SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Fye Vip Pass / Hidden fee

Wh Review updated:

I bought one CD, was given a discount of $1.50 on it. The clerk threw in what he called a free discount card. Saying you can get a discount on this and that. Never one did he say there was a monthly fee. Now I find a fee on my credit card that I don't recognize. First I do a search on the internet to identify it. Okay, now I know that it goes with this so-called VIP card. Now I have to search for the card to find my number, the phone number and all. Wow, there is my original receipt still stuck inside the little folder. There is the small print mentioning the $9.99 monthly fee. Hmm, why didn't the clerk at store mention that fee? Okay, I call the number to cancel immediately. I don't want anymore charges on my card. OH! NO! the office is closed today due to the holiday. This clerk was lying probably to reach a quota or something. I want my money back. Probably won't get it! FYE has lost me as a customer until they make this right. Definitely want this stupid membership cancelled. I'm gonna get that, you can bet on it!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Wh
      Sep 08, 2009

    One Day Later: Well I got the so-called VIP pass canceled after an exasperating phone call where I had to repeatedly raise my voice in a nearly threatening manner. The woman who answered the phone kept trying to give me a gift card, explain the benefits of keeping the card, anything to get me to keep the card. Finally they canceled it. Lousy job answering those kind of calls and working for a company with poor customer service, misleading pricing practices, misleading discount card program. I am not pleased and want ALL to know that. My advice, if you buy anything from FYE or Sam Goody, pay cash and never ever except their discount card it is a ripoff scam!

    0 Votes
  • Wh
      Sep 11, 2009

    GUESS WHAT! To my surprise I did receive a full refund of this fee on my credit card. Now I am smiling. Makes the company look better doesn't it? Thanks for doing the right thing FYE.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
      Sep 20, 2009

    The FYE Cashier offered me 2.00 off if I signed up for a "Free" Store card. Twice I asked her if there were any fees, and twice she said it was free. "It's like" she said, "a CVS or Giant Food card." Only when she got my information and signed me up did she say, "Okay after your 30 day free trial, it's $9.99 a month." Now she says that I just have to call the toll-free number to cancel "anytime."
    You guessed it. When I try the toll-free number, all I get is a recording.

    0 Votes
  • Ut
      Oct 01, 2009

    I've been having the same problem with them. I'm going to call them tomorrow; they've charged me 4 times. No one ever told me there would be this many charges!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Dec 05, 2009

    i am having the same problem the clerk told me it was going to be a free discount card i was charged 2 times the second time the bank charged me for over drafting i tried calling them but the office is closed and the recording didnt tell me when they are open. on the website it says there is a $25 fee per year for the vip card why was i not told about this when i got it? why didnt they charge me for it at the store that day? i expect them to refund the card fee and my overdraft fee with is $35. my advice NEVER shop at fye it lies to its customers. i will never shop there again.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Dec 22, 2009

    I got the card for a month for free. They told me that if I called and canceled it with in the month that they would not charge me. So after three weeks I called and canceled it... fourth months later I just realized that they have been charging me for the fast few months... I am royally pissed... I canceled this thing and they are taking money out of my account... UGH!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ni
      Feb 04, 2010

    The same thing happened to me. When I was making a purchase at the store a couple months ago, the clerk never asked me if I wanted to join this program or even explained what it was, he just signed me up for it without me even knowing. A month later, I see a charge from FYE on my card statement, so I called the number to cancel my membership, and was told I was all set. Today, a month later, I just cheked my statement and my money was never returned, and lo and behold, there is yet ANOTHER charge from FYE. Tomorrow I am going to call that number again and demand a refund for two month's worth of charges. I don't plan on shopping at FYE again, and if I ever do, I'm paying cash.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Feb 06, 2010

    As a company, fye has no control after you sign up. The people you call to cancel the card are NOT from our company, so it's not our fault that they had a so called holdiday and couldn't do it. Either way, if you read the little thing the card came in, you would of KNOWN that there was a fee every monnth to keep it. Don't use your ignorance as an excuse to blame the company.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Feb 06, 2010

    & nikkiblink, unless you give the clerk your ful lname, address, bithday, email and phone number... then sign two different pieces of paper to CONFIRM it, then there is no possible way that they could of signed you up.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Feb 06, 2010

    & mike... the 25 dollar card is for cash users... so it wouldn't of taken the money out of your account. :)
    the vip is the only card that uses your credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Im
      Feb 24, 2010

    ### red ninja! Why are you trying to make it sound like what they are doing is okay? Are you serious?! The clerk that tricked me compared this "vip" card to a Safeway card. Word for word, "It doesn't cost anything. It's like a safeway card." All this for a buck fifty savings on a Tool album. And I've been reading that it's supposed to charge 9.99. My account was charged 11.99. ### FYE. If they want to stop going out of business they should be honest with their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Nv
      Feb 26, 2010

    Same thing happened with me! The clerk at FYE gave me the card telling me it was free, I didn't even get the little envelope thingy redninja was talking about, I got a 38 dollar over-draft fee from my bank...they are the ones who told me FYE was charging me 11.99 a month for some stupid card that I have never even used! I called to cancel and the ### on the other line kept trying to get me to keep it, after finally canceling it I told him I wanted a refund for both months that were charged to my account. He tried telling me that it was non-refundable. Low-and-behold I got my money back the moment I told him I wanted to speak to his supervisor and that I was reporting them to the better business burrow! Two days later and the money was right back in my account. To redninja, I worked retail for five years at American Eagle, if I had ever told someone that a card they had to pay for was free and through out there info I would have been fired, and no one needs all that information to sign someone up, all you need is there credit card and name!

    0 Votes
  • Se
      Apr 03, 2010

    My name is Sean. I was a previous sales associate working for FYE (Trans World Entertainment). I am very familiar with this VIP discount card you all are talking about. It's called a "Backstage Pass Card." There are two versions of it the BSP and the BSPVIP. The Backstage Pass is only a $25.00 fee a year to have the card, and you save 10% off your purchase everytime oyu come in to FYE. The Backstage Pass VIP is a discount card that works for FYE, but also thousands of other locations in the area, such as restaurants, airfare, hotels, etc. You also save the same 10% discount for FYE as well. It was originally $9.99 a month to keep the card, prior to November 2009, but after November, the company changed the card's renewal fee to $11.99 a month. To even get the BSPVIP card, you'll have to pay by a credit card, so if you WANT TO keep it, it'll be a $11.99 renewal fee.

    The information above is listed in the fine print on the card's booklet, as well as the receipt you HAD TO sign to even be charged for the card. If you were signed up for the card, the company's rules were you had to sign two receipts -- One approving of the transaction, and another one which AGREES to the FINE PRINT that if you DO NOT CANCEL AFTER THE FIRST MONTH, it will be an $11.99 charge to your card to KEEP the discount card. You also get a $20.00 FYE gift card if you kept it for two months, meaning, you get the first month free and you pay $11.99 to keep the card for the month.

    The experience I have had with this card isn't pleasant, nor is the time I have had working for FYE or Trans World Entertainment. I have seen the true colors of this company for whom they really are, and I'll be honest -- It has disappointed me. To one of the commenters above, yes, there is a quota each sales associate has to obtain a day and a week for these Backstage Pass VIP cards. Actually, we have a quota for a lot of things; reserves, bsp, bspvip, special orders, magazine subscriptions, etc... This is part of the reason why I left the company, because of this quota. It was rather demeaning to my own being having to sell these discount cards to people that obviously didn't want them.

    I do not support FYE, Trans World Entertainment, nor these Backstage Pass VIP cards. To put this all on a lighter note, I believe that the experiences you guys have had might have been a misunderstanding, or just crooked sales associates trying to make their quota, because believe me -- I have had my managers and district managers breathing down my neck if I didn't make the quota or make "good numbers."

    I apologize to everyone that has had a hard time with the company. I am on your side and I'm quite familiar with the frustration. I just wish that you all will understand that it probably wasn't the sales associates fault. It might have been pressure to push harder for the company or the risk of losing your job. It's a shame honestly. It really is.

    0 Votes
  • Ds
      Apr 04, 2010

    Wow ...So i go in fye buy a couple movies and the dumb girl at the register says do you want to sign up for a the fye backstage and get a free magazine. im like no thanks. paid with my debit card. couple months later im looking at my bank account and it looks like almost 4 months now they have been taking out money from my account. i never signed anything. never recieved a card or a magazine. not to mention i must have spent almost 300 dollars in there since and didnt even recieve any type of discount with my so called membership. Calling my bank and the am and filing fraud. Will never shop at fye again ill stick to newburry comics

    0 Votes
  • Wh
      May 08, 2010

    I am sorry to hear that this continues to happen to so many. I was able to get mine straightened out. I will say that I only signed the one slip of paper that gave permission to my credit card to pay for my purchase. I did not have to sign two slips of paper. I expect the clerk was being pressured to make a quota or at least increase the number of cards accepted on a daily basis. This is not an honest way of doing business. Then to see that the charge per month has went up is sad. My guess is that with a debit card all one has to do to accept is enter your pin number to pay for your purchase. I still have not shopped at FYE nor Sam Goody since this incident. Sam Goody also pushes this same card. I suggest you shop at Best Buy or Amazon for this type of merchandise when you can't find what you want at the mass merchandisers.

    0 Votes
  • Fy
      Jun 26, 2010

    They charged me the $11.99 and I had never asked for it, signed for it, period. DO NOT SHOP HERE! This is a card scam and the workers there are a part of this scheme! They must get a kick back or something. I went there to ask for a refund. No. District manager on vacation. Yeah right. Can't cancel without a membership number which you don't have if you didn't get the stupid card. So they charged it without concent. They should lose their card services rights!

    0 Votes
  • Aw
      Jul 31, 2010

    Yesterday ( July 30th, 2010 ) i purchased a DVD
    at the FYE Boston store. i was intnetionally
    misled by the dishonest clerk. He told me that
    the Backstage Pass was free and never once
    mentioned the $11.99 per month cost.
    When i got home and read the fine-print i
    was outraged and imediately called to cancel
    the Pass. i was told that i cannot cancel until
    next Tuesday. The laws need to protect us from
    this sort of robbery. i intend to file a complaint
    with the Massachusetts Consumer protection
    Division of the Attorney General's office.
    Today i will return the item (unopened)
    and get a refund. We will never shop at
    FYE again.
    Hope that their is a Class-Action suit out there.
    We are definitley signing on.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
      Oct 27, 2010

    I was lucky, the clerk told me there was going to be a charge, but if I called before the trial ended that it wouldn't charge. I called, they tried to get me to keep it, and I told them I wasn't interested, and I was told it was canceled...

    ...until this morning when I found it wasn't canceled. I called, they said they never received a call, and this time I actually wrote down the cancellation number and told them I wanted a refund, I'll see what happens.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Dec 15, 2010

    Another victim here! I was just at FYE last night looking for a couple of videos for the grandkids and was given the same deceitful spiel! Backstage pass is totally free, 10% off all purchases, and discounts at other vendors. Hmmm, NOT! It wasn't until I had signed up, paid, and he bagged my video that I discovered I was well and truly HOOKWINKED. The sales clerk (Burnsville Center location--AVOID) then informed me it was $11.99 monthly and I could cancel. I tried to cancel that very night by calling the toll-free number, but the guy (who could barely speak English and kept saying I wasn't aware of what I signed up for, duh, I wasn't) refused to cancel it until Wednesday. Thinking of calling our Attorney General about this one!

    0 Votes
  • Ur
      Nov 19, 2013

    What is the number to cancel this

    0 Votes
  • Ur
      Nov 19, 2013

    What is the number to cancel this was stung too

    0 Votes

Post your comment