SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Dell / dell inspiron i5 5558 - 2144slv laptop / dell hell... customer service/support is atrocious

USA, United States
Contact information:

September 14, 2015 I purchased a new dell laptop. I thought dell being a well known name and needing a new laptop I will purchase one, big mistake!!! Everything was working fine up until december 5, 2015
December 5, 2015 - I contacted dell`s customer service and spoke to pradeep who processed a payment of $135.45 for tech support. The same day I spoke to charanjeet who sent me the following email:

I want to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing dell. The following information relates to your recent interaction with dell tech concierge. Service tag : 1w3wx52; express service code : [protected]

Your experience with dell is of utmost importance and priority to us. You may also call us at [protected]. Click on “live help” from the concierge desk in your system, any time you have a question. We’re here to help 24/7.... Yep, I saw dell's meaning of 24/7... Non existent.

December 9th and 10th, 2015 – called charanjeet re: status of above service code and received the exact same email. Your experience with dell is of utmost importance and priority to us... Why write meaningless words that you don't live up to?

December 13, 2015 – called, phone rings once and I get disconnected. Another email same as all the previous ones “tried reaching you but were unable to contact you. We will again call you today to check the status of your computer. Later that day I spoke to ankit “who was able to resolve the issue I was having with the laptop not rebooting and having to repeatedly reinstall to factory settings.” an email was sent to thank him for his help and I received an email from him. He indicated he will go ahead and close the case as of now. But in case I need any assistance with the computer in the future to reply to this email and he will schedule a call back.

December 18, 2015 – I sent an email to ankit that says the following: ankit, I have had to reinstall to factory settings again. This morning was the 3rd time and the laptop will not allow me to shut down. When I do, I get an error and it goes back to factory settings. I'm not happy!

I receive a response email from m. Sahoo “dear suzana, thank you for writing us. We have received your message regarding an issue and would like to contact you. We deeply regret the inconvenience you have been through and would be willing to assist you to resolve the same at the earliest. We will attempt to call you at (778) xxx-xxxx and (604) xxx-xxxx today between 2-4pm, pst. Alternatively, you could also suggest another time in case it does not suits. Thanks for choosing dell.

Called and spoke to m. Sahoo and forwarded an email “thanking them for selling a manufacturer's defect.” I was out of town and indicated I would email him when I return so that the tech could come in to replace the hard drive.in addition, I requested re-imbursement for the $135.45 I paid for tech support which didn't solve the problem.

December 21, 2015 – receive an email from vipin “dells resolution team” this is in reference to your computer on case number [protected]. As per your request for a callback we tried contacting you, however unfortunately could not reach you. Since you are out of town and will be after a week. Please let us know when you are available so that we can get the issue fixed. For further assistance with the case or to reschedule a time to contact you, you may contact me by replying to this email or via: info provided.

December 28, 2015 – email sent informing vipin that I am back and to please order the part and send a tech in. I also requested written confirmation that the tech support I paid for on december 5, 2015 will be reimbursed.

December 31, 2015 – tech came to my home to replace the hard drive and indicated he can only install the new one, he left me with disk and told me to follow the prompts on the laptop and that if I have any problems to call dell tech support. 4 hours later I am contacting dell tech support because nothing is happening. I was told someone will call me in 24-48 hours.

January 1, 2016 – email received from dell that in order to replace the defective part (S), they have setup a mail-in / depot service and where to ship the non-functional system, so they can start the repair process.

January 4, 2016 – tech called and said that the motherboard needed replacement. Best he could do is send me a refurbished laptop in 14 days but could not guarantee that the new motherboard would work. I told him that I did not purchase a used laptop at which point he informed me that someone will call back in 24-48 hours. Didn’t happen.

January 9, 2016 – called and spoke to paul who transferred me to a case manager by the name of ellen. Was told my concern would be expedited and someone would call in 24-48 hours. Email sent by me: good morning, I was contacted by one of your representatives regarding sending a tech to replace the hard drive/motherboard. I did not purchase a refurbished laptop but a new one and want to know what is being done? I was told someone would contact me in 24 to 48 hours and that time has passed. Please be advised I am filing a complaint for the full amount plus tech support with the better business bureau.

Email received from paul “hello suzana, thank you for choosing dell. This mail is related to your recent interaction with dell technical support regarding hard drive issue. Your service request reference number is [protected], and service tag is 1w3wx52. For future reference I have included your service request information above. If you need anything at all related to this service request, please contact me directly by replying to this email. Thank you for choosing dell support.

January 11, 2016 - email sent: I am forwarding an in-mail to michael dell via linkedin in addition to filing a complaint with the bbb and best buy. Over a month has gone by with no resolution or improvement to your service. As a customer I shouldn't have to beg. You have inconvenienced me in addition to wasted my time both having to repeatedly deal with you as well as lost work. This will get resolved guaranteed one way or the other even if by public awareness of your below average customer service. Complaint filed online with the bbb

Several email exchanges with the bbb on both january 11th and 12th, 2016
January 12, 2016 – in mail message sent to michael dell via linkedin & dell tech support advising that if I do not hear from someone today, I will publish a complaint/review on linkedin.

January 14, 2016 – spoke to rajesh “advanced resolution group” and email received. The difference now being that the emails have a “confidentiality notice” attached to them, our conversations do not.

After insisting that I did not purchase a refurbished laptop and would not accept anything other than new, I was informed that dell will replace with a new laptop. The difference being that the new one would have an i7 processor. The $135.45 initially spent for tech support was reimbursed.

January 18th and 19th, 2016 – email from dell about where to ship the defective laptop

January 26, 2016 – email to raj @ dell informing him that I had received my new laptop and asking where to send my old one to.

January 27, 2016 – purolator shipping confirmation/label received via email and email from raj @ dell with label

January 31, 2016 – email to raj @ dell purolator re: scheduled return

June 20, 2016 – spoke to paul in tech support re: new laptop message - hard drive failure... On the new laptop I received january 26, 2015

Got disconnected and waited 20 minutes thinking he would call back. Low and behold, no call back. Called again and a different representative answered. After going through the reason for my call I was told by this rep that someone would call me in 24 – 48 hours. I informed her that I would contact rajesh directly as I was not going through this process again over a period of 2 months.

Called dell’s advanced resolution group and provided the extention number to raj. The representative that answered, asked why I was calling. After explaining that I now had another hard drive failure with the replacement they sent, he told me that this file number is closed and refused to connect me. He indicated I would have to go through the customer service department again. I was irrate to say the least, but what I did not expect was for this rep to raise his voice above my own and I hung up on him.

June 21st & 23rd, 2016 – email forwarded to raj @ dell advising him that I am filing a 2nd complaint with the bbb

June 27, 2016 - another email forwarded to raj @ dell and a new complaint filed with the bbb

June 28th & 29th, 2016 – telephone call from rajesh and email received confirming that dell will not be able to accommodate my request for a replacement system. Email sent to the raj @ dell with the bbb cc’d “I did not request a replacement laptop. My request was for a full refund. Dell has taken 2 months of my time in the less than 9 months I have been dealing with you. I've lost all my files twice and valuable time and documents. I will do whatever is necessary to bring this to the attention of consumers. I will not accept a replacement hard drive as the first time around that one failed the day it was installed. I'm not going through this process for the next 2 months and I will not close this complaint until I have been reimbursed for my purchase.

In addition, during our telephone conversation, I had mentioned how my previous laptop, an hp, had lasted several years and how purchasing a dell has been a nightmare. Not only did raj say that he found it hard to believe that my hp lasted several years, in essence he called me a liar.

June 30, 2016 – onward repeated phone calls and emails from rajesh that dell will not be able to accommodate my request and that regardless of who I reach out to, he will remain my point of contact.

July 6, 2016 - email to rajesh as well as telephone call received july 7, 2016 requesting that he please refrain from calling me daily, unless he is calling to inform me that I am being refunded for my original purchase. Email sent to michael dell... No resolution to date.

3 hard drive failures in less than 7 months of ownership on 2 new laptops and 2 months of dealing with their incompetent csr's.

Dell

Su
Jul 10, 2016

Post your comment