The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Cascade Subscription Service, Inccharged me for 3 years of a magazine subscription even though i never wanted it or heard of the magazine they sold me.

C Review updated:

they called my number telling me i signed up for a magazine name American Journal of Nursing and said i owed them almost $90 for a 3 year subscription. it is a total scam. they called me once before and the whole time i was saying no thank you, i dont want it, etc.. they recorded the conversation at the end when he was saying how much i owed them and that i would get a bill in the mail and then hung up. dont ever do business with this company. IT'S A SCAM!!! BEWARE!!!

Responses

  • Dp
    d peterson May 01, 2009

    Thanks for the input, I thought I was the only one who has been scammed by this company. Abut a year ago they starting calling me to let me know that I had sign up for a subscription to "Parent Magazine, not only did I not sign up my children are grown and I didn't need a magazine for partents with small children. I stated to them that I could afford a subscription and I had sent back the reminder cards-- THREE TIMES with the words on it PLEASE CANCEL SUBSCRIPTION". They never once the company acknowledge my request. But they have put a notice on my credit report and I have tried twice to send letters but no response as of this notice here. thanks for letting me vent.

    -2 Votes
  • Ae
    AEJ Aug 07, 2009

    I have also just received a "Notice of Intent" threatening to have my account referred to their attorney from Cascade Subscription Service for a magazine I did not order. The letter claims I have not paid on my subscription within the allotted 30 days (?). I have left messages on their ansering service several times and sent email asking what this invoice is for since I never ordered any magazines from Cascade. I received a call back from an older woman who left me voicemail only identifying herself as Harbor Collections, not leaving a phone number, much less a direct line or extension or even her name. I have written a formal letter of complaint to this company in hopes there is some explanation, but I would agree this is just a scam. Beware to others and Thank you!!

    -2 Votes
  • Ca
    Cascade Subscription Nov 09, 2009

    They are not authorized agents for two magazines they falsely claim our business owes them subscription fees for, and they will harass you (which crosses over to a federal offense when they do it by phone, I believe). I called the magazine directly--no such subscription exists (of course) and they are familiar with Cascade Subscription Services wrongly representing themselves.

    The action consumers can (and should) take is to file a complaint against Cascade Subscription Services to the Better Business Bureau:
    https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/getstarted.aspx?siteID=98

    -1 Votes
  • Ul
    UlissesJr Feb 01, 2010

    This is crazy cause the same company called me under the guise of a internet web provider. Not understanding how they got my information or my phone number. Can someone tell me how this happend

    -1 Votes
  • Ka
    KathyJan Mar 01, 2010

    I just had a conversation with Cascade WEb hosting at [protected] about a 3rd party billing that was put on my phone bill for $12.95/mo since at least November. They had a defunct email address and tried to say my spouse had ordered web hosting through People PC. I informed them I was the party who set up the People PC acct and we did NOT order any web hosting. Haven't had a web page since 1999. We are supposed to get a check for 4 mos refund, but I'll believe that when I see it. At Least Cincinnat Bell blocked our account for any 3rd party charges. I am pursuing complaints with BBB in their supposed home city of Carson City, Nevada. These people are crooks and nothing but.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    CHAN225 Mar 08, 2010

    This happened to me as well, but i knew right off the bat that this was a scam. They have sent me mail telling me that i have to pay for my subscription of Glamour magazine. I have never ever subscribed for a magazine nor could i afford to do so. A representative name DERRICK has called me over and over, even played a recording of a conversation i had with another cascade representative. They nearly fooled me playing the end of the conversation where i did give them my name and number ( only because they said they wanted to verify something). I really thought that i caused this but i realized they only played the end of the conversation...PLZ DO NOT GET SCAMMED. If you have DO SOMETHING, GET YOUR MONEY BACK. CASCADE SUBSCRIPTION SERVICE IS A HUGEEEE SCAM.

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    ADRIANA MENDEZ Mar 11, 2010

    This happened to me as well, last night I received a phone call at 8:00 pm by some guy named Derek, and he played the recording, which I never agreed to. Anyway he claims that I owe them $182.90 for a subscription of Parents and OK magazine. I don't read these magazines, and dont even know how they ever even got my phone number in the first place. Also, the representative that called was extremely rude, speaking in a very harrassing and hostile tone, saying things like "you know you ordered this" and, "you're playing games here" the representive's name is Derek. Its such a shame that such prestigious magazines use these kinds people for their subscritption services. Its not fair that I have to pay for a magazine I never read!! Does anyone have any suggestions, as to what I can do?? These people are cheaters, and a TOTAL FRAUD.

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    pickles2 Apr 08, 2010

    This same thing happend to me they have been harrassing me for the last six months and i keep telling them that i didn't order no subsrciption now i owe the 50 dolloars for some magzine that i told them i didn't want they replayed part of the message witch was altared and they started threating me for this mite i add i call the company that owns this magizine and they only charge 10 dollars a year for it so not only are they scaming people they are over chargeing for these supposed subscriptions don't fall for it and roport it as soon as possible..

    0 Votes
  • Fi
    fightconsumerscam May 20, 2010

    WOW...we echo all the comments over here...they are trying to dish money from us for Parent & Child subscription that we never ordered or agreed to pay. I have registered a complaint with FTC and am in the process of writing a letter to Cascade, Scholastic (sender of the magazine) CEO, some business bureaus in Seattle, etc. Hope this will bring some heat...reduce some of these folks' scams

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bella44 Jul 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have recently received the same type of harassment for the past six months. I'm glad that others have complained and I hope someone puts a stop to this type of harassment. As far as the bad credit report goes, this Derek person threatened me with reporting me to Experion credit bureau today, if I didn't pay over the phone. May I also add that he went so far is to tell me that he knew that I was in the National Guard and told me that he had been in the Washington National Guard. Then, he told me that he could go so far as to have my National Guard wages garnished...Oh yes he did. I asked to speak to his supervisor first. He burst out laughing stating, "I've just recently been promoted and I am the manager". That's when I said, "All right. That's enough. Goodbye". It just didn't feel right for a tell-a-marketer of a magazine to be threatening to garnish my wages or reporting a bad credit report on your credit report. It is definitely ran by some very unprofessional people and I hope that this scam is stopped. Buyer's Beware. What kind of company supports threatening the soldiers that support their freedom, anyway? I really hope that American Journal of Nursing is not doing business with individuals that act this unprofessional.

    [protected]@gmail.com

    1 Votes
  • To
    Tommy Kincaid Aug 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am willing to bet 90% of you guys ordered mags(the calls are recorded)adn now for one reason or another you dont feel like you need to pay up! Cascade had been in buisness for over 20 years, were not hard to find, were right on the ave. in the u-dist.-stop complaing and pay your bills!

    -7 Votes
  • Fo
    formercascadeemployee Jan 31, 2011

    As a former employee of cascade I can attest to the fact that they are super high pressure sales. The employees are pressed to make a certain amount per hour in sales or they will be fired ($50+). They set up a situation where the employees are in fear for there jobs so they will do any scandalist thing they can to make the sale. Leaving there was one of the best things that I have done in a long time and I would recommend that you don't buy from them just get from the publisher.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dorinda Myles Mar 03, 2011

    I have been given false information from the company concerning magazines. I have been billed for something that I have yet to receive! This anger me greatly. Why Lie just to make a dollar. No good will come out of it

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Haleyhoo2000 Jul 06, 2011

    TOTALLY DISAGREE. THIS COMPANY IS AWESOME. Their service allows me to combine all my magazines into one easy bill. I have checked them out completely and they are 100% NOT a scam!! If you place an order it is recorded and when there is a dispute they are pleasant about checking the recording and quick to resolve any legitimate complaints. If the recording confirms your order then why shouldn't you be expected to pay? They floated my order for more than 90 days before considerately calling to remind me of the balance. They could just have easily turned it over to a collection service. I love this company and plan on using them for everything including gifts next Christmas.

    -5 Votes
  • Ja
    jay st Aug 02, 2011

    This company comes through on everything they offer. The funny thing after reading these complaints and looking further into the situations is that these people placed valid orders when they knew they couldn't afford it. The company will cancel orders if they were not placed properly. So moral of the story don't order anything if you can't pay. Congradulations pissed off people for blaming others instead of yourself.

    -6 Votes
  • Fs
    f_starwar Dec 15, 2011

    I am also being harassed by this horrible company . Somebody needs to investigate this .

    -1 Votes
  • Pj
    PJaneP Dec 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was suppose to get a preview of a magazine never got it just a 2 year subscription sent a letter of cancellation to the company then got a threatening phone call telling me I had to give them my credit card info and take care of the bill right then and there. I will probably get stuck paying for a magazine I don't want but I will be sure to slam the phone down then next time they call cause they are rip off artist at their best. I suggest not doing business by phone cause you can not get anything in writing that supports you. These types of companies should be put out of business and shut down for good!

    1 Votes
  • Fa
    Fayt Dec 29, 2011

    They altered my recording to say I ordered the magazine. The guy said he would send me a free issue of the magazine to check out, and if i liked it, I could fill out the order form and mail it back. He said it'd be 1 - 2 weeks, here it is 5 months later, no magazine, only threats to take me to court. Upon calling them they were pissed off and cussing at me to pay my bill. I filed a complaint with the BBB.

    1 Votes
  • Ia
    I am a person Jan 29, 2012

    I'd strongly suggest the "do not call" list...companies are forced to abide (and pay regular fees for said list) or risk thousands in fines per violation!

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adam Kruz Jun 20, 2012

    I'm willing to bet that none of these anonymous complainers would appreciate the original sales call recording containing their voice placing a legit order being posted along with the complaint.

    -3 Votes
  • Qu
    Queensporsche Aug 01, 2012

    Hi there. I work for Cascade Subscription Service and have for almost a year. Regarding the tape recordings that are made, every time we make a sale we say to the customer Calls are recorded for quality assurance, Is That Okay With You? . We must ALWAYS get the customer s permission in order to record the conversation. Our verification procedure is very strict and clear. We always ask the person to whom we re speaking if they are authorized to place and purchase the order that we re talking about. We ask them more than once, in fact. The order terms must always be spelled out clearly along with the prices and amounts of the magazines they are purchasing, and the customer MUST agree to them or the order does not get sent through. Cascade offers a legitimate service to companies by offering them trade magazines that have a subscription fee and always guaranteeing that they will be at the lowest guaranteed price, and if they find a better offer from the publisher we will always match it, even after the fact if they have already paid us and are in the middle of their subscription. The main problem I see when a business has a complaint is when a person who is NOT authorized to place and/or purchase an order for a company actually does so and tells us that they in fact are authorized to do so on behalf of someone else in the company and tells us to go ahead and send the bill . Then, later, the person who is really in charge receives the bill and says I never ordered this . That is why our verification procedure is so strict and we are in absolute compliance with Federal Regulations regarding this fact. I NEVER process an order unless I am absolutely sure that the customer wants what I m selling. FYI we have in house collectors that call customers who haven t paid their bills on time. I will be happy to respond to any other questions, although I am not an authorized spokesperson for Cascade.

    3 Votes
  • La
    LaFemme119 Aug 01, 2012

    It happened to me in New York. They called our company asking if my boss receives a certain magazine. I told him I didn't know. Then offered to send me some information. I agreed to this, saying I would pass it on to my boss. Two weeks later I received a bill for $159.80 on the back it said that the bill had to be returned in 30 days. I immediately wrote no thank and send it back. Two weeks later I received another bill just like the first. Once again I wrote NO THANK YOU and immediately mailed it back. A week later I received a call saying I did not send the bill back within 30 days and I would have to pay $159.80. I told him that was no happening. A month later I received a collection notice say I must pay $159.80. I am writing back to the collection company stating my case with a cc: to the Mayor of Seattle, King County Prosecuting Attorneys Office, The criminal Division, Economic Crime Unit and the Governor of New York State plus BBB. I am writing to any one that will listen in a higher position. I advise you all do the same!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    longform Oct 09, 2012

    Here are the steps you need to take if this company has called you trying to collect and you have not ordered the magazine or you were deceived into renewing them. Contact them at 1.800.488.6247 and let them know you plan to do the follow if they do not immediately cease and desist all collection activities:

    - File a complaint with Federal Trade Commission (FTC) https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov
    - File a complaint with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) https://www.bbb.org/consumer-complaints/file-a-complaint/get-started
    - File a complaint with the magazine or journal publisher directly (Search for the website). Let them know that Cascade Subscription Services is attempting to incorrectly bill you.
    - Tell the company you will contact a lawyer and/or the Seattle Police department to report fraud (if you feel they have been fraud) if they continue to try and collect on the bill.

    -2 Votes
  • Cascade services hires ex convicts and other ### in order to scam people. The company owner used to be a coffin salesman who scammed the families of poor people who died. His name is Steve Miller. He also had a partner who opened another scam business called publisher services. He lies to and takes advantage of students near u.w. and other young people who he threatens to fire if they don't sell. He allows people to drink on the job. His managers harrass female employees. Steve Miller needs to realize that its not 1980 anymore. The internet allows everybody know who you are and what your scam is. Sucks that you can't hide anymore Miller.

    -3 Votes
  • Steve Miller runs a ghetto 1980s style telemarketing scam out of a dirty old building in north Seattle. They record phone calls using an old tape recorder. The salespeople are all young people who are too naive too realize that they too are being cheated. Seriously, who still reads paper magazines? Nobody. That's why Miller tricks you into thinking you bought a subscription and then sends collections after you. He is stuck in the 80s and thinks that nobody will figure him out. Welcome to the internet age. I am sure many disgruntled ex employees of yours who you ripped off will be posting. Tell that to your thug managers who harass women and scam customers

    -3 Votes
  • Qu
    Queensporsche Mar 30, 2013

    In response to "steve miller is a con artist" I have worked at Cascade for almost 2 years now. cascade has been in the same location in the Univeristy District of Seattle for quite some time. I laugh at "they record calls using an old tape recorder". Funny I've never seen an "F6" button on an old tape recorder. That's the button we push on our COMPUTER when a conversation is being recorded. I'm 51 years old, and Cascade's employes are of all ages, from 18 to 65+. I'm certainly old enough to know the difference between a legitimate business and a scam. I would definitely NOT work for a company that I felt was dishonest.

    Cascade subscription services has STRICT no tolerance policies on any type of sexual harassment, drinking or drug using on the job. Drinking is certainly not allowed while working and I have no idea who you are or what made you think that way. Perhaps you yourself are a disgruntled ex-employee who couldn't pull your weight. I've never been pressured into being dishonest with any of my customers just to make a sale or to reach certain numbers. I would quit the instant I felt otherwise. Yes, they want employees to be productive and make sales, otherwise it's not worth it to pay them, but they're not as described by the previous poster. Every one of my managers I feel is an honest, trustworthy person or I would not associate myself with them.

    To any of you who have been customers of Cascade, I simply encourage you to pay attention when you're called on the phone and to make sure that you understand the offer being presented to you and what you're agreeing to. If you don't want to do it, just say no. Ask questions. You always have the opportunity to do so. Cascade is a legitimate business providing a legitimate service to businesses, providing them with the top trade publications in their various industries. One last thing. Sure we're living in the computer age, but you'd be surprised at how many people STILL want to receive their paper magazine, even when we offer them the option of going digital or electronic. They want that magazine that they can hold in their hands, scan the table of contents, and flip to the page that they want. Have a very nice day everyone.

    2 Votes
  • Su
    Surfer0409 May 23, 2013

    What a bunch of whiners, pay your bills losers. As far as you whoosie former employees go, I'll take the word of a 27 year old company over a 27 year old disgruntled employee any day! Nice try!

    1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jakers May 23, 2013

    Hey Complainers! Yeah so what you complainers are complaining about is that some company scammed you and has been a scam for some odd years and nobody at the attorney generals office ever knew? Right, cuz they couldn't have helped you fix your "scam". Dept of labor too? Sure, cuz you weren't fired for good cause. Unsubstantiated claims too? You'd never lie, right? Either you don't want to pay a bill that you actually owe or you were fired for bad behavior. Some people love posting lies cuz they don't have to reveal who they are because then they'd be revealed for the real scam but this companies years in business belies your lies! Nice try though.

    2 Votes
  • Dd
    dd2000man May 28, 2013

    I just got a bill from Cascade Subscription Service for $90 for a magazine that I never did get or order. The people that say positive about this company is Cascade Subscription Service employees. CSS can kiss my …. I talk to my lawyer and he said that if you did sign or give your credit card to them, do not paid them…it a scam. San Jose CA

    -2 Votes
  • Fr
    frazarfish Jun 09, 2014

    They are a total SCAM, they claim you call them to renew for FOUR years and then can not cancell? When I call they disconnect the call... I asked to hear the recorded call that they claim to have but they suddenly get disconnected. SCAM SCAM they are horrible.

    -1 Votes
  • Cu
    Culberson Jul 20, 2015

    For those of you that are saying how great this company is, you must work for them. They contacted our office to try to force sell our receptionist, she told them we are not interested, they told her that our owner already had a subscription & this was a renewal, She told them she had to get authorization to renew, but it would only be for 1 year. They then billed us for three years & then tried to threaten collections, they told me they had it recorded, so I told them to play the recording. They did & I pointed out that the recording was clearly altered & that she said one year & you billed us for 3, since she agreed to 1 year if they reissued the bill correctly I would pay that, but then you are to remove us from your list. it has taken them 3 months to reissue an updated invoice & they have changed the pricing. This is, in my opinion a scam & if they ever call you simply say; "no, remove me from your call list" & hang up. Do not answer any of their questions or let them engage you in any conversation.

    -1 Votes
  • Fr
    Fred#6 Sep 15, 2015

    This company call me over and over regarding a subsciption to Architectural digest that I never made. Someone called me about getting it for free, so I said send it if you want to, but I never agreed to pay. I checked the rates and they want 3 times as much as getting the magazine direct from architectural Digest. They say they have a recording of me ordering the magazine but I'm sure they just edit it or whatever. They are nasty high pressure sales pieces of _______. Don't ever deal with them, they never stop calling, total scammers

    -1 Votes
  • Wa
    wallpaper Oct 22, 2015

    I paid for a subscription to Architectural digest in August never received the magazine. First phone number I called said number was disconnected. googled main number- no real person picks up- definatley a scam

    -1 Votes
  • Am
    AMA555 Sep 23, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They recently called the accountant in our company saying 'we hadnt paid their invoice' - we had NEVER signed up for a subscription nor been invoiced - they pressured our accountant into feeling like she was late on a payment - thank goodness she asked us if we even received the magazine/subscribed. This is a SCAM way to approach sales - WARNING!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Br
    BroderhausenM Apr 13, 2017

    the sales people are manipulative and sneaky. they totally tricked my receptionist in agreeing to a new subscription of a magazine that we already get. we refused to pay the bill so they played the entire recording to me where she agreed and it was so blatantly tricky how he worded everything and totally confused her.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seans345 Jan 26, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I completely disagree with the posts on here. Cascade does not strong arm people in to ordering or paying. First off, we ask for permission to record the conversation. Secondly, we state the title, term and price of the subscription(s) TWICE during the call. It seems like most people on here are just mad that they have to pay for something that they CLEARLY agreed to. Not to mention that the publications that Cascade sells help owners make and save money. They are specifically geared towards the customers industry. There's a lot to be said for people taking responsibility and being accountable to the commitments that they make, whether it be on the phone, online, or through the mail!

    1 Votes
  • Se
    seans345 Feb 11, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have nothing but good things to say about Cascade. I do not feel like I was pressured or scammed in to buying anything the first time that they called me. It is nice that I pay one entity for all of my subscriptions. I also like that they call me when it is time to renew so I don't have to keep track of them all. Definitely saves me time!

    1 Votes
  • Li
    LindaEvans Oct 15, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am getting three copies of Bon Appetit at my shop and I really only need one. It has been so frustrating seeing them just sitting there but I procrastinated calling because I figured it would a super hassle to deal with. Finally today I bit the bullet and called Cascade. I spoke with a woman named Terri and after I explained what was going on she told me why it occurred and that all I needed to do was give her the account numbers on the labels and she could fix it. She even gave me credit for the months that were duplicated AND a $10 Starbucks gift card! The whole conversation took about 15 minutes and was very pleasant. I am so happy that this didn't turn in to the hassle I thought it would be.

    ALSO, I noticed that this site puts the oldest reviews at the top and it should be newest reviews at the top because that information is most relevant. Just my opinion but when evaluating a company that I may want to do business with I don't care what happened 10 years ago.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Eliza C Nov 05, 2019

    I wanted two copies of my design magazine and I was only billed for and received one. After complaining i realized that I could have just called them so they could take care of it because they rectified it quickly thereafter. And they sent me complimentary second issues.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions