Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Business & Finances Capital One fraud business practices!
More

Capital One - fraud business practices!

K
Author of the complaint
2:39 pm
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I am seeking to file a complaint against Capital One Credit Card Company for fraudulent practices. I have also contacted my congressperson and both California Senators in writing. I will also copy this complaint to all consumer websites (the internet is a wonderful thing), The Attorney General of Virginia, the Commissioner of Financial Institutions as well as CNN, Sixty Minutes, Primetime and anyone else I can think of who can speak out against this type of egregious behavior. I know it's hard for the media conglomerates to step forward and dig deeper when their advertising revenue comes from companies like Capital One. However, after watching some of the hearings in Washington last week against banks and credit card companies charging excessive fees to their customers, I felt compelled to finally express my frustration for the hard working tax payers of this country and to ask Capital One’s CEO, Richard Fairbank to stop abusing your customers.

For the past six months I have attempted to close one of my three Capital One Credit Card Accounts. My husband has one for business, I have a family use card and the one I’m attempting to close since October 2006, was my business credit card. I no longer have the business and therefore had no need for a third card. We have been Capital One cardholders for many years and have always enjoyed a low interest rate of 9.9% on all three of our cards, due to our good credit... until I attempted to close my business card in late October 2006. That’s when things changed.

On October 27th, 2006 I called Capital One and asked for a payoff on the the card. I promptly paid the balance. I received confirmation of payment. I then followed up once the check was cashed and asked that they close the account. They did not close the account. They continued to accept miscellaneous charges from Sports Illustrated Renewal, Amazon and now this month a Consumer Reports annual renewal notice. None of these charges was authorized or approved by me and all of these companies refunded me the money. However, as a result of these three separate charges, Capital One continued to charge me 28.1 % over the course of five months, until the time these money were refunded to me. I called Capital One and asked them to reimburse me for the finance charges and finally they did do that after three phone calls; it's not about the money, it's about the principle.

I have written a letter to Capital One and have made numerous phone calls to try and close account, to no avail. Today, March 16th, 2007 the account is still open, despite Capital One promising me on the phone they would not accept any more charges to my account. They must be making quite a tidy profit off of this practice: customer calls in to close account, take their rate up to triple what it was, let those monthly reoccurring charges flow in (because no customer can recall all of them), and Capital One has a huge revenue stream of profit coming in (thanks to the Actuary who figured this out).

Because I no longer have the card in my possession (I cut it up after my final payment) I cannot even access my statements online because I don’t have an expiration date and they can’t give it to me over the phone. I actually have to order a new card in order to get the expiration date in order to get online and review my statements. Today I called to ask for my last six months statements and I was told it was $3.00 per statement! It seems that every time I try to correct this situation, Capital One is charging me again. Now I can see why the CEO of Capital One, Mr. Fairbank, has made close to 500 million dollars over the past five years (that’s right, 100 million per year!). I’m appalled at the transparent and aggressive tactics used by the CEO, Richard Fairbank, to generate revenue and profits, at the expense of so many loyal customers. I wonder if Capital One shareholders would approve of such tactics knowing the CEO is consuming a large chunk of the profits via his salary?

My goal is simply to close the above mentioned account and have confirmation of this in writing. Today I spoke with two different customer service reps for Capital One Michael ID #QSJ941 and his supervisor Joaell ID #JKW464. Both informed me that Capital One cannot close an account until 30 days to make sure there are not re-occurring charges. After five years of having this card, this is a lot to try and remember. I couldn’t possibly remember what magazines I signed up for a year or two ago and what month they are about to expire. The lesson I learned from all of this is don’t use Capital One-ever!.

Sincerely,
Kerry.

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 0 0
Share
Reply

More Capital One complaints & reviews

Capital One - terrible experience
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Capital One - harassing calls
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Capital One - false winner of a shoppers sweepstakes
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
135 comments
Add a comment
L

Had a humilitatng experience with Capital One just yesterday. Called to pay my bill by phone, always in full in advance, then inquired to redeem my rewards and transferred to another agent who advised I'd have to have a mobile phone so they could text me a code by text to verify my identity. When I couldn't comply (no cell phone), he transferred me to the Fraud Division who requested I submit a copy of my Driver's License to verify my identity. What the heck is going on, I've never encountered this problem before, usually when I called in the past, they simply mailed me a check, now I'm being investigated by the Fraud Department?
So help me if they ruin my excellent credit score over this, they'll have hell to pay. Never had a problem until they took over Union Plus MasterCard which we've had since the mid-1970's.

Helpful?
0 0

recently capital one has acquired other credit cards Ihave. Iam told to continue making my payments as such, however I wonder about all the different interest charges, if they are all now capital one cards now, why cant they combine them all at one interest rate. rather then charge me several different rates on each card ? If I add up each interest rate it is over 300%. Can they do that? My credit is good on each of these cards but it would be easier to combine them all and only pay interest on one, rather then pay all different rates on each card totaling a surmountable amount of interest. What can I do?

Helpful?
0 0
N
Aug 17, 2009 2:39 pm

I pay my Capital One bill online. I am very good about paying, I don't want to mess up my credit anymore than the economy has already done. I haven't worked in over a year, so regretfully, I have been paying the minimum. I don't enter an amount, I just click on "pay minimum".

Today I got a notice in the mail stating I was a month behind. I knew I wasn't, so I called. I was told 2 months ago I paid $15 when in reality I owed $16. So a $39 fee was assessed. This happened again the next month even though I paid what I was told was the minimum!

I asked how they could charge me for paying what their website said I owed. The man had the nerve to tell me the bills mailed and the internet isn't always accurate. The only way I will get an accurate amount to pay is by called Capital One before I make my payment! How is this legal? Is there is lawsuit out there addressing this issue? I've been charged $78 because they lied to me about what I owed. I asked the man "Are you serious? Can you honestly tell me you can say I owe one amount, when in reality I owe more, and then charge me a fee?" He said "Ma'am, the only way you're going to get an accurate amount of what is owed is by called before paying your bill." If that's the case, we should all bombard Capital One's call center to question what we owe.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Jun 22, 2009 2:39 pm

CAPITAL ONE! Something needs to be done, we the people can't suffer because of them. I received a letter in the spring regarding the increase, wanted more information so I called and spoke to a representive who stated the new interest rate was for only future purchases as of May. 6/22/09 I get my bill and my WHOLE balance went up to 17.9%.. I called and spoke with a rep from Capital One who saw my phone who told me that I was told miss information and now to bad for me. THEY HAVE NOT HEARD THE LAST OF ME! THIS IS NOT FAIR AND SOMETHING HAS TO BE DONE!

Helpful?
0 0
J
Feb 18, 2009 2:39 pm

Capital One Visa credit cards charged a $150 annual membership charge (now plus interest with reminders of non-payment) with a revolving credit of $50, 000 which we never asked for or ever received. We couldn't find that there is even such a $150 membership with Capital One. This card was never applied for card nor had we ever received this card. We have talked to several Capital One agents but we still got a computer generated bills saying we still need to pay down the balance before the card can be closed.

Helpful?
0 0
K

To whom this may concern my issue is after 1year 1/2 of me asking them to close my account 3 times they charged me interest rate on my own money and still would not close my account as per so they say that my deposit was used to clear the account. Ontop of me having to dish out another 200 and sum dollars the won't remembers me my money for there mistake it's frustrating for the. Fact that I was told when I got the card that I could cancel it at any point in time why should I pay interest rate when my account should have been closed the first time I called

Helpful?
0 0
M
Feb 24, 2011 2:39 pm

I purchased a internet business and charged it to my Capital One card. After realizing this was a scam, I disputed the charge with Capital One. A couple of months passed by and I never heard anything from Capital One. I called the company and told them to return my money and that I disputed the charge. They offered to return $2, 500 of my money. I did not know for sure that Capital One was going to return my money, I was afraid not to accept the $2, 500. Losing half of the money was better than all of it. I signed a contract with them stating I would accept the $2, 500. I called Capital One numerous times to close the dispute. Soon after that, Capital One credited my account for $5, 000.00. I had to contact Capital One to tell them I could not accept the money because the company reimbursed me $2, 500 and I signed a contract accepting that. I had to Fax a copy of the contract to Capital One and they informed me that it is not valid because the company did not sign the contract. It only has my signature on it. I called the company and told them this and they are very upset because they are telling me that the contract is valid. Who is right? Also, the company made me send their $2, 500 back to them because Capital One debited their account for $5, 000. Now, Capital One came back closed the disputed charge and debited my account for $5, 000 and I am now out of my $2, 500. The company is very nasty with me and they want me to pay them $2, 500 more. They are telling me that I signed the contract fraudlently and they are now turning it over to their legal department. What grounds do I have here and is the contract a valid contract with only my signature on it?

Helpful?
0 0
B
Nov 30, 2010 2:39 pm

We are small business owners in the construction field light commercial mason company, at the end of spring things were very scary and being with capital one for 10 years i thought the right thing to do was call and let them know what is going on just in case, well doing the right thing really can ***, we have been locked out of are account for 6 months they won't give us access. On aug 10th are real scary month i made to payment over the phone for aug and sept but instead we sent them 4000.00 my husband was in the middle of doing a line of credit for are company on aug 18th we called capital one to see if we could use one of the checks they sent us for 3000.00 i was told yes there was no problem but we also confronted them that the company for the line of credit said they had reported us over 30 days for aug the supervisor said to give him 3 days to check and he would get back to us which he never did but on aug 24 my bank called and informed me they sent the check back draining are checking an savings account and in the whole thousands, on aug 25th my bank and i called them the bank manager talked with a supervisor and she said it was a mistake and to take another check it's good no problems and make it for 3500.00 on aug 31st my bank called again they sent the check back again, this time we were hit with late fee's returned fee's again and nobody would do anything they really broke us i'm 100% disabled and no money for my meds, food, they turned off my electric cause i was on a plan i had 5days to come up with 700.00. The worst was we were declined the line of credit, we did receive a letter dated sept 13th that they let the credit company's know but it take about 60 days to come off no one will touch us now I'm leaving a lot out but it has been *** i have called to try and work this out and nothen but they had the nerve to call for my oct payment. They have gotten very sloppy in there notes when you call and it says your being recorded they don't but they have no idea the letters they sent me and i am looking for an attorney and i am going to bury them they expected us to eat all the bank fee's late fee's i still can't even get a amount to what we lost but I'm going for breach of contract 2x's they gave us permission to use the checks and didn't honor, defamation, fair credit reporting act. If anyone of you have the chance to do a settlement do it and run otherwise this is what is going to happen to you we were going to do the right thing cause it was are bill and like i said what did it get us

Helpful?
0 0
O
Oct 29, 2011 2:39 pm

My daughter was out of state working, tried to check the balance on her debit card by phone but did not have the time and amount of the last deposit and they would not help her.She used it 18x at a $35 fine each time.They did not cancel the card or try to call when they saw all the charges were out of state.They said if she had not been such a good customer they would have cancelled the card after about $100. definately after $200. So it pays to be bad! Now they call everyday!

Helpful?
0 0
I
Sep 25, 2009 2:39 pm

On July 12, 2009, my account was charged $50.00 for a service that I did not authorize, order, nor receive. Upon discovering this charge I contacted Capital One immediately to apprise you of the situation. After Capital One investigated my claim the charge was removed. In the meantime I realized that my credit card was not where I usually keep it (in my wallet)so I called Capital One and asked you to close my account and issue me a new credit account number as my card was lost and no longer in my possession. Capital One complied and cancelled my lost credit card number ending in XXXXand issued me a new one ending with XXXX. While monitoring my account activity online I discovered that the $50.00 transaction (July 12, 2009) that was disputed by me and cancelled by Capital One was charged again as a transaction re-bill to my new credit card account on September 10, 2009.
I disputed the charge again online and via telephone contact with Capital One. Unfortunately, I have also been unsuccessful in contacting the merchant in question as all I have is a phone number that is listed on my credit card bill and when calling it no one answers. Since my account has been compromised twice from your credit card company, I have regretfully been forced to close my account to alleviate any more unauthorized and fraudulent charges and I am considering seeking legal action as well as reporting Capital One to the appropriate consumer protection investigative agency. I will continue to pay on my account until paid in full except for the $50.00 that was illegally charged to my account.

Helpful?
0 0
V
Jul 22, 2008 2:39 pm

I moved to Ohio and started my transfer of title in February, it has now been 5+ months and I still have NO TITLE for Ohio. My Indiana plates expired in April so my car that I pay 360/month has been sitting in the driveway since April. Does Cap. One care? NOOO. I have spoken to countless title agents/supervisors...I have been transferred, hung up on and lied to countless times. Nobody cares about my frustration with them. I have been told "4-5 more weeks" at least 3 times now. This past Wed. I was told by a supervisor it would be overnited and I could go to the title office Thurs., didn't happen. Called back Thurs. they said it would be overnited Thurs. and the supervisor was making sure of it...didn't happen. This Monday morning when I called I was told it was definitely sent out TODAY...we will see, but I won’t count on it. I have written 3 letters to "customer service"-never have I received an apology. Nothing! I will never use Capital One for ANYTHING ever again in my life! Nightmare!

Helpful?
0 0
V
Jun 06, 2008 2:39 pm

Every time I call Capital One & speak with their CS group I get someone in India that doesn't understand what I'm saying & I honestly don't understand what they're saying either. They lie & say their name is Charlie or Bob when we all know it's NOT. I've been hung up on by them a number of times just b/c I ask if they could repeat their question! That's NOT good CS! I'll be cancelling my card soon and please note that I've had it for nearly 5 years now! The company wonders why they're having issues - just a hint idiots - review your CS department! They're horrible! Outsourcing to a country that doesn't speak proper English & can't understand it IS NOT THE ANSWER!

Helpful?
0 0
G
Jan 21, 2010 2:39 pm

I was reviewing my bank account information and noticed a charge has been transacted without my knowledge.Please delete this transaction and credit my funds back into the account.

Helpful?
0 0
V
Sep 30, 2008 2:39 pm

The worst credit card I ever experienced. I applied for their credit card with 1 year 0 apr promotion which would expire in November. But they began to charge finance fees in August. I called them in August and they credited back the finance charge and their manager admitted that 0 apr should expire in November. However, I noticed they still charge finance fees for September statement. I called them again, but they told me that 0 apr had expired in August and the last credit back was only courtesy continuation of the promotion. They could do nothing for me but apologized. I did not keep the offer letter and they don't admit what they said. I was really pissed off, paid off the debt and closed the account immediately. Never Never apply for capital one credit card no matter how good the promotion looks. They cheat on customers and try to stole money from you. The customer service is very terrible.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Aug 31, 2016 2:39 pm

Uscapitalloans promised be a loan in the amount of $4000 if I pay $400 for fees. They even sent
me document that looked like original. Only after I was scammed and got no loan I looked through
the document carefully and found many slips. I want to get my money back! Please help!

Helpful?
0 0
E
Aug 23, 2016 2:39 pm

Capital One needs help training their customer service representatives! My husband and I are consolidating credit card accounts. We each elected to close one personal credit card each. I chose my Capital One card because it has the highest interest rate although it is my most seasoned account; mainly because they refused to lower the rate to beat the other two cards I currently hold. Upon paying off the entire balance and calling to request the account be closed, I was given quite the sales pitch about this being a terrible thought. The kid basically gave me a lecture on banking. I interrupted him, nicely, to let him know the choice had already been made and I already understood the principles of closing seasoned accounts and still wanted to close this account. He then rattled off the policies about closing accounts and hung up on me. After being a card holder for 8 years and constantly paying each bill on time, I still got the boot in the butt on the way out the door. What's in my wallet? A credit card from the nice folks at my local Credit Union. Screw Capital One.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Aug 23, 2016 2:39 pm

I’m writing today in hopes of receiving help due to capital one credit card company has committed fraud during the worst time in my life and i’m confused how these credit card companys seem to be able to do whatever they want to do to you without consequence.

I called requesting credit protection on my card. I was hospitalized from 1-28-10 thru 2-24-10 (approx).. I died 3 times and the doctors told my family that he didn’t have much hope in me surviving. I had mrsa and septic shock which caused my organs to start shutting down because they weren’t receiving enough blood to keep them alive, same thing with my brain, the reason im left with short term memory loss. I had to learn to walk, eat, speak and remember things about myself and my family.

It was a very hard time. I still have a lot of trouble walking and squatting and bending forward, along with memory issues, i have to write down everything and even thats hard because i cant remember how to spell some of the easiest words, its embarrassing.. I walk like im drunk all the time and have slow speech so everyone thinks im drunk all the time.

Before all this happened to me, my profession was a physical therapist assistant for 15 years..

Well getting to the fraud issue…..I called capital one credit card company to activate my credit protection. Me and my husband just couldn’t pay all the bills without me being able to work. So i called and this young lady by the name of karlie answered my call.. I was so confused after getting off the phone with her that i wrote down what was said to me by her, here it is……”your credit protection was cancelled by you on 1-28-10″. Then she asked when did i become disabled. I replied, 10/09/09. She said, ” well your credit protection wasnt even put on your card until after that so you dont qualify for it anyway”.I replied, ” well if i didn’t have credit protection then how did i cancel it on [protected]? And better yet, how did i cancel it while i was lying in a coma in the hospital? She had nothing to say. This was 7/10/2012 at 5:20pm.

Helpful?
0 0
J
Aug 23, 2016 2:39 pm

This company keeps calling everyday, 3-8 times a day. the # is [protected]. I spoke with a woman & she asked to speak with the owner. I told her he was not available & asked if I could have a name & number to have him call her back. She REFUSED to give me any info. I told her that he would not answer her calls so if it was important she needed to give me that info. She hung up. We want the calls to stop! This is a business & our time is better spent doing business.

Helpful?
0 0
S
Aug 23, 2016 2:39 pm

Will not pay down on cash advance amounts which garner higher finance charges, when payments are sent. I have paid well over the minimum amount for months and the purchase section goes down but not the cash adv. section. I've written, emailed, called C.One and also written the Fed. Reserve (Banking) people...still no satisfactory resolution. This has been going on for months.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Aug 23, 2016 2:39 pm

I have been incarcerated for six years. After release I began contacting capitol one. I have been making 50.00 a month payments after 3 x's of asking for documentation of the owed bill and a statement of receipt I've got nothing. I have been getting the run around with this from day one. Now I want to find out my rights in this matter so I can put all this behind me.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Aug 23, 2016 2:39 pm

Has anyone else had this put on their account without requesting it? I am being charged for this with no active memory of ever requesting it in the first place.

Helpful?
0 0

This collection agency sent me this letter, and I called and was told this was for a credit card issued me either in 2001 closed in 2002. At this time I had to take an early retirement to care for my father who passed away in 2005, so between 2002 & 2005 of July I was unemployed. I was told this credit card was a $300. dollar limit with an outstanding rediculous credit rate. However they closed this account in 2000, why thy are now expecting a current balace due of $2, 142.31 even with a $300. limit someone has chose to make quite a profit. I understand now about fraud. This is what our President of the United States is making us aware of. So what are my options, and what was the total amount when they closed this account. I am willing to do what I can, but I am not going to be taken advantage of. Please help! Contact Gwendolyn Poindexter @ 1306 Bissell St., South Bend IN 46617 home #[protected], wk# [protected] E-mail, [email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
K
Aug 22, 2016 2:39 pm

I have maintained a good business relationship with Capital One for the past 10+ years. Never missing payments, and using my Capital One card all the time. I would even consider myself to be at the top of customers that a company would like to keep. Imagine my surprise when I went to pay my bill and noticed that my Interest Rate Had Doubled! For no apparent reason? I called their customer service line to find out that I could have declined the change? but now it is too late? What sense does that make? Is it too late to keep a valued customer? Heck Yea it is!

Helpful?
0 0
G
Aug 16, 2016 2:39 pm

Capital One had the nerve to send out to all of it's loyal customers this ridiculous reason for it's recent rate increases, although it's not word for word since I did throw the little 'advertisement' out, it read something like this: "So, since we are in a economic downturn we are feeling the pinch and regrettably must inform our Capital One Credit card users that we must increase the percentage rate for all" So, I went from 9% on my card to a whopping 21%! Are these yo-yo's kidding me or what? What a bunch of B.S.that is, do they really think we consumers are going to buy that line of baloney hook, line, and sinker? They then went on to say that if we don't agree, they will close our accounts and let us pay them off at the 'old' percentage rate! So, in other words, if you don't like it, buzz off! The gall is incredible. I would like to keep the card, just for good credit's sake. I won't use it though for anything other than a $10-20 item every other month, because if you don't use the card for 6 straight months they close your account. Well, now they'll get hardly anything from me except a few pennies on a small purchase. Screw you too Capital One!

Helpful?
0 0
K
Jul 13, 2016 2:39 pm

Getting these mails saying I've been approved for credit/credit card and Capital One is the headng - never applied to them and not sure why I have this.

Helpful?
0 0
T
May 14, 2016 2:39 pm

Capital One restricted my card that I had for 12 years.
It took 2 hours and 6 people to figure out why.
Why? They wanted to verify my SS number and my birthdate. Yep. 2 hours and 6 people

Helpful?
0 0
K
Jan 21, 2009 2:39 pm

I paid capital one off in full 12/08 got a bill 1/09 showing interest even though they got my payment. I called and talked to 4 people none of who talked english very well. I finally said this is done cancel the card i mailed the 12.66 payment. Low and behold i just got a bill from them for $75.16. Again i called to somebody who was not in the usa. She tells me it's a $59.00 membership fee a $15.00 late fee because my interest payment was 3 days late even though it's showing on the statment, and a insursance fee of 1.06. I am so over capital one and their unfair practices. I told her the card is not active paid in full and to make this disappear. She tells me i need to pay or they are going to turn over to the credit bureau. When is the practice going to stop no wonder people can't get their bills in order. This is illeagal i am going to report to the credit fair act, the tv, better business, any anybody else who can be made aware. I was so upset that i hung the phone up on her...

Helpful?
0 0
R
Nov 01, 2008 2:39 pm

i have paid them off and they keep calling me a sayin i had two accounts but i got my wife a card with the same account number on it when i got my. i paid them off july 2008 have send them a copy of the check and the letter that i got back from their lawyer where i paid it off they still keep calling me the manager is the one i send the letter and the copy of the check to his name is malan. please help me from keep getting calls from them and get this off of my record where i have paid them off. they kept calling my wife when i was in the hospital and having surgery 2 years ago. i fell 3 stories and they wasnt expecting me to live stay in there 2 months and she told them i would and she would paid them off when we got our settlement and we did so help me clear this matter thank you.

Helpful?
0 0
K
Jun 22, 2009 2:39 pm

So here we are we have bailed this company out with our hard earned tax dollars and will be paying for them for years to come and they treat their good loyal customers like the dirt on the bottom of their shoes!

Not only have they hiked interest rates but now they slash credit limits do you think they had the courtisy to notify their good customers of the wonderful business dicission? No by the posts I have read I am going to say the majority have not received anything in writing indicating the wonderful business decission on the part of Capital one.

When you call customer service you are pretty much told too bad so sad. You can't close your account because then then will hit your credit rating which is what they are claiming to be the reason to begin with but yet they are doing this to all their best customers what a crock, hate to see how they treat their bad customers!

What happened to all of that bail out money they got why are we paying for them again with this high interest did they not get enough of our money.

Wonder why their own employees don't have their card I talked to no less then 6 customer services reps reading from the same well prepared script and out of the six 3 do not even have their own companies cards makes you wonder what they know that we don't.

So much for the hassle free card false advertisement comes to mind!

Helpful?
0 0
R
Feb 22, 2016 2:39 pm

Some calling from Iowa [protected] called several times saying they would lower my interest rate. They asked for the credit card number and the last four of my ss#, which I gave. I did question him about his validity and he just kept saying he was from capital one, as a representative. He sounded like he was from India and was able to tell me my last payment and then when he got what he wanted he hung up. I immediately had a bad feeling and called the credit card number on the back of my card to report it. Lowering my interest rate was very appealing and that's why I fell for it. Today is 2/22/2016 and it happened around noon eastern standard time.

Marlene Arnhold
[protected]

Helpful?
0 0

Capital One has literally terrorized me and my family over a fraudlent billing by Mercury Insurance. I have provided tons of input on this fraudulent charge of $204.10 yet Capital One continues to stonewall and now demand that I send them a written letter to file another dispute instead of taking my dispute again over the phone. The arrogance and dishonesty of this company comes down to the benefit they receive by carrying fraudlent billings on their books to make it look like they have more assets than they do in the form of consumer debt at high interest. They are doing this, and have gotten worse about such things in order to make it look like they are doing well with the bail out money they got from the US taxpayers and the US government bailout funds they received. They got the mercy of the taxpayers/government who used the taxpayers money to bail them out, now they terrorize me for months, greatly harming me and my family in this exhausting and costly damaging process as their way of thanking America for saving their greedy and dishonest company. They literally make me sick and have geatly damaged my and my wife's health and our children's health due to the intense amount of effort and time we continue to invest in this incredibly corrupt company. Capital One has become a loan shark organization that has many tricks to defraud customers and delay proper clearing of fraudulent debts which they imply through their advertising they will do. They should face huge penalties and be shut down through new legislation that will hopefully come out soon.

Helpful?
0 0
D
Mar 11, 2009 2:39 pm

To Whom It May Concern:

Today like last month I attempted to pay my GE Money Account with ShopNBC on line and when I did this I was told that I could not register with the online service and I had to call the customer support phone number of [protected]. I called this number just like I did last moth and I was hung up on again twice.

I proceeded to call ShopNBC and related my frustration again with this problem they were kind enough to get me to GE Money Bank.

As I related my story to now the GE credit manager they took my payment over the phone which did not cover my delinquent past due charge the amount listed on the invoiced as past due. I did this because suffice it to say hat was all I could afford. I will not be able to cover the past due amount and the current charge until I find employment in today’s economic downturn.

I asked why GE Money Bank would not take a payment on line even on past due accounts, for at least the amount past due. I was told because my account is delinquent I would not be able to register for online payment and I would be required to do it over the phone and I could be charged a service fee for this privilege. This is over and above the 33% interest I am being charged.

I asked why not change the database algorithm to allow for this type of payment. I was told that the credit organization had no control over the data base and they could not even suggest such a change. I wondered out loud why a manager in the credit department of GE could not write a Feature Request Memo, to the manage of the Development Department Manager of the on line payment data base I was told that no this could not be done but as a customer I could write such a suggestion and send it into GE for evaluation.

I stated that this was a finger pointing game and GE would not respond to this type of correspondence.

It was further suggested by GE Money Bank that I contact the collections department and maybe they could do something for me. I proceeded to do that I not only did I get insulted I was asked when I would make my payment current so I could enjoy the privilege on online payment service. How arrogant can the employees of GE be to treat their customer base with such disrespect?

It is my opinion that GE should treat a customer request with the utmost politeness and get people on line with a concerned customer and resolve their issue by bringing the proper parties together from GE and the customer to do just that. After all this is the age on information technology. I was taught this when I was working in customer support when a customer called in you resolved that issue for that customer or got the people within the corporation to assist that customer without having the customer write Feature Request Memorandum and hope that EG reads the letter and responds to it, or have the customer call another toll free number for more run around. What happened to the day when big business listened to the customer and did everything possible to satisfy the customer? Maybe GE should start paying attention to what is happening with GM, Ford and Chrysler today. The auto industry ignored the small customer and just went after the big profits and look where they are today.

A lesson to be learned here is the little customer is not dirt under the beet of big business to the foundation that big business is built on. Destroy the foundation and the whole building collapses.

After these phone conversations with GE management I went out on the WEB and I found the following two sites with very little effort.

http://www.complaintsboard.com/complaints/2876/page/3

http://www.consumeraffairs.com/finance/ge_money_bank.html

These sites list various complaints the consumer base has with GE Money Bank. Now I realize that there will always be unsatisfied customers out there. However when they start logging those complaints on the WEB there is probably some justification for these complaints, This further indicates to me that GE does not seem to care because I have not seen any positive responses form GE on these matters of complaint. I would thing that a corporation as big as GE would have an employee someplace within their organization that would and should respond to this negative publicity and answer these accusations. But me I am just an unemployed person who GE will not ever interview even though I have two Masters Degrees and 22 years management experience some of which is in customer support.

My suggestion to GE is to

1. Correct you online payment process and allow even people who are delinquent to make payment on line.

2. Correct your internal communications and customer support process to make the customer feel the nice warm and fuzzy feeling that a big money making corporation does care about the little customer foundation that eh big corporate entity was built on. Get back to basics and treat the customer with respect not matter how small or how large,

3. Have better internal communications and allow manager not to be afraid to question the corporate structure and take things on that might be risky as the beginning.

4. Get back to the core customer base ad hire people who support that customer base not treat it as dirt under their corporate feet.

I realize these suggestions may seem drastic now but in the long run they will pay off after all that is how GE got to where it is today. If we want to turn this world economic situation around we have to take on risky changes that will help rebuild the core business that is the corporate heritage. The current economic situation requires change in management philosophy and the way we look at our goals short term verses long term. We should have learned that from the Toyota story and the automotive industry in Detroit. Wake GE embrace the change that is coming or suffer the decline of doing business as usual.

Thank you for your attention into this matter and I look forward to your expeditious response if I am lucky enough that someone actually reads this letter and has the courage to change things. By the way I am still looking for employment.

Helpful?
0 0
E
Dec 31, 2010 2:39 pm

December 31st, 2010 at 16:22
Boycot American Express

I was a 13 year member / customer of American Express. With A credit score off 800 and decided to open a Import furniture company. American Express did a great job offering me 5 accounts with credit of 150k with low aprs and continued to market me and offer more account. I pay all my debts on time and importing counted on American Express for my container purchases.
This is what American Express can do for you
They will offer you loads of great deals, but watch out here is what they did to me.

2 years agog they told me my Gold account ad earned 40k + earned spendatures, then when economy took a turn they quickly lowered it to 22k and said your fico score changed, it hadnt changed until they did this to all 5 account I had with them maxing out my cards making it appear as I was debtited out.
November 2010 they called me before my cut off date asking for a payment, I stated my cut off date was next week and that no payment was due. They contiinued to beg to set up a payment, I said why are you calling I always paid my debts on time, I paid 65k off in debts this year, she replied oh yes and 25 k off on your account s with us, you are a excellent customer fo 13 years, then said can we set up your next payment. I said no, I will pay it as I always do, the day before my statement date tehy emailed me a letter saying,
So there are no surprises when using your account we lowered your limit on your gold card t0 1500.00 stay in your limit oor you will be embarassed at checkout.
I called a supervisor aginwas told my fico score changed, (i ran a crdit report and no changes EXCELLENT CREDIT). Then said if you give us 3 years business taxes maybe we will give you a little bit back, I closed all acount told her she was damageing my acsh flow for my company and importing and it was all or none, meaning work this out or it would cause me into default, she replied your fico score created this …I have my credit report printed and its excellent.
I had a container departure leaving indonesia and needed it, I had to use the money I would have paid them to get my goods to save my business, I in turn incorporated my business, homesteaded my home to protect me from them. I sent them the Sease & desist letter as I was advised to do so. I sent them a letter to do debt consolidation and immediately they sent me to collections. I now had to do the same thing to their collections whol are very rude. All this at the holidays, I have survived with my company through all the hurdes of the economy and they have made it to almost close my company due to my cash flow. Next on my list is Chase. I am starting my New Year off with the theory “support small Business” never bank or einvest in large companies, minimize doing any sort of business with corporations if there is a company local you can do business with do so.
If anyone has any ideas or success stores, please email me on my next step with American Express.
By the way the points they give you, they truely dont give you, MERCHANTS PAY POINTS WHEN YOU USE YOUR CARD AT THEIR BUSINESS. Lets all pay cash and Take these companies down once and for all.

AMERICAN EXPRESS NEEDS TO BE CLOSED!

Leave a Reply

Helpful?
0 0
W

I recently received an offer from, creditunion workers for a credit card with a 10, 000 limit
After checking online for complaints; I quickly throw papers away...

Helpful?
0 0
R
Feb 02, 2012 2:39 pm

want my credit card off your records

Helpful?
0 0
S
Oct 13, 2008 2:39 pm

Took Unauthorized fund from my checking account

Helpful?
0 0
E
Feb 29, 2008 2:39 pm

this company charged me 14.95 without my consent...i haven't even visited whatever site this is. see a lot of complaints with no results...i hope i can get something out of this. like my money back!

Helpful?
0 0
B
Mar 12, 2013 2:39 pm

Capital One is the worst. I have been on the opt-out pre-screen credit card offers list for years and only Capital One keeps sending me credit card offers. I have complained to the FTC and Capital One. Somehow they are immune to the law. NEVER TRUST CAPITAL ONE.

Helpful?
0 0
W

This world isn't concern about people anymore, all they think about is money, money can break you, make you, and kill you...I would rather think about life, pleasing God, and all the other things will be granted to me. Don't waste time on American Express they will get theirs, just leave home without it...

Helpful?
0 0
W
Jan 17, 2013 2:39 pm

Applied for a card, specifically because there was an offer that there would be $0 fee for one year and $19 a year fee following that. They charged me $39 right when the card arrived. They could care less of their advertisment that clearly shows it is a $0 fee. Do NOT apply, I think that is the only thing that can be done. Forget it is a false advertisement.

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

723 complaints
172 resolved 551 unresolved

Capital One contacts

(added by reviewer)
15000 Capital One Dr., Virginia United States
ADVERTISIMENT