Brookstonebrookstone &smart set& clock

M
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I bought a "Smart Set" clock from them. The advert said that you would never need to adjust it for daylight savings time! Wow! Great idea! I bought it!

Then the gummit changed the law re when DST goes in and out of effect, and the clock, instead of needing to be adjusted never, now needs to be adjusted not TWO, but FOUR TIMES PER YEAR: Once when it automatically changes at the wrong time, then again when it needs to change but doesn't, then again at the next DST date. So FOUR TIMES PER YEAR instead of twice, the exact opposite of what the product promised!

I tried to return it and they said, "No, it's been out of warranty for over a year." I said, "But this is not a warranty issue, it's an issue of a faulty design and the product is obsolete after just 2 years!"

They said they "couldn't do anything about it". We all know that "can't" means "won't" and this is the disease of most modern companies. They are short sighted. Rather than say "Yeah, you know, you have a point. I'll give you $15 towards a new clock." Then I'd go in there, no doubt find something else to buy as well and instead of LOSING A CUSTOMER AS THEY HAVE DONE, they would be gaining a loyal customer for life!

But when a company does not stand behind its FAULTY and now WORTHLESS product, they are basically saying, "We don't care." And it is clear Brookstone no longer cares about selling good quality products, nor about keeping its customers.

Guess what, Brookstone? *YOU* LOSE!

I'm writing this all over the net, and am telling all my friends about how you don't stand behind your products. You must be Republicans! SHORT SIGHTEDNESS is the disease of our modern corporate world. I remember when at Brookstone, "the customer was always right" and they'd go out of their way to a) sell QUALITY products; and b) KEEP THEIR CUSTOMERS COMING BACK by promising to back up their products with liberal and sensible return policies.

Too bad. Another corporation gone the way of so many others: short sighted thinking, forgetting that return customers are their life blood. See ya later, Brookstone. Gee, I hope you don't go out of business!

Responses

  • Th
    thel Aug 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    most of these complaints on this thread can be rationally explained. all of them hint that "user error" is at fault sadly. every time i contacted brookstone via phone, in person, or email they have been nothing but kind and generous.

    Infact i recently been in contact with their new section called axent wear, a new up coming company that is selling headphones at brookstone later this year. All my questions about the head phones were answered fast and satisfyingly. THE HEADPHONES ARE STILL IN DEVELOPMENT AND THEY ANSWERED EVERY QUESTION I HAD WITH THE SAME RESPECT AND KINDNESS I GAVE THEM.

    Moral is follow the rules, be kind, nice, and they will be nice back. if you try to cheat them by not following the rules [forget recipt, try and return after the return window] they have a right to refuse service.

    0 Votes
  • To
    ToddWJ Aug 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How is 30 days unreasonable?

    Lots of companies charge a return shipping fee.

    1 Votes
  • To
    ToddWJ Aug 28, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    How is the government changing Daylight Savings Time Brookstone's Fault?

    They sold you a product that works the way it was intended.

    If you want to be mad at someone try the government.

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    hatebrookstone Sep 22, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Be advised..do not shop at Brookstone. Their 30 day return policy make it virtually impossible to return any Christmas gifts ordered. Then if you purchase online, they expect you to pay the shipping to return it back. The agents are RUDE and refuse to let you escalate or make any exceptions. I spent hundreds of dollars and they didn't care to listen or keep my business.

    -1 Votes
  • Lu
    LuMan Jun 03, 2011

    i know.. MOST store require a receipt. Why would you think otherwise?? You have to prove YOU bought it. And that it WAS purchased Through Brookstone, Not Ebay or Amazon. Please, read the policy, ITS ON THE BACK ON ANY RECEIPT!! be Responsible man...

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    bookem Apr 29, 2010

    I have had mine for several months now, and both Frogs are fine. Mine did not come with a snail, and I don't think any of them do anymore. Did you clean the water at all? Using the wrong water could have killed them.

    1 Votes
  • Ba
    Barmigone Apr 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Terrible gift. the first two snails died within 30 days and barely over 40 days one of the frogs died. All I ever did was feed them the limited amount of food. No overfeeding. A simply awful item.

    -1 Votes
  • Gi
    giddywithexcitement Mar 05, 2010

    most stores require a receipt, this isn't really odd.

    0 Votes
  • Po
    Policer Dec 09, 2009

    Don't try to exchange anything at Brookstone without a receipt!! you will get a flat out NO!! I wanted to exchange an item that was still in the box and had never been open, but the sales staff said no, and when I called the costumer service dept. I got no help there either. I will never shop at brookstone again and I suggest we all boycott that store untill they change their return policy!!

    -1 Votes
  • Mj
    MJMCB Dec 07, 2009

    Brookstone...more like Crookstone !

    -1 Votes
  • Th
    THOROUGH RESEARCH Feb 22, 2009

    http://www.accessdata.fda.gov/scripts/wlcfm/resultswl_archive.cfm

    FDA wrote Sona Pillow manufacturer, Sleep Devices, Inc., a warning letter about the product. FDA also has a compaint on file regarding the Sona Pillow.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brett Jan 07, 2009

    Brookstone does not develop drivers for Ubuntu, Linux or Unix because they do not have enough of a market cap in our opinion to develop drivers for these OS.

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Asquith Dec 27, 2008

    We received a digital photo keychain for a gift but we have Ubuntu on our computer.Do you have a driver for Ubuntu?

    John Asquith [email protected]

    -1 Votes
  • De
    Dennis Sep 22, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I share the complaint of many others regarding Brookstone's deceptive advertising concerning the Sona Pillow. This complany is a total scam.

    -1 Votes
  • Valerie Sep 25, 2007

    Brookstone - www.brookstone.com

    Brookstone.com is the store, we purchased 2 storage boxes we had them for less than a month and they fell apart we sent them pictures and they will not honor a refund basically they said we are on our own, now we are out 600.00 hundred dollars.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.