Menu
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group Customer Service Phone, Email, Contacts
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
reviews & complaints

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
reviews & complaints

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group Complaints Summary

14 Resolved
105 Unresolved
Our verdict: With Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group's very poor resolution rate, careful consideration is needed. Research their service comprehensively, and read up on how they handle customer disputes. If you face issues, be prepared for potential challenges in obtaining resolutions and explore other service providers as backups.
File a complaint
Write a review
Claimed
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has claimed their business profile
Click here to get notifications about new complaints of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group. We promise not to send you any unrelated messages
Share

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group complaints 119

Sort by:

Newest Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group reviews & complaints

ComplaintsBoard
K
12:49 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group timeshare sales

During check-in at Country Club Villas for a Myrtle Beach vacation (Apr 22, 2017), I was told I had to meet with a Capital Resorts rep., as my current time share was being transferred to Capital Resorts. I met with the rep, and made an appointment to discuss the transfer. During my appointment on Apr 26, 2017 ("only an hour of your time"), I felt like the guinea pig for the new program, as my rep knew very little and had to ask his supervisor questions throughout the meeting. During the next 5 hours, I purchased a foreclosed time share, and was promised the points and $2, 000 that were still on the time share, and told they would be deposited into my Capital Resorts account and my bank account "shortly." I was also told I would receive an invitation to a New Owners Weekend to learn the account and online process to be better able to take advantage of the Capital Resorts experience. It is now 10 months later, and I have received NOTHING that was promised - no points, no $2, 000, no Weekend, no orientation, and no one returns my calls. However, they NEVER fail to deduct my monthly payments! I have since learned I was lied to, as there was never a transfer from Country Club Villas to Capital Resorts, and I now own 2 time shares. In Dec 2017 I met a rep at the North Myrtle Beach office to share my frustrations and get rid of my time share. I was told they would get back to me with a solution within 48 hours. A month later, nothing thus far. I called the woman I spoke with and left a voice mail message, with no response. I HIGHLY advise against any dealings with Capital Resorts. Talk about con artists! Maybe this complaint will save someone else from making the same mistake and avoiding a MAJOR rip-off!

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
B
12:09 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group no 7 day cruise as promise

We were promise a 7 night cruise if we took your tour which we did and when it came down to it we had to jump through hoops to try to schedule it. We received the paperwork to apply for it but it said we could only book it Sept, Oct or Nov within one year of seeing the tour. After submitting paperwork 3 times to Direct Choice Vacations they said we did it wrong so they would not honor the 7 night cruise. I asked to redo the last form to get the cruise as promised and they said too bad. All I ask is that they work with me but they won't.

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
O
7:56 pm EST

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group maintenance fee

I was told and its in writing my maintenance fees would not be due until 2019 they just hit my account right before Christmas fraud company they need a class action law suit I want a full refund. I have 8 kids now what am I go tell them Capital Resorts made it where we are eating out the garbage can for Christmas. I don't have any toys no food 600 dollars taken out and no way to get in contact with them. I dot even have any points yet why the heck would I pay for maintenance fee for something I cant use

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group and 2 comments
Hide full review
2 comments
Add a comment
J
J
Jessica Diane Lambert
, US
Oct 07, 2018 6:19 pm EDT

Hey, I have a way out. Join this group to see the latest post! https://www.facebook.com/groups/586201135106435/

D
D
dklokis
, US
Jun 25, 2018 9:24 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

If you would like to start a class action suit against them, I am right with you! They are very misleading and just got done fighting over the phone with them! Please let me know! My email is dklokis@yahoo.com !

ComplaintsBoard
V
3:22 pm EST

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group misrepresentation

I met with Randy Parker in September 2017 at Branson, Missouri. He convinced me to upgrade my timeshare as I would have a much greater choice of locations. He also said that he could easily sell my points that were due to expire in November. Repeated calls to him to set up an account were not returned, so I called the corporate office. The lady told me that those points could not be sold because they were banked and that I should go through the corporate office to sell any of my points. She did reinstate them until March I, but I feel that the product was totally misrepresented by Parker. He also told me that any time I had a question or wanted to book a reservation that I could call him, which apparently is not true. He also assured me that he could sell my time share next year, if I wanted him to, for above the amount that I had invested in it. Over all, I feel that my trust was definitely misplaced. I also did not receive the voucher that I was promised for a cruise for two people.

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Update by Vicki Blankenship
Dec 21, 2017 4:23 pm EST

Randy Parker just called me, and hopefully the issue is resolved.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
D
3:36 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group I did not receive my gift

Info at 14:52, Nov 14:
Thank you for choosing to chat with us. An agent will be with you shortly.
Info at 14:53, Nov 14:
You are now chatting with Janet.
You at 14:53, Nov 14:
Greetings
Janet at 14:53, Nov 14:
Hello...
Please provide your Owner ID and name -
You at 14:53, Nov 14:
How are you Janet
You at 14:53, Nov 14:
I do not have an owner ID
Janet at 14:54, Nov 14:
I'm good hope you are -
Janet at 14:54, Nov 14:
if I could have your name
Janet at 14:54, Nov 14:
to pull up your account
You at 14:54, Nov 14:
I am not an owner, I am an aggravated customer whom visiting a 90 minute presentation and was promised a gift but unable to receive it
You at 14:54, Nov 14:
I have been giving the round around for assistance in this matter
Janet at 14:55, Nov 14:
can you advise where and when
You at 14:55, Nov 14:
I went to the Ocean View villas in June 18, 2017
Janet at 14:55, Nov 14:
I can sent an email to my supervisor
Janet at 14:55, Nov 14:
and your name and phone #
You at 14:56, Nov 14:
On father day. After the presentation I was given a certificate for dream vacation weeks supposedly a 7 day accomodations
You at 14:57, Nov 14:
Our names are Errol and Yetta Legier contact email is [protected]@ymail.com and phone number is [protected] and [protected]
You at 14:58, Nov 14:
I tried to redeem the certificate and book a 7 day vacation as promised in Florida and was asked for a $454.00 payment . This is unacceptable
You at 14:59, Nov 14:
I have relentlessly emailed Samantha Lopez, Reservation Manager to no avail. No responses
You at 15:00, Nov 14:
I can forward you the email that Samantha sent to me if you like?
Janet at 15:01, Nov 14:
At this time there is no need - I am forwarding this to my supervisor and someone will reach out to you...
You at 15:03, Nov 14:
Thank you Janet. I have been told this is the past and still no one returns calls. I am so heartbroken, as I was looking forward to taking my grandson to Orlando Florida once in a lifetime experience and thought this was a dream came true
Janet at 15:03, Nov 14:
You have my name - my direct phone # [protected] opt 1 ext 7649
Janet at 15:04, Nov 14:
if you do not hear from someone by 11/22/17 please feel free to contact me
Janet at 15:04, Nov 14:
I will resend my email
You at 15:05, Nov 14:
thank you so very much for your patience. I just want to be apologized to for misleading information to reel people in to hear a presentation, but forfeits the gifting.
You at 15:06, Nov 14:
we spent 3 hours of Father's Day at the Ocean Villas, only to be lied too.
Janet at 15:07, Nov 14:
Your welcome - I hope you have a great day!
You at 15:07, Nov 14:
you too!

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Resolved

Was told they are unable to resolve this matter.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
B
12:28 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group complaint resolution

You repeatedly claim to have resolved complaints. However, you have in fact done absolutely nothing. What the public needs to know is that whenever there is a complaint, you may initiate a call (like the numerous cold-call telemarketers who we despise and therefore do not pick up their calls) but never leave a message. Because we are inundated with such calls, we expect that if you "really do want to speak with us" you will leave a message and we will call you back. You have never left a message for me in spite of my voicemail message indicating that you should leave a message. However, you will declare the complaint resolved because you initiated a call. That is fraud in it's tightest definition.

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
12:29 pm EDT

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group capital agreed to a specific lower price. capital never issued refund! now denies/avoid/fails to return calls w/o any resolution of $3400.00!!

I went on my normal, yearly vacation week 18 in Myrtle Beach, SC this year. I went to the weekly owners meeting as I do every year to catch up on any news I need pertinent to being an owner. In this meeting, I found out that the Realty Company that managed the resort where I owned week #18 had been sold to another management company. I had numerous questions at the time. No one would answer my questions. The representative speaking at this meeting stated that she made sure "NOT TO KNOW THE ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS, SO SHE WOULD NOT GIVE INCORRECT INFORMATION!" I was told that I had to go to the new management company namely Capital Resorts, LLC to get answers. I made an appointment & ended up spending a full day dealing with a realtor /salesman over my deeded week. I'd been considering switching to points anyway. However, after an entire day of explaining to the representatives I was already interested in switching to points, but I needed to know if I could afford it b/c I had no idea what the cost difference would be, THEY AVOIDED ANSWERING ME AT ALL COSTS! I SHOULD HAVE SEEN RED FLAGS HERE! I GUESS I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER! HOWEVER, THIS COMPANY EXPLAINED TO ME OVER & OVER & OVER THAT THEY HAD NOW PURCHASED 49% OF VOTING POWER OF ALL THESE RESORTS MY OLD REALTOR HAD MANAGED & THAT IT WAS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THEY'D OWN MY WEEK. THEY PRETTY MUCH STATED THEY'D PUSH OUT THOSE OF US THAT DIDN'T GO TO POINTS!
I am a retired widow, with 2 handicapped adult children that come with me on these vacations. After going back & forth with mainly 2 different sales representatives & stating over & over I needed a bottom line as to what COSTS of switching to points would be in regards to my normal fees for actual "deeded weeks." Finally, a 3rd individual come into the conversation & showed me what the cost was going to be.
I nearly collapsed b/c of the amount they came up with! SHOCKED WOULD NOT EVEN COME CLOSE TO EXPLAIN MY THOUGHTS! I started to get up & leave! THERE'S NO WAY I COULD EVEN CONSIDER THE AMOUNT OF $$ THEY WERE SHOWING ME I'D NEED TO PAY JUST TO SWITCH TO SWITCH TO POINTS. I already own 2 weeks! Both had equity. MY MAINTENENCE FEES HAVE ALWAYS BEEN PAID AS SOON AS I RECEIVE THE BILL TOO.
WHEN I FINALLY GOT THEM TO UNDERSTAND I DIDN'T HAVE THE MONEY TO PAY THE AMOUNT THEY WANTED! THEY CAME DOWN IN PRICE. THEN WE SPOKE SOME MORE ON MAY 13TH, 2017. THE AMOUNT WAS $3400.00, BUT THEY SAID IT WOULD HAVE TO BE ANOTHER 30-60 DAYS TO RECEIVE MY However, I NEVER GOT MY $3400.00. This company has scammed me!
I NEED HELP! PLEASE GIVE ME SOME HELP WITH TAKING CARE OF THIS SITUATION!

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
K
8:37 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group timeshare

July 7, 2017

I am a paying customer of the seaside resort in Myrtle Beach. Due to my high risk pregnancy I wanted to take a vacation early on before my doctor puts any more restrictions on me. So I have been calling since the end of May to figure out how exactly this process goes. So after calling calling I am made aware that my account is inactive.( We bought the timeshare 7 years or so ago and have never used it)... I say ok, well I have roughly 300 dollars coming out every month and my bank statement says it is going to seaside resort. So I am told a very famous line your agents like to use... I will have my manger look at it and we will call you back.

After a few days and when the money was taken out again in June, I called again and left messages several times. No one has called me from Seaside Resort. I have continued to call and today ...Thank GOD ...I know how to use the internet to find someone over Seaside's jurisdiction, because apparently Capital Resort trains All of their employees to never ever let the customer call anyone other that the agents. Today after I was again told the known ( that my account is inactive) I brought up the money you have been collecting from me. So I was told I needed to show proof because anyone could call and state what I was saying. So...I sent a downloaded text form of the numerous withdraws and did not receive a phone call. So I called back several hours. I was met again with another personable agent and I told her I needed to speak with Angela...she asked who was calling and I explained the situation and then I said you know what? just put a manager on the phone. This agent tells me no and transfers me to Angela. Well then Angela gets on the phone and arguably I am upset, and I have every right to be to deal with this foolishness... but Angela has an attitude as well. She tells me " I ain't receive the email I asked you for and since I ain't got no email I can't help you" so now I am very upset and I demand a manger... so Tracie gets on the phone and when I read her the email she says ...no you have it partially correct...okay so I left off the group part. So I told her I would email the info right then and there...I trust you will listen in on the recorded information and check, but I sent the email to her, being Tracie. I also stated I need who ever was over her contact information. She told me no. I asked her again and she said no and that it is her department and that she was not giving me any body else's information. I again requested the info and said I just want to make this clear...you are telling my after I have asked you, that you WILL NOT give me your supervisor's contact info and she says yes and don't worry these phone calls are recorded. Well let it be known, every social media site, contact info any anything else attached to Capital resorts name will have a comment or complaint on it by me.

By the way Tracie is going to call me Tuesday.

Disgruntled Customer,

Mrs. Wray

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
J
6:12 pm EDT

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group I am complaining about my stay at fitzgerald motel in downtown wisconsin dells

I arrive at the Polynesian hotel to` pick up my vacation seminar introduction package on 5/19/2017 . After getting the information package we where instructed to proceed to the Fitzgerald motel . We arrived at the motel, too see groups of people hanging out in front of the exit door and in the parking lot. We drove around looking for a place to park for about #45 min, and wind up calling back to the Polynesian for help in getting into another room or motel . We where told they could not helps us because, they were full, at this point we decided to return back to our home . From our point of view we can not and will not recommend that motel to anyone . Thank you . WE are making a request for our money be returned to us .

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
V
7:22 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group timeshare misrepresenting sales practices - not disclosing relevant information

We purchased a package from Capital Resorts on February 17, 2017. On March 16, 2017 we were advised that the “services” we purchased were different than we were lead to believe during the in-person seminar. We feel that we were scammed and purposely mislead to believe our contract with the charter membership, was more than what it actually was. The only reason we bought into the time share was because of the 12 weeks or charter membership, that we could use. We were lead to believe that we got 12 weeks a year to use. The presentation of the charter member or 12 weeks was that when we went outside of capital resorts, we would have to pay fees. We firmly believed that we got 12 weeks to use within capital resorts each year that did not include any additional fees.
These misleading sales practices should be changed. It is wrong for organizations like Capital Resorts Group to make services appear different than what they actually are. Had we been made aware that the 12 weeks could only be used outside of the Capital Resorts Group and that there would be fees for each week, we would not have purchased into the timeshare.
I have requested Capital Resorts to cancel my contract and they tell me that it is past the time and I signed the paperwork. Capital Resorts needs to disclose information that is relevant to the consumer making a decision prior to the completion of a contract.
I have been told that this type of thing is very common with time-share companies and they put little phrases in the contract to "protect" the company instead of the consumer. I have been told that they also use independent sales people so that the company is not liable for what the sales person said.

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group and 2 comments
Update by Victoriajhok
Jun 07, 2021 4:34 pm EDT

They did not cancel, deedback, or divestment for their deceptive practices. And they also did not provide me a copy of all the documents we signed. They had to mail me another set that had several pages including the page with the canceling policy. I verbaly cancelled within the alloted time and went in person to the sales office on the last day of the "canceling" time frame and they still did not cancel this.

Update by Victoriajhok
Jun 07, 2021 4:31 pm EDT

This is still NOT "resolved" and never has been. There has been no real attempt from Capital Resorts to resolve this issue.

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
2 comments
Add a comment
Y
Y
Yefim
, US
Jan 16, 2018 10:33 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Same here. Utter misrepresentation. All promises turn out to be exaggeration or outright false. So far cannot get management attention. Owners service lead us in circles. We are planning to complain to Florida, South Carolina and Federal AG (cross boarders), if we cannot get management attention We also will try to get our money back, so I do not think it is easy or possible. Feeling duped is not happy feeling.

K
K
Kayla Sargent
, US
Jun 05, 2017 12:48 pm EDT

We are in the same situation. Working to dispute with our bank. If we are not able to recoup our funds that way, we will seek a lawyer.

ComplaintsBoard
S
9:45 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group Unable to use or book services

Since we purchased 4 years ago we have been able to use it one time in Biloxi. We were told there would be water park, club house ECT in pidgeon fordge. Liars!on top of that they sold to my husband without me present. Biloxi is now shut down and again there is never anything open. I have to pay extra to use the exchange! I can't give this worthless property away! Stop paying is only option!

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group and 1 comment
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
1 comment
Add a comment
K
K
kingent
, US
Apr 14, 2019 5:05 pm EDT

Capital Resorts keep sending us a maintenance bill. I have not heard of them or the resort. I do own a timeshare but not this place. I am very leary of sending$$. My timeshare is for points only and is not tied to a physical resort. What do I do.
robert and Penny King

ComplaintsBoard
S
5:21 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group Timeshare

Don't fall fall for this scam! In june 2016 while on family vacation in pigeon forge, my husband and I were approached by someone with discount tickets to dixie stampede. All we had to do was pay $120 for a family of 5, and go to a "90 minute" presentation that serves free breakfast/lunch for your family. So on our last day of vacation we went to the "90 min presentation" that turned into 4 hours. They brought as back and showed us where the muffins were and hot dogs, not the meal we were promised to receive. Throughout the sales pitch, the salesperson tammy told us how much better this was than a time share. She bragged about the platinum status that we would get which comes with 12 getaway weeks plus our points totaling 15 weeks a year to enjoy with our family that we could not afford otherwise. She stated that if we could not enjoy the getaway weeks ourselves we could rent the weeks to help pay the timeshare off earlier and enjoy the income. She said that we could also buy the getaway weeks and give away as gifts to friends and family. She asked if we had been to disney, which we have not. She continued by telling us about this wonderful vacation her and her family took to disney world and stayed on disney at the animal kingdom for $169 a week per room. We really impressed both of us and were very interested but expressed to her that we were in the middle of purchasing a home and could not make a purchase like this at the time. I explained that I could not open any new accounts on my credit, especially a timeshare that is considered a mortgage. She told me that they do all in house financing, that this was why their interest rates were high. Assured me that my credit would only have a soft check on it. I explained that we were doing a va home loan which has strict guidelines and could not risk our closing not going through. She would not take "no" for an answer! I felt very pressured, and after being there several hours with a sick 11 month old we were ready to go and had been presented with nothing but lies that we fell for. We even paid $1200 down. When time to leave we didn't receive our tickets to dixie stampede, told us they were sold out and only gave me $80 refund and tickets to a museum we already went to.

Couple months later I received a letter in the mail informing me they adjusted our points by increase of 100. It also included an updated contract that moved the timeshare location and from florida to wisconsin, I did not sign this nor authorize any changes. I was also billed and deducted from my checking acct maintenance fees a few months into the purchase. I called numerous times getting transferred to several different people never talking to anyone that could tell me anything about the letter or fees. Then I received letter from polynesian resorts stating that equiant financial services will be maintaining account billing/payments.
So here I am, a disabled veteran, with limited income, was coerced into making the purchase of a timeshare location in florida by misrepresentation and unethical means to lock us in a longterm contract under false pretenses.
I was finally able to get in contact with someone, chris cargill at [protected], that could answer some of my questions. Explained to him my situation, I was then informed that there is no such thing as in house financing, that he didn't know why I would be told that. He even guessed who my sales person was. Apologized for how I was done and lied to, but that he was not able to do anything and gave me another number to call. Once again I got nowhere, no answers, no resolution. I will hire an attorney and file a lawsuit if this is not resolved asap. This company has taken advantage of a veteran and several other people. This has been allowed to go on way too long, how is this legally possible?! I have not been able to login my account online to even be able to book anything, says password needs reset, sent request, still have not received email.

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
T
9:02 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group Timeshare/vacation club

Check out the complaints board for grand crown resorts, they are the same company and have complaints filed under that business name. These people are lying to people everyday and their scam has been sucking people in for years. They have been promising a lodge/clubhouse in pigeon forge under construction since at least 2008 and they pushed some dirt around in 2014 when they scammed me into their mess. That spot now has weeds growing on it and no construction has been done, not even a foundation. We need to all get together and picket their sales office and their "official welcome center". It may not get our money back but it will stop others from being screwed by these crooks. The pictures below show the lodge/clubhouse and swimming pool, can you see them? I can't either!

Robert collins

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
View 0 more photos
Update by Techdude2000
Oct 10, 2017 8:17 pm EDT

They tried to contact me? That is total [censor]! No one from their company has tried to contact me. I’m an owner, all they have to do is pull up my name and all of my info. is in their system. Here let me help you contact me, maybe my email address will guide you.

Robert Collins
rob@qx.net

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
S
12:43 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group Not giving me a credit to my account for the referral program

Capital Resorts Referral Program is a SCAM!

I have called and sent emails, yet no one has contacted me back. At this point, I have nonodea who to contact. I referred 4 people on the owner's referral program over 8 weeks ago and still have not received my credit towards my maintenance fee.

It's concerns me that late fees can be so easily assessed to my account for not paying my MF, yet it takes so long to get a credit. I want my credits toward my account before making a payment. That was the whole reason why I did the owner's referral.

Is this company's goal to get referrals, but not pay the members? I see everything at the advantage for this company, but not the owners. You raise the fees every year. Yet, when its time for you to do something for the owner, you can't receive a phone call.

I can guarantee that I won't be referring anyone else. This company is a rip off and not in the best interest for anyone who invests with poor customer service reps who lie to you and tell you what you want to hear!

I regret the day that I ever invested with Capital.

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
L
9:19 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I posted this information on a Google review of Capital Resorts and thought I would post it here as well in hopes that someone will see it within their time limit to cancel their timeshare. This is regarding timeshare through Capital Resorts in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee. My wife and I have been with Capital Resorts in Pigeon Forge since late 2014 and VERY...

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group and 21 comments
ComplaintsBoard
D
12:18 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Capital Resorts contacted us through phone approximately one year ago. They offered 4 day Carnival cruise line tickets in exchange for $300 and our commitment to sit through a 90 minute timeshare presentation. We did not agree at first, but after quite a bit of sales tactics and lowering the price to about $200 we committed. They took our credit card...

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group and 4 comments
ComplaintsBoard
R
12:17 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group 5 day cruise gift

My first communication was with grand crowne resorts.
I booked a myrtle beach getaway for $249.00; I agreed to tour the property in exchange for the following gifts:

(1) 3 day 2 night mini vacation
(1) go anywhere mini vacation + $100 visa gift card
(1) $50 entertainment credit
(1) carnival 5 day cruise

The confusion began when we checked in; we received paper work from capital resorts... Not grand crowne.
Our room was nice but the tour and actual timeshare were just okay... As an owner elsewhere, I wasn't overly impressed.

After the tour, I did not, receive all of the promised items. I only received the $50 entertainment credit (A visa gift card) and I found out that the mini vacation was the getaway I was in town for (So it actually cost me $249... Not free). I was told the vouchers for the go anywhere & cruise would be mailed or emailed in a few weeks.

Five months later, I finally received the go anywhere voucher. Instead of receiving a $100 gift card, I had to pay $100 deposit to request a date for my gifted mini vacation... I'm still waiting for approval on the dates I selected. I expected the cruise voucher to follow. When I called for information on the cruise portion of my gift, I was told it was mailed with the go anywhere voucher and if I lost it, they can not replace it. First of all, I consider that horrible customer service! I'm obviously not the kind of person that looses things... Since I processed one voucher, why wouldn't I process both?! Because they never sent the cruise portion! Smells like a major scam to me!

Capital resorts owes me a 5 day cruise!

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group and 2 comments
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
2 comments
Add a comment
D
D
Dimunition
, US
Mar 16, 2016 12:21 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I, too, have never received our 4 day cruise vouchers. We visited Biloxi, MS last June. :-( I have sent a complaint to the BBB, FTC, and this board.

B
B
bobbkit
, US
Dec 04, 2019 4:24 pm EST
Replying to comment of Dimunition

We also took a tour in the Gatlinburg, Tennessee area. They put us up in an old outdated apartment that had a thin mattress on top of a board as the bed. The bedspread had shredded on the sides. No sleep for sure. I felt as if I was in the poor house. We paid $300+ dollars for them to put us up, so it wasn't free. After being there over 2 hours for a 45 minute lecture, we received our voucher for a cruise. It was not free as advertised. We were expected to pay the port and government taxes on top of a handling fee. We could have booked the cruise ourselves straight from the cruise line for a lot less money than it would have cost us to use this supposedly free voucher. Also, to even find out what we could book we had to put down another $150. Supposedly refundable by mail within 6 weeks. I was a fool for falling for their crock of bull.

ComplaintsBoard
R
9:36 am EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group Never got a call back from josh a rep with capital, also high pressure salesman, capital resorts beware

Late in 2014 we bought a pkg for 18 months to check out capital, so we reserved a week for myrtle beach sc with most of the points. Got there on dec 1, 2015, checked in at seaside place. Did our thing and never heard from capital people at all. In fact there rep was even at the resort and never was told we were there at all. He only found out that sat dec 5th. That sat we went and had a meeting with josh, and he was very critical about grand crowne. We asked why, and he said they were going broke. We informed him that was not true, as we own with them since 1990 and have been treated with respect. At least there if we have a problem or question, they get answered within a day or 2. Also when we check in they acknowledge us and we get welcomed immediatly. We said we wanted a call back with his facts, now here it is, after we have called him 14 times, only get voice mail and 2 months later we still have not gotten an answer to our question. This is very bad service. So you see capital does not want to talk to anyone if they don't like to. Our assumption now is that capital resorts in myrtle beach is closed up, gone out of business. We also asked for discount coupons on shows there or food places. They said they don't have anything like that. Well in branson at grand crowne we can get tickets at discount price.
Finally we are both very happy that we didn't get involved with that deal and we still have our money.

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
ComplaintsBoard
R
11:26 am EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group has left an official reply on this complaint.

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group Unethical behavior

We bought our timeshare at Crowne Resorts in approx. 2010. Despite the promise of an indoor water park, lodge house, ect, to be completed, here we are the end of 2015 and still no go. Continue to get excuses of working on getting permits, ect. To make matters worse, in Oct 215 we rec'd the following notice in the mail: Dear Surrey Resorts at Pigeon Forge Owner, In a recent special meeting of the Board of Directors to discuss the current financial status of the Association, it was decided there was a need to address the revenue gap created due to owner delinquency or non payment of dues...Hence the Board found it necessary to levy a special assessment as remediation for the delinquency and to commence foreclosure proceedings on those non recoverable delinquent accounts. Their remedy to address poor management practices among their sales team and their predatory behaviors such as dishonesty, has resulted in my family being billed an additional $300. It is sad to say that this really doesn't surprise me. When we do go back to use our timeshare, they continue with their high pressure pitches to upgrade, or to make other changes to our ownership all the while of not having even followed through on their original promises. It seems to me they are only there to make a sale and they have no boundaries as to what they will do to do it. It is no wonder there is a revenue gap!

Read full review of Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group and 3 comments
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

Hide full review
3 comments
Add a comment
M
M
MBlock
, US
Dec 17, 2022 5:24 am EST

My husband and I purchased a capital vacations package on November 5, 2022, at the Oyster Festival in Urbanna, Virginia. I have tried and am unable to reach anyone to schedule my vacation package. I am left on hold and then cut off. It seems as though this may be a scam and I would like to know how I can get my money back.

J
J
JamesPenn
, US
Oct 16, 2018 2:27 am EDT

Capital Resorts fraudulently induced my wife and I into a Timeshare. We were promised the moon and haven't got anything but hardship and regret. The fees increase every year. It is impossible to book at properties.

G
G
Grisduntled
, US
Nov 18, 2015 10:13 pm EST

I received the exact same "special assessment". The first time I contacted Capital Resorts regarding this they were rather rude and nasty saying that it was in my contract that I was obligated to pay such assessments. I went through multiple other phone calls and eventually found someone that was forthcoming with all the information I needed to make an educated decision. Essentially, the previous management group for Grand Crowne Resorts (all their locations) screwed up and didn't adjust for inflation over the last 10 years. As such, they were deeply in the hole (at leas that's the story they're going with). The special assessment was to help the company end the year out of the red (I think). After having a long conversation with the Capital Resorts representative, he never came right out and said it, but I gathered that Grand Crowne was in dire financial straights. As I am able, I'm going to pursue avenues that would allow me to "transfer" my ownership to another company (hopefully) so I don't end up completely losing out on my "investment".

Frequently asked questions (FAQ) about Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group

Expand Collapse all
What is Capital Vacations, and is it a legitimate company?

Capital Vacations is a vacation ownership and management company that offers vacation packages and resort stays. Whether or not the company is legitimate would depend on their reputation and customer feedback.

Are there any reviews or feedback from customers who have booked vacations through Capital Vacations?

Yes, there are likely many reviews and feedback from customers who have booked vacations or resort stays through Capital Vacations. Checking these reviews can provide insight into the legitimacy and quality of the company's products and services.

Does Capital Vacations have a physical location, or is it solely an online company?

Capital Vacations operates as both an online and physical vacation ownership and management company, with locations in various vacation destinations.

Is it safe to book vacations through Capital Vacations' website?

It can be safe to book vacations through Capital Vacations' website, provided that the website is secure and the company has a good reputation. It is important to check for secure payment methods and look for any red flags, such as overly low prices or poor customer reviews.

How long has Capital Vacations been in business, and what is their reputation?

The length of time that Capital Vacations has been in business can be an indicator of their reputation and legitimacy. It is worth researching the company's history and checking for any customer feedback or reviews.

Does Capital Vacations offer any warranties or guarantees on their vacation packages?

Capital Vacations may offer warranties or guarantees on their vacation packages, such as a satisfaction guarantee or cancellation protection. It is worth checking the company's website or contacting their customer service to inquire about any available warranties or guarantees.

What kind of payment methods does Capital Vacations accept, and is it secure?

Capital Vacations may accept various payment methods, such as credit cards or online payment options. It is important to ensure that any payment method used is secure and protected from fraud or theft.

What types of vacation packages does Capital Vacations offer, and how is the quality?

Capital Vacations offers a wide range of vacation packages, including resort stays and travel packages. The quality of the vacation packages can vary depending on the specific package and destination.

Are the prices at Capital Vacations competitive compared to other vacation companies?

Capital Vacations may offer competitive prices compared to other vacation companies. However, it is important to ensure that prices are not excessively low, as this may be a red flag for a scam or poor quality services.

Does Capital Vacations offer any customization options for vacation packages?

Capital Vacations may offer customization options for vacation packages, such as selecting preferred destinations or activities. It is worth checking the company's website or contacting their customer service to inquire about available customization options.

How fast is the booking process for vacation packages on Capital Vacations' website?

The booking process for vacation packages on Capital Vacations' website can vary depending on the complexity of the package and the payment method used. It is worth checking the company's website or contacting their customer service to inquire about booking times.

What is Capital Vacations' cancellation policy, and are there any hidden fees?

It is important to check Capital Vacations' cancellation policy before booking a vacation package, to ensure that cancellations are possible and to understand any associated fees or requirements. Hidden fees should be avoided.

Are the customer service representatives at Capital Vacations helpful and responsive?

The quality of customer service at Capital Vacations can be an indicator of their legitimacy and customer focus. Checking customer reviews and feedback can provide insight into the helpfulness and responsiveness of the company's customer service representatives.

Can I make changes to my vacation package once it has been booked through Capital Vacations?

Capital Vacations may allow changes to vacation packages after they have been booked, but this may depend on the company's policies and the specific package purchased. It is worth checking the company's website or contacting their customer service to inquire about available options for changing vacation packages.

Are there any discounts or promotions available when booking through Capital Vacations?

Capital Vacations may offer various discounts or promotions throughout the year. Checking the company's website or signing up for their newsletter can provide information about any available discounts or promotions.

What is the process for obtaining travel documents, such as visas or passports, when booking a vacation through Capital Vacations?

The process for obtaining travel documents can vary depending on the destination and the traveler's nationality. It is important to research the specific requirements for the travel destination and to contact the appropriate authorities or agencies for guidance.

Does Capital Vacations offer any travel insurance options for booked vacations?

Capital Vacations may offer travel insurance options for booked vacations, such as coverage for trip cancellation or medical emergencies. It is worth checking the company's website or contacting their customer service to inquire about available travel insurance options.

Is Capital Vacations a reputable company, and are there any red flags to be aware of?

The reputation and legitimacy of Capital Vacations can vary. It is worth researching the company's history and checking for customer feedback and reviews. Red flags may include excessively low prices, poor customer service, or a lack of clear cancellation or refund policies.

How can I be sure that the vacation package I receive from Capital Vacations is legitimate and not fraudulent?

Ensuring the legitimacy of vacation packages booked through Capital Vacations can be important. Checking for the use of reputable hotels and travel providers can be an indicator of legitimacy. It is also worth checking the company's reputation and customer feedback for any concerns about fraudulent activities.

What is the general consensus among industry experts regarding Capital Vacations' legitimacy and quality?

The opinions of industry experts regarding the legitimacy and quality of Capital Vacations can vary. It is worth researching the opinions of industry experts and checking for any relevant certifications or awards that the company may have received.

Trust badge
Collect Your Trust Badge
Be recognized for outstanding customer service

Capital Vacations / Capital Resorts Group contacts

Phone number

+1 (844) 777-2582

Website

capitalvacations.com

Elevating the Voice of the Consumer

Empowering Real Complaints

At ComplaintsBoard, we understand the impact of genuine consumer grievances. Our platform is a dedicated space for authentic voices, where complaints, both positive and negative, are shared with honesty and transparency.

Dedicated to Validating Complaints

We are committed to ensuring the authenticity of every complaint. Our team uses rigorous verification methods to confirm that each complaint stems from a real customer experience, maintaining the integrity of our platform.

Encouraging Detailed Complaint Narratives

We value complaints accompanied by concrete evidence. Be it a photo, a detailed narrative, or additional documentation, such substantiation lends credibility to your complaint, aiding others in making informed decisions.

Balanced and Constructive Dialogue

ComplaintsBoard is more than a platform for airing grievances; it's a community where balanced dialogue is encouraged. We welcome complaints that not only point out issues but also recognize any positive interactions, promoting a fair and comprehensive perspective.

A Free and Impartial Platform for Complaints

Our unwavering commitment is to provide a free and unbiased platform for all complaints. Every complaint is given equal importance, ensuring your concerns are heard and respected, irrespective of their nature.