Access Americatravel insurance

This company is worthless. Complete disregard for the consumer. I had
1) a medical issue that made traveling difficult compounded by
2) an airplane mechanical issue that would have necessitated my staying overnight at JFK or a hotel nearby.

I had two legitimate claims. Claim was denied.
I have spent 6 months submitting and re-submitting paper work. My physician has written and submitted two different forms (as if she has nothing better to do). She's astonished that (at best) Access America is incompetent or (at worst) corrupt, a scam.

I think they have a 'war of attrition' going on. If they can just 'lose paperwork', delay response, 'lose paperwork' AGAIN, eventually we'll just go away.

I've got news for you, Jeff Hyman, VP of Customer Relations: I'm not going away.

Responses

  • Dd
    ddd Oct 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Do not make the same mistake as me and get Access America insurance when you book a trip on Orbitz. Worst customer service, refusal to pay a claim, relentless re-interpretation of the language of the contract to avoid paying a claim, very long delay in reviewing claims, and angry phone operators who don't let you state your point.

    Avoid at all means.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LII Aug 20, 2009

    They DO NOT PAY! They would request more and more forms until you drop the claim. It's a shameful scam!

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    julie.kang1 Feb 05, 2010

    I've already complained to:

    1. Attorney General Office in Virginia because the company is based in Richmond.
    2. The California Insurance Bureau (that's where I'm based).
    3. The Better Business Bureau

    There is only one way to deal with these companies -- which is to take action. I cannot tolerate companies that take advantage of people in tragic times. Please take action as well. Maybe collective we can stop this from happening again.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scuba Apr 21, 2010

    I also had a problem with them and they refused a refund. Not only did I personally contact Christoper Elliott, the "Travel Troubleshooter", who has a national column in major newspapers, etc. I also tracked down the CEO of Access America, and the CEO of Orbitz where we initially bought the tickets, and the insurance. Low and behold, when they figured out that I was not going to "go away", they refunded my money.

    The contact email for Christoper Elliott the Travel Troubleshooter is: [email protected]

    The CEO of Access America is Johnathan Ansell, his secretary's name is Deborah Waters, her email is: [email protected]

    If you purchased your tickets originally thru Orbitz, which alot of people did, because they must be loosely affiliated with this company, their CEO is Bernard Harford, the email contact I have is: [email protected]

    Good Luck to anyone who reads this information, I hope it helps serve justice for this type of corrupt behavior!

    0 Votes
  • Kp
    kpawlewi Jun 29, 2010

    comment

    -1 Votes
  • De
    DEBBIE M. Jun 07, 2011

    THE SAME THING IS HAPPENING WITH ME. IT HAS BEEN FOUR MONTHS SINCE MY SON'S DOCTOR TOLD HIM HE COULDN'T GO ON A TRIP ONE WEEK BEFORE THE TRIP. I HAD PREEXISTING CONDITION ON MY POLICY BUT NOW THEY ARE SAYING SINCE I PUT A DEPOSIT ON THE TRIP 19 DAYS BEFORE I PURCHASED THE POLICY INSTEAD OF 14 DAYS THEY ARE DENYING THE CLAIM. I HAVE BEEN GOING BACK AND FORTH SENDING THEM INFO AND NEVER ONCE DID THEY MENTION THIS REASON WHICH WAS ALWAYS PRESENT. WHEN I PURCHASED THE POLICY NO ONE ASKED ME IF I HAD PUT ANY MONEY DOWN ON THE TRIP. IF THEY DID I WOULD NOT HAVE PURCHASED THE POICY, WHY WOULD I PURCHASE SOMETHING THAT WOULDN'T BE VALID. THIS COMPANY IS A SCAM. I RECOMMEND THAT EVERYONE STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suvkix Jul 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Access America refuses to pay legitimate claims for canceled trips. Select another travel insurance company if you can. They use stalling and fine language tactics to refuse to pay claims.

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    AAHelpTeam Aug 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dear @suvkix,
    Access America’s Help Team here. I’m sorry to hear you are frustrated with your travel insurance. I don’t know the details of your case, but please remember that travel insurance is like any other type of insurance, in that there are terms, conditions and exclusions that affect coverage. We provide a list of covered reasons in the insuring policy, which we encourage all customers to review when they receive it. Plus, we offer a 10-day free look, with the opportunity to cancel the policy at no cost if it doesn't meet your needs.

    You may want to check out articles and resources on travel insurance, like this one: http://bit.ly/dZ683i. Please email us at [email protected] so we can find out more about your case and we’ll be back in touch.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grn1 Dec 05, 2011

    also victim to the internet scams of hotwire and access america, these are the new usury companies that are ripping off consumers. the biggest airlines employ them to scam consumers. hotwire are lazy, rude, and competent thieves who will no doubt be on their knees soon.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    Access America Help Team Dec 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Access America’s Help Team here, and we’re sorry that you are frustrated. I don’t know the exact details of your case, but I I'd like to point out that travel insurance is like any other type of insurance, in that there are terms, conditions and exclusions that affect coverage. We provide a list of covered reasons for trip cancellation in the insuring policy, which we strongly encourage all customers to review when they receive it. And we offer a 10-day free look, with the opportunity to cancel the policy at no cost if it doesn't meet your needs. Please see our FAQs: http://bit.ly/b4T45T. Also worth noting are articles and resources on travel insurance, such as this one: http://bit.ly/dZ683i.
    If you’d wish to further discuss your case, please email us at [email protected] with your name and policy number so we can find out more.

    Thank you,

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurence Lasater Dec 20, 2011

    Access America is a total fraud. I bought this insurance and had to cancel because of severe flooding at my destination. Naturally, they denied the claim, saying the reason was somewhere on page 5 of the paperwork. I trusted that a company who American Airlines allows to sell directly on their website would be reputable. A big mistake on my part, as they have no intention of EVER paying a claim. Save your money.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    Access America Help Team Dec 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Laurence –

    Jackie from Access America’s Help Team here. Sorry to hear about your frustration. Please email us at [email protected] with your policy number if you have additional questions.

    All the Best,
    Jackie, Access America’s Help Team

    0 Votes
  • Ia
    iamherenow Dec 25, 2011

    Hi Laurence,
    I think you should be patient enough to solve your case with Access America before putting the companies name into mud. You bought an Insurance Package and cancelled it and then you want a claim? Doesn't make a dam sense.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jonell A. Ufer Jan 08, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    1/8/13
    I would like to contact Chris Elliott by mail or phone. I have a complalint against Travel Guard out of Stevens Point, Wisc.
    They denied me my claim. I have all correspondence between them and me along with medical records. Please contact me by phone at 651/482-9029. My name is Jonell A. Ufer at [email protected]
    Thank you.
    Jonell Ufer.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem