The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Advanced Wellness Research / Overcharged! Scam!!! Online orders acai berry 500

1 United States Review updated:
Contact information:

I was charged twice for shipping & handling of $4.99 and twice for $78.81 for the product - all on the same day. The company falsely stated to me that this is an "authorization" and not a charge. I am absolutely furious!!!

Ti
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Pa
      15th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    i have paid by credit card for shipping and i have not received the product..

  • Sh
      17th of Nov, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I too have been having issues with this company! First the terms and conditions clearly state... Your card will only be charged the shipping than 14 days later unless you cancel yopu will be charged 78.81.. Well I was charged for both today and I just ordered it. I havent even gotten to the not receiving product stage. I called to complain was hung up on several times then verbally abused by a supoervisor then told not to order things I cant afford.

    DO NOT ORDER PRODUCT FROM THESE PEOPLE.
    http://www.advancedwellnessresearch.com/products.html
    http://www.PureAcaiBerry.com

    The products might work, but It's sold by people who just rip you off and think they can get away with it. Then treat you like crap when you have the audacity to get upset.

    I filed complaints with both the beter buisness bureau and the Federal trade comissions

    I emplore anyone else who has had a problem with them do the same.

    Sincerly,

    Shannon Ortner

  • Lo
      17th of Nov, 2008
    +1 Votes

    I have the same compliant as Shannon Ortner. I also spoke with Betty in Oregon, and she has the same complaint. I am in the process of collecting enough people to file a class action against Advanced Wellness Research, Inc. If anyone esle is the victim of this unethical company. Please contact me at lois.boyd@yahoo.com

  • Sh
      17th of Nov, 2008
    +1 Votes

    This is the corporate information I found online at www.sunbiz.org

    Detail by Entity Name
    Florida Profit Corporation
    ADVANCED WELLNESS RESEARCH INC.
    Filing Information
    Document Number P08000099391
    FEI Number NONE
    Date Filed 11/06/2008
    State FL
    Status ACTIVE

    Principal Address
    1000 SOUTH POINTE DRIVE #1901
    MIAMI BEACH FL 33139
    Mailing Address
    1000 SOUTH POINTE DRIVE #1901
    MIAMI BEACH FL 33139
    Registered Agent Name & Address
    SPIEGEL & UTRERA, P.A.
    1840 SW 22ND ST.
    4TH FLOOR
    MIAMI FL 33145 US
    Officer/Director Detail
    Name & Address
    Title PSTD
    MOLINA, NICOLAS
    1000 SOUTH POINTE DRIVE #1901
    MIAMI BEACH FL 33139
    Annual Reports
    No Annual Reports Filed
    Document Images

  • Sh
      17th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    this is my complaint on here too!

    https://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/advanced-wellness-research-inc-c125171.html

  • Sh
      18th of Nov, 2008
    -1 Votes

    UPDATE!!!

    The Company CEO contacted me and apologised for everything and is returning my funds. He explained the issues and was very sorry. Since I have no clue how to delete the complaint I can only update that, the CEO contacted me and apologised. I will update as soon as the funds are released from autorization pending status

  • Sh
      18th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    UPDATE:

    Mr Molina contacted me and apologised and personaly guaranteed the return of my funds. Although this does not excuse the actions of the customer service staff. I understand his position and accepted the apology.

  • Mo
      24th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    So how do I get out of this?! I too have not received my order and cannot make connections with the "correct" people to cancel my Trial Order. What a scam!!! How do you get out of this without being charged for a terrible product and service?
    Thanks for any help.

  • Pa
      24th of Nov, 2008
    -1 Votes

    never received my product. charged for trial shipment and then 78.81 for a product i did not receive. cannot get a person to answer the phone and am at loss as to what to do next. what a scam. help

  • Am
      25th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    The following is the coorespondence I have sent and received from Advanced Wellness Reseach. They obviously have no intentions of making good on anything. The only content that was changed was the removal of my full name, address and phone numbers. The rest is unchanged. As you can see both from their lack of responce as well as the only response thus far, they are tryuly a very shady and underhanded company.

    This last one being sent today (Nov 25) at approximately 6:30 pm


    Mr Smith,

    If you read the two emails that were sent to you, you would know this does not answer my questions. I dont have any questions, I just want my money back. That is all. I dont want your product, I dont want an explination and I especially dont want your reassurances for anything, I just want my money back. I paid $12.99 for 2-3 day shipping, not the standard 5-7 business days for $4.99. It has been 14 days since I placed the order online. It was not shipped within 24 hours of placing the order (I placed the order on the 11th, it was supposedly shipped on the 13th), it has not been received, and I honestly dont care if it shows up on my door step next week. That is not what I paid for and I want my money back NOW! I also want the entire order cancelled effective Nov 18, because that is when I first made the request for it to be cancelled, and it still has not been done. If I receive another charge from your company, as I am now at the end of the 14 day trial period, I will be contacting a lawyer. I am apparently not the only customer with this very same complaint. I was on a web site today that showed 30 other complaints exactly the same as mine with your company, so this is apparently a common business practice with your company. It is fraudulent and illegal for you to withhold my money for a product I have not, nor do I expect, to receive. So I hope that answers your questions Mr Smith. If I have not made my position clear enough for you, feel free to give me a call @ xxx-xxx-xxxx.

    I also want you to know that I called your customer service department today and demanded to speak to a manager on duty and while on hold I was transfered to the General Manger of Dish Network. He was very interested to learn that I was transfered to him from your lines. He assured me that he will be looking into how it is that you were able to transfer me to him on his internal line. You may very well be hearing from him as well. Regards, Amy S

    --- On Tue, 11/25/08, Service wrote:

    From: Service
    Subject: RE: Fw: Poor customer service
    To: ladytech74@yahoo.com
    Date: Tuesday, November 25, 2008, 2:38 PM


    Dear Amy,

    Thank you for contacting customer services,

    Firstly, let me confirm you that your order was shipped to you right on the next day you ordered your ACAI BERRY and also our records shows the same status. You just need to check it with your nearest USPS courier services. We really appologize that your product is being delayed to be shipped to you but we can reassure you that you will recieve your product in the next few days.

    Your order number is: PA-3012

    I hope this answers your questions.

    Thank you and have a nice day,

    Ron Smith,
    Customer Service
    Original Message
    ----------------
    Subject: Fw: Poor customer service
    From: ladytech74@yahoo.com
    To:
    Date: 2008-11-24 20:14:32

    To whom it may concern:
    Today is November 24...and I still have not received the order that was placed on November 11. I sent an email (attached) on November 18, and have yet to receive a response. I called on the 19th and spoke to someone with an indian accent that I could not understand who told me at the time that I would have to wait 24 hours for a response...still no response!!! I paid $12.99 for 2-3 day shipping...its been 13 days!!! My credit card has already been charged the $12.99. I have called repeatedly, only to be met with several different messages, none of which have gotten me through to your customer service department. I tried calling again today at approximately 6:30 pm, and I got a voice message that said your hours of operation are from 8am to 8pm (it was 9am to 9pm before). I want all shipments cancelled...NOW! I want the $12.99 returned to my card, as I have not received my delivery in the specified amount of time. I will be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in my local area as well as the area that you are located if I do not receive an immediate refund of the $12.99 for the shipment that has not been received yet, as well as a written (letter and/or email) confirmation that all shipments have been cancelled. Your company is shady, your business practices are shady and your customer service sucks! I am beyond frustrated at this point with your company and its lack of want to take care of its customers. You will never have my business again. I will expect a response within the next 12 hours as you now owe me for not returning ANY of my prior messages, verbal or otherwise! Regards, Amy Schumacher215-205-5487

    --- On Tue, 11/18/08, Amy S wrote:

    From: Amy S
    Subject: Poor customer service
    To: service@advancedwellnessresearch.com
    Date: Tuesday, November 18, 2008, 10:05 AM

    Customer Service:
    I placed an order online on Tuesday, November 11. I also paid for the 2-3 day delivery for $12.99, of which my credit card has already been charged. I was told yesterday that the product was shipped on November 13. I have yet to receive the product. I called your customer service department yesterday and explained my situation. The operator I spoke to said she had to speak to her manager and would be right back. The operator did not answer the phone in a professional manner, and never gave me the opportunity to ask for her name or operator number. She did not put me on hold and I heard the conversation she had with the manager. She explained my situation to him, and the first words out of his mouth were "How much money have we made from her?". She then explained my situation again and said that I hadn't received the product yet and was about to cancel my order. He then proceeded to tell her to call me back after checking on my order status. She then told me she would call me back in a few minutes after checking on my order, and then hung up on me without taking my phone number. I never heard back from her or anyone else. I have since tried calling back several times between today and yesterday, leaving several messages. None have been returned. I have left a message with Nick at 305-534-1052, and no return. I have also gotten a recording telling me that I need to call back between 9am and 9pm, which I was well within that time frame. I have gotten the menu recording, only to select the menu key for customer service (4), and have it return me to the main menu again. Now I am getting a recording that you are experiencing a high call volume and to send an email! This is getting rediculous! I fully expect a return phone call before the end of business today confirming the cancellation of my order and have all charges credited back to my card. I also expect a confirmation email stating that the order has been cancelled and that all charges have been credited back to my card. I have not received any product as of today. If it has been shipped, as I was told (on Nov 13), you should have a way of tracking and verifying that. At this point your business and business practices are looking shady at best. I do not have an order number, as I never received a confirmation email. My information is as follows:
    Amy S
    Home address
    Home phone number
    Cell phone number
    If you have any questions, feel free to call me on my cell number listed above.
    Regards, Amy S

  • Sh
      28th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes
    Advanced Wellness Research - Fraud - double charged
    Advanced Wellness Research
    United States

    DO NOT ORDER PRODUCT FROM THESE PEOPLE.
    http://www.advancedwellnessresearch.com/products.html
    http://www.PureAcaiBerry.com

    I placed an order to these people and read the small print. It said you have a thirty-day trial period in which to cancel. Not only was I charged the original
    $4.99 for shipping and handling, I was charged the full amount the same day I ordered - $78.81. They also double charged me so they charged me a total of
    $157.62, even though I repeatedly tried to cancel my order the same day I placed it. They do not answer emails and the phone number they give for returns is not answered.

    THIS COMPANY IS A FRAUD!!

  • Pa
      28th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    I also have not received my product and can noone to answer the phone at two of their offices. All I get are really stupid e-mails that tell me nothing. Only to return the product I don't have. Also they have charged my checking account 78.81. How can I stop this? I really need help. This company is a sham. Can anyone any where help me. I am disperate and don't want to close my checking account and open a new one because it is a lot of work and all my stuff is auto desposit. Help Help

  • Pa
      28th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    this company a fraud. no poduct. service dept does not answer and i have been charged 78.81 I want them out of my life. I should have gone to the health food store.

  • Ev
      29th of Nov, 2008
    0 Votes

    I place my order also on Nov.11/08 and have not received the order yet. can any body please tell me how to get in contact with customer service because the number i dial is incorrect. can you please help

  • Al
      1st of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    When they said I could cancel within 14 days of receiving the order, it then took them nearly one month to get the order to me -- for the free trial offer using standard shipping. Since when does it take one month for standard shipping to work? Also, I have been calling them over and over and only get an answering machine. I will gladly add my name to a civil suit against this company. They have also charged me for a product that, 5 minutes after placing the order, I then called to cancel because AFTER you place the order then a page comes up saying that the product should not be used if you have certain health conditions. Therefore, they set it up to totally rip me off.

    In addition to my phone calls and emails, I will be sending two letters (one to the address provided by another complainant, below) and to the company itself. Actually, 3 identical letters, the third to the "standard shipping company." This is a complete scam and totally set up to get your credit card information for a fake product.

    How can you stop them from taking your money? Does anyone know?

    Thanks.

  • Pa
      1st of Dec, 2008
    -1 Votes

    The exact same thing has happen to me. I never recieved one thing from this company and they have charged my account twice. I might have been a loyal customer (who knows) but I have not have the chance to even try one pill. I am mad!

  • Va
      2nd of Dec, 2008
    -1 Votes

    me2! what do i do...noone will return calls!!

  • Co
      2nd of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    I too have been screwed by advanced wellness research! just yesterday i spent an hour at my bank straightening out my situation. Had to get a new card and this un athorized charge of 78.81 made a couple of my checks bounce also!!!.I agreed to the 4.99 shipping of my 2 weeks trial of this product. not 78.81.My bank reported it as a fraudulant company!!

  • Ta
      2nd of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    I just found the charge on my credit card statement for $78.81. I was able to put the charge into dispute with my credit card company who gave me the telephone number to contact this company. When I called the number, it had been changed. Here it is for those who need it - toll free @ 877-751-5333. I spoke with an Indian sounding person who gave me the spiel about you had 14 days to cancel, blah blah blah - this information was never on the website that I ordered from. He assures me they are cancelling my account. I will keep an eye on my account to see what happens.

  • Ca
      3rd of Dec, 2008
    0 Votes

    I too ordered the free trial. When I tried to cancel the product - I could not leave a message because of the "mailbox full" problem. I promptly contacted my credit card company (because they had charged me the $78.81) and filed a dispute. I'm not paying for a product that I have not received for starters - and then having them charge me again and still not receive the product. It is a sham. I won't pay it.

Post your comment