The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Dell Canada / dell hell still true!

1 Canada Review updated:

Dell canada

I have not, as yet, been able to have dell and dell financial services properly deal with the issues happening to my account.

I have below a timeline of events that have transpired:

Feb 2007 ordered computer system from dell

19 march 2007 contract arrived from dfs

21-23 march 2007 parts of system arrive

27 marcy 2007 system arrived from dell - did not work

28 march 2007 called dell, spoke to ann, received the following dps numbers for returning system:
Xxxxxx044
Xxxxxx337
Xxxxxx659

28 march 2007 called dell financial - informed them I did not accept terms of contract & that system was being returned to dell

30 march 2007 system returned to dell - picked up by ups - everything packed in one box to save dell shipping charges

04 may 2007 received letter dated 25 april 2007 from dell financial services (Dfs) stating that I owed $101.80 - spoke with dfs who stated that one item from system hadn't been credited to my account & that they could do nothing to help me - had to speak with dell and have them credit my account.

04 may 2007 called dell - customer service agent told me that one dps ([protected]) hadn't been processed. Told me it would be fixed within 5 business days, alternative solution would be for me to pay for item, then wait to be credited. I told dell I would not pay for anything I had returned to them. Given case #xxxxxx121

05 june 2007 received letter dated 25 may 2007 from dfs stating I now owed $103.00. Called dfs - still not credited - can't help me, must go through dell.

05 june 2007 called dell, spoke first with adam, then when he couldn't help me, asked to speak to supervisor. Eventually transferred to shane, supervisor, who told me the keyboard was the issue, and had not been credited. Gave me new case #, xxxxxx867. Told me he would put in credit template for me, at which point phone was cut off. Called back, placed on hold, eventually told he would call me back.

05 june 2007 sent letter to dell, detailing problems to date. Haven't had a response to letter.

07 june 2007 dell called back. Customer service was rude, kept asking me the same question I have answered since the beginning - "did I return the keyboard?" eventually told me they'd look into problem, then hung up.

09 july 2007 received letter from dfs - I now owe $104.15. Called dfs, spoke with sue, unable to help - up to dell. Still haven't received credit.

09 july 2007 called dell - spoke with nicki, who told me she would escalate info dfs. Says they credited in april 2007, then told me the system showed a credit went through on 08 july 2007. She then called dfs while I waited on hold, then told me an investigation had been started on

08 july 2007, not a credit as previously stated. Supposedly a credit would be issued when investigation completed. I asked to speak to supervisor, eventually transferred to mike. He told me a credit was issued in april, and would escalate to head office, and would call tomorrow. I asked to speak to his supervisor, as I was now being given yet another version of what was happening. He refused to let me speak to his supervisor, stating he wouldn't waste their time since he had taken care of the problem, and it would all be solved within the next 3 days. When I insisted on speaking to his supervisor, he hung up on me.

08 august 2007 received call from sue at dfs wanting payment. I informed her that as far as I am concerned, I owe dell nothing, and that dell could go to hell as far as I was concerned. She told me she would put that quote in her notes - I told her to go right ahead.

08 august 2007 called dell, spoke to helen. She read notes on the file, then told me she would transfer my call to mike, as he was the one handling the problem. After 15 minutes on hold, she came back online to tell me mike was on lunch, and he would call me back after his lunch was finished. I asked when I could expect that call, and was told he would definitely call me back that afternoon. I asked if he didn't call, was there another number I could reach him at - was told no - just customer service.

09 august 2007 I have not heard from dell. No returned phone call.

At this point I am truly unable to fathom the behavior of the customer service staff at dell. I have repeatedly been left on hold for lengthy periods of time. I have been told to "just pay" and be credited later - which is not going to happen, as I have now seen how well their crediting system works. I have been treated extremely rudely, to the point that one of your supervisors, mike, actually hung up on me, rather than "let" me talk to his supervisor, when clearly the problem was not, and has not been, solved at his level. I am still waiting for this same mike to return my call from yesterday, after being told "for sure" he would call me back that afternoon.

Dell hell is definitely the right name for it. Never again. I bought a mac. Works great.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ni
      12th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    Laughing my ### off. Just hung of from dell, waiting 10 days for them to "process" a return for an item they never delivered. Rude SOB on the phone, telling me they will call me back with the information, 4 separate calls over the the past 10 days still no information. I ordered this more than a month ago. He's telling me it's my fault because I should called and had the missing item redelievered. Never again will i buy anything from this company, and I am telling everyone I know .

  • Ja
      28th of Nov, 2009
    0 Votes

    DELL has HORRIFIC CUSTOMER SERVICE. DO NOT BUY FROM DELL. I UNDERSTAND THEY MAKE DECENT COMPUTERS BUT IF YOU ARE LOOKING TO DEAL WITH YOUR BUSINESS NEEDS, DELL CANADA IS NOT A VIABLE SOLUTION.
    I totally agree with this person's view of Dell Financial Services Canada, although I would be more likely to reflect on them more in the term of "DOWN RIGHT THIEVING, DISRESTPECTFUL SCAM ARTESTS" with no business ethics, and should be banned from operating in Canada. My advice to all: DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE no matter how good the deal sounds. You will regret it

  • Th
      2nd of Dec, 2009
    0 Votes

    Had purchased Dell product for years, first time I decided to go direct instead of through a local reseller. 6 week wait time, so called and cancelled and told it was cancelled. Never saw computers but got billed for them, now fighting my way through that process. At this point I have to ask when was the last time I saw a company with 19 different phone numbers and people who constantly claim its not their department and then send you somewhere else oh yeah RIP OFF / SCAM artists. You know the type stealing money from little old ladies.

    do your self a favour NEVER BUY FROM DELL !!!

  • St
      3rd of Dec, 2009
    0 Votes

    Yeah, I totally agree to what all of you have been saying regarding Dell Canada's poor customer service and technical support. I solidly recommend that everyone avoid this company like the plague and take their business elsewhere!

    I placed my order over a month ago and it still hasn't arrived. They never responded at all to two separate emails that I sent. And when I phoned last week, they couldn't tell me at all when the item was actually going to ship. This company has no idea at all how to properly treat customers, and they have gone steadily downhill over the past year. They also have a tendency to bounce you around from one person to the next while you wait for a long time on the other end of the phone. Well, the good news is that today I finally cancelled my order. Never again Dell, never again. You have lost my business for good.

  • Do
      15th of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes

    Ordered a Dell XPS on Jan. 7 but the next day decided to add another option. Phoned Dell Canada and was told original order had to be cancelled first. Waited for an hour for a call-back to be told order was cancelled. Discussed new options with rep and then put on hold. Then told again I would be called back in an hour. No one ever returned call. This was on a Friday. On Monday I receive an email saying the order for a new laptop was processed and would be delivered by months end. I emailed Dell back to tell them to cancel the order as I had some questions for the rep that were never answered and had never finalized the order. A few days go by and still no reply. I presumed the order was cancelled until today when Purolator delivered an external hard drive from Dell as part of my order. (free 1TB Clickfree HD).

    I sent the package back and then phoned Dell to find out what the status of my order was and why it wasn't cancelled. This rep didn't know why the order was still active but apologized and cancelled the laptop delivery and financial agreement I had with them. She said I would get an email confirmation. Instead I get another confirmation that my order was processed and scheduled to be delivered Jan. 31. This from the same idiot I spoke to originally to put a stop on the order. The only difference this time was that the order number was changed. I replied that the order is to be cancelled (for the 3rd time!!) and that I would never deal with Dell because of [censor]s like him working for the company. I don't care how good their computers are. Customer service is a complete sham. I'll buy locally from a dealer who hopefully has a better grasp of the English language. I'm also contacting my bank to insure Dell doesn't attempt to defraud me. Dell Bangalore sucks!!

Post your comment