SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Audible Adbl.CO/Bill NJ / unauthorized debit charge from audible adbl.co/bill nj

Review updated:

Today a charge of $14.95 popped up being charged to my account. I neither looked at nor ordered any service for audio books or any other book at any time from any provider. Worse yet, this would have been an ongoing monthly fee for a service I did not order.

I am now told my card will be de-activated and I 'may' get a replacement within 7 to 10 days and after that another 7 to 10 days for the fraud to be credited to my account. This is terribly disturbing. I have requested a refund but I am the one who will be inconveniently affected for several weeks from now.

I feel I am lucky to have caught this charge for a monthly fee not ordered. Just think how other people will feel if they don't notice the fraudulent fee.

Sh
Jul 28, 2017
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Xi
      Jan 19, 2018
    Best Best Advice

    Thanks for posting it had just happened to me.

    +6 Votes
  • Sh
      Aug 10, 2018

    @Xi Xi You are correct. It wasn't until I received a charge on my business account that I realized what was happening. I actually called the number and because it showed that I had been charged a monthly fee for several months, but had actually never bought an audio book, they have refunded me all my money and closed the account. The gentleman I spoke with was very professional and most certainly helpful. It is done through Amazon and is not a scam. The number to contact them is [protected].

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jan 21, 2018

    Yes, thank you very much for posting. I just noticed Audible has been doing that to me as well. For the past four months charging my Visa for a monthly fee. I never gave them my credit card info., so how did they get it??!!! Pulled the info. from somewhere! This is disturbing as I never authorized this, nor signed up for the subscription service, nor gave Audible my credit card info. I recall downloading a 'free' audio book, but that was all, never signed up for a subscription and never gave them my credit card info. BEWARE OF THIS BUSINESS. FRAUDULENT ACTIVITY.

    0 Votes
  •   Jun 28, 2018

    @Joanna123 ******LADIES AND GENTS!!! THIS ISN'T A SCAM!!! I just found this link: CANCEL HERE: http://audible.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7083

    AGAIN - This is how I found out about this. The lady I talked to on the phone, said my husband had used our Amazon account to purchase an audio book. He used his OWN card. However, there's a monthly subscription with AUDIBLE with AMAZON. So this means, even if he used his own card information - if they try to bill the card monthly, and for any reason at all they're unable to collect funds...AUDIBLE AND AMAZON will also bill any other card on file until they receive a payment for the monthly subscription of $14 or $16!!! That is in the agreement you accept when you purchase an audio service through Audible /Amazon. It doesn't matter if you didn't purchase with YOUR card. Because your card is listed as a payment method, your card will be attempted if the original card doesn't have funds. This also means if your friend, mother, cousin etc used your card at any time...and its listed on a profile..they will try your card. This isn't a SCAM, your loved ones or yourself didn't R E A D the fine print where it tells you in 30 days it'll charge you a monthly subscription fee.

    Simply follow this link: CANCEL HERE: http://audible.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7083 to cancel your subscription. The lady I talked to was nice enough to refund me all the charges I had on my card!!! Simply be NICE and you'll get them all refunded, as technically YOU or your loved ones agreed to it and well...YOU agreed to let them use your card. If you didn't agree, then you've got an even bigger issue at hand with theft :/

    Again...for the small people in the back...CANCEL HERE: http://audible.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7083

    This isn't a scam...R E A D I N G is important when you put your card information on the internet!!!

    You're welcome! - Emilia

    +2 Votes
  • Do
      Feb 15, 2018

    I don't know why with which right you steeled from me $14.95, by charging an unauthorized charge of $14.95, why do you do that...!?, it is my money, and i never gave you the right to do that...!!!

    Yisocher Twersky

    -1 Votes
  • Pr
      Mar 05, 2018

    It has happened to me and I noticed it just today.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
      Mar 23, 2018

    Same fraud has happened from my 2 credit Card back to back... Don't know how to her rid of it... Any solution with anyone plz share

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Mar 25, 2018

    @Mishra_tarishi Contact your bank to claim and refund this money

    0 Votes
  • An
      Apr 03, 2018

    cancel my monthly bill.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Apr 03, 2018

    CANCEL MY MONTHLY BILL

    0 Votes
  • Bi
      Apr 06, 2018

    Yeah. They got your card number from Amazon, same place they got mine. My wife cancelled with them, and I had purchased something on her Prime account ONCE from my card, so they just switched to charging me. Who ARE these A-holes??????

    +1 Votes
  • An
      Apr 07, 2018

    Same thing just happened to me, Never have i ever provided them with my debit card number? It is obvious Amazon is ( willingly or unwillingly ) connected to these [censor]!!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      Apr 09, 2018

    I got this charge on my card today too... Mine is an Amazon card too. This must be part of one of the data breaches...

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Apr 09, 2018

    Got this charge on my husbands credit card also. Neither one of us signed up for this and also do you have an Amazon account. I will be deleting that card from the account.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Apr 11, 2018

    This is all about Amazon... they scam by offering credits for a purchase if you don't receive it in the 2 days... never said I was joining a membership!!! Makes me question Amazons practice!!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Apr 12, 2018

    I went to audible spoke to a lady on the chat and they refunded my money and cancelled the card they had on file.

    +3 Votes
  • Ar
      Apr 26, 2018

    @Keisha Lewis Hi Keisha,
    Can you please share the contact number?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Apr 23, 2018

    I just found this fee on bank statement. I never received anything from this company saying that I bought a service. I called the bank and reported fraudulent activity on my credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Su
      Apr 25, 2018

    This made me look closer. Just found a charge of $16.15 per month going back a year.
    I can't find the phone number! Crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Li
      May 01, 2018

    Thank you. It happened to me last week. I am outraged!!!

    +3 Votes
  • Ma
      May 01, 2018

    CANCEL HERE: http://audible.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7083

    -1 Votes
  • Da
      May 03, 2018

    It's not fraud, you guys. It clearly says that it's 14.95 per month after the first 30 days which buys you one book of any price. You can cancel at any time and keep any of the books you've purchased.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
      May 11, 2018

    @David Stoops yeah it is fraud if you didnt authorize it ... if you didnt do the free trial ... if you dont even know what it is ...

    +3 Votes
  • Na
      Jun 04, 2018

    @David Stoops I never ordered the trial and knew nothing about it.

    +1 Votes
  • Pi
      May 04, 2018

    I just discovered I've been charged 16.00 a month on my credit card for audibleadbl.co/billnj for the past year and I have no clue how it got on there. They're sneaky and underhanded and charge people without their knowledge and should pay back everything that I've paid and any charges from jy credit card company I may receive.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
      May 08, 2018

    I've been charged $14.95 a month by Audible. I have purchased a few audible books this year; however, I wasn't aware that I signed up for a "membership, " ... probably some tricky method I wasn't aware of. There are some benefits if you purchase a lot of Audible books. In any case, I called Audible today and cancelled my membership (see num below). Heads up, be assertive and say "Please cancel my membership immediately!" You'll still be able to buy Audible books, so don't worry. They said they will reimburse me the $14.95 for May. Good luck; here's the numbers: [protected]

    +2 Votes
  • Ms
      May 31, 2018

    @Ricardo Stanton-Salazar Yes..just had my unauthorized charges reimbursed and the "so called membership I signed up for" cancelled. All I had originally done at Audible was look around. Did not purchase anything by mistake or intention. I believe the website is set up "loosely" like this on purpose.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jun 02, 2018

    @msmeews I am being charged a monthly fee of $14.95 for audible books which I NEVER ordered. I have cancelled my MC & was told by my bank with a new card & new pin I wouldn't be charged, but I am still being charged on the new card. Please help me get all my money back & stop future payments made.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
      Jun 13, 2018

    @Josephine Hampson go to audible amazon.com deactivate ur membership and talk to customer care they will refund you money...i got refund same issue i was facing

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Jun 18, 2018

    @msmeews Yes, this just happened to my Mother In Law also. She found the 14.95 charge for each of the last three months and she did not sign up for a membership. Had to cancel old card and replace it with a new number. Wells Fargo is investigating why this happened.

    0 Votes
  • St
      Jul 26, 2018

    @Jan Denton Here is how to get it corrected/ refunded

    Customer service [protected] contact number I called them they asked for my amazon email, my name and billing address, the card number that got charged and the expiration date

    yes I do a lot of Amazon purchases so it must have come from something embedded in the website

    +1 Votes
  • Sa
      May 13, 2018

    please give me my 1003.72 rs which has deducted on 07/05/2018
    that amount transfer to Audible adbl.co/bill NJ from my TATA SBI credit card
    this is crime because this is not from my site they transfer money without informing me...

    0 Votes
  • Gm
      May 15, 2018

    It happened to me too. I believe it may be that I picked an audio from Amazon thinking it was a regular book. I actually hate audio books. I would never sign up voluntarily for any audio books membership.

    It this is the case, they should make sure the consumer really knows what they are getting and from whom. Aggressive marketing when things are confusing only brings drawbacks to businesses and mistrust from us the consumers.

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      May 15, 2018

    This is happening to my Mom and this is having the same thing happening to her account too. This is just unacceptable. How can a company go about charging people without consent or even notification of the charge without it appearing on the account, that needs to change.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      May 21, 2018

    this just happened to me on May 20th for $16.20. I've never even heard of these people and didn't order any books or music. I will have to call my bank and this company. What a waste of time. Crooks.

    0 Votes
  • An
      May 27, 2018

    Just had it happened to me, as well. Same amount, same business. My credit card company said all charges are now in dispute, and a new card will be coming. They got me since December, and I didn't notice it until. now. Scammers.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
      May 31, 2018

    Just checked my credit card statement, looks like they charged me also, funny thing it wasn't me that started a free 30 day trial. It was someone else that uses my Amazon account in my family. Audible never was given permission
    to place a charge on my credit card. The first card they tried to use was inactive. So they just looked in to my Amazon account and used any credit card info that was saved. Evan though it wasn't under the same name. Very shady practice...bottom line don't save your credit card info on Amazon.

    0 Votes
  • Re
      Jun 03, 2018

    This happened to me more than once. It showed up on more than one bank statement as: Audible adbl.co/bill NJ. My daughter purchased ONE download of a book over a year ago and they enrolled her in the monthly $14.95 payments for downloading books. Don't bother calling the bank. Call amazon at [protected] and tell them about it. They will credit your checking account for the money they took and you won't have to cancel your card. Make sure they delete the enrollment so it won't happen again the next month.
    As a note, don't leave any cards saved in Amazon.com. If your primary card expires, get denied, etc., they will randomly pick another card you have saved. The accounts the $14.95 debit showed up on were our girl scout accounts, which were obviosly not the card my daughter used for her one time download of a book. I always delete them after I make a purchase. You may have to wait a day or 2 to delete it until your current purchase goes through before it lets you delete it.
    I just got off the phone (again) to get reimbursements because the charges started showing up again. They transferred me over to Audible and they said they would take care of it. Then, I found out my daughter had an audible.com account for her one time download last year, and her girl scout card was saved there!! The only way they could have gotten that card was by transferring it (without permission) from amazon.com to Audible.com. So, I just deleted it from there. Good grief!

    0 Votes
  • Je
      Jun 04, 2018

    I too have been charged for Audible Adbl.com for something I did not order or even know about until my credit card bill came. I have reported it to Chase and am also going to have to wait for a new card as this one has been compromised. It is so unfortunate that we live in a world where we can not go about our business without some jerk causing problems.

    0 Votes
  • Tl
      Jun 07, 2018

    Cancellation instructions https://audible.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7083/session/

    0 Votes
  • Aa
      Jun 10, 2018

    I just noticed charges on my bank statement below:
    Card - POS DEBIT Audible adbl co bil
    ($16.18)

    I searched "Audible adbl co bil" and found this site.
    I called the [protected] posted by Ricardo Stanton-Salazar and spoke with a very courteous agent who was helpful and answered all my questions. To my surprise; I was a member since Sept. 8th, 2016 till now, June 10th 2018. I said that I was not aware that I had this services since then.
    She mentioned that I may have clicked something when I was logged in Amazon back in September 2015. Now they would reimburse me 34 payments if I requested, which I did.

    Automatically, I received an email stating the following:
    We've received confirmation that you have cancelled your Audible Membership.
    We're sorry to see you go, but hope that you'll continue to enjoy listening to your favorite books, as your library, username, and password will remain active.
    If you decide you want more books to listen to, you can still purchase them at Audible.com without membership. And if you'd like access to our exclusive sales, easy audiobook exchanges, and everyday 30% discount, you can reactivate your membership by contacting us at [protected] (USA & Canada), [protected] (International), or by sending an email to Customer Care. Or, simply click here to rejoin.

    Sincerely,
    Audible Customer Care https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/audible-adblco-bill-nj-unauthorized-debit-charge-from-audible-adblco-bill-nj-c896432.html#

    Within minutes; I received a confirmation email totaling the full amount of the refund. I will wait to find out if the refund would ever come but I am still glad I found this blog!

    Thank you Ricardo Stanton-Salazar for sharing and posting the toll-free number!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      Jun 11, 2018

    Hi, my name is Pheusa H Dort
    adbl.co/bill is billing my credit card, please take me off the list payment is I used your service earlier which I do not even remember. Take me of the payment please. I am not using your product anymore. PLEASE CANCLE MY BILL.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jun 12, 2018

    Thank you for posting, on the phone with Amazon. They started deducting $16.18 from my account last month. Trying to fix the issue now. I am not a prime member.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jun 18, 2018

    Audible has unauthorized charged my credit card for years, many years. I just know it. It is terible. I never subscribe to Audible, how can you steal my credit card. I beg you please refund back all my money. Please delete my credit card in your database. Marwan, [protected]@yahoo.com.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
      Jun 26, 2018

    This just happened to me too! Now I have to do the same, cancel my card and get a new one!! So frustrating!!
    I called Audible at [protected] and was able to have my card deleted from their account and get my refund

    0 Votes
  • Od
      Jun 27, 2018

    his made me look closer. Just found a charge of $16.15 in my account.
    I can't find the phone number! Crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Jul 04, 2018

    This was happening to me also, i just found it today :( They Have been pulling from my account since May of 2017. Amazon and Audidble are attached so they have all your CC information thru amazon. I had purchased a Kindle and the audible app had come installed on it. It does not tell you you have a 30 day trial then amazon automatically charges your account. I emailed the company with letter to let them know I wasn't angry but was just plain disappointed and felt like amazon and audible had ripped me off. They emailed me back with 30 mins replying of how this had happened and have refunded my account the full amount. I will be checking my bank account daily to see if this actually does go thru but I will admit that is great customer service especially on the 4th of July!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      Jul 07, 2018

    I'm calling my bank now.. 15.i5 from same company. POS transaction. That's a debit card with pin used!!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jul 11, 2018

    yes this happened to me i cancelled it 8 months ago and ...now my 5 year old grandaughter is telling me it is reading Fifty shades of grey to her ...

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jul 11, 2018

    Thanks for posting this comment, which I found when I very belatedly googled a line in my credit card account. Taking your advice I called, expressed my complaint calmly, and a very polite Samantha said they would be issuing a credit for the amount I was charged (for 22 months of a subscription I didn't want and didn 't notice I had and never used).

    0 Votes
  • En
      Jul 14, 2018

    A gentle scam. Just noted 4 monthly charges from Audible for $14.95/month. They had my wife signed up as a "member", except that she had no recollection of doing so, and did not recognize any of the 4 titles they showed her as getting. The service agent "Kimona" sounded very bored, and simply said they would cancel her "membership" and refund the charges (I think that 95% of their calls concern "fraudulent" charges like these. The e-mail she sent is copied below.

    Bottom-line: No need to pay any money to a company to recover the payments to Audible. Just contact Audible and they will refund all the charges.

    Thank you for contacting Audible!

    We have canceled your Audible membership and issued 4 refunds back to the same credit cards that was used to make the purchase. Depending on the bank, a refund can typically take about 7-10 business days to appear in your account. You will receive an automated email confirming the cancellation as well. See below for your refunds details:

    Refund Amount: $59.80
    Card Type: Visa

    We are sad to see you go and hope you'll continue enjoying your favorite audiobooks. For your convenience, your library, username, and password will remain active. However, Audible credits are considered membership benefits. Any unused credits have been canceled along with your membership.

    If you decide you want to start listening to new audiobooks, you can make purchases through Audible.com, however, without membership benefits you will not be able to take advantage of our half-price sales, Great Listen Guarantee, every day 30% discount, Unlimited streaming access to Audible Channels and more.

    For more information on the terms and conditions, please visit: http://www.audible.com/terms.

    For information about cancellations, please visit our Help Center: http://audible.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/4556.

    Thank you again for contacting Audible. If you would like more help, contact us. We are here for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

    Sincerely,
    Kimona S
    Audible.com

    0 Votes

Post your comment