SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

LoanCare / escrow refund

Mount Vernon, OH, United States Review updated:

5/30/2018
On March 30th 2018, I received a letter stating that an escrow refund check for $403 had been mailed on March 2nd and not been cashed. this was for a house I sold on December 20th 2017.
The letter gave me step by step instructions to email the information back and a check would be issued in 7 to 10 business days.
I followed the steps(emailed) to have the check reissued which was on April 5th. I received a phone call and spoke to the agent who sent me the letter and all was well.
On May 3rd I called as I had still not received the check and was told checks were taking 30 days. I called the original agent direct and left a voice mail and also sent her an email, and received no reply to either inquiry.
27 days later I contact the customer service number and am being told checks just started going out a week ago but mine isn't one of them yet.
So almost 2 months from original contact.

(And when you call customer service the only thing on the prerecorded message is what to do about a refund check that wasn't received)
So this happens frequently.
Does anyone smell the "Lets hold on to these monies and earn the interest on our bank account?"
Never again.

Mi
May 30, 2018
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ka
      May 31, 2018

    I also received a letter stating that I had an escrow refund check issued in 2015 and it was canceled. I replied to email as requested and was told 7-10 business days, That was April 4, 2018. As of today I am told it should have been 7-10 weeks that they received over 60, 000 requests and I should be getting a check now in mid June 2018. Just curious if anyone else has actually received a check from these people? Is this a scam?

    +2 Votes
  • Ca
      Jun 15, 2018

    @Kay Crawford I am dealing with the exact issue. And no... no check yet

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jul 03, 2018

    @Kay Crawford I also sent the same exact email four months ago and still NO check!! I am absolutely livid!! I could use the money and was wondering if this was a scam!

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      May 31, 2018

    I have the exact issue and was told 60000 as well. Which to me they knew the volume when they sent the letters so stating 7-10 days was purposely deceptive if they knew they could not meet that service level agreement .

    +2 Votes
  • Ka
      Jun 01, 2018

    I filed a consumer complaint with the Attorney General office in my State against this company. I would like to also receive interest on the monies they have held since it has been 3 years.

    +2 Votes
  • Ra
      Jun 06, 2018

    I have also received that same letter stating they sent me an escrow reimbursement check back in May of 2016 in the amount of about $1250. I responded and sent an email with the requested information on April 6th. I still have yet to receive anything. I called yesterday (06/05) and was told checks would be mailed in mid-June. Starting to think this is a scam as well.

    +2 Votes
  • Df
      Jun 06, 2018

    I've been dealing with this nonsense for almost two months now! My contact at Loancare was Donna Maier donna.[protected]@loancare.net she is worthless! I've sent many emails and left voicemails with no response. There is a class action lawsuit that's building on another thread. This company is worthless and should be forced to close. I'm going to contact the Federal Trade Commission to file an official complaint so they get investigated.

    I want my escrow money that's owed to me!

    +1 Votes
  • Hj
      Jun 12, 2018

    @dfdfdfadsfdf My contact is Donna Maier too she responded one time and never again.I called customer service and they were a joke said they cant give me any information cause they do not notate the account when they send it. Very unprofessional and this is bull crap they are taking this ling

    0 Votes
  • Nh
      Jun 11, 2018

    I have the same scenario (except the amount is over $5k)!!!
    My contact is also Donna Maier, but now there is no way to get a hold of her. It has been months...something is wrong.
    How does one get their name on the class action suit?

    +1 Votes
  • Nc
      Jun 19, 2018

    I am even more concerned now that I see there are multiple other complaints for this very issue. I have a similar story to everyone else. Filled out a form, returned promptly, received a confirmation email from Donna Maier but none of my follow ups have been addressed by email or phone call.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Jun 20, 2018

    I have had the same problem; a letter stating a refund check was issued in December 2016. More than 2 months and several phone calls and emails, still no replacement check. I called today and was told that Donna is issueing the checks twice weekly and that there is basically a landslide of checks to be mailed. Also, I was told that someone would follow up with me today. Supposedly some supervisors are going to contact her. We shall see...

    0 Votes
  • Sr
      Jul 02, 2018

    Add me to the list. My letter came in March. I called because I wasn’t sure if it was a scam. It was on black and white paper like a photocopy. My loan hadn’t been with Loancare for years Left voicemail for Donna. Emailed. No response to either. So I called the regular Loancare customer service line and they confirmed it was not a scam but checks were taking more like 4-6 weeks. So I waited. Called again and now there is a generic message instead of Donna on vm. Today I stayed on the line and spoke with another customer service representative who said that their department can send a message to Donna and their team and that team will get back to me on status in 24-48 hours. I asked what do I do if I don’t hear back and she said that they haven’t had that issue but to call back if I don’t hear from them. I am going to contact the attorney general in my state too. See what can be done.

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Jul 05, 2018

    Same here, its been 3 months since getting the '7-10 business days' message. Donna Maier was my contact too. Several calls, several emails no check...

    0 Votes
  • Ty
      Jul 07, 2018

    I was having the same issue with Donna Maier and Loancare, and after seeing all of these complaints and not getting any response from loancare since early April, I decided to take some action. I filed a complaint with the CFPB on June 22, and I had my check in hand July 6! Loancares response was just something like “we checked your account and a check was immediately reissued”. It was pretty painless, I would highly recommend anyone taking this approach. I would think that the more CFPB complaints they get, the more responsive they will get. Just thought I’d share, this forum was the only reason that I pursued anything beyond just trying over and over to get some response from them directly.

    +1 Votes
  • Es
      Jul 07, 2018

    Wow! I have the EXACT same complaint! Received a letter from Donna Maier back in March 2018 that was mailed to our old address saying we had a escrow refund. Sent the required information back by email to Donna and got an automatic response. Sent a follow up email in May and still haven't heard anything or received the check. This is kind of creepy. I haven't tried calling yet but will on Monday and follow up with the State as well.

    0 Votes
  • Le
      Jul 24, 2018

    This thread is disconcerting. I have not yet had any letters or any issue except access to my account on https://myloancare.com It simply stopped functioning several months back. I have since moved out of the country and am trying to access from europe without success. At first I blamed it on my tight Norton program and attempted to drop my security to the Loan Care site, yet again, without success. Now I have contacted USAA PHH Mortgage to find out if they are aware of this mishandling I am reading above in this thread. Certainly all of us should be concerned that there is a huge failure occurring while we are faithfully paying our mortgages. Let's keep our information helpful and post effective phone numbers, email addresses, and or agency reports of any sort. Skeep

    0 Votes
  • Fi
      Aug 04, 2018

    It took ~ 90 days, continuous follow-up phone calls and follow-up emails to get our check. I was about to follow the advice above and submit a complain to CFPB, but the check FINALLY arrived. Phone operators were always polite, but could only email Donna as well. When asking to be escalated to a manager, I was told that there was nobody that I could speak to. Sent a follow-up email to Donna and received a reply from someone else named Marcia Goodman, marcia.[protected]@loancare.net, stating that our check had been issued. We received the email on a Friday and received the check the following Wednesday. Good luck everyone!

    0 Votes

Post your comment