The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Indian Railways / poor facilities

1 India Review updated:

I traveled from Salem to Chennai (Madras) on 08-04-2007 by Rapti sagar Express (Train no:2512). The worst ever train travel I had it in my life. First the train itself delayed by 1 hr, next the Coach which I traveled is very very worst. Not only my seat (S12/SeatNo:64) the whole coach is not appropriate to travel. Water not coming on the toilets, fans and lights also not working. We informed the TTE, he said it should be like that if you wish travel thats the reply we got.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ad
      13th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    You should have pulled the chain and not let the train move until all the services started working properly.

  • Ad
      13th of Apr, 2007
    -1 Votes

    I was going to Delhi by Punjab mail and stalled the train at Bhusaval for more than an hour until they started the water, Light & fan. I had a fight with the GRP person also and said either arrest me or get me the complaint book and refund our tickets or get the things working.

  • Ss
      15th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Myself and my family traveled from Madurai to Chennai on 04-04-2007 in S-ll in Pandyan Express. We had booked four tickets, S-ll (42,43,45 & 46).

    Actually my son Mr.S.Namasivayam aged 31 years was unable to travel due to an emergency requirement. Hence I asked the ticket examiner to issue a slip mentioning that the passenger has not traveled. The TTE told that he will give me it later, after checking the other passenger's tickets. I reminded him again at Kodai Road Station and again at Trichy Station. But he never paid need to us.

    The whole night I was awake hoping that he will come and give the slip. I checked the whole train at Villupuram but my search was in vain. Ultimately I could neither find him nor receive the slip. But my son's berth NoA6, was allotted by the TTE to a passenger named Mr.Muthalif, aged 40, with Ticket No.67724025 and PNR NoA154320353.

    I am a senior citizen and a Heart patient. Being this a situation you can imagine now much I could have suffered in the whole night without sleep and peace.

    I was mentally upset due to the lethargic activity of the TTE.

  • Da
      30th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I had travelled from Indore (MP) to Baroda (Gujarat) on 28th Dec 2007 & Return on 29th Dec 2007 Baroda (Gujarat) to Indore (MP), at 28th Dec 2007 by SHANTI Express,

    My Confirmed reservation S1/0003 & PNR No.:8217004193, & Return Tickect no.: S1/29 & PNR No.: 8438793676.

    S1 Coach is very dirty & found Insects & Mouse in the coach, insects also found on the birth, and i have checked 2 or 3 comparments, it was there and informed to Tickect Checker, that what we are getting services after reserved tickets, he replied that you have to complaint at Gandhinagar (Starting place of the train) either you have complaint at Indore(ending of train). So, my question is, if we are delay to submit our Incomtax return and govt. find us though money, why govt. is not thinking to refund us.

    So, try to rectify above problem, because after railway is our property, and we have to care it.

  • Dr
      9th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    Date- 9-01-2008

    From :
    Dr kamal Kanodia
    39/305 Gujarat housing colony,
    B/H Nutan mills, saraspur,
    Ahmedabad – 380018

    To,
    The chief commercial manager,
    Western railway, Mumbai

    (Subject- claim for refund of fare – ticket/PNR No 223 – 2488717 , Ticket no- 60681994 , dated 16-12- 2006)

    Respected Sir,
    I have cancelled two berths in train no-9106 from Delhi to Ahmedabad with date of journey on 16/12/2006. The ticket details are- PNR No 223 – 2488717, Ticket no- 60681994 , booked on 28/10/2006. The name of persons with cancelled berths are (1) Mr Abhimanyu K. gupta, (2) Mrs shashi gupta.

    I had sent letter dated 18-12-06 for refund of fare to your office. In response to that your office asked for Photocopy of credit card (ref. no c/rfc/0056320/06, dated 27-2-07). I have sent attested photocopy of credit card. But after that I have not got any reply from your office till date.

    Kindly look into the matter and refund my money at the earliest.

    Thanking you,

    Dr Kamal kanodia

  • Sa
      28th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    I am regularly Travelling in Railway. But unfortunately, i boarded the train with my family including 1 year old daughter on 24th Jan 08 from Raipur. The Train name was Wainganga Express (no 6512) & the Destination was Secunderabad.
    We were in boggie number S7 & having seats 65,71 & 72.
    As soon as we entered, we found list of issues
    1. The deteroited Condition of cleanliness
    2. The Seats were not proper & uneven
    3. The TTE seat was hanging & the unhigenic back condition was open ( including the Cockratches & isects)
    4. The Glass window of seat 71,72 was open as there was no glass over it. Believe me in winter season, traveeling with Kid with open Glass.

    The Impact was damn severe. My Daughter got ill & same is case with my wife. Both are suffering since & the health of my daughter is getting uncotrolled.

    I request somebody to guide me to surface the issue with Railway & take necessary actions

    Sanjay Mantri

  • Sh
      29th of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    there is serious problem in sealdah division (north)
    the train are runnung very irregularly everyday.
    passengers are always harassed by vendor,ticket collector and others railways staff.
    reputation of the railways is detereating everyday
    please look into the matter
    one of many suffered passengers

  • Ri
      2nd of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    Hi,

    My Parents travelled from Amritsar to Agra date 16 feb in 3rd AC , All the AC compartments were not on Platform and were far away in yards , so being old age my parents had hard time to walk in yards and get in there compartments.

    I think these things should have immediatly noticed and going forward Indian railways should atleast look for luxury passengers so that other should not face problems.

    Thanks
    Ripudaman Singh

  • Vi
      20th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    I have booked my ticket vide ticket no. 02485427 & PNR no. 244.3032135 and train no. 9225 from Bathinda to Jammu for IInd Sleeper Class and the date of Journey was 14.10.2007 and the seat no. was 56 of S-3 but the train cancelled due to unaviodable circumstances and I had to return from Bathinda on the spot. When I approached the booking office for the cancellation of the ticket, it was closed. On 15.10.2007 the railway station master mansa refused to cancell my ticket rather he gave me Ticket Deposit Receipt 632618 of Rs. 222 and said he would send it to New Delhi and a cheque will be sent to you from Delhi after some time. But even after the passage of 7 months I have not received any single penny or cheque. Even I wrote two three letters regarding this to your Delhi Office but no result. Plz return my fair or I will have to apprach Consumer Court for the refund as I have purchased ticket from Mansa Railway Station (Punjab) - 151505 - Advocate VIDYA SAGAR, DHALIWAL CHOWK, ADARSH NAGAR, WARD NO. 9, MANSA -151505 MOB. 098884-06245, 094176-32707 HOPING IN ANTICIPATION

  • Pr
      26th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    i am a victim of railway authorties. i had my reservation in ac first in train number2624 from ernakulum town to MADRAS CENTRAL on 18 april along with my son 14 years old vide ticket number
    07022030 and pnr number426-2554330 on 18 april.In my coupe a drunken man was accomdated but TT never helped me. i had to sleep on upper berth with my son fearing whole night. this may be brought to notice of railway minister, though i will be sending him my complain seperately by post.

  • Ni
      1st of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    This is rather a request to the railway department than a comment, As we see that there is no cleanliness in our INDIAN RAILWAYS, it is not easy to get it done in a few comments seeing the financial and the corruption status in INDIA, I was boarding from Indore to Allahabad from SHIPRA EXPRESS (s2 65) when i saw my dirty train, "The main thing i noticed was that there were no dustbins in any of the sleeper coaches and i found people throwing garbage in the midst of villages resulting in soil pollution.and some of them threw it inside. i know it is tough but if there can be 1 guard for checking the w.ts after each station entering and creating nuisance i saw some drunkards also entering and creating nuisance, to drop 1 person 10 people had come, making the coach over populated.i'll be very grateful to the railway department if 1 of the above two operation are performed.
    NITISH PATHAK 9826474247.

  • Gu
      18th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    This is to inform you that we have traveled from Jabalpur to Mumbai by First A/c on 15th November, 2008. by Train No. 2321. Ticket No. 89196688 & PNR No. 611-8546573, Ticket No. 89196681 & PNR No. 611-8546318, Ticket No. 89196695 & PNR No.631-8546918.

    As toilet is been used by Second A/c passenger’s in-spite of informing the Attendant. Please put the duties of Attendant on the doors in the cabin. The boogies is very old and uncomfortable, the glass door which is open between First A/c to Second A/c, which is nuisances for First A/c passenger. There is no separation between compartments, all passengers walking; it is just like 3rd class passenger bogie which we traveling.

    We also suggest you if you can print the duties on glass door W.C., the First A/c passengers come to know what is the duties of Attendant.

    We also suggest you to start train between C.S.T. to Bihar, C.S.T. to Calcutta, like Rajdhani Express or Shatapdi Express.

    Awaiting for your favorable reply.
    Thanking you
    Regards

    Gulamali Gheewala
    President
    G.Gheewala Human Resources Consultants

  • An
      22nd of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    I was travelling in train no 2413 from Ajmer to Delhi.After one hour of departure attendent reached in the coach and attends our request of giving bedding and on the AC that time.He was giving excuse I was taking lunch.Time of complain was 415pm on 22nd Nov'08.
    I made the same complaint in comp.book no.53654 and attended by TMCR2413.

    Pls improve the attitude of fourth class staff.

  • Ku
      25th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    Sir/Madam

    is there any restriction for drinking water bottles issued in Rajadhani is there any limited quantity for that mail to me

    my mail id kumarrajapreddy@gmail.com

  • Ku
      25th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    i was not given the drinking water bottle in the chennai rajadhani express as they have given me 4 bottles for me and my wife

  • Sa
      29th of Jan, 2009
    0 Votes

    Actually, i had to go to Ghaziabad, and i approached to the ticket counter where a lady named, (Ms. Arunima dubey) is at service at the morning shift. She was talking on her cell phone for almost 20 minutes and when i asked her to disconnect the call and do her job, then she starts misbehaving with me with saying there is no ticket for you.Actually i was getting late otherwise i will speak to the supervisor.
    So, just make it confirm that it will never happen again with anyone.

  • Bh
      7th of Feb, 2009
    0 Votes

    Sir,
    I booked a ticket with "irctc.co.in" on 7-12-2008.
    I cancelled it on same day & file tdr for it.
    Till the 7-2-2009 i dont received any refund from indian railway.
    when i call them first time on their helpline, they told me you will get it in 7 days.
    after 30 days when i contact them they told me you will get refund in 60 days from cancellation.
    now when i call on 7-2-2009 they told me you will get refund after 90 days, i asked them how much time after 90 days, he just disconnected the phone.
    I dont know why they are doing like that.
    please help me
    details are mentioned below:-

    PNR Number 2254992351 Booked On 7-12-2008

    Transaction ID 0080610272 Ticket Type eticket

    Class SL Internet Service Charge Rs 15.00

    Date Of Journey 07/12/2008 Ticket Charge Rs 1074.00

    Bank IDBIBANK Total Rs 1089.00

    Train No 2622 Railway Zone SR

    From Station NEW DELHI(NDLS) IRCTC Zone Regional Director /Southern Zone (IRCTC), Chennai
    To Station CHENNAI CENTRAL(MAS) Quota General

    Ticket Details

    S# Name Age Sex Coach Seat Res-Status
    1 nikhil 26 Male 0000 Booked
    2 yamini 23 Female 0000 Booked



    Reason For TDR : Passenger Not Travelled.
    TDR Status : Admin Approved
    Reference No : ekt200812900303263
    TDR Filing Date : 09-Dec-2008
    Refund Status : Refund under Process
    Refund Date : Not Available
    Refund Amount : Rs.0.00

    Thanking You
    Bhavendra Baxi

  • Ra
      19th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    To
    The Sir/Madam,
    Head of the of Compalint Department,
    Indian railway,
    India

    Subject :- Complaint against Ticket collecter and T.T.E. Staff.

    R/Sir/Madam,
    I hearbly informe to u sir/Madam my mother is lot of suffered from TC of Malout(Bathinda-Punjab) and TTE of North Zone.
    It is the time and date of 15/4/2009 of 5.30am of morning respectfully.when my mother demanded of ticket of Malout to Jind and Jind to Malout up and down also.and TC demanded the Sum of Rs. 114/-. and My mother Paid the All of them on the spot.TC give the ticket with no. J 455 / 3754 and
    J 455 / 3755 Respectfully.
    And after when my mother come backed from jind from Intercity Express(New Delhi to Sheri Gangangar) the Train was checked by few person and they checked ok.
    And then Again checking from flying staff. one of them is checking ticketof my mother and abousing her. Is It manner to behave the Women ...?
    he found my mother ticket is 10 Rs. less from actual fare. tell me sir/Madam here my fault is occured or not . it is fault of TC of Malout and suffered my mother from it.
    My mother asked them inspecting officer it is not my fault it is fault of TC of Malout but he was not hear about anything about fare or any logic.
    And he asked to my mother to fine the pay of 258/- Rs. on the spot otherwise he struck off from the train. my mother requested to again and again but he was not aggree and collect from Rs. of 260/- from my mother.
    fine slip no. 930903
    Reasons for charge Asked :-W/S/F Jind To Malout
    Passanger name :- Sudesh Rani.
    So tell me is it our fault ...?
    Plz justic with us. and get forwerd suitable step against Flying staff and Tc of Malout.
    Thanking u,
    Rajinder kamar S/o
    Sudesh Rani.
    W.No.4, Krishna nagar,
    St. no. 2, H.No. 52(Camp)
    Malout-152107(pb.)
    Teh-Malout, Distt.-Muktsar
    Zone -Bathinda (punjab)

  • Ni
      22nd of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    To,
    The chief commercial manager,
    Western railway, Mumbai

    (Subject- regarding demanding the money from ticket checker
    Respected Sir,
    I have made two reservation on 19/4/09 by train no 8030 from bhusawl to Nashik PNR No 612-6809486.As i was trvelling along with my wife.
    I have seated in coach no S -7 of the said train but a smart loooking white in colour tc demanded rs 100 for allocatinng seat to me. But he had issued bith no 19 and 22 lower birth to ordinary ticket holder but not given me a birh.
    So my requst to take serious action against tc to stop corruption.And suspend the tc as early as possble
    Hopping for the favourable acction.
    Thanking you.
    Prof.N.Y.Patil
    mobile No 09823971427

  • Ja
      27th of Apr, 2009
    0 Votes

    TO,
    Any Officer.

    Respected Sir,
    Here comes one more stupid complain, as you will say.So see the matter concerned.I have cancelled my ETICKET Dated 2/may/2009, And when i cancelled it I got the print out OF dated 2/may/2008.
    Either I am going fast by one year or Railway has got A GOLDEN WATCH.

    lolz

    Indian Railways making profit, but not tecnhically alert.

Post your comment