Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Social Media Platform Yelp.com Misrepresenting and cheating
Yelp.com

Yelp.com review: Misrepresenting and cheating 6

Y
Author of the review
4:52 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

To whom it may concern:

Do not advertise with yelp or yelp.com

There are 2 main reasons why you should not try to advertise with them:

1. the system does not work! promising 500 or 750 or 1500 counts of visibility does seem high to you at first, but the way they are rendering their software, the system "claims" to be generating over tens of thousands of searches per keyword - which they do not show you -, a vast number, that is legitimating the fact that your ad will appear only on 1% or less than the total searches.

So no matter how many times you search for yourself, you will not see yourself. and when you bring up this issue you will be advised not to search for yourself. cute.

And also - the thing they say where you can track your own searches - that does not go for the traffic generated for that keyword - it merely goes for the amount of shows they "claim" they have listed you.

2. the contract and the sales reps are contradicting!

This is important ladies and gentlemen; I have been doing business for over 12 years in several countries and I own several clinics.

If you sign a contract that tells you that you have to pay them for an additional 3 months after you cancel your account then that is what they will bill you.

Your sales rep will promise other cancellation policy alternatives, he will email you these things in writing, and he will also fax you customized agreements -

- however -

He will still come by to get you to sign the "standard" contract

- and ladies and gentlemen -

If you sign a contract in new york, you will end up paying the price.

= summary:
A system designed to cheat millions of their money with no results provided.

6 comments
Add a comment
J
J
Jose Cedillo
, US
Apr 13, 2016 12:25 pm EDT

This company, yelp inc., forces a business to pay for a year of service to remove incorrect information from all their partnered sites. - that's extortion, pure and simple, because the links to fix it go to them, instead of the actual site the incorrect info shows on. - and yelp doesn't give you control to change the info unless you pay them - they have three links on their partnered sites, for creating, changing, and claiming a website listing. - if you don't pay for a years worth of their "service" you are not allowed to change or remove any of the incorrect info. - I never put anything on any of the sites they partner with, but my incorrect business phone number showed, and I can't remove it, and yelp says they can't either, unless I buy an account, instead of just asking their "partner site" to remove it free - their partner, yellowmoxie.com yahoo.com google. foursquare. it goes on and on they don't want to remove it either, when I asked them. I have an abuse complaint pending, with their isp providers... i'll next go to the fcc,... the bbb.org site rates yelp "d minus"... not surprising.!... :-)... this is a bad company, and very unethical... so, it seems, yellowmoxie.com is too... stay away...!... maybe all the yelp partnered sites are as bad too, if they let this happen. someone please stop this.. how can they get away with this. my bill still shows $ 598 work that they stold from my sites. my pictures ugh. shameful

T
T
The Critical Update
Austin, US
May 13, 2013 11:34 am EDT

Unfortunately, I signed up for this after my sales person told me what I wanted to hear. I lowered my guard for a second and believed that they would work for me... of course, you know the rest. Since they are a public company now all they care about is getting people to sign the contract and then they get their money for 12 months. So far, I am on month two and have actually worst performance than when it was free... it's a shame. The positive side has been that they have been polite. It could be a whole lot worse if guess.

E
E
expatbrit
Clarkston, US
Oct 02, 2011 1:21 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Thanks Glenn and as we speak I'm rewriting my code to do exactly as you advise.

This scam artist company needs to be shut down as they not only remove good reviews but allow people that pay them to have legitimate bad reviews removed at will.

G
G
Glenn777
Flagstaff, US
Sep 21, 2011 2:49 pm EDT

ANNOUNCEMENT: 

We have recently implemented a system to outsmart yelp from hiding our filtered reviews:

Step 1- first of all, if you're advertising with yelp, stop doing so and shift that money to optimize your own web site instead

Step 2- have a graphic designer make a yelp badge that is placed on your web site. It should say "we have ... filtered and unfiltered reviews on yelp". 

Step 3- when a visitor clicks on the badge, it will go to another page ON YOUR OWN WEB SITE (instead of going to yelp's. (why help them get traffic and rank higher anyways)? 

Step 4- on this page have your graphic designer get a screen capture (picture) of all your filtered and unfiltered reviews and have them pasted together onto one page.

Now, all your reviews (filtered or not) will be visible to all your web site visitors. 

5- put a note on the top that says, "for your convenience we have placed all our filtered and unfiltered reviews on one page to see. If you'd like to go to our live yelp page, click here ..."

Make the whole page clickable to your live yelp page  so no-one will say you're trying hide something or to be dishonest 

Advantages of doing this: 

1- your visitors will stay on your web site instead of being directed to yelp's

2- your visitor can't click on your competitors 

3- no more being a slave to yelp's algorithm

4- yelp would not benefit from getting traffic from you and higher rankings on google 

5- this whole process cost us less than $150 to implement 

Just be sure to shift that $300 per month on yelp advertising and put it into KEYWORDS that people will search for. 

Please pass this along to everyone you know

M
M
massi.47@live.com
, US
Jun 27, 2017 2:35 pm EDT
Replying to comment of Glenn777

Yelp is an evil company, they were so stupid on the way they manage their company, money first, careless about anything else. If you don't listen to what they are asking for or don't do a highly cost ad with them, they will do everything that they can in order to destroy your business, by showing all the bad reviews and filter all the good reviews, just like what they did with massinos pizza. They even go on Google and spend a lot of money in order to try to take business from you and send it to your competition using EAT24.com which they bought couple years ago (evil doing and unfair to any human beings).
It is just a matter of time for Yelp to be sued and that is the only way for the CEO to stop this evil work.
Yelp came alive by paying people to go eat at all restaurants if that person puts a review on Yelp, and after few years and after they fed a lot of people, and managed every review on Yelp (filter what ever review they want and show what ever they want for any particular business), then they start calling all business and ask them to put ads on Yelp in order to get more business (which a lot of business did go for but others were disadvantaged if they couldn't afford to pay for a costly ad on Yelp).
If Yelp is fair with their business, they should do just like Google reviews, where Google show every consumer reviews for all businesses, with no filter.
YELP=EVIL, waiting to be corrected in a LAW SUIT.

M
M
massi.47@live.com
, US
Jun 27, 2017 2:49 pm EDT
Replying to comment of Glenn777

Kayla D.
Kayla D.
Aurora, CO
9 friends
10 reviews
1 photo
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Kayla D.
3.0 star rating 5/4/2017
I really like this place but they have disappointed me on more than a few occasions. I originally found Massinos when they left menus at the condo I used to live at showing they delivered. (The flyers were left illegally but that's a whole other issue, I don't live there anymore & I'm not the flyer police).

I ordered delivery several times and but then moved on when I got tired of my food taking [protected] minutes to arrive. The last straw was my order took close to 2 hours to arrive, was cold (despite being handed to me out of the insulated bag) & one of the pizzas was wrong (had chicken on it... I'm a vegetarian). I called and let them know about their error. They were very apologetic and made me a fresh pizza. I received it fairly quick but I still had to wait for the new one to arrive.

I recently moved closer to Massinos so I decided to give them another shot. Why, you are probably asking yourself? Because their food is tasty! I cannot attest to anything that contains meat but that's one thing I like about Massinos... plenty of non-salad options for vegetarians. I mean their salads are great but this girl is no rabbit lol. I do wish the eggplant parm had a better breading and it seems like they changed, as well as got skimpy with, the ricotta. The old ricotta was amazing!

I have had a decent experience with delivery since the return. I have ordered via the app, website and phone. I prefer online because the lady (manager?) who answers is generally lacking in customer service skills. Just a week ago I had to convince her that she, nor anyone else from Massinos, contacted me to let me know the original 45-60 minutes stated on my delivery confirmation was actually 60-90. She said she called "all of the faxed (online) orders. She did not call me. I had called her earlier & she said that she was just waiting for her driver to return so he could get my pizzas. I've got another 10% off waiting for me but I have to call the order in... My pizzas were ice cold but somehow my knots were still perfectly warm... one was shaped like a penis but it tasted fresh. Go figure.

Photo of Massino's Pizzeria - Aurora, CO, United States. I was not joking when I said one of my garlic knots was penis-shaped. I say they should rename them Garlic Naughty lol
I was not joking when I said one of my garlic knots was penis-shaped. I say they should rename them Garlic Naughty lol
I was not joking when I said one of my garlic knots was penis-shaped. I say they should rename them Garlic Naughty lol
Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Courtney B.
Courtney B.
Aurora, CO
26 friends
5 reviews
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Courtney B.
1.0 star rating 4/1/2017
Really upset... I will not eat here again... I would rather have Pizza Hut or Domino's... went to order online they charge you an online fee which I was not paying so I decided to call in my order.. The girl answered the phone saying "hello"...very unprofessional could not really understand her.. she told me 25 to 30 minutes for delivery it took almost an hour.. finally when the pizza gets here the guy is standing at my door just holding my pizza box... not in a warm bag to keep pizza warm ...I signed my receipt and put pizza on the table and start to dish it out to the kids the friggin pizza is cold...
called and they answered the phone again with just saying hello.. The girl that answered said she's the manager I told her what happened she said well what do you want me to do?!?!? I'm really puzzled - what do you mean what do I want you to do I paid you for pizza I expect hot friggin pizza - i'm literally right across the street the only reason I didn't go in is because I'm stuck with no car tonight and didn't want to drag the kids out... so she tells me fine I'll have it remade and will deliver it but I don't have a delivery driver right now- this place is a joke... so now I'm sitting here at almost 9 o'clock waiting for pizza that should've been here no later than 745...

So I have been waiting for another 45 minutes the new pizza has not been delivered just called the manager answered the phone again she told me that she talk to the owner of the company and since I told them I was feeding my son a piece because he has to go to bed and can't sit up and wait she took it as we were still going to eat the pizza so they were going to do anything did not contact me at all not to mention there's a one piece of pizza missing from this box so my five-year-old could eat dinner and go to bed because it's now after 9 o'clock.
The rest of the pizza has been sitting here I really feel like these are thieves and crooks, they lie and suck at customer service. I hope to see this place go out of business...

Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Chizzie L.
Chizzie L.
Denver, CO
17 friends
81 reviews
5 photos
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Chizzie L.
1.0 star rating 3/15/2017
I ordered online, at 9pm, got a confirmation email. It's now 10pm, no order. They got my money, but I didn't get order. I'll be contacting my CD company in the morning, to get my money back.

Calzones finally arrived.

Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Melisa U.
Melisa U.
Elizabeth, CO
51 friends
128 reviews
290 photos
Elite ’17
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Melisa U.
2.0 star rating 2/20/2017
The only reason I'm giving 2stars is because I haven't tried the pizza and maybe it's actually good so I'll update this review if I ever go back there to try it out.

The wife and I were looking for a place that serves manicotti and this restaurant came up and I thought it would be nice for a little day date. The atmosphere inside is a little sketch, in my opinion, so we opted to eat outside on the patio, next to the Albertsons.

The manicotti itself wasn't too expensive (if I remember correctly, it was less than $8) and it came with a toasted garlic bread knot.

The mannicotti was cold on the inside and the marinara sauce itself wasn't very tasty. The garlic knot also wasn't very garlicky. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Photo of Massino's Pizzeria - Aurora, CO, United States. Manicotti. Was cold on the inside. 0/10
Manicotti. Was cold on the inside. 0/10
Manicotti. Was cold on the inside. 0/10
Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Kelly S.
Kelly S.
Aurora, CO
76 friends
174 reviews
263 photos
Elite ’17
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Kelly S.
1.0 star rating 1/16/2017
This was my first time ordering from Massino's pizza. My best friend wanted a good locally-sourced pizza, nothing dominoes or the other cookie cutter pizza places so we found them on yelp.

Ordering: the lady who took orders was very short. We had to repeat our address twice and she was very curt in her responses. Not very friendly.

Delivery time: 45 minutes, not terrible but not great, especially since our location is a couple minutes away from this location.

Pizza: The pizza that arrived had clearly been sitting for a little while. The cheese was flat and hard, the crust was dry and hard, and the pizza was cold except for the center.

I'm sorry. $30 for a 16 inch pizza? That came COLD?

I called the restaurant and received a very apologetic and polite response from Al, who ensured that our pizza was the last one out of the oven and he cut it himself. If it was the last one out of the oven, then aren't we the last one on the route? Either way, this pizza had clearly sat for quite some time. As of now we are waiting for our "make up" pizza so I will review on that.

Was this review …?

Useful 2 Funny Cool
Report review
Chris C.
Chris C.
Denver, CO
0 friends
8 reviews
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Chris C.
3.0 star rating 5/21/2017
It was good and bad. To start with the shrimp garlic Alfredo was pretty bland and not worth $10. On the Another hand the Canneloni Alfredo was really good and well worth the $9. Deliver take longer then it said. They said 45 to 60 minutes took more like 90 minutes. One last negative is it's hard to communicate with the people when you call in.

Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Juliet P.
Juliet P.
Aurora, CO
15 friends
3 reviews
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Juliet P.
1.0 star rating 5/13/2017
If I could give zero stars I would. I was craving homemade spaghetti so I googled best home made spaghetti in Aurora. This came up. I ordered to go, they said 20 mins. Got there in 20 minutes and they didn't even start till I paid. The spaghetti is from a box, the meatballs were horrible and even the salad and dressing were awful, all very proccessed, premade garbage. My boyfriend got a slice of pizza that had been sitting under a heat lamp for who knows how long with tasteless sausage. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY GO TO ANTHONY'S.

Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Mitch H.
Mitch H.
Aurora, CO
21 friends
3 reviews
1 photo
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Mitch H.
1.0 star rating 2/27/2017
Really unhappy. Food was supposed to take 60 minutes, arrived in 1 hr 35 mins. Driver blew me off about being late and said it was hot. Well, kinda. But the wings were dried out and tough and the calzone greasy and rubbery.

Photo of Massino's Pizzeria - Aurora, CO, United States. Puddle of grease from my calzone.
Puddle of grease from my calzone.
Puddle of grease from my calzone.
Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Cheyanne K.
Cheyanne K.
Denver, CO
0 friends
7 reviews
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Cheyanne K.
1.0 star rating 2/28/2017
Stay far away from this place. The owner is not only excessively rude but aggressive and actually gets physical with customers who just want their correct order. Not to mention the food is trash but I guess that is fitting since the owner is trash as well.

Was this review …?

Useful 2 Funny 1 Cool
Report review
Owen T.
Owen T.
Miami Beach, FL
23 friends
1 review
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Owen T.
1.0 star rating 3/1/2017
Horrible place I seen the owner assault a woman there and call the police on her, not a good background for my dinner, left a bad taste in my mouth on top of the already disgusting pizza.

Was this review …?

Useful 2 Funny Cool
Report review
Halley C.
Halley C.
Denver, CO
0 friends
11 reviews
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Halley C.
1.0 star rating 2/28/2017
Wish I could give less stars, the ownership of this establishment is a joke. You have no business in customer service, don't patronize this establishment EVER!

Was this review …?

Useful 1 Funny Cool
Report review
Andrew B.
Andrew B.
Aurora, CO
9 friends
72 reviews
23 photos
Elite ’17
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Andrew B.
1.0 star rating 9/8/2016
This place used to be decent but the last few times I went there I've gotten sick after eating a pizza or calzone. Both had sausage on it guessing that's what got me sick. Cheap sausage maybe? Don't know. It's right down the street from my house and I won't go back. I really wanted to like it but I can't continue to get sick every time.

Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Adriana T.
Adriana T.
Phenix City, AL
24 friends
7 reviews
8 photos
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Adriana T.
1.0 star rating 1/2/2017
Ordered Online with Yelp
If I could give them a zero I would. We just ordered an 18" half cheese and pepperoni pizza. I was about to feed my son when I noticed a hair baked into the pizza. I called to let them know and the manger wouldn't even get on the phone. He placed me on hold for 10mins so we decided to go over to their restaurant. He accused us of lying and saying it was my hair but you could clearly tell the hair was baked into the pizza. The long piece of hair had sauce and cheese stuck on it. The two ladies working in the kitchen were not wearing hairnets. One of his employees was wearing a headscarf but that's not going to catch any hair that falls out. I even mentioned it to the owner when he pulled out a handful of hair nets by the cash register and I told hi m that his employees should be wearing them when they clearly are not. Having your hair tied in a loose bun doesn't secure your hair from falling out. That's why it's mandatory for people to wear hairnets in the cooking area. I was going to take a picture of his employees in the kitchen but he became aggressive so I didn't continue. He wasn't apologitec at all and as previously mentioned he accused me of placing my hair in the pizza. The owner was very aggressive towards me and I am just grateful my husband was there.

Please don't order from there. If his employees are clearly not wearing their hairnets, only one can wonder what other santiary rules and regulations they're breaking.

Was this review …?

Useful 2 Funny Cool
Report review
Richard M.
Richard M.
Aurora, CO
14 friends
2 reviews
1 photo
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Richard M.
2.0 star rating 5/15/2016
Went in today for a calzone. I ordered a Deluxe Calzone Togo. Before I left I inspected it and it looked pretty good. I asked for an extra marinara for dipping because c'mon only one 4oz. size marinara for a big calzone isn't enough. When I first cut off a piece I noticed that the calzone was all veggies with literally a slice of pepperoni. Was kinda disappointed it didn't have more meat. The dough and the marinara are tasty but it seemed to me that the calzone was a little underdone. The garlic is pretty potent in the calzone. I love garlic but it's like it over takes the dish. I like trying out restaurants around my area but next time I'll take the extra mile drive and just pick up a calzone from Old Chicago instead.

Photo of Massino's Pizzeria - Aurora, CO, United States. One slice of pepperoni!
One slice of pepperoni!
One slice of pepperoni!
Was this review …?

Useful 2 Funny Cool
Report review
Kendra D.
Kendra D.
Denver, CO
0 friends
3 reviews
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Kendra D.
1.0 star rating 10/28/2016
Ordered Online with Yelp
Horrible service and food!. They said it would be 45 min to an hour. It actually arrived Luke warm and was late. They also messed up the order. Asked for spinach and received a deluxe calzone. When I called them about issues with their service they said we can take 10% off your next order. WOW! The food tasted bad as well. I would not order from them.

Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Karlenea B.
Karlenea B.
Los Angeles, CA
2 friends
80 reviews
21 photos
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Karlenea B.
1.0 star rating 9/30/2016
"closes at 9:30pm" ha! This should say "keeps the doors open until 9:30pm but won't serve you any food even at 9pm". What a [censor] joke.

Was this review …?

Useful Funny 1 Cool 1
Report review
Yvette D.
Yvette D.
Aurora, CO
0 friends
8 reviews
2 photos
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Yvette D.
1.0 star rating 2/28/2017
please don't waste your time at this place! i would give them zero stars if that was an option! poor service, poor food! do better massino's!

Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Trish C.
Trish C.
Aurora, CO
0 friends
4 reviews
1 photo
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Trish C.
1.0 star rating 4/29/2016
Very disappointed. We order for delivery. Expected time was 1 hour, understandable since it was snowing a bit. Delivery took 2 hours. Had to call to get updates and they kept saying "should be there any time now". Food was cold, calzone was slightly burnt and they only provided a very small portion of sauce for a big calzone. Will not order from this place again.

Photo of Massino's Pizzeria - Aurora, CO, United States
Was this review …?

Useful Funny Cool
Report review
Derek T.
Derek T.
Colorado Springs, CO
33 friends
13 reviews
Share review
Embed review
Compliment
Send message
Follow Derek T.

  1. Yelp.com Contacts

  2. Yelp.com phone numbers
    +1 (415) 908-3801
    +1 (415) 908-3801
    Click up if you have successfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (415) 908-3801 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (415) 908-3801 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (415) 908-3801 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (415) 908-3801 phone number
    +1 (877) 767-9357
    +1 (877) 767-9357
    Click up if you have successfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (877) 767-9357 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (877) 767-9357 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (877) 767-9357 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (877) 767-9357 phone number
    +1 (202) 569-8390
    +1 (202) 569-8390
    Click up if you have successfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (202) 569-8390 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (202) 569-8390 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (202) 569-8390 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Yelp.com by calling +1 (202) 569-8390 phone number
    Data Editor
    More phone numbers
  3. Yelp.com emails
  4. Yelp.com address
    140 New Montgomery St., San Francisco, California, 94105, United States
  5. Yelp.com social media
  6. Michael
    Checked and verified by Michael This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 15, 2024
Yelp.com Category
Yelp.com is ranked 4 among 38 companies in the Social Media Platform category
Trending companies

Most discussed Yelp.com complaints

Beware
4
(opinions to this review)