Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Acai Berry

Acai Berry review: fraud 55

J
Author of the review
3:24 pm EST
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Ordered the free trial 12/23/2008
both the acai berry and life cleanse
the confirmation code showed a debit to my checking account of 3.95 for the shipping for each product.
The target date for delivery was 12/30/2008

on 12/26/2008 the 3.95 was deducted twice.

By January 7, I have not received either product.

My account is being debited today $87.50 twice (the full amt of the free products)

According to Washington Mutual I can dispute this transaction tomorrow, but, I cannot cancel it today, unfortunately.
The woman at the bank tells me there have been a number of similar problems with this company.

There is a toll free number associated with the seller, visible on the banking statement, but it is not a working number.

surprise surprise.

So so so funny...really. (except that I'm furious). I NEVER do this...but I was bombarded with so much info about it, I just finally thought I'd try it.

Learned my lesson.

Update by julie
Jan 07, 2009 3:31 pm EST

thank you to the person that suggested calling FDW Labs [protected].
I just called them: I have been promised a refund, 7-10 days, she has cancelled my account, and is checking on the shipment that I did not receive. which I no longer care to receive.

I remember reading on the site that there was a 30 day trial period...she said it was 14, which happens to be today, so, they charged my account today. Fortunately, I had checked my account as a matter of routine, and saw the debit there. Perhaps she was easily able to cancel my account because it was the "14th" day.

It's worth a try. She gave me cancellation numbers and the same phone number reaches the billing department, where I'm told the refund is being processed.

Call them!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More Acai Berry reviews & complaints

Acai Berry - LB Envision Net Worldwide Ltd UK. 119
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Acai Berry - Accounting discrepencies and lies about free trials 49
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Acai Berry - Acai Berry &Free Trial& Scam 78
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Acai Berry - Stop want Refund of all money 111
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Acai Berry - Credit Card Charged without permission 5
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Acai Berry - Scam, Fraud, Bad Faith 2
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Acai Berry - Advertised FREE Sample's for JUST Shipping and Handling 3
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Acai Berry - Life Cleanse and Acai Berry returned to Trading Planet Ltd and no Refund 4
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
55 comments
Add a comment
C
C
clfairy
Chichester, GB
Aug 13, 2009 7:41 am EDT

i was also bombarded by many ads and thought i`d give in and try.
i recived the item as and was charged two sets of £3.74 and two sets of £1.50 for card charge.
now i`ve had two amounts of £74.47 come out with out my permission. there was nothing stating i had to be a member or pay more money. it was a free trial. i`ve been in touch with my bank who are going to question it and see if they can get my money back, but what if they dont? what do i do? thats alot of money i dont have.
my bank account has been frozen for the time being so i am without money all coz of this.

W
W
wisetoolate
, US
Jun 23, 2009 7:07 pm EDT

I had ordered only the Acai Berry without the colon cleanser. Received a call 2 days later telling me that I had to take both products for the free offer so told the agent on the phone to cancel the entire order. She hung up and I had the product 2 days later. This group bills immediately and it is next to impossible to get through to them.
The company keeps you on hold for 15-20 minutes - then disconnects you if you complain.
I have no idea if the product works or not since the warning not to take it if you have high blood pressure wasn't something I saw until the product arrived.
DO NOT BE TRICKED INTO TRYING THIS PRODUCT.

J
J
jetsilver
Augusta, US
Jun 19, 2009 9:36 pm EDT

The number to the company(Ac Berry Cycle) is [protected], they change their name from (Pure Berry Max) once you received your first order for $1.95. Tweety289 you have to get in contact with bank an notify them of the fraud on you account. Requesting a refund for the merchandise you didn't receive. Yes, this company is a fraud and you will never receive your merchandise

G
G
g zeunert
Glen Ellyn, US
Jun 16, 2009 2:45 pm EDT

I just got billed 87.13 and 39.95 for the "FREE TRIAL " free my foot.

K
K
kimnga2412
, FR
Jun 12, 2009 10:06 am EDT

Bonjour,

Heureusement j'ai vu vos messages, quand même après le paiement des 2 produits (je suis en France donc ça fait 8 Euros total). J'ai du téléphoné tout de suite à ma banque pour faire une opposition de ma carte bancaire donc ma carte est annulée. C'est le seul moyen pour bloquer le site arnaqueur. Je crois que je vais perdre 8euros mais ce sera mieux que 160 euros après 3 jours de commande sur net comme vous avez dit. Merci beaucoup pour nous avoir donné des nouvelles.

Kim

Hi,

I don't speak very well english but i'll try to write to you some sentences. I saw your message after i payed the two products then i called my bank immédiately to cancel my bank card (visa). It's only this way we can block this website to take us 160 euros (i'm in France) but i think i'll lost 8 euros of the commande. I'll say you the news in the next days. Thank a lot of your complaint.

Kim

G
G
gene
ste-agathe, CA
May 29, 2009 7:57 am EDT

Bonjour,
J'ai commandé 1 bouteille de chaque produit avec l'essaie gratuit. Premièrement, vu que je suis au canada le shipping ma couter: pour Acai berry : 17 $ et pour Colon Cleaner :7, 14$. Je me suis dit que ce n’était pas si pire quand même. J'ai reçu la bouteille de baie d'Acai mais je n'ai jamais reçu celle de nettoyeur du colon. Je me suis désinscris des deux compagnies la journée après avoir reçu ma bouteille de baie d'acai ( apres environ 5 jour de mon inscription) et pour cette simple bouteille j'ai été chargé sur la carte de crédit sans préavis d'un montant de 68.22$ et puis hier un autre montant de 92.33 est passé sur ma carte. Alors ma simple bouteille d'échantillons ma coûté 177.55$. J'ai contacté ma caisse pour leur dire que je n’avais pas autorisé ses paiements et elle m'a dit qu'elle ne pouvait rien faire. Quand j'ai regarder sur Internet j'ai bien vu que je n'étais pas la seul a m'avoir fait avoir. Alors oui peut-être que se sont de très bon produit, mais quand on commence la dedans on est pris avec tout ça parce que j'ai eu beau téléphoner et envoyer des courriels personne ne me répond.

Merci

Geneviève

C
C
cowgirl68966
overton, US
May 28, 2009 3:33 pm EDT

HOw do I report them to my credit card company? call the bank or what? They already took the 87.13 out of my account even after I had called and canceled my order. the bank said that if they dont call me back or get back to me that I can get them on a pergery charge. I wont be refunded any of my money which pisses me off, but they wont be able to take any more out of my account. Does anyone else have another Idea how i can get my money back?

R
R
Ruby
Fremont, US
May 26, 2009 7:10 pm EDT

I got caught on the same ad! They talk about the "FREE TRIAL" in large letters & no place visible do they say that you'll get charged in 14 days IF you don't call to opt out (cancel).

A number of companies are doing this same thing. One I went to, www.whiteningnow.com has the "14 day rule" info tied to a button that you have to push to bring up the "agreement".

If the companies were really HONEST, they'd have the 14-day rule there in print when you punch in your order!

D
D
DAVEN
SMITHS CREEK, US
May 14, 2009 2:06 pm EDT

NATURAL CLEANSE AND AC BERRY CYCLE ARE BOTH
RIP-OFFS THERE NUMBERS ARE 888-271-2458AND [protected] BOTH THE SAME COMPANY. CALL AND CANSEL YOUR CREDIT CARD WITH THEM THAN REPORT THERE ###'S TO YOUR CREDIT CARD COMPANY TO GET YOUR MONEY BACK. I THINK ALLOT OF THESE WEIGHT LOSS PRODUCTS ARE ALSO THE SAME COMPANY OPERA SHOULD CHECK OUT WHO SHE ADVERTISES ABOUT.

D
D
DAVEN
SMITHS CREEK, US
May 14, 2009 2:01 pm EDT

NATURAL CLEANSE, AC BERRY AND PROBULARY ALL THESE OTHER WEIGHT LOSS PROGRAMS ARE MOST
LIKELY THE SAME. [protected] AND [protected] ARE THE SAME COMPANY. COMPLAIN TO YOUR CREDIT CARD ALSO. NEXT TIME USE A PREPAID CREDIT CARD AND CUT THEM OFF.

S
S
scammed
northern cambria, US
Feb 20, 2009 1:47 pm EST

Life cleanse scammed me out of 90.00! I filled out the info. on the page then decided to not order it so I erased everything and backed out of the page. Now 2 months later I recieve a bottle of Life Cleanse and am told that I did order it and since I didn't cancel before the free trial period was up (didn't know it was ordered so how could I know I had to cancel?) I owe them a lot of money for nothing! I am sooooo pissed off. Then I tell my husband (computer analyst) what happened and he said you don't have to hit the submit button because they have it set up as soon as you finish putting your info. in it automattically sends the order in. Could have used that info. 2 months ago...

I
I
IdahoCindy
Post Falls, US
Feb 03, 2009 4:28 pm EST

LIFE CLEANSE & ACAI BERRY SCAM ALERT!

WARNING!

DO NOT ORDER THE LIFE CLEANSE OR ACAI BERRY OFFERING A RISK FREE TRIAL . . . . THIS IS A SCAM!

NOT ONLY DOES THE PRODUCT NOT WORK . . . THEY TELL YOU THAT YOU HAVE A 15 DAY TRIAL BUT YOU ACTUALLY HAVE 14 DAYS FROM THE DATE THAT THEY SUPPOSEDLY SHIP THE PRODUCT WHICH SKIMS 8 DAYS OFF OF THE “15 DAY TRIAL”. THEN, WHEN YOU CALL TO CANCEL, THEY TELL YOU THEY WILL CANCEL YOUR ORDER BUT, YOUR TRIAL PERIOD HAS EXPIRED SO THEY CHARGE THE ADDITIONAL $87.13 TO YOUR CREDIT CARD. SO THEY MAKE $90.00 OFF EVERY DESPERATE OVERWEIGHT PERSON WHO BUYS INTO THE “RISK FREE TRIAL” SCAM!

IF, WHEN YOU CALL AND FIND OUT YOU ARE 3 DAYS TOO LATE AND THEY HAVE ALREADY BILLED YOUR CREDIT CARD FOR THE $87.13, YOU SAY YOU WOULD LIKE TO SPEAK TO SOMEONE WHO CAN TAKE THIS CHARGE OFF YOUR BILL, THEY WILL PUT YOU ON HOLD FOR AN ETERNITY AND RUN UP YOUR CELL PHONE MINUTES HOPING YOU WILL HANG UP. AFTER 40 MINUTES AND 5 SECONDS, I FINALLY HUNG UP.

I HAVE TURNED THEM IN TO THE BBB.

D
D
devamfl
Tampa, US
Feb 02, 2009 8:22 pm EST

Complain to:

http://us.bbb.org/WWWRoot/SitePage.aspx?site=113&id=6cda12e2-5967-437f-876e-bd452a591b91

and retain any email and communication records.

M
M
Michigan Mom
Bad Axe, US
Jan 14, 2009 2:07 pm EST

Keep checking your account to make sure you get that refund!
After getting ripped off myself, I did some checking and many people have issued complaints that they were told they were to receive a refund, but never did! Check out www.callercomplaint.com. It opened my eyes!

I called today 1/14 and was told I would receive a confirmation email regarding my refund from the billing department in the next 48 hours. Sounds fishy. They wouldn't let me speak to a billing representative directly either...

Good luck to you.

K
K
Karen
Fayetteville, US
Jan 14, 2009 1:58 pm EST

I am sooo glad I found this comment! lol

I just checked my bank statement today and noticed that I was charged $87.13 2 days ago, and that I had been charged the same amount in december! I'm not sure how that payment had gotten by me, but I'm pretty sure it was because I was on vacation with my husband.

Anywho, I called the number [protected] and spoke to someone about cancelling my account. I am to be refunded both amounts of $87.13 within the next 7-10 days.

Those sleezy ###! It must have been in very small print somewhere that if you didnt cancel your account with them they would continue to bill you that amount every 2 weeks. jerks!

  1. Acai Berry Contacts

  2. Acai Berry phone numbers
    +1 (347) 987-4198
    +1 (347) 987-4198
    Click up if you have successfully reached Acai Berry by calling +1 (347) 987-4198 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Acai Berry by calling +1 (347) 987-4198 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Acai Berry by calling +1 (347) 987-4198 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Acai Berry by calling +1 (347) 987-4198 phone number
    +1 (347) 987-3880
    +1 (347) 987-3880
    Click up if you have successfully reached Acai Berry by calling +1 (347) 987-3880 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Acai Berry by calling +1 (347) 987-3880 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Acai Berry by calling +1 (347) 987-3880 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Acai Berry by calling +1 (347) 987-3880 phone number
  3. Acai Berry emails
  4. Acai Berry address
    650 Manhattan Ave., Brooklyn, New York, 11222, United States
  5. Acai Berry social media
  6. Rachel
    Checked and verified by Rachel This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 13, 2024