Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Books Barton Publishing Fraudlent credit card charges

Barton Publishing review: Fraudlent credit card charges

S
Author of the complaint
1:44 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

These companies/web sites are running scam
Barton publishing
www.cureyourgout.com
www.wellnesswatchersmd.com
Please be careful if you want to buy something from them. They will rip you off and pass you credit information to each other for fraudulent charges.

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

More Barton Publishing complaints & reviews

Barton Publishing - Scam / Fraud
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Barton Publishing - fraud
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Barton Publishing - Passing on Credit Card Information
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Barton Publishing - Diabetes kit print only
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
Barton Publishing - Unauthorised Credit Card DEbits
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Barton Publishing - Natural remedies
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Barton Publishing - Refund
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
85 comments
Add a comment
P
Sep 30, 2017 3:04 pm EDT

I purchased two cans of the Almond Kisses in April. I saw it was for Passover but I held it to Rosh Hashana. My husband use to buy these I
on the lower side of Manhattan, many years ago. These two cans do not taste good at all and doesn't look good either. I kept it in a cool place and never opened the cans. At the bottom in red is 1H017VR. UPC #[protected] 3. I think I bought these as a memory and my daughter remembered her father bringing them home. The cans were not cheap and I am so very disappointed. I would love to be able to get these fresh again.

t
Thank you,
Mrs. Phyllis Better
801 Vly Pointe Dr.
Niskayuna, NY 12309
[email protected]

W
Dec 20, 2009 2:08 pm EST

Barton Publis charges me $5.50 every month and don't know what for ? unable to cancel this charge

M
Apr 22, 2009 2:13 pm EDT

I made a purchase from Barton Publishing in September 2008; paid for and obtained a receipt. Subsequently my Visa was billed in September for US$1.00; October '08 to April '09 at US$29.95/mth. Unfortunately I was not keeping a closer eye on my Visa and therefore missed these illegal charges. I called Wellness Watchers on 15 April and complained and only then did they cancel the illegal billing and credited me back with the April charge. So far they have refused to credit my Visa for the remaining US$180.70. This is unacceptable. What is more unacceptable is the fact that my Visa Co. refused to dispute and chargeback the illegal billings, further telling me that they would continue to process any new charges until I contacted the billing party to cancel the billings? Furthermore that if they issued me with a new Visa number that they would transfer any new charges to that Visa? What kind of crap is this?

WHO IS INTERESTED IN STARTING A CLASS-ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST WELLNESS WATCHERS MD AND BARTON PUBLISHING?

J
Mar 18, 2009 8:51 am EDT

I buy a book from barton publishing and after that i have a fraudulent charges to my account using my debit credit card. Well Watch debit $29.95 and $1.83 for service charge. Barton Publishing is passing the credit card information to this company for make a frudulent charges.

H
Apr 19, 2009 6:47 pm EDT

Like so many others around the world, I have had a decuction of $41.69 taken from my credit card by Welwatch, knowing I had not purchased anything from this company, I went into the internet to find they are linked with Barton Publishing, whom I had purchased a publication last year worth $29.99.

I will be visiting my bank this morning to issue an unauthorised payment and will be cancelling my card, to ensure Welwatch cannot access my account for future.

Y
May 07, 2009 4:15 pm EDT

I don't know where they are located. I filled out some forms yesterday, but it wouldn't accept my state of New Jersey. However, I had given my credit card but I did not receive the article on my computer which I think I bought for $20. Did they or did they not charge my card.? I am Yvette Cohen and my e mail is [email protected]

D
Oct 30, 2016 1:29 pm EDT

Joe, please explain something to me. I recently got a credit card with a bank and never used it. The bank called me and told me that I haven't paid my outstanding balance- the only charge was one from "Barton Publishing"... and I have never made a charge. I KNOW I have never used this card because I have meant for it to be a backup if ever needed, and now I have to deal with the bank too. How did you do that? The bank is taking action, so I won't request that you reverse the charge. However, I WAS very dismayed.

C
Apr 29, 2016 2:56 pm EDT

I received an email this week informing me that "as a courtesy" my credit card would be charged $57 for the annual Home Cures that Work membership. I had absolutely no idea what this was so I called the customer service number provided on the email. Turns out when I had ordered information on an Acid Reflux Solutions Kit for under $20 on April 28, 2011, I was automatically enrolled in the Home Cures that Work (HCTW) membership - whatever that is. Say what you want Joe Barton, I was never presented with an option to decline, deny, turndown, check no, nothing. Given benefit of doubt though, I may have actually received something on acid reflux (a download perhaps), but I have never received any information in any shape, form or fashion on HCTW - no email, no download, no mail, no letter, no book, no pamphlet. The customer service person advised me: (1) that I had been a member since April 2011, (2) that HCTW information had surely been provided, and (3) that my credit card had been charged this amount each April 28 since 2011. Shame on me for missing this underhanded, sneaky, slimy reaching into my wallet and pilfering of my hard earned money grab of yours, but good grief! Even if you weren't stealing (and you are), you know exactly what you're doing with these tactics and it's just wrong. You charge $57 on my credit card every year for FIVE YEARS. I'm sure I assumed the charge each year was perhaps for a book (publishing, right?) my husband or daughter had ordered. Ugh! I could just throat you! But I digress... back to never receiving ANYthing on HCTW... Mr. Customer Service said it wasn't hard copy, it was access to a website using a username and password. Again, I had no email about any of this but fortunately (or unfortunately) I have email that spans back to 2005. I combed every April email for the years [protected]. Nothing. Not a damn thing. The email I received this week as "a courtesy"? It was to prompt a call because my credit card had expired and you weren't able to fleece me again! While on the phone with Mr. Customer Service, I went to the website: www.homecuresthatwork.com. He said to enter my email address in both the user and password areas and what-to-you-know, I was in. Funny thing though, I was viewing what ANYone who visits the website can view! UGH, you lying ###! I was able to look at the payment history so I have a copy of all the times you (Burton Publishing) stole from me. I attached it for the world to see. This, along with copies of my credit card statements, I'll be sharing with authorities. I'm not sure who yet... BBB, local police, FBI. Mr. Customer Service is definitely in on your game too. I'm sure he fields these calls numerous times per day. He put me on hold several times, spoke with his "supervisor" several times, assured me it would be escalated several times, yada, yada, yada. Joe Barton, you and everyone who works for you is a thief. What a racket you run. What a scammer you are. You lying piece of crap, you will surely burn in hell.

J
Dec 02, 2015 8:52 am EST

Just saw this site while checking on the Diabetes reversal email I received. Glad I did! However, haven't you folks heard of Virtual credit cards? Citi cards and some others have an option you can use for online ordering, that lets you set the expiry date and the credit limit. Set a 2 month expiry date and a credit limit a few bucks over the price you are ordering, and that's the end of it. That card can only be used with that merchant, and with a low credit limit, they can't add more stuff. After you use it, you can also delete the card. The charge will show up on the account of the real card you tie it to.
Hope this helps

K
Jul 06, 2015 12:15 am EDT

Hello, yes, they still r doing it in 2015 cuz I just got charged from them and never enrolled in a membership with them. They're listing their name as Red US GDE which is when I looked it up, it's called Reductionguide.com or something in that category. So, everyone be aware. I called my Credit card Co. and if they don't block them or anything then I'll be sure to change my card rite away. They only charged me so far that I seen $19.95 but I'll be sure to check further into all of it since now I know and read up on it as well as looking it up too. So, be careful and don't do anything or even order from them. Nothing period cuz it's obvious that their a SCAM ARTIST, BIG TIME. Kathy.

T
May 31, 2015 5:26 pm EDT

Just go to a truly legitimate business like Amazon and stay away from Barton so called Publishing. They are a scam just trying to separate you from your money without a fair trade in return. A Modern Day Music Man of sorts.

T
May 31, 2015 5:22 pm EDT

Stay far away from Barton Publishing. The twice I've dealt with them. I've felt scammed because I was. The second time I bought a product I heard advertised on the radio and didn't know they were behind it until checkout. They have nothing to offer that you can't get elsewhere and they are just on the web to separate you from your money without trading for a legit product or service. Think modern day online Music Man or snake oil. Don't go near them or you'll regret it. They may be a legitimate business but you will not get a fair service or product at a fair price with them.

D
Mar 05, 2015 3:48 pm EST

Unfortunately, there is currently no cure or reversing of diabetes. Mike Huckabee and Barton Publishing are scamming and misrepresenting. Shame on them. They should be prosecuted and sued.

T
Mar 03, 2015 8:11 pm EST

Really hard to believe Gov. Mike Huckabee endorses this scammer. Very dis appointing

T
Mar 03, 2015 8:10 pm EST

It is really hard to believe Gov. Mike Huckabee endorses this scammer. Very dis appointing.

L
Feb 28, 2015 2:46 am EST
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I also checked the ad to see if there was any truth to their claims...sadly to say, I found none! I HAVE found cures for my high blood pressure, asthma and diabetes by searching online, and through natural medicine sources. I went from a BP of 170 plus down to 115 by using over the counter C0-Q10. My doctor was surprised but happy to pass the word on to others! I had hypoglycemia for years and a doctor(?) said I needed to take diabetes medicine, which just gave me side effects, but didn't work either. Stop using sugar and processed foods filled with sugars, and you WILL get off diabetic meds! It is free, just requires dedication and work! The best book on the market is Prescription for Natural Cures, by James Balch, M.D. and Mark Stengler, N.D. Their book is WORTH the price, and has several natural methods to stop acid reflux, diabetes, and many other ailments. As psychotherapist, I have recommended the sugar and processed food cures for childhood hyperactivity and behavior problems, rather than Big Pharma meds. We have all the help we need for naturally healing the body if we pay attention and use natural products wisely. Lori Volkers, [email protected]

J
Jul 31, 2009 10:51 am EDT

I want to cancel my order. There is no way to unsubscribe to this company.

B
Mar 17, 2009 8:46 pm EDT

Multiple credit card charges from one transaction. Very difficult to get refunds

A
Feb 26, 2009 9:40 pm EST

To whom it may concern

I recently bought a book on Prostate Secrets from Barton Publishing on the 28th of January 2009, since than I have been charged by Wellness watchers as well for some unknown reason which I have not authorized. The charged Items are listed below.

28-Jan-2009 VISA PURCHASE (OS) BARTONPUBLISHING.COM 6168O $62.51
29-Jan-2009 VISA PURCHASE (OS) WELWATCHMD8005916383-V 6168O $2.84
24-Feb-2009 VISA PURCHASE (OS) WELLNESSWATCHERS MD 6168O $47.96

The first charge, I will accept, but the other two dated 29/January and 24/february I will not.

Please investigate why this has been charged to my visa card and please have the money refunded

Kind Regards
Andrew Westerman

e-mail Address... [email protected]

M
Oct 15, 2013 9:41 am EDT

I ordered the Joe Barton Diabetes Reversal Guide from Barton Publishing on like through a download for $19.95 and adhered to the program with fantastic results. My doctor was prescribing insulin and I was willing to do anything to prevent that. My A1C went from 9.2 to 5.8. My daily checks from 400 to under 100 (as low as 82). My triglycerides from a high of 16000 to 137 and my cholesterol from 1000 to 87. I have lost 35 pounds and am at present 195 with 20 pounds to go (height 5'10"). I have the bold work to prove it. I have my personal physician to back it. I did it with her approval and though she doesn't seem to like the fact that I am able to get off the prescriptions the numbers cannot be denied. I am 100% satisfied and hope all in need of help will try it. I'm glad I did and only read all the negative while recommending the report for a friend..

I
Sep 20, 2013 1:54 am EDT

I ordered a download from Joe Barton and also the book of the same Acid Reflux Solution Kit. The download came through and I was told that the book would take 7-10 days. The book never arrived so I e-mailed asking when I could expect it. I got an auto response saying that someone would contact me within 2 days. Of course nobody did contact me and I sent e-mail after e-mail to them and kept getting the same 2 days and someone will be in touch back. Yesterday I actually got a reply saying they had reshipped the book and it would arrive within 7-10 days. Now this is how dumb these people are, they said it was sent on the 7th of September which is 10 days ago. I realise I wont get a book so for the last week or so have been asking for my money back. The download is a dud it doesn't do anything for Acid Reflux. I told them that even if they did contemplate sending the book not to as their cure doesn't work. They did offer a money back guarantee when I purchased. Along with the purchase they offered insurance which I took. When I asked them how I access the insurance they would give no reply so I guess it was another way to get more money from me and there is no insurance. I am now concerned about being charged for other stuff I didn't order as it seems that is the way they do business. I definitely didn't sign for anything else. I will keep you informed. To anyone planning to deal with Joe Barton I say stay away, there are good people out there you can trust, this is not one of them.

R
Aug 29, 2013 1:27 pm EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

ordered and didn't recieve a thing wished I would have seen this site first

B
May 30, 2013 2:28 pm EDT

Thanks for the "heads-up" before purchasing. I was intrigued about the acid reflux cure, but didn't know the same person had also discovered "cures" for other ailments. Thanks for saving me the headache...even if I do still have to live with acid reflux.

M
Feb 02, 2013 12:05 pm EST

This web-site browbeats one into submission! Immediately after signing up for their initial offer, I was unable to get access to my bank account. My son (who knows about computers) said that I had been 'hijacked" and to take my Mac to the Mac store and have them uninstall and then re-install Safari. Then, this morning when I turned on my computer, a porno ad came up. I have been on-line since the first Mac all-in-one console with the 8" screen came out, and have never had this happen before! I am going to the 'genius' at Mac today and begin watching my bank account like a hawk! I wish I had seen the complaints before I fell for Barton's legitimate sounding sales pitch! M. Trueblood

C
Sep 14, 2012 12:37 pm EDT

I am so sorry that I didn't read these blogs before clicking the order button. He promised to charge 2.97 for a download. I down loaded and then it disappeared. I then immediately got TWO charges for $34 on my card. I am so glad I have read these. This guy is a major SCAM ARTIST. Be careful, everyone. I am going to cancel my credit card and report him to the bank. Someone needs to report him to the FBI because, otherwise he is going to keep on coming up with more and more ways to scam people. By the way, when you call Barton publishing, guess who answers? Joe himself. I guess Barton publishing is a little one-man operation run out of his living room.!

J
Aug 04, 2012 3:54 pm EDT

a very similar scam-same cartoony spiel for 75% saving of power by building solar panels for $200 -WATCH OUT-they sound so convincing!

J
Jul 06, 2012 10:26 pm EDT

The video intrigued me, so I thought I would research before purchasing. What I find curious is there are no mixed reviews - all bad. Clearly I am not buying it. It is too bad the are not honest is their dealings. It could have been helpful in my quest to regulate my sugar levels.

E
Jul 05, 2012 11:38 am EDT

Scam. Will not answer e-mails. Has terrible record with BBB, and I reported to Federal Trade Commission for what it is worth. Some one needs to DO SOMETHING about these crooks! They took me for $51.07! The only answer I received from them they stated they shipped the order but it got lost so they reshipped! Ha Ha! That was 2 months ago! How do these people, I use that term loosely, keep getting rich at our expense day after day and nothing ever happens to THEM! Somehow they know nothing will happen to them. Enough said!

Hwang He : Barton Publishing is registered with the BBB

S
Jun 25, 2012 8:46 am EDT

I ordered the High Blood Pressure kit from them OVER A MONTH AGO. After the first time they failed to ship me my kit (or as they say the post office magically lost just their shipment TWICE!). I called back and a representative told me that would they expedite the shipping and give me a tracking number so that I could track this package.

NOPE, instead I get a series of nonchalant, non caring emails from Brandi stating it's been shipped regular speed with NO TRACKING NUMBER. NO PROOF!

Well, it's been OVER A MONTH now and STILL NO PACKAGE. I called in telling them that I've been given two months to lower my blood pressure and that this is life threatening. My blood pressure is at 160/120 at rest. This is dangerously high and I am relying on their miracle natural cure to help me manage my condition. Meagan, the manager refused to ship to me UPS even if I payed! THEY DON'T CARE!

I have an 8 month baby girl I want to live for. BARTON PUBLISHING COULDN'T CARE LESS!

S
Jun 15, 2012 9:18 am EDT

We all need to be careful with legitimate transactions, but this smelled real bad as soon as I clicked the site. I ALWAYS check out
Complaints Board before I do anything online, and once again they saved my bacon.. As for Mr. Barton, I believe we will read about him one day being sentenced to jail. JMHO! Great Job CB!

W

I am so glad I checked this site. I am worried now that I did not do it in time as I had already entered my Credit Card info. I was thrilled to find his site as the medications from the Dr. are not working and causing a lot of side effects plus not working. Has anyone found an honest company with this same information? I would certainly appreciate that information! You can contact me at [email protected] If I find one I will post it here. The information must be out there elsewhere! Thanks

L
May 10, 2012 7:50 am EDT

I am so glad I found this site before buying the High Blood Pressure Kit. I almost did it but thought, "maybe there's a review site for Barton Publishing". I think I will do my own research and save the pain I may have encountered by falling for the multiple upsells this company obviously does to customers.

H
Apr 07, 2012 6:42 am EDT

To Joe Barton,
Join the Better Business Bureau if you really want to represent yourself as an honest and fair business.

F
Mar 29, 2012 2:31 pm EDT

How can it be that Joe Barton has found a simple, natural cure for not one, not two but THREE chronic conditions so many people suffer from ? Just reading thru the posts on this board Joe Barton (obviously not a real person) has found cures for Diabetes, Gout and Acid Reflux...REALLY? I almost fell for it but decided to check around first. Who knows how many other conditions Barton Publishing has claimed to have the 'cure' for. Notice, this company is not called Barton Health or Barton Natural Remedies...its called Barton PUBLISHING...they are in the business of selling books and ebooks - an making a ton of money. "Joe Barton" claims that the Pharmaceutical companies are ripping us off...well, maybe or maybe not...but Barton Publishing is no better.

J
Mar 27, 2012 10:54 am EDT

I listened to the whole Joe Barton Get rid of Diabetes Naturally presentation got all the way to the end to click on purchase the online media for 2 payments of $7.00 and stopped. I then opened another browser and Googled "Diabetes Solution Kit and found listed 5 ingredients that help lower blood sugar. Are they the items listed in Barton's online media package "Diabetes Solution Kit" don't know, then I googled Barton Publishing and found all the complaints listed regarding Joe Barton and his company. I am glad I did not buy the online media and get involved with Barton Publishing. I was burned once by Great American Readers who basically did the same thing lure you in and then after a bit call you to give you a better deal or less payments and get you to approve another order instead of what you think is happening replacing the orginal order with the new one. When you see they are double billing you and you call back you are told you can't be transferred to the person in Sales that you originally talked to.even though you have their name. I had to cancel my bank card to get rid of them charging my account.

C
Mar 11, 2012 4:24 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Thanks so much for your complaints, have learned to check out products online first, whether advertised online or TV, this site has saved me lots of time and money so far, and this ### was next in line for my money! BLESS the people who respond to this site with feedback to help others not be scammed, and BLESS the people who run this site! This is what the internet was created for, to join people together in a collective voice to help change the world! That's what's happening here, we can stop the Joe Bartons of the world together! Thanks to everyone for saving me from this CREEP! And yes I know you Joe Barton, you son of a ###, you are every evil ###, con artist who preys on the elderly, sick, and the weak, and no torture would be good enough for all the misery you have personally caused on this earth. How you could look yourself in the mirror knowing what you do, if there is a Hell, you are at the top of the list with Hitler and the likes. Not that I would compare you with Hitler because I have more respect for Hitler, as horrible as he was, at least Hitler believed in what he was doing no matter how warped his thinking was. YES YOU ARE WORSE THAN EVEN HITLER! Whether or not there is a Hell, I firmly believe that what you do in life comes back around full circle, so get ready Barton, you're time will come! Good luck to all of you who have been scammed by this lowlife!

P
Feb 19, 2012 10:16 pm EST

This is a letter to Joe Barton, just in case he or anybody in his company reads what is posted on this site. I just listened to a very long presentation about The High Blood Prssure Solution Kit and at the end saw the two order options, one for an online download and a more expensive one for online plus mailing of hard copies of everything. For some reason, I decided to search the name of your company, and I came across this site (and another) with all these compaints about how you do business.
I had figured that $39.95 (I think it was that amount) would be money well spent if it did all that it was advertised to do. But now I am hesitant to go ahead with the order. I certainly do NOT want to be hooked up with other offers and other charges. I have an idea, why don't you send me the entire kit by mail, on approval, and give me a certain period of time, say 60 days, to see if this is well worth the $39.95, and if I feel it has been helpful, I will send you a personal cheque, or a postal money order if you prefer, for the entire amount ? I will see if I can find a "Contact" link on your company website and send you this same message.

M
Feb 17, 2012 4:30 pm EST

Wow I had all my credit card information on there order page and was getting ready to hit enter and stopped to check out this company online. I'm glad I did because you all saved me a lot of time, money and hassle. I really wanted the Diabetic kit and still wish I could get it but now I don't trust the company. I know there are natural remedies that work. I work with a guy that took cinnamon pills and watched his diet and it worked for him. I just figured if there were more natural remedies I want to try them. I'll have to find a better source. Thank you all for posting your information because I would have hit send otherwise. Like the gentleman said earlier send me the kit by email and if it works I too could sell many for you. My email is [email protected]

H
Jan 10, 2012 11:42 pm EST

It is amazing that this Barton character is still in business to rip people off. thank God for this web site. It is alway food to check up on a company you are not familiar with before giving them you credit card # on a web site. Creveat emptor! (buyer beware)

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

63 complaints
39 resolved 24 unresolved

Barton Publishing contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
PO Box 50, South Dakota United States
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT