ADVERTISIMENT

The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Aldipoor food quality

This is a copy of the letter that I sent to Aldi's Corporate HQ:
Aldi
www.aldi.com
2080 Main Street
Batavia, IL [protected]

November 27, 2009

To Whom It May Concern:

My husband and I purchased some of your shrimp at the closest location to my home… 351 Logan Lane Baden, PA 15005. We made the first batch and I got so sick that I spent November 11th through November 15th in my local hospital. I had severe stomach cramping, diarrhea, nausea and vomiting. The attending ER doctor felt that I needed to be admitted. After all of the testing that was done, the doctors were baffled as to what was wrong with me…. Stomach cramping, diarrhea, vomiting, and just a complete sense of nausea. It was no wonder why one of the Head Gastroenterologists said that since all of the tests came back inconclusive, he said that it was a virus. Commonly misdiagnosed with food poisoning.

Gee, I wonder who is going to be picking up the “tab” of that stay at my local “Club Med”. Lord knows, I needed a vacation, but I was hoping I would be sitting back at the beach in FL, not hitting my nurse call button on my adjustable bed in a shared room. And having my family in an uproar about my inconclusive “condition”. I am highly upset about this and I am wondering what steps to take next.

Being released from the hospital AND not correlating my symptoms with food poisoning we had another package of your shrimp in the freezer. On November 24th my husband and I decided to make it…low and behold, guess who was back in the bathroom up all night vomiting into a trash bin beside her bed…Yup, it was me…. Needless to say, now I know what all the common symptoms of food poisoning are.

I have a package of Flounder that I was going to make, but I am going to return that package and I really hope that the manager does not give me any problems…. I would hate to have to draw the media into this mishap.

I hope that this problem gets rectified. I have seen some of the same complaints about ALDI’s food on some websites and I have decided to stop shopping at ALDI completely. As well as staging a complete boycott. I hope to hear from you soon, or once the medical bills start to roll in, you will be hearing from my lawyers.


I had a horrible experience and I literally went through my cupboards and fridge and got rid of everything from ALDI and I checked and double checked dates for all of my other foods.

I hope that no one else has an experience like I did. It sucked.

poor food quality

ADVERTISIMENT

Responses

  • Ha
    Happy_Shopper Mar 30, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I love Aldi's and have been shopping in their New Haven, Connecticut store for several years. Most of the products they carry are great quality at fantastic prices. Employees there are, for the most part, pleasant and very customer oriented and it's a pleasure to shop there. Just like any supermarket some of the items they carry aren't so great...so I don't buy them again.
    We've used Folger's Instant coffee for years and was pleasantly surprised that Aldi's Beaumont Instant Coffee tasted just about the same as the Folgers for way less money. BUT RECENTLY SOMETHING HAS CHANGED. I opened a new jar today and made my cup of coffee as usual. I could not drink it; IT HAD A TERRIBLE CHEMICAL TASTE. So sad because it had been really good coffee. Am going to return the 4 jars I bought, including the one I've opened. Wondering if anyone else has noticed a quality difference recently.

    1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • El
    eli5 Dec 17, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got an Aldis Pepperoni Pizza for dinner and the next day I felt sick.
    I got sick at work aroind noon and passed out and was turning blue and my blood pressure was really low. Ambulance took me to hospital and they said it was probably a virus. Next day I had non stop diarrhea almost like preparing for a colonoscopy. I still have half a pizza in the refrigetator. Is there a place I can take it to see if this was the cause? Only other thing I ate after that was sausage patty and english muffin also from aldi but since package was used for a few days and I didnt feel sick those days. But I have heard that you usually get sick right away and it was about 15 hours afterwards so I am not positive if it was the pizza.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Aj
    AJMO249 Jul 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Aldi's water stinks

    -1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Aj
    AJMO249 Jul 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The flavored water variety pack has a sewage like STANK SMELL!
    I believe that it has bacteria mechanisms and also is not good for the urinary tract system. All these mistakes that variety flavored water off the shelves it can't be good for anybody Point Blank. It stinks really bad!

    -1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Al
    aldiisgross Mar 04, 2015

    I just purchased their bell peppers that come in a three pack. I had the same reaction, I also had gastroenteritis. Aldi has crap quality food. I will never shop there again. Disgusting.

    -1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Pi
    Pixel Spacebag Jan 07, 2015

    "When I took the first one back I was given a really horrible woman who told me it was my fault "I must have left it out of the fridge." She is a blond woman mid 30 and a real ### altitude."

    ### altitude huh? So, does her attitude get worst in the mountains? I don't follow.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Pi
    Pixel Spacebag Jan 07, 2015

    "i bought a jar of Tuscan Garden Spanish Olives and bit into a pit, they are pitted olives and i chipped my tooth, what am i to do?"

    um. see a dentist?

    6 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Mi
    Michael888 Nov 14, 2017

    @Pixel Spacebag Why are you such a [censor]?

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Pi
    Pixel Spacebag Jan 07, 2015

    "But today my daughter opened up a bag of fit 'n active rice cakes and found something that looked liked a maggot."

    You know what looks like maggots? RICE

    4 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Pi
    Pixel Spacebag Jan 07, 2015

    "Being released from the hospital AND not correlating my symptoms with food poisoning we had another package of your shrimp in the freezer. "

    How stupid are you?

    6 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Tr
    TrashyTreasures Sep 23, 2014

    I've never shopped at Aldi's. I found a budget friendly shopping list on Pinterest and was all excited to go, til I read some of these comments. My fiancé is currently the only one of us working, so every penny counts. That being said, I've shopped at big y, shop rite and stops shop for years. Once in a blue moon, something I've bought had been bad. I think this happens everywhere. I think I'm still gonna try Aldi's. If I have a bad experience, I just won't go back.

    1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Nd
    ndeden Jun 08, 2014

    Good Americans you know that the no Name Products are produce from Big Companys like Kraft, Müller Joghurt, Zott Alpenhain, Bahlsen and many more. its an Secret who really Produce for Aldi. All these Brands you can buy at Wallmarkt for a lot of money and its Gourmet because its expansive. The founder Theo and Karl Albrecht Thats why it calls Aldi = Albrecht Discount only buy best Quality Products,
    If somebody don't like a taste of something it's okay i also don't like everything, but i don't believe that Aldi sell smelled Chicken.
    Also i did bye rice at Wallmarkt and it was full of flys so is not the complete system of Wallmarkt gulti???? Of course not.


    And Robyn317 if you shop 20 yearsat Aldi and now you are disappiontet because of one maggot???? I am Sure the plastic bag was broken...


    I will still shop at Aldi its 20-30% Cheaper and Germany has a very strict rule about food production,

    4 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ce
    CECIL GILREATH Feb 07, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I WAS USING MAXWELL HOUSE COFFEE. I BOUGHT BEAUMONT COFFEE IN TIN. 33.9 OZ CLASSIC ROAST MEDIUM I HAVE NEVER TASTED COFFEE THAT BAD. I ENJOY COFFEE AT IHOP AND SONIC. THEY ONLY HAD 1 BRAND OF COFFEE. I DONT THINK ANYONE THAT BOUGHT IT WOULD EVER BUY IT AGAIN.

    -3 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Pi
    pissed off 83!!!! Jul 02, 2013

    I recently shopped in the Woodbury NJ, Aldis store, i bought about $50 worth of food and was very happy with how much i came home with until i went to cook the next day and realized the green peppers i bought were disgustingly rotted and smelled on the inside!!! now i never had an issue with the produce nor any product from there but i was very upset because i already began cooking and was unable to leave and go back to the store which in the end had to throw out what i was cooking and start a new meal which didn't require green peppers i did call the store and spoke to a manger who told me that how do they know i didn't purchase it at another store or had them for a while !!! i said WOW really i have a receipt and the package and the rotted product resulting in there is nothing they can do
    !!!...now yes i saved money in the beginning but in the end i threw it in the trash.. i wont be returning to that store unfortunately

    1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • edward1 Apr 10, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    it is not ALDI it is every shop and food outlet
    so be careful what you put within your system,
    in Europe horse meet and pigs meat, we can t trust anybody or any food source anymore, is it time to go back to olden days of live on your land and harvest your own ???!!

    -1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ro
    Robyn317 Apr 10, 2013

    I have shopped at Aldi for 20 years. My husband found spider webby things in the package of one of the granola bars. I thought it must have been opened. But today my daughter opened up a bag of fit 'n active rice cakes and found something that looked liked a maggot. As much as it hurts me, I will have a very hard time buying anything packaged at Aldi again.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ca
    CathyV Mar 14, 2013

    I have been shopping at Aldi's for a couple of months now. I admit, our shopping has been limited to mostly dry pasta, canned fruit, spices, flavored water, cheeses, bread and fresh produce. I have never had a problem with any of the items purchased there. I haven't tried any of Aldi's dressings or condiments yet, which is how I stumbled upon this page hoping to see what other consumers thought of those products. I like Aldi's!!! They've been a HUGE help in these tough economic times!!!

    6 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Jl
    jllybean143 Oct 10, 2011

    First of all: You have to BUY or BRING your own bag. If you need to BUY of their bags its only 6 cents!!! Thats how ALL ALDIS WORKS.
    Second: If the milk was leaking, the cashier would not have let you buy it. Your fault.
    Third: They do have a contact phone number on their website [protected].
    Fourth: You're a [censored] for being ignorant.

    4 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Jo
    johncumberland Oct 03, 2011

    I just went to Aldi for the first time in my life. I had heard great things about Aldi and I was really looking forward to the experience.

    Unfortunately, my experience was one that I would rather forget.

    I bought 2L of Milk and 4 x Irish Ciders.

    Seems simple enough - well these are my complaints:
    1. They didnt give me a bag. How was I to hold all these items?
    2. I laid the milk on the back seat of my car. The bottle was not sealed properly, milk spilled on my backseat (had they have given me a bag to put my milk in then the milk would not have spilled on my back seat!)
    3. Their website does not have anywhere that customers can complain via email (hence I am complaining here).

    Not Happy Aldi!

    -5 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • An
    angelzblue May 10, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i bought a jar of Tuscan Garden Spanish Olives and bit into a pit, they are pitted olives and i chipped my tooth, what am i to do?

    -4 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Al
    alieo!!! Oct 14, 2010

    Hmm.. i came to this page just surfing the net because tonight
    oct, 14th, 2010 i open a new carton of Nature Nectar orange juice
    from ALDI and there was a bug in it. I have tried to give this store
    a chance but " thats it ", plus i get an after taste in some of the
    box foods and bread. It's a great idea to charge less for food but i wonder where the food comes from to give off such a great price.:)

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Po
    positive minds Oct 14, 2010

    ok.. to all of the "NEGATIVE PEOPLE OF THE WORLD, THAT IS CONSTANTLY LOOKING TO BLAME SOMEONE"...
    I have shopping at Aldi in North Carolina, and for the most part have had NO problems...the prices are GREAT, most of the staff are nice, the lay-out of the store is easy to work with, the food is great quality, (most of the time, better than American brands)...and I really enjoy the whole concept of the staff working harder than Wal-mart or Food-Lion, and saving the consumer money at the same time...Alot of people do not see half of what the staff actually does..most do not realize that the company pushes them to do a good job, and do it fast...They just see that the cashiers "SIT DOWN", and so therefore; they assume that this is an "easy job"... But it's not...So I applaude the staff for their hard work, when it's saving me alot of money!!! Alot of people also forget, that they are not paying the "HIGH PRICES" of Harris Teeter, Food-Lion, Lowe's Foods, and other markets!!! So again I applaude them for what they do !!!

    3 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • La
    Labrador07 Oct 08, 2010

    I have had to return two food items to Aldi's in the last couple weeks. One was the Fit & Active mini cupcakes, two times we found what looked like spider webs around one of them, and today we had to take back some blue corn tortilla chips, they smelled like drywall, which I know sounds funny but it did. We took it back and got another bag, which at first my husband did not want to do. The manager, both times was very nice, I could not say that for the other people working there, they did not make us feel comfortable at all, kind of like there was something wrong with us for bringing something back. The manager said that the seal on the chips had been compromised, really saying that it was not a food quality issue, it must have happened during shipping. If we find one more thing, we are going to stop shopping at Aldi's, and I really hate to do that because there are many things that I do like and their prices are the best.

    0 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Tammy Weyler Aug 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hello S tacey,

    I am not discounting the fact that you got sick from eating the shtimp, I am merely just asking you if it had been food poisoning wouldn't your husband have gotten sick also, I mean at least 1 of the 2 times you both consumed the shrimp he should have gotten sick also. I am with goodjump on the fact that it is more likely that you were allergic. I have had the fresh meat from Aldi quite a few times and it was delightfull each time.
    P.S. Sorry that you got sick and I am glad you feel better.

    1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Ka
    Katja Brown Jan 31, 2010

    My dog got sick with diarrhea and vomiting after eating Shep's dog food with beef chunks and sauce.

    -1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Hh
    hhhfvhgf Dec 14, 2009

    Hi,
    I am in Tweed Heads South and have got chicken from the Aldi Store here 3 times that have a bad smell. When I took the first one back I was given a really horrible woman who told me it was my fault "I must have left it out of the fridge." She is a blond woman mid 30 and a real ### altitude. After the second one I just they it away. The third one I also chucked and will never buy chicken from Aldi again.
    It would be nice if they had a email address where I could speak to them. Ah well there loss.
    Cheers, Dennis.

    1 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
  • Go
    goodjump Nov 29, 2009

    You can't send letters like this unless you have evidence to back it up. Should have gotten the shrimp tested. Did you think you had an allergic reaction? Hundreds of people eat that shrimp and don't get sick. I hope you do get lawyers. They will just laugh in your face. Poorly written letter by the way.

    -2 Votes
    Cancel
     
    Submit
Comment Guidelines

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit
    ADVERTISIMENT

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.
    ADVERTISIMENT