The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Chrysler Financial / fraudulent collection practices!

1 PO Box 551080Jacksonville, FL, United States Review updated:
Contact information:
Phone: (800) 388-4275

In december 2007, I received a letter from chrysler corp offering an early lease termination of 5 payments on my chrysler crossfire srt6 if I leased a new chrysler. I gave the letter to urban chrysler in foothill ranch, ca and leased a new chrysler 300c. 2 months later chrysler financial began hounding me for past due payments on the old lease.in the meantime, the dealer has gone bankrupt and I am unable to retrieve a copy of this letter. This letter should be common knowledge at chrysler financial, yet they have ripped me off for $1860 because they know I can't obtain the letter from the bankrupt dealer. This is atrocious!!!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Va
      17th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes

    Chrysler Financial
    www.chryslerfinancial.com

    My complaint is with Chrysler Financial and their collection practices. I was one payment behind and when the came to repossess the car the other payment had posted. The rep stated that I was three payments behind and after our records we kept were pulled, it showed one payment behind and the other payments were there. Then I was told to pay a certain amount in order to keep the car. I called for the West Union number to send the payment, then the amount went up. The rep was very rude and told me to turn in the car or he would report the car missing to the police. I told him that I needed the car and was willing to pay the first amount that he gave, then he told me to turn the car in and hung up in my face. I called back the next day,and the amount increased as usual and decided to turn in the car peacefully. A loan was taken out for the full balance for the car within the amount of time they gave us and when we called back to have the money $12,000+ transferred to them, they told us that we could not get back the car. It was within the 19 or 20 days that it was told to us that we could get the car back. The very rude rep told us that the car auction date was a month away and we had to pay the balance.

    THEY HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO HAVE THE ENTIRE AMOUNT WITHOUT AUCTIONING OFF THE CAR. We had bank statements showing the entire balance in the account. They then tried to sue us and collect $6000+, and they finally won because I had a personal emergency and could not make the court date. WHY TRY TO COLLECT $6000 WHEN YOU COULD HAVE HAD THE ENTIRE BALANCE $12,000+? It is called poor collection practices by reps who only was interested in ruining someone's credit report and collecting their commission checks, versus customer service skills. Please be careful when signing these type of contracts with finance companies.

  • An
      4th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    The same thing happened to me. And, I'm on 18% interest for a car that has devalued by 60% over a year. Do you think Chrysler cares?

    Chrysler, I will do ANYTHING and EVERYTHING to advertise HOW RUDE you are and what low life scums you hire.

    This is unethical behavior. People are rude. They are gaming with me while the car is in an impound over $200 on an 807 payment?

    Get a life. Better yet, Chrysler can go finance one at 36%. I'll drive junk for the rest of my life and I'll never go to a dealer again.

    Chrysler Financial will rip you off and by the way, they conveniently misplace checks, lose payments and do steal from electronic payments. Don't think it can't happen.

    It does. All the time. Why? Because the government allows it.

  • Da
      12th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    Chrysler Financial got me. Yes they held my checks up to 26 days so late fees added up my payment were $536 for two years now the payment stub has a new amount for $596 it started back in September 07 when they (tom perry) said if i didn't pay him$800 cash from electronic payment place my truck will be gone,i knew it had to be a misstake. But i paid the $800 and when he confirm the payment was good he deposit my check . They did this three more times they steal from electronic payments. they started back in 9/01/07, 10/01/07, 11/01/07 I was never behind my next payment due on 12/10/07 they held my check now the want cash $600 11/20/07 they got it. They always made it look like i was late so the late fees added up so they got them.11/26/07 they REPO my struck with my personal things in it like my rolax and about $125 in it. My next payment is due 12/10/07 stay clear of Chrysler if you know whats good for you!!! I HAVE ALL THE INFO TO BACK EVRY THING UP!

  • Mg
      9th of Apr, 2008
    0 Votes

    Chrysler Financial, is in fact the worst finance company. Wow!!! Where do I start with this one??? First off, let me say "I love their vehicles, & performance, but that's were it stops". Their finance department sucks! I had words with the collections dept. supervisor, due to him trying to bully me into taking out a payday loan, for 230.00(on Monday), when I got payed that friday. I refused to deal with those payday loans, because they are designed to trap you in debt (kinda like Chrysler Financial, with those extention offers). I was then hung up on. That night they repo'd my vehicle. the next day I borrowed the amount owed, from my 401k, and was ready to redeem. They told me they need new refrences, pay stubs, & proof of insurance. All was good til they came up with this bogus excuse to make me rack up on storage fees, at the impound lot. I was told that the payment I had just made on March 26th, was still pending. I have to either pay $500.00 extra, or wait until my payment clears. To make a long story short, they have me by the balls. They could have at least brought this to my attention, when I was submitting all my paperwork, so I could've included the extra $500.00 in my 401k loan.

  • Dm
      20th of May, 2008
    0 Votes

    I agree that Chysler Financial is the WORST company to deal with. I got a call from a "Mr. Lewis" who is actually Steven Lewis regarding my payment which was a single day late. I told him I'd make the payment by end of week (3 days). To which he automatically became rude and abusive. Yelling and screaming at me that that "I don't take my debt with them seriously", and I'm "not the type of customer they want to do business with". I can't remember the rest but I told him I didn't appreciate his tone and we could speak if he'd like to be polite. He didn't choose to do that and continued his abusive rant toward me. I told him that I was warning him for the second time to watch his tone if he wanted to continue speaking with me. That didn't work either so I told him to put a supervisor on the phone. He kept me holding for a long time and I hung up. I called back to try and find a supervisor or manager to complain about his behavior. Well, apparently his attitude and practices were par for the course and the 'manager' I reached was just as bad. So here's the scoop. If you want to deal with a company that believes its good practice to be abusive toward its customers...choose this one. And if anyone ever finds someone in that awful company who actually cares how its employee behaves...give them Steven Lewis's name because he's the first one who should be fired for his behavior.

  • An
      2nd of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes

    I REGRET THE DAY I EVER SIGNED UP FOR THAT LOAN. The customer service dept is soooo rude. They call and harass you even if you are just a few days late...I mean a call every two hours...no joke! I am paying down my car as fast as possible in order to trade it in and finance another car through someone else. I would never ever recommend Chrysler Financial to anyone and will never in my entire life lease or buy a car through the chrysler company.

  • Ma
      3rd of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes

    In a nutshell-Chrysler has the worst customer service. I also was accused of not making a payment, which I have documentation for.

  • Gr
      21st of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes

    It's time to take action against this company and any other company with this type of track record. They are being paid by Chrysler corp to do what they do. In other words "they are paid to be rude, baligerant, demanding and harrassing". I have known persons who work in collections and with companys such as this they get paid commissions for how rude they can be to consumers and how fast they can get them to make payments. And trust me they could care less what the consumer's circumstances are. We as consumers can either sit here and take it or we can get in touch with consumer protection agencies who want to put a stop to this type of consumer abuse. Contact your local consumer protection agencies and the attorney generals office with these complaints. The more complaints they get along with the seriousness of these complainst will propel they an investigation into these sleezy call centers that hire sleezy agents to work for them. Any advise would be helpful and appreciated!

  • Bl
      25th of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes

    Same story with me. im due last months and this months payment. however its set up to come out my acct in a few days. but for the last 13 days they have been calling everyone on my reference sheet including me. they even told my grandmother i was deliquent and if she could pay it. well i work in the mortgage industry and i know a little about the fair credit lending act. i reported them to the state finanical office who governs lenders, where i live. i sent them in writing do not contact anyone again but in writing. now i have everyone recording the nasty calls. i am in the works to sue them but just need to find the right attorney.
    After doing some research, i was told when i signed the paperwork at 16% interest it was because of my credit score. well my sister co signed. (she works at a daycare, and did at the time of the signing). well i just found out she didnt cosign she is actually the primary borrower. the payment is 700 a month.

    Well the dealership must have fraudaulently increased her income to get her to qualify. and second her credit score was a 750. so why the 16% rate. if i would have known she is the primary i would have demanded a better rate or not sign at all. the predetory lending on this acct i think warrants a class action lawsuit. so if anyone knows of who i can contact please email at blainlege@yahoo.com

    They treaten me that they will come get the truck. well come get it. i owe 30k on a truck thats worth 12k. and now with the gas prices. they would be doing me a favor.

    Because once they pick it up, i will file a bk 7 on them . so they cant collect the remaining balance. dont let chrysler bully you. you have rights.

  • Gr
      8th of Jul, 2008
    +1 Votes

    Chrysler screwed me too! I guess it is a habit. I have been a lifeling loyal buyer but never again!!! I had a 2006 PT Cruiser with 3 months left on my lease. Chrysler called me to ask me what my plans were. I said I would like to get a Charger. Chrysler told me that if I were to purchase or lease a Chrysler product they would waive my early termination fee (which they did), and make up to my last 3 car payments. With one month left I traded my PT in for a Charger. Guess what? They WILL NOT honor their promise! I have been fighting with them since February and now they have taken me to collections. Now they are telling me that I received a lease loyalty rebate instead of the waived last months payment. I was never told anything about this from Chrysler or the dealer. Which by the way is Broadway Dodge in Denver. I will do everything possible to make sure everyone I meet will never buy a Chrysler product or go to that lying, deceptive dealer again!!!

  • Ch
      14th of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes

    we have a 2004 dodge durandgo and are paying 707 a month we fell behind we had the car repoed and we are having the worst time getting it back friday we had the total amount paid in full to them at 4:10 there office does not close till 4:30 our time my husband called them right before he western unioned it .they left there office i guess at what ever time they wanted too this is the recovery office and as of today it is monday at 2:24 we still do not have our car we are having to pay fees each day over friday because they are treating us like this ever time we call they are being very ugly to use they have been there since 7:00 this morning it 's like they are doing it on purpuse because we have been conplaining to them and there supervisier these people have been the rudest people i have ever talked too and as for the phone calls when we are late on a payment they threatend the irs everything she could think of to scare me and to be rude to me she did we actully turned our home phone ringer off we can't talk to people like that who have no heart and want to kick you when your down i will never never never use chrysler finacial again and i will make sure everyone knows how they treat you!

  • Lu
      31st of Jul, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I'm so disappointed that I didn't read this forum before I purchased and took out a loan with Chrysler Financial. I traded a can in With negative equity at Denny Heckers Dodge, Of Monticello, MN (Currently having that contract looked at by an attorney because they changed my income), and they refinanced negative equity. I became two months past due. I got the MN Attorney Generals office involved on their harassing calls. Chrysler financial send me a Notice of Default and the Right to Cure & Intention to repossess letter stating that on 8/7/08, they would take me vehicle if payment was not received by then.

    I called their people. What A** holes!! From Mrs. Knighton, to Mr. Kirby, they would NEVER listen to what I had to them about me mailing three months worth of payments. I was "secretly" being listened by their "Supervisor Mr. Wilcocks" He was the biggest Jerk of them all! Any way he said that any letter didn't matter that if I didn't western Union them the money immediately that day, they would repossess my car tomorrow. And also they added that every day that I was more than 5 days past due, they were adding $7.60 in interest to my loan! I told them that I mailed the $1555.77 for three months worth of payments was in the mail and would be definitely received before the 8/7/08 due date they sent me. Mr. Wilcocks said that he'd hold that payment on his desk till 8/8/08 and that would be to late and my car would be repossessed by then.

    I asked them if my contract that I signed by the dealership had any writing on it that stated that I could only make my payment by Western Union on exactly the day I called. They couldn't answer that. Here...I'll help them out, NO! I said the check was mailed and they stated that it would be no good. The only payment they'd accept was Western Union.

    I called the Minnesota Attorney Generals Office. I talked to them and they called Chrysler Financial for me on my behalf. Mr. Wilcocks was just as rude to them as he was to me. So they took about 1 hour and called me back, they had another Chrysler Financial rep on the phone telling me that mailing the check was ok and that there's nothing they can do till 8/7/08 period no matter what anyone including Mr. Wilcocks tells me.

    The MN Attorney Generals office is still continuing with the complaint. To bad for Chrysler Financial that now their calls were being recorded for A** hole assurance!

  • Ea
      22nd of Aug, 2008
    +1 Votes

    they charge late fees without truth and enoughreasons.

  • Ea
      22nd of Aug, 2008
    +1 Votes

    chryler financil lies in charges.

  • Da
      25th of Aug, 2008
    +1 Votes

    My personal experience with Chrysler Financial has been an eye opener for me, it has cost me hundreds of dollars in being ripped off, but I am glad because I will never purchase or lease another vehicle or reccommend them to anyone, I have nothing but negative feelings on the subject so I hope they choke on the money I work so hard for, it will save me many thousands in the long run. Thank you you "### buckets" I will look forward to the day you go out of business and anything I can do to facilitate that will make me very happy!!!

  • Hi
      18th of Sep, 2008
    -1 Votes

    everyone sounds like a 5 yr old. Chrysler loaned you money, pay it on time or deal w/ it.

  • Du
      19th of Sep, 2008
    -1 Votes

    Well then,

    Yes Chyrsler did lease me a vehicle...I have made 3 payments 30 days past due sine March 2003. That is 62 on time, and regretably 3 late.

    Once you payment is due, they put you on a dialer system. Your phone will ring from 8:30am until 9:00pm...they will call your work number, they will call your spouses number. Trying to explain your plan for making payments is one of the more frustrating things I have ever done. Today they questioned me about my job, my wifes job...and basically told me they could reposses the car at 1 day past due.

    Watch out folks...If they come take your car, regardless...you are liable for the balance, and the difference from what they get at auction.

    I will be sending a letter of complaint to the Fed's today...I believe Chrysler is going to step up their repo efforts in an attempt to screw the public. They know their cars aren't worth a dime once turned in after the lease expires.

  • El
      8th of Oct, 2008
    +1 Votes

    Avoid Chrysler financial. I leased a vehicle and aquired gap insurance. A person ran a red light and hit me and Chrysler wrote off my van. As there were no witnesses and the person says it was red it is a 50/50 fault. There was a balance owing was more than the write off and I was assured by my dealership my gap insured the difference. Chrysler financial is no longer owned by Chrysler and I spent weeks phoning an 800 number and getting a call centre in India. They had no clue what gap insurance was??
    Finally a Canadian call centre assured me that my gap did cover the difference. They took a very low payout on my vehicle and I questioned this and received a verbal shrug. I said in my last statement to Chrysler Financial that I was surprised that they took so little but obviously that was their business as long as my balance was 0. They credit person mummbled you may have mileage or wear and tear and I laughed and said you wrote off my vehicle how is that possible? I did not receive an answer--another verbal shrug.
    I signed off - they were paid out and a month later I received a bill for 2400.00 due the day after receipt of bill. They threatened to put it into collections two weeks later.
    My Chrysler dealership says their hands are tied, and they are surprised by this but Chrysler financial is doing the same thing to them and its costing them business.
    Avoid at all costs. They are very devious and do not think they are working on your behalf, as they should be.
    I will never buy a Chrysler product again even though I love the product. I feel like they hung me out to dry.
    I lost all the money I paid towards my vehicle- Chrysler Financial excepted way less the the black book value and are fighting with me to re-coup more money.
    If they had fought for more, included my mileage payout - perhaps the vehicle would not have been able to be written off and I think they just wanted the cash. My opinion...but it is the only thing that makes sense.
    I always paid on time...my credit is immaculate---I am fighting this.

  • Ha
      9th of Oct, 2008
    +1 Votes

    Oh my goodness!!! Chrysler Financial is the rudest company I have ever known. They claimed they "lost" an 859 dollar payment, and refused to look for it. Stacy Scott should be fired. She called me names, and repeatedly hung up on me, and then called me back, refused to answer any questions, and refused to look for the check that my bank said they cashed. I asked why we were treated so horrible, and she answered that because we had been late, not months late, but days late 8 different times, that gave them the right to harrass us to make a payment. They call literally every 2 hours, all day, even before our due date. I would go to the ends of the earth and proclaim to everyone how horrible Chrysler Financial is.

  • Hi
      24th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    It sounds like your lease was past due at the time of the accident. If you are past due three months and total your lease/vehicle - you still owe the past due pymts. Your insurance company and Chrysler will cover all else. They aren't going to pay something that was already supposed to have been paid.

    Gap insurance isn't required on a lease. If the vehicle is totaled.. Chrysler takes the insurance payoff and covers the rest.

Post your comment