The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Cricket Wireless / customer service sucks!

1 United States Review updated:

I've had service with cricket for over 3 yrs. I have 2 phones with them. The past 3 wks ive had problem with both of them. People cant call us because it says they don't have cricket long distance, roaming when in calling area. Ive called cricket customer service numerous times, and no one can help. Ive been hung up on, yelled at, operators not giving me their names, and telling me I cant talk to their supervisor. I spend over $100 a month for a service I cant use completely and their only willing to credit me $5 on my account. I called insurance and they said there was a problem with my phone and it was still under manufactures warranty & they would replace my phone for free, but put something completely different in computer, & when I went down to get my new phone, they said I had to pay $85 for it. Anyone consider using cricket as their cell phone provider, I don't recommend it its nothing but hassle & you always get the run around.

Cricket sucks!!!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • An
      30th of Jan, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I been having service with cricket for a year now and all I've been having is problems. My bill is usually suppose to be $60.49. but now for some reason my bill is $162.86. I made 2 payments on my phone last month, I also over paid 1 time last month and gave them $89.00 on Dec. 4,2007 then when I came into the 4431 Dixie Highway location and talked to the manager name Wesley and he told me my bill was only $45.72 I gave him $50.00 and he didn't give me my change back to me. And then when I called the customer service on friday. they told me my bill was$91.17 and told me I need to go to the main store on Dixie. I talked to the same man Wesley the manager and he told "if you don't like go to another store" I said. " Are you suppose to be talking to me like that" and he said "yes". But I gave him $45.00 to keep my phone on. He told me my balance is $76.00 then when I left and pulled off I happened to look at my reciept and it said $162.86. How is this. this manager keeps either tampering with my billing cycle and not telling anyone about it. then everytime I come in the store I have an ridiculous amount on my bill that does not make since. Then he tells me about reinstatement fees not one time did they tell me when I came in and paid my bill that I will have a reinsatement fee. and then I don't get any mail from them for my bill each month. Can anyone explain this to me why I have these charges and I just got this new account in October. I paid $10.08 -10/25/07. $59.00 -11/26/07. $89.00- 12/04/07. $45.72- 12/27/07. $45.00-1/30/08. They are stealing peoples money I think and putting it in there pocket or tampering with peoples account. Where else can I make this complaint at?

  • Vi
      21st of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes
    Cricket Cell Phone - Bad business!
    Cricket
    Houston
    Texas
    United States
    Phone: 832-921-4575

    One of cricket sell person ask to call back today for bridge payment as of right now i haven't been able to get anyone on the phone.

  • Ca
      21st of Mar, 2008
    0 Votes

    CRICKET SERVICE IS THE WORST EVER!!! WHAT A NIGHT MARE!!! I bought a phone and service online. I got the phone and it didnt work! Would not hold a charge for anything. And even plugged in would not activate. So I called the help line only for them to tell me they could not help me and to take it into a store. So I took the day off work and took it to a Cricket Store, for the lady to tell me she couldn't help me, there was nothing she could do. Because the phone was Moterola and not a Cricket. But I bought the Moterola from Cricket!! What the hell. She said I'd have to prove it. I had the receippt! It said I bought it from them and the service to go with it! She tried to tell me to take it to a Moterola store and get it fixed. WTF! All I want is the phone repaired or replaced. Still got the I can't do anything for you, and finally a card for the corperate office. Now I have to take another day off work to argue with someone else!! All I got to say is these people need to get it togther, I wouldnt recomend them to anyone after this.

  • Pa
      1st of Apr, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I agree Cricket sucks, they THink they have people right where they want them i have been through it 2 times with them... they dont care they have no heart i say more of us need to contact the BBB.. and dont stop untill they get in trouble so lets everyone stand together and go to the BBB...

  • Ni
      9th of Apr, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I’ve been using Cricket’s services for over two years and had been very happy with them. In February my phone, which had no problems for two years, stopped working. The problem was that it would not hold charge. I tried buying a new battery and a new charger but the problem remained. So in February I brought my phone it to the main office. The representative there told me the only thing I could do was to send it in and get a replacement phone. I did so and was charged $50.00 even though I had been paying $5.00 per month for the two years I owned the phone for insurance. I was told I would receive a new phone, however, the phone I received was refurbished and did not work. I called Cricket and was instructed to contact The Signal insurance company. I did so and they said they would send me a new phone for free. However they required me to send in the broken phone first and the replacement they sent out was delivered to the wrong address and I did not receive it until over three weeks after I had sent mine in. Therefore I had a broken phone for one month and no phone for one month, but I was still charged by cricket for both of these months. The second replacement phone I received was again refurbished, was a cheaper model, and still did not work. I use my phone for business and have been severely inconvenienced by not having a working phone for two months. I believe it would be appropriate at this point for Cricket to give me a working phone as well as to reimburse me for the two months, or to give me two months free. Does anyone know who I could contact to get help with this?

  • Pe
      22nd of Apr, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I believe all of you are correct that Cricket Phones aka Leap Wireless is stealing money from customers.

    Our company purchased a cricket phone and one month service as a gift. We sent written notice to Cricket phones that we had no more business with them, and to destroy any credit information they had. We caught Cricket Phones, aka Leap Wireless stealing money from our credit card account that they criminally obtained.

    We are now suing Cricket Phones in federal court, and would like anybody who had money stolen from them, by Cricket Phones, to email us at iepm1000@verizon.net

  • Mr
      1st of Jul, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I started to use Cricket on June 3, 2008.My plan is $35, 00 and I add international text mssg plan $5, 00.As soon I got home I've tried to send intl text, but the thing is I couldn't receive any intl text, I've tried to contact couple friends in another country to send me intl text again for couple of times.Unfortunately, I still couldn't receive any intl text.

    I called the Customer Service(CS) right away, he said there's nothing wrong with my intl text, he said that it should be working and I have to try again.I've tried many times to send intl text to my friends, but still I can't receive any intl text.

    I went to Cricket store in Dodge St, the CS checked my cell and she said there's nothing wrong with my phone.She suggested me if I still can't receive any intl text she'll make a trouble ticket.I said ok, just make a trouble ticket so the technical support can fix my problem.I asked the CS, how long does it take to fix my intl text, so I can receive my intl text cause I really need my intl text so I can contact my friends and family in another country, the CS said it took about a week or two.She also said that somebody will call me if it's been fixed.I've waited for 2 weeks, but nobody called me.

    I called the CS like 4 times and I went back to the store, I got mad at her and I told her that she lied to me cause she promised me that after 2 weeks they can fix my problem.But they still can't fix my problem and not helping me at all.

    I was really2 pissed cause it wasting my time, my money and my energy, I asked for a refund in 132nd W.Center, but they told me that they can't give any refund.They suggested me to do a trouble ticket again, I told them that I've already have a trouble ticket.They told me that I can exchange my cell but I have to pay $10, 00 shipping fee.I finally talked to the Manager, she told me the same that she can't give me any refund and I have to do a trouble ticket again, but this time she said she can exchange my cell without shipping fee.I told her, I don't want that, I just want to end the service cause Cricket was not helping me as a customer and the service was really2 poor.She said if I want to end the service I just have to disconnect the service and she didn't say sorry for what the Cricket has done to me, not even once!What kind of service is this?I have to pay $78, 86(cellphone+activation fee and other taxes) and Cricket is not really helping me at all, they're not even trying to help!And she(the manager) told me too that there's nothing she can do about it."Hello, there's nothing she can do about it?" Of course there is, Cricket should better give a good service to the customer, maybe the staff never get trained well of how to work in CS and how to work in cellphone bussiness.Loyalty customer is the most important thing.But they're not helping the customer at all and didn't offer the best solutions to all customer's problems.

    Why using CRICKET??? So, everybody out there, DON'T EVER USE CRICKET!!! Cause they lied all the time, not helpful and ###!!!

  • Te
      6th of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes

    I have had 2 Motorola Slvr phones with Cricket for almost two years for my daughters, they have the $50 a month unlimited everything plan. I got my wife a $35 plan in January. When I did that the Phone insurance was removed, and of course my daughters phones started acting up.

    I called to Cricket and they said they would put the service back on but didn't, so I called back again and they said I had to go to the store to ask them to put it back on (two different stories). What a waste of time, I thought, I went down there and of course it was a madhouse. After a 20 minute wait, I went up to the counter explained what happened, and he said no problem and took care of it.

    The next day my daughters went down and one was charged $45 for a warranty replacement and the other $85 since it was water damaged, the each were able to pick out any phone in the store, had the contacts transferred over and everyone was happy.

    Now the plan price is a bit high, but I wish I could get that deal from Verizon or ATT with there 3G and coverage. Of course I had to pay $170+ for replacement phones, but I think after 2 years of use with the old ones which cost about that each, wasn't too bad of a deal, at least the girls are happy.

  • An
      7th of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes

    I have to agree with all of you... this cell phone company is the WORST!!! I've EVER dealt with. They don't do what you ask them to, but whatever they decide. I should have made change to my acct myself on line!!! Signed up for the $35 plan and needed voice mail, so I decided to add that for $5, but the CS person bumped me up to the $40 plan and added voice mail to that. So my $35 plan that I started out with is now going to $50 a month..hmmmm.. I'm not paying it :-) When I tried to figure out my bill which makes no sense at all, I called and ended up in a very heated argument with the ESL CS lady who felt the need to explain to me over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over and over again what she and I already knew. I asked at least five times to just fix the problem, but she still needed to "talk about it." Well, you can talk to yourself, because I'm done... I ended the call.. thank you have a nice day... because she refused to listen to me or fix my problem. Gee, I might be old fashioned, but I thought they were supposed to cater to me, not me to them??? I made a copy of my bill.. FWY... ALT PrtScn and then opening up a Word document and then pasting to a Word document using Ctrl V will copy anything on your computer screen so you can have a copy of your bill just in case they decide to play games with it..which it seems they do A LOT. Maybe they should invent a phone where you could record these CS calls on our phones and then we could start making some heads roll and changing the way these seedy business operate.??? I'm contacting the Public Utilities Commission to see if they govern cell phones. I know they oversee the land lines some of us still use and can provide some leverage if you should need to go to court. I also know that they were instrumental in make sure Qwest didn't get away with their doo doo.

    No credit check?? Be very leery.. They should advertise..we are going to make you pay for that no credit check with hassle after hassle. I can't foresee continuing doing business with this company... sorta like Vonage...I hear their CS is very similar to Cricket's.. and that ship is going down eventually too... glug, glug glug... you can't operate a business rippin' people off..somehow somewhere it comes back to you and your company...

  • An
      9th of Aug, 2008
    0 Votes

    I liked cricket til I went just outside of Houston and had no service what a ###ing jip and as far as there ringtones and ringbacktones what do the people that run the company live in iraq I swear your music sucks dick and I bet your some lonly bald barely speaks english mother###er who looks at child porn go back too what ever sanddoon you came from cause your ###ing Idea of good music wouldnt even apeal to a 4yr old ### ...

  • Ja
      13th of Sep, 2008
    0 Votes

    The location I am dealing with is Cricket, 1050 West Colfax E & F, Denver Co, 80206

    So on 8/04/08 I went into Wireless Trendz, 60 Grant St. in Denver, 80219 and subscribed to Crickets $40 a month plan. I paid to have my phone flashed $40, paid the activation fee of $15, Paid the instore fee $3 and Paid for themy first months payment of $46.26.

    Within that week, I desided to log onto my cricket account online and saw that it claimed that I still owed them $46.26 so I called the customer service and tried to explain to them the situation. I was told that I owe the money so i explained again the situation, that the money was withdrawn from my account. Better yet, how do I start up an account when it's required that I pay the first month before hand. She didn't have an answer for me and said I'd have to go into Cricket and resolve it.

    On My first visit, after waiting an hour I kid you not, I spoke with a young lady who was nice but couldn't fix my problem. She told me I would need an actual receipt from Modern Trenz. I had what they had given me but she claimed that it wasn't an itemized receipt. So here starts the wild goose chase. I head over to Modern Trenz and explained the situation. He told me that that is the receipt that they give out but he printed up a number/payment history for me.

    My 2nd trip to Cricket was the same day as my first. I showed the young lady all of my receipts that I had and explained that the money was withdrawn out of my account and asked how can I start up an account if I didn't pay the first month. She had no answer for me, She then said that I would have to speak with the manager. I explained again to the manager my situation and showed him my receipts. He ended up telling me that I should wait a little bit to see if the payment goes through and to see if it was posted. He told me that they would take care of the problem if it didn't seem to go through. Come back in a week.

    My 3rd trip to Cricket was a week and a half later figuring that a week wouldn't be enough for this Cricket center to pull there act together. I went in, explained my story again and the young lady said to wait a little longer. I explained that I had spoken with the manager which did nothing. She said to come back.

    My 4th trip to cricket was a week later. After an hour wait The young lady Marti put in for a payment research request. She told me to come in a week later.

    My 5th trip to is what set me off to start documenting my expirience with Cricket. On September 2nd I went in with my paperwork. The lady behind the counter told me that the payment research is backed up and that I should come back in a week. Aftre waiting a @%%& hour. My first legit payment was due so I wanted to pay it. She told me that she would post the existing due balance untill it was resolved and put my payment toward my actual due balance. I was told to come back on the Sept 12th. So yesterday I receive a text saying that my September payment is due and that my account will be shut off if I don't pay it. Attempting to keep my head from exploding I log onto My Cricket account online but due to their website inability to show any account history on there it appears she may have put my payment toward the first month in which I had already paid. I'm gonna wait to the 12th to see what happens but this is one of the worst company I have ever dealt with. The price may be right but it might not be worth the hassle.

    9/12/2008 - They shut off my service. Heading down there 9/13/2008. Stay tuned for further updates on Crickets inability to opperate like a professional business.

    My 6th Trip 9/13/2008. I only waited a half an hour this time but who gives a *** when you've already been there 6 times in 6 weeks. The guy behind the counter told me that he can turn my phone on for 5 more days then I'll have to come in again. Way to pawn it off on your coworkers champ. He did give me a phone number to call Cricket Customer Relations. I can't beleive this place. I'll call the number and deal with some more Cricket BS. So i'll be back in on Thursday and the customer has to take the brunt of the crap they can dish out.

  • Li
      12th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    cricket does suck!!! I had problems when my phone wasn.t charging. The charger was broke, and although I still had the warranty the stupid ### store never got the chargers in I needed, I couldn.t even find them at stores! Kyocera said they would send me a new one-But-I had to send the old one in first. So, basicallly I'd have been w/o a phone for 2 weeks!
    Then, even through I had the plan where the phone was suppossed to work everywhere-when I drove to Flagstafff from Phx, where I live-I had no reception whatsoever! I had to keep puting quarters in the payphones to reach the people I was suppossed to meeet up there.
    And it's really ###ed up that we have to pay a service charge in order to pay the bills! Even if you pay at the crickett store-they still charge you!
    Well, they lost me as a customer. Their service sucks, so I went to T-Mobile and am much happier.

  • Bo
      18th of Oct, 2008
    -3 Votes

    What do you expect? It's a cell phone/Internet service catered to blacks and women, of course the service is going to suck ###. You want urban ###, you get urban ###.

  • Ra
      25th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    i been a cricket customer for almost 3 years, and i also having problems with the customer service, seem like they need a little training, and speak well in english, it is also hard to get connected to a customer service aswell, if you are thinking about getting a cricket phone or thinking about signing up with them, i would'nt recomend you, their service really SUCKS...

  • Cj
      27th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    CRICKET SUCKS. I SHOULD KNOW I SELL THE PHONES. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS BECAUSE IT IS BASED IN INDIA. ANYONE WANTING TO TALK TO A REAL PERSON CALL THIS WITCH AND GIVE IT TO HER
    858-882-6000

    Linda Wokoun
    Senior Vice President

  • Ca
      4th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    IT REALLY DO SUCKS

  • Ji
      11th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    I tried to return a broken phone to the shop city store after using it only one month and the store owner chased me into the parking lot threatening to knock my teeth down my throat because i complained that they wouldnt fix it or give me a new one. His employee stood in front of my truck blocking my exit. I called coperate office and they sided with him. The police say that Cricket was formed to sell the phones to drug dealers as they are untraceable. anybody that goes with cricket should have their head examined

  • To
      13th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    CRICKET NIGHTMARE

    Date: 5/12/20058
    Issue: Cricket owes me $75.37 overpayment


    5/12/2008: (Eddie) 1 hour proving overpayment - told 6-8 weeks refunded to credit card

    10/19/2008: (Virginia, Eddie) 1 hour inquiring about refund after waiting patiently - told need credit card number overpayment was made on

    11/10/2008 (Virginia, manager (wouldn't show face) 45 min returned with credit card number for refund - told can't refund card number call: 858-882-9999 (by manager)

    11/13/2008 called 858-882-9999 WRONG NUMBER

    11/13/2008 called 602-458-4491 (Virginia) recording run around and finally a person who told me 'someone must have misread the number...the last three digits are 301 not 999'.

    11/13/2008 called 858-882-9301 recording run around and legal subpoena request, 911 operators etc - no customer relations or refund

  • Wa
      1st of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    i have a broadband card and a two phones i was told that the price was one hundred and thirty dollars and that my taxes for texas was another thirty dollars i have noticed that these people that they hire steals a portion of your payment and tell you that you owe more money i payed 80 dollars only 71 dollars went two my bill i dont know ware the rest went and they cant or dont care to tell you so ill just go get me t-moble and let them have there service and broadband card

  • Mi
      7th of Mar, 2009
    0 Votes

    THERE IS SOME CONARTIST ### GOING ON II HAD MY PHONE FOR 60 DAYS HOW IN THE HELL DO I OWE 500.00 DOLLARS I SHOULD OF STAYED WITH NEXTEL

Post your comment