible having wasted my family's money when I thought I would be saving my family money. My email is jenwalia@live.com. They never disclosed a cooling off period to me or my husband
N  17th of Jun, 2016 by    0 Votes
It is always best to hire someone skilled to do so, unfortunately in most cases these companies dedicated to cancel timeshares usually cheat for the second time to their customers since they are vulnerable and desperate. If you are thinking of hiring them you just have to make sure you do not have to make any payment upfront.
I found this article that speak precisely about this, you should read it, that might help you to resolve many doubts:

http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/121-how-to-get-rid-of-a-timeshare/
N  21st of Jun, 2016 by    0 Votes
Dear Member, we apologize for the inconvenience. I am the Developer's Representative for the Villa Group and want help you end your frustrations. You may contact me by email to maintain your privacy if you wish. My email is amemberserv@villagroup.com. I will be sure and see exactly what is causing this confusion when you try to make reservations and hope to come to a quick resolution of the matter.

Best Regards,

Developer Representative
Villa Group
N  21st of Jun, 2016 by    0 Votes

Universal Vacation Club - Incompetency and lack of customer care for their members
Universal Vacation Club
United States

Just called UVC to book our 2010 timeshare reservation at Villa del Palmar-Los Cabos. Was told that I can no longer book reservations for this timeshare and that may husband is the only one on the account. I was added to the account 5 plus years ago and have been booking all of our reservations for the past 5 plus years. When he called to have me added yet again for the second time he was told we had to complete new forms instead of just adding me to the account. They would rather inconvenience their members then look at their account history to verify I have been an authorized on the account all along. They have no sense of customer service and are completely incompetent.
N  24th of Jun, 2016 by    0 Votes
I've spent a lot of money and i was scammed by other companies trying to cancel my timeshare. My advice is that if you're going to hire a company to help you with the problem, DO NOT PAY ANYTHING UPFRONT, because it use to be a fraud. I did a research on internet and i found some interesting articles, i recommend you to read this one:

http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/206-how-to-get-out-of-a-timeshare/
A  7th of Jul, 2016 by    0 Votes
I also was given false information on the Villa del Palmar Flamingos resort. I have sent my cancellation on day 3 and have yet to hear of cancellation being made. I will not stop and will contact and send letters to anyone and everyone I can if they do not honor my cancellation.
N  18th of Jul, 2016 by    0 Votes
OH dear! I just run into this forum, I SOOOO invite you to read this article,

http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/107-timeshare-cancel-professionals/

I think It will pretty much say everything that needs to be say.
I went through the same thing, and I'm out of three thousand dollars right now BUT I'm in a process to cancel my timeshare.
N  5th of Nov, 2016 by    0 Votes
At all Villa del Palmar resorts Universal Vacation Club (UVC) owns a percentage of the units for each week. The Developer is not obligated to provide accommodations to the Members. Members only have access to the membership sales percentage of each category of membership (excluding delinquencies and foreclosures). Thus, if 35% of the total memberships for a given class of membership has been sold, then that is the maximum percentage available to the membership for that particular week. The remaining 65% is available to the Developer for sales incentives and hotel rentals. Of the 35%, members reserving units have first priority for the 1/2 of the units with beachfront views. If more than 17.5% are staying at the resort, then some of those members may not have access to beachfront units. I believe the UVC webpage should provide membership sales statistics and occupancy availability by date/week. With each passing week more Memberships are purchased, and the percentage of Membership availability increases proportionately. Eventually, the resort will be sold-out, and 50 of 52 weeks will be available for the Membership (based upon class and unit size). The Developer will have ownership of the remaining 2 weeks, but any unit closed for repairs is subtracted from the Developer's inventory (not the Membership Units). If more units are occupied by exchange people (RCI, II, etc.), then all participating Members will have access to beachfront units, as Exchange people will be assigned the less desirable units (where applicable).
N  18th of Nov, 2016 by    0 Votes
Ah...so it is good to know we are not alone. We purchased our unit in 07 during a stay and originally, everything was great. One of the main selling points was that we could trade the Villa Del Arco for other Vacation International locations. The Del Arco is very attractive and for obvious reasons, we are very excited about the trade opportunities. We booked our first week and dumped it into the trade pool and promptly received a trade to the Maui Kanapaali Westin, which we were thrilled with and turned out to be awesome. We have small boys and while we enjoy cabo, it is not necessarily the most family friendly and this is why we were pleased with the "tradability" of our unit. Well...our next attempt, we booked a week at Del Arco and dumped it into the trade pool and...nothing...no bites for any of our locations requested...We finally called and asked about the week in the pool and we were informed the "according to our contract, we could only reserve units in the Villa Del Palmar for trading". Nothing in our contract states this. Our contract refers specifically that we OWN units at Del Arco. No other resort is mentioned in our contract. No limit on trading is detailed anywhere. Needless to say, the Del Palmar, which I would rank as a 2.0 to 2.5 star location versus the 4.0 to 4.5 star Del Arco attracted no real trades except for the Hilton in...guess where...Cabo! Needless to say we did go to the Hilton and it was very nice and I would highly recommend. We have not stayed much in Del Arco but I am sure there will be more trials when we do try to get something there. But really, I am mostly frustrated and angered by the unwritten policies regarding trades. This is a clear breach of our contract and the sales agents absolutely played up the ability to trade the beautiful Del Arco facility for anyplace in the world. Well, they figured a way around that by just ignoring and breaching their contract.

I would gladly join any action against villa group if one ever happens but I am not holding my breath on that one.

I can be reached at 360-509-3299 and or jphall1021@gmail.com

Beware shoppers...it is truly deceptive what Villa Group does.
A  11th of Dec, 2016 by    0 Votes
Yet another Villa Del Palmar victim here. Bought in 2007, didn't realize the extent that we were scammed until we tried to start using the timeshare. Attempted to cancel, sell or transfer membership without any luck. We quit paying membership dues hoping they would cancel our membership but was just contacted by Monterey Collections for the past 3 years worth of dues and some hefty penalties. I have again tried to contact Resortcom/UVC by phone and email to see if we can cancel if we pay but they say they cannot speak to us until we pay up. I know if we pay we can just expect another bill for maintenance fees next year. We are sick of Villa Del Palmar and want out! Help!
A  11th of Dec, 2016 by    0 Votes
I urge anyone who sees this that has been scammed by a timeshare, no matter how long ago, to file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and their local Attorney Generals Office. If we can get a flood of complaints filed, the government will have to look into the deceit, lies and fraudulent practices that timeshare companies like Villa Del Palmar and Resortcom use to lure in and defraud people. It only takes a few minutes each. I have read thousands of online complaints, all saying pretty much the same thing. If we all take action someone will take notice!
N  13th of Dec, 2016 by    0 Votes
Villa Del Arco victims that bought in 2012 and realize we were scammed a few months after and want to cancel, sell or transfer membership and even thinking about foreclosing. We are sick of Villa Del Arco! please email me at vatrias@gmail.com
N  13th of Dec, 2016 by    0 Votes
Seriously file with the above agencies, especially the CFPB and lets get this stuff on official record. I already heard back from the CFPB and they are forwarding it to the FTC and have made contact with UVC. I think if we get enough complaints there will be some real pressure on these crooks.
A  13th of Dec, 2016 by    0 Votes
I have made over 100 posts on review sites and completely unrelated public and private forums that I am a member on and there have been a lot of people come forward with similar experiences who hopefully will follow through and file complaints. Bad publicity costs these guys big bucks.
A  2nd of Nov, 2017 by    0 Votes
Have anyone been contacted regarding the lawsuits? I like to file one as well and need more information. If anyone is taking action please contact me. Saosidnie@gmail.com
N  6th of Nov, 2017 by    0 Votes
My husband and I also bought our timeshare in October 2006 and it has been nothing more than a nightmare and now we just want to get out from under it. Has anyone had any luck selling their timeshare and if so who did you use? I would also appreciate any information a class action lawsuit. Thank you
A  7th of Nov, 2017 by    0 Votes
Unlimited Vacation Club-
We were misled, misinformed, WITH UNETHICAL BEHAVIOR
Oct 2017
As soon as we got there we were bombarded with request from Unlimited Vacation Club to attend one of the 90 minute sales, they promised no pressure., .yea right!! Nothing but, after 4 hours,
On Monday April 17 2017
My husband met with them the next day to say we DID not want the membership, and of course, the Price was dropped again. Well during this presentation, they show you this BEAUTIFUL ocean view one bedroom suite with full kitchen, living room, dining room etc. Of course in the end, this is not what you get when you sign up, but we sign up and paid a fortune.
After talking it over and thinking it was a good because, I love the Secrets resorts it all seemed very nice just to purchase the membership to find out it was all a scam.
The hours we spend wasting our vacation away, TO LISTEN TO THEM SCAM US AND LIE TO US.
Yes, I believed what they said. Yes I trusted them and yes to find out that all they offered us was actually nothing compared to the money we paid.
On Tuesday 18 2017, we faxed the contract to our family lawyer (his information can be provided) to go over it and he right then and there said to cancel. We went into the lobby to cancel and they didn’t want to hear anything. The only thing they kept saying is give some time, and made us a VIP clients at that time.
I have been in touch and assigned PMG a federal and state consumer protection lawyers
On Wednesday 19 2017
We were misinformed and lied to again, We tried to cancel at the resort but time after time they lied to us stating that this was a great offer, I believed them due to the fact that I love the Secret resorts AND again the following day we spoke to them and they took us for a walk sowing us the we would have a VIP room again. They stated time after time that when we use UVC THE ONLY THING WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR IS THE PRICE PER PERSON FOR FOOD.
On Thursday 20 2017
I went to the office to speak to the gentle that was involved with buying UVC and he was off that day. I also went to the office at breathless to see the manager and waited for at least one hour but did not show up. Went back down stair to find some kind of assistance but they told us to return the next day.
On Friday 21 2017
I returned to the UVC office to once again try to cancel, and when they heard that word they stated to go home to the states and think about it and cancel then, at that day and time we had scheduled a activate and were already late by the time we came back the office the office was closed.
On Saturday 22 2017
I simple wanted to rest and enjoy my so called vacation. I abused and mentally damaged with what I had gone through.
On Monday 24 2017
We Also email memeberservises@resortcom.com stating Please cancel our policy, even when we first
Worst decision we ever made. I knew it was a big mistake Got home, started reading reviews and realized we were lied to, and they sold us a membership that is useless and impossible to book vacations with. I didn’t pay this amount $XX.XXX to get 20% off THAT’S ALL UVC offered us. Members of unlimited vacation club receive 25% off hotel rooms, but if you go through Expedia or any online travel service, you'll find cheaper rates than they can get you.
They filled us up with lie just to discover that it was a scam when we came home. I called so many times to cancel but the moment I said I need someone to talk like a manager they put me on hold and passed me other agent, but wouldn’t pass me to a supervisor or manager, this went on for days.
Until other things in my life were more important such as an 80 foot tree falling on my house and destroyed my life and losing two cars. I ended up trying to figure this out rather than holding on line on the phone to find some support from UVC. Recently I lost my dad and my mom ended up in the hospital and once again I don’t have the time to stay on the phone and speak to someone that would only say that I will not be getting a refund. UVC SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THEMSELVES LEADING PEOPLE TO BELIEVE ALL THE INFORMATION THAT THEY TELL THEM….
I email and forward the message that I responded back with the statement of PLEASE CANCEL MY CONTRACT but until they stated that they could cancel my contract but WTHOUT A REFUND
I will not allow UVC TO MENTALLY ABUSE ME ANYMORE/MANY OTHERS HAVE RECEIVED THE SAME UNETHICAL BEHAVIOR…
I have followed the requirements to the best of my ability without any adeptness to cancel prior to this.
This is my second letter to UVC
Thank you for your assistance

Post your Comment

Please check text spelling before submitting a comment
Your attitude towards Complaint Agree Neutral Disagree
Comment text
Attach photos (optional)

UVC International (Universal Vacation Club) Logo UVC International (Universal Vacation Club)
Customer Care Service
6850 Bermuda Rd
Las Vegas
Nevada
United States - 89119-3615
+1 619 683 2470
View Full Information
Contact Us
bdomains.com
     

Reply to

Send