Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Philippine Airlines / cancelled flights

Philippines, Manila
100% 1
Contact information:
I booked and paid for a return flight from Sydney to Manila on 5th December 2014
I received confirmation that the two flights-Departing Sydney 11/6/15 and returning from Manilla 6/7/15 that same day.
Accordingly I then made hotel and tour arrangements that same day.

On the 10th February, 2015 I received an email advising me that changes had taken place and both flights had been cancelled and moved to the following day ie 12/6/15 and 7/7/15.
I called their customer service centre on 4 separate occassions and each time I was told that they were not prepared to compensate me in any way for the delayed day for my hotel and the extra hotel costs/transfer for the return trip.Philippine Airlines were relying on their terms and conditions to circumvent compensation.I then had to arrange to stay at a hotel for 2 nights in Manila
for my extra day layover and also airport transfers to and from the airport which were non-refundable.

On the 22nd May, 2015 I posted a letter of complaint to their CEO who is also their chairman Dr Tan to their HO in Manila.
On the 16th June I received an email from their customer service office acknowledging my letter of complaint and offering 15, 000 bonus points to their frequent flyer program and pay for 1 night accommodation (2 nights were required).
I sent a reply advising them that I was already in Manila and had been there for 6 days and that the offer was too late and unacceptable.
Never heard a word from them since then.
I chose this airline in the belief that they were a reputable and reliable airline given that I was fed up with cancelled flights with Air Asia and believed this airline was a viable alternative and was not a budget airline.
How wrong could I be.Experience has proven that Philippine Airlines
is worse than a budget airline (their tickets are at a higher cost) and
I consider the MANAGEMENT of this airline to be completely unreliable, unrepentant, unprofessional and unconscionable.
The MANAGEMENT needs to take a good look at themselves and start following their ground
staff and cabin crew/pilots example who Do show proper professionalism.

I will never use Philippine Airlines again and it is a shame that this airline uses the name of it's home country as I believe it does not reflect the caring of this country's persona.
I am just fed up with this airline and urge others to be very careful if considering using this second class airline.
I am applying through my travel insurance for compensation but the waste of time I have spent trying to resolve this issue with this airline has cost many many hours without result.
Jul 17, 2015

Post your Comment

Philippine Airlines Logo Philippine Airlines
Customer Care Service
PO Box 1344
+63 27 775 932
+63 27 775 928
View Full Information

Reply to