The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Clayton Homesno service policy

We purchased a home from Clayton Homes in Greensboro, NC in June of 2005. They did nothing but play cat and mouse with us and our home has never been finished to this day. I need a lawyer that will take them to court for what they have done to me and my wife.

Our "dream home" is now the "nightmare on blah blah road". I would like to turn the table and make it the "nightmare on blah blah road" FOR Clayton.

My wife has almost packed her stuff and left me because of the nightmare Clayton Homes has caused down here.

Responses

  • Jo
    joyce k smith Jun 16, 2010

    I have mold to .I have had sinus bad and have to go to doctors.We need to get signs out to people before they be come 1 of us

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    joyce k smith Jun 16, 2010

    Hate playing games and they will try to put you off till warranty is up

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    joyce k smith Jun 16, 2010

    They are thiefs and they need to be stooped.I went to yard sale and bought computer and it was 1 of theres.I am having some 1 to drain out the hard drive that means I will have a lot on the.I have e-mails from ther main ompay codes.If you need them please let me know I will help.I am going to start holding signs up where they do there saling and warn people.Sitting on your but will not do any thing.Please help

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    S. HENRY Aug 23, 2009

    CLAYTON HAS A SERIOUS PROBLEM WITH MOLD. WE HAVE IT IN OUR HOME ALSO. I AM GOING TO FIGHT THEM TOOTH AND NAIL TO THE BITTER END. DO NOT GIVE UP. THE MOLD IS DANGEROUS. WE HAD A MOLD INSPECTOR COME TO OUR HOME. AIR QUALITY SAMPLES CONTAINED SEVERAL TYPES OF MOLD. IF I FIND A LAWYER WILLING TO FIGHT FOR THIS, I WILL POST. DON'T GIVE UP, MOLD IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM AND CAN CAUSE SERIOUS HEALTH PROBLEMS.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Concerned In Alabama Feb 03, 2009

    Dear Clayton Home Owner, in rebuttal to your comment, the ex service man never said he/she could go to Lowes and get the material but he is correct. What Clayton Homes showes you and what you get are two different animals. Nor did he/she disclose the price. REGARDLESS of cost, one expects at the very least, to purchase a home. With that said, I too bought a Clayton Home. I was aware that I was not purchasing a mansion. My circumstances were such that I wanted something I could move at a later date if I so chose. What I do expect in a home is that it should last for at least the life of the mortgage. As it stands, the mold in the walls of my less than 5 year old home will probably begin to breach within the next two years. I have TWO insurance policies on this home and big surprise, both claims have been denied. I have NEVER been late with a payment. The dealership stopped returning our phone calls 6 mos. after we purchased the home. As it stands now, in my "Golden Years" I will be able to sit in my living room and look out into my yard-THROUGH THE DAMNED WALL!

    My questions to you are (1) do you run one of those scamming dealerships? (2) Or are you a relative of someone that works for those scammers? (3) If no to these two questions, could you please give me the number of a reputable Clayton dealership because I would actually like to see if one really exsists.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Clayton home owner Jan 23, 2009

    Sounds like this ex service man is a little disgruntled. I bet your departure from Clayton was not of your own choosing. If you can go to Lowe's and buy enough material to build a 32x76 house for less than 10, 000, then you could probably find a job as President of any procurment department. I don't know why it's such a shock to you people that a $25, 000-35, 000 home is built with cheaper material. Do you think a Pinto has the same material as a Lexus?

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Clayton ex service man Dec 26, 2008

    This is what they want you to bow down. Call them and tell then your stopping payments and spending there payment money on a lawyer unless they finish work on your home. Also get some compensation for all the troubles you have had as well.

    They don't care to take your house back because they only have 6-10 thousand dollars in building it. They can re-sale it to someone else for
    double that. They never lose any money in there homes but they will lose
    a lot of customers in time.

    I don't know what you paid for your home but im sure you could have bought
    the materials and paid a contactor less than 10.000.00 to build the same home but with better materials.

    They say dsreams...but offer nightmares your right. they are a big joke.
    But the joke is on us...were are getting tired of being scamed by Clayton.
    So don't feel bad you are not the only one. Maybe the recent fall in usa will shut them down.

    I have noticed also they are building banks now...first they rip us off of high finance chages...and now they want to control our money...get real clayton.

    People lets rise against this crap...

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandy Aug 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wish I would have known about this site before we bought from Clayton Homes. Our Dream Home was also a nightmare. Our home was NEVER fixed. I wrote so many letters to the head man in Tenn. They got the money so they do not care. Never again...

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.