SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

MyHeritage / my heritage dna test results wrong

United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I have received my DNA results back and they are completely different from the results I had from ancestry DNA which are accurate. They say I am 100% European which is not correct as I have Polynesian ancestry which was confirmed in ancestry DNA testing. Also it said 0% Scandinavian when I have 20%. Was my DNA test actually tested? Or are your results just made up? I intend to follow this up as it is so inaccurate.

  • Updated by Jojo Wick, Dec 20, 2017

    Just to follow up on my previous comments, Rafael from my Heritage customer service sent me a full explanation about my results and I was given an immediate refund. Thanks Rafael- great follow up service.

Jo
Dec 19, 2017
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Bi
      Jan 19, 2018

    I too just received the results of my DNA test, and I am disappointed...not in the accuracy, for I have nothing to compare it to, but in the fact that it gives me nothing except the percentage of my DNA attributed to each geographical region. True, it does give me a list of people who are related to me by DNA, but when I check on a block to see more info about those people, or to contact them, it immediately takes me to a page asking me to upgrade my membership and send them more money. It appears that the purpose of this DNA testing site is to tease members into sending more money in order to get meaningful information. I wish I had used a different DNA testing site.

    +2 Votes
  • Gu
      Jan 30, 2018

    I tried to upload raw dna data to MyHeritage and got this: This file does not appear to be a valid autosomal export. Please follow the steps and try again.

    I downloaded correctly. Also, what does Central American mean? Does it mean Native American, Mestizo or ???

    Guillermo

    0 Votes
  • Ra
      Feb 04, 2018

    @Guillermo Lazo Dear Guillermo,

    The MyHeritage DNA kit is an autosomal DNA test for genetic genealogy, designed to discover and identify relatives and ancestors, through DNA matches with MyHeritage's genealogical matching database.

    Humans have 46 chromosomes. The MyHeritage DNA test looks at the first 44 'autosomal' chromosomes, that aren't the X or Y chromosomes determining your gender, identifying linked DNA segments. It analyses the DNA inherited from your mother and father, four grandparents, eight great-grandparents, and so on - to provide you with a breakdown of your ethnic percentages and connect you with relatives descended from any of your ancestral lines within approximately the last 6 generations. Both men and women can take the MyHeritage DNA test, and the results are not limited to just the direct maternal or paternal lines.

    To download the raw data file of your MyHeritage DNA test, please follow these instructions:

    1. Hover over the DNA tab and go to 'Manage DNA kits':

    2. On the right-hand side of the MyHeritage kit, click on the three dots and choose ‘Download’:

    3. A window will pop up with information on what you are about to download. Click ‘Continue’:

    4. In the next popup you will be asked to accept the MyHeritage Terms of Service and the Privacy Policy, then click ‘Continue’:

    5. An email with instructions will be sent to your registered email address.

    6. Find this email in your mailbox and click on the download link:

    Important: The link is only valid for 24 hours. If you haven’t used the link within 24 hours, you will need to start the process again from step 1.

    7. Once you clicked on the download link, you will be redirected to the MyHeritage site. Enter your password and click the ‘Download’ button:

    8. The file will be downloaded to your computer.

    If you need any assistance with this, please e-mail me personally at rafael.[protected]@myheritage.com . I'd be happy to help you always.

    Kind Regards
    Rafael
    MyHeritage

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Mar 18, 2018

    My results of DNA can't be true! I know who were my parents, yet it didn't show my father at all!!! I am the first generation who came to USA, and they find some cousins??? I believe you don't do any testing or you have no idea how to do it!!! Regret I wasted the money, and you don't take any responsibilities for what you do!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Mar 23, 2018

    Okay, so I just got my results back and to say I am disappointed is an understatement.
    According to My Heritage results I have no Asian in me at all yet my mother who gave birth to me is half Indian. Should I be having a conversation with my mother? Could I be adopted and they forgot to tell me although, we look very much alike (even have same eyebrows and chin) and I look like my relatives. I have quite a detailed family tree and was just trying to tie up some loose ends, like which part of Asia my Asian side hails from as they migrated to the Caribbean a while back. I actually feel a little conned.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Oct 02, 2018

    FTDNA shows pretty reasonable results, well-aligned with the historical documents (of course not without discrepancies), but when you export the data _from FTDNA to MH_, what you get is nonsense, just remotely resembling the reality. The matches can still be useful because these are harder to interpret in a completely wrong way (at least you can see the basic info on segments).

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Dec 23, 2018

    I just received my results from My Heritage DNA. I am VERY disappointed in the "so called" results. It states that I am 49% "Balkan". The Balkan countries are Greece, Iran, Iraq and Turkey. I know for a fact I am NOT these nationalities! I am a second generation Italian! If My Heritage uses a "computer" to finalize the results, they need to reboot the damn thing!Time to call Ancestry.com and order their DNA kit.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      Dec 31, 2018

    If you are based in the UK, send County Court summons

    My. Heritage.com
    Unit 4635
    PO Box 6945
    LONDON
    W1A 6US

    Be prepared to go to High Court so add additional costs

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      Feb 17, 2019

    Like all other posts listed, I agree that this DNA testing site is bunk! I am extremely disappointed! I am a first generation Mexican-American and according to their results, turns out I am Nigerian, Italian and Japanese! WHAT?? Suffice it to say I am light skinned with big green eyes. Do NOT waste your money with MyHeritage. I doubt they really test any thing and simply throw something together on an email. If not then it is an extremely tainted lab with no procedures and protocols.

    0 Votes

Post your comment