SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Menardsno refunds on gas powerd tools if used

1
L Review updated:

I bought a gas string trimmer from Menards during June. The first time I used it, the head got stuck. I took it back for an exchange. They said they cannot exchange or refund my money. I have to take the trimmer into an authorized service shop. I informed them that I bought this thing only a week ago and only used it once. They told me that I am stuck with it and all that can be done is try an fix it. They told me that a couple of months a go, Menards corporate office made this anti-consumer decision not to take back any gas powered equipment if it has been used. I asked the manager for their corporate office number. He gave me [protected]. I called and one of the first things the IVR says is "..customer satisfaction is our number one goal..". After that, you will have no way to talk to anyone live about your return or complaint. They give you an address and a fax number to send in your complaints. I think Menards is going out of business and they are trying to save money anyway they can. And customer service has been hit hard. I got on their very simple website and again, no phone numbers. I found one place that you can send your questions to. I did send my complain to it. Just want to give everyone a heads up...One other thing I noticed, Menards receipts don't have store phone numbers. At least mine doesn't. curious...

Comments

  • 4
      Jun 22, 2009

    Just a little note, when you said you thought Menards is going out of business, you are completely wrong. Mr. John Menards Jr. recently crossed the line from millionaire to billionaire.

    0 Votes
  • L
      Jun 22, 2009

    That is good to hear. At least we know that the money he is saving cutting back the customer service is going to a good cause.

    +1 Votes
  • L
      Jun 25, 2009

    Well, I got a quick response to my email. A rep replied that he will look into the issue. I didnt hear anything for three days. On the third day I replied to his email asking if he had heard anything. He replied nothing yet. On the fourth day I was fed up and I emailed back wondered how a simple issue like this can take such a long time to figure out. Whether replace the unit or tell me to take a hike. Got an email back and the rep told me, if so simple why dont you take the unit to a service center to fix it?(other words, take a hike). I like direct answers. I replied simply, will do. So I figured dealing with Menards is like beating a dead horse, albeit a very wealthy horse. I found the number to the store from the phone book( remember, they dont have their number on their receipts anymore). I talked to the person at Menards and asked where I can take my brand new string trimmer to get it fixed. She gave me the number to a service place which is 45 miles away from where I live(and 20 miles from that store). LOL. So, I have to take this thing 90 miles round trip and if I am lucky have it fixed a few days later and go pick it up with another 90 miles round trip. What can I say, Go Menards!!! Oh BTW, when I called Menards, the IVR still says service and customer satisfaction... They must be talking about Lowe's or another good and customer centric hardware store.

    0 Votes
  • N
      Jul 08, 2009

    I just had the same thing happen to me yesterday(7/7/09). The day before my husband purchased a weed wacker/trimmer and when he tried to start it nothing, it just did not work. I took it back to the store; they tried for 20 mins to start it and nothing. They came back handed me the piece of junk along with the number to a place where they could fix it. Right away I told them that I did not want the number, nor the faulty equipment. They told me there was nothing they could do, and I could speak to a manager if I wanted to, but that this policy was put in place because they had found that other customers had done something to the machines and they ended up with the bill. I told him that I was very sorry to hear that, but that I should not pay for the sins of others and that of course I would speak to a manager
    I waited for the manager and had a 20 minute exchange with him that started with me pointing out how ridiculous their policy is. How can I test if the gas powered equipment works UNLESS I PUT GAS IN IT!! Then basically all that he kept doing was tell me "that's our policy", and I saying am not leaving here without my refund.
    He insisted that I had to get it fixed, I told him you know actually I have a broken one at home, that I looked at and figured maybe it's not even worth fixing, I’ll just buy a new one, came here got this one, and now I have to send it to get fixed? You know I bought it because it's new and I expect it to work as new. What you are asking me to do is to buy a refurbished item without telling me is faulty in the first place and that is illegal. You fix it! I am not fixing it! I am not leaving here without my refund or with that piece of junk you sold me!

    I finally said if you went to buy a car and you try to start it and they said well there's no gas, you must put gas in order to run it, and I did, then i tried starting it, I give the dealer a try at starting it, and no one can make it work, how then would you feel if they told you that you have to get a tow truck and get it fixed?
    He told me that if I got a flat tire in my car I can blame the dealer and have to fix it myself... I said Yes, you are so right but that would imply I actually drove it.

    At this point he asked me to lower my voice, after pointing out that I was not speaking loud, but I was not going to stop unless he refunded my money, he said if you don't do that I will ask you to leave and not give you your money back. I was very upset, but I did realized, by the tone of his voice that he was finally seeing things my way and was refunding my money... so I waited for him, as he authorized for my money to be refunded.
    Omar the clerk at the cash machine, was very prompt at pointing out that I wasn't getting cash back that it would only go back to my debit card. I guess he thought I wanted the cash for something else, but he made me feel like a junkie waiting for money. Just outrageous treatment. I had other items in my cart that i put there while they were testing the weed wacker, I need them, but there are other stores in town where I can get them. You know I can understand that they must have certain policies on place, but this one is just ridiculous...

    0 Votes
  • L
      Aug 01, 2009

    Good for you. I am glad you got your money. Unfortunately I was not as lucky or good as you were in explaining my problem and got stuck. I hope others will read these reviews before buying from Menard's. I have spread the word in my little way and maybe, just maybe some day Menard's will change their ways and think of the consumers first. Meanwhile I do my shopping at Lowe's and Home Depot where the customer actually counts, not as another dollar in their pocket, but as a life long consumer.

    0 Votes
  • B
      Mar 24, 2012

    We paid almost $ 200.00 dollars on a Yard Man Mower and had it for less than 24 hours . At fist it started and mowed about 10 - 20 % of our yard all flat and no objects to hit . A piece of metal close to the blade that the blade bolts to fell off . Now the mower just wont start at all . We returned to the store and was told we had to get it fixed by an authorized repair shop . On the box it says you get a two year warranty . We went back home with the same piece of junk, And called all our friends about our problem and at the 1st start of spring if our friends and others shop else where for their mower needs i hope Menard feel the sting as we did . Now if they change there slogan from " SAVE BIG MONEY WHEN YOU SHOP MENARD " ---> TO ---> " LOSE BIG MONEY - GET RIPPED OFF - WHEN YOU SHOP MENARD " .

    0 Votes
  • B
      Mar 25, 2012

    Update : After we bought and was told we had to get the Yard Man fixed by an authorized repair shop . ' Because we had used the mower " . And after sitting at the house for a day thinking of how and the only way that Menard's would except a return was only if it was not used and in its original Package . I thought 1st this is stupid how stores can make policies and we the buyer have no common policies that work in our favor to help us in most issues . So I did think long and hard an the thought --->" Loop Hole "<--- came to mind . Just like Uncle Sam teaches us in Big government all the time . I used there own police right back on them . Just as they say " word for word " . If not used and in the original box you can receive a refund . So it was cleaned up like new again and placed back into the same box and re-taped with same kind of tape and returned for a full refund . So now I feel we the people should make a police for us to use some kind of a consumer union or consumer protection police plan with fare guide lines that works for us when needed .

    0 Votes
  • B
      Mar 25, 2012

    Some stores like to force their police on the consumer like we had signed a contract with them . I feel before we buy a new product we should 1st be made full aware of the stores police for the very product we are buying at that time . Then if we agree at that time to the police for that item before purchase is made / completed, We at that time can sign the agreed police and after that make our purchase, If we feel like it is unfair at least we will have a choice before we spend and risks losing the amount of money in the beginning of all sales under polices that do not adhere to the regular return polices . If they fail to inform you at the time of sale and you did not sign any agreed police . Then the sale will be under the normal return police of 30 - 90 days or witch ever the time frame along with original receipt are under at the time of purchase . If a police was changed after the purchase was made you would not be under that new police the old police would be locked in for the date of your original purchase date . As all original signed agreed polices before new police changes for all signed polices are made after original sales date for any product in an agreed police form .

    0 Votes

Post your comment