YellowPages.comfailure to deliver on promised advertising

A
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

My company had contracted with yellowpages.com for promotion of my website. I'd specied in the work order that my advertisement would be restricted to direct advertisement to 5 large metropolitan areas and absolutely not to be dumped on an obscure website for national coverage. This was promised to me by my account representative.

This did not happen and Yellowpages.com would never return my call to resolve this issue. As far as they were concerned I'd pay $207 per month and that didn't include promotion in any of the 5 cities on their own website. Needless to say this garbage promotion has never brought in even a single client.

My understanding is that there are links to the dump site on other websites. What difference does this mean you might ask? It's the difference of being found on pages 1, 2 or 3 on Google or maybe page 2,046 on Google.

Yellowpages.com did send me written proof that they had received my order as I'd requested but refused to work with me to correct their mistake.

I called day after day but never received a response. I finally stopped making payments when they wouldn't return my calls. They've turned my account over to collection and I've had to hire an attorney to counter sue them. I would NOT recommend this company for any type of website promotion.

Responses

  • St
    stephybella Mar 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I called Yellow Pages and asked for a simple listing in the yellow pages, but instead the sales rep tried to pressure me into spending $260 dollars a month in order to "get return". When I said all I want is a simple listing I was made to feel stupid if I do not go with his plan. This sales rep "Eddie" was very rude, belittling, pressured me to the point of upsetting me wasting my entire morning trying to get a listing and then trying to file a complaint, none of which was accomplished. This sales rep did not have my best interest in mind. All he wanted was me to open my check book and write out a big fat check. There is absolutely no respect for the clients from this company. I asked for a supervisor but instead was sent to another sales rep, I called back again and asked for a supervisor for customer support and still again sent to a sales rep. Where's the management while all this is going on? There is a certain manner that a sales rep should conduct themselves and this company has fallen short in this area.

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    ddmcs.com May 03, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I will join any suit. The worst liars ever. Completely pathetic at their jobs. Useless ###s that couldnt write an ad if their life depended on it.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thompson Roofing Nov 12, 2010

    It sounds like you guys where not looking to make an investment into your business and probably didnt choose a correct program for your business because you where worried about price? I have a roofing business and advertisit with at&t and im doing great with mine no complaints and my rep checks in all the time. Heather Bird lady At&t is not affliated with Yellow Book or any other yellowpages that is not At&t real yellow pages.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barry Ayres Sep 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We put an advdertisement in the Yellow Pages 2010/11 and to our amazement the new publishing book once opened you can hardly see my add it is sealed together so tight our advertisment is barley noticeable. Contacted Yell they just didnt want to know. sent me a bill anyway. I was deceived and not a company in the world want to take these yellow pages on once you seek legal advice. Its terrible .

    ok they get you to sign the contract and have 30days to cancel in that time its no way in hell you got time to see the finish product it should be 30days after publish.

    What rights do we have its almost like rolling a dice with them and thats a disgrace they are allowed to get away with this. Could this poss have something to do with paying the govenment all this vat. Oherwise they would be out of business and new business start with them every year. no customer is valuable

    0 Votes
  • El
    electech Jul 07, 2010

    I was over charged for the advertisement that we were given, and have been waiting for more that 5 months for the refund. even though Daily calls I am promised that the cheque is in the mail. no one in the customer service section can figure out why or where it is and as far as I can tell will tell me anything to get me off the phone. Absolutely unacceptable especially considering they are dealing with businesses that if we treated our clients like this we would be run out of business. horrible service, terrible organization all together. I will never so much as advertise a phone number with them any more.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    SheriFL Apr 26, 2010

    I am a small residential cleaning company that was promised an AT&T online yellowpages priority listing by a sales rep (~$280/month). There was a recorded verbal agreement. After a month of not receiving promised services (supported by an 8 page email string), I requested the listing to be canceled. I filed a complaint with the BBB. ATT gave me two choices 1) to pay for services through the current date and cancel future service or 2) forgive the past charges and continue with the service. Considering AT&T couldn’t initially follow through with promised services, I was willing to pay for the first month of service but I just wanted to cancel. I request arbitration through the BBB however AT&T refused to arbitrate stating legally the BBB meant nothing. I sent certified letters to AT&T with a response from their legal department to investigate but a week later, (now 8 months later), AT&T sent the account to outplacement collections for over $1800! Nothing like being 8 months pregnant and stressed out for the entire time! I am so frustrated!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jackc21 Mar 24, 2010

    We too are displeased with ATT advertising or yellowpages.com. Do not sign anything with this company. after 6 months of advertising (under veterinarian) and $150 per month. yielded less than a 1% click through rate. Moreover, our listing under a specific city was bumped to second page results by vets not in our city.

    I sent letters demanding termination. they kept billing. Now I am dealing with the collections department.

    Better off with ppc and google.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    rexs Feb 23, 2010

    I am sorry that you are happy with yellowpages.com. I was looking online and found a website that your business can have a ebillboard for FREE. Just go to seekshallfind.com. I was talking to my friend Pat that has an ebillboard. We talking about his ebillboard and he told me that can see how many people have visit this ebillboard.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Perkins Jan 18, 2010

    PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CALL ME -
    we have filed the class action in New Jersey and we are about to file in another jurisdiction.

    Paul Perkins
    LYNCH LAW FIRM, P.C.
    Tel: 800.656.9529
    Fax: 888.271.9726
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan Maxfield Apr 09, 2019

    @Paul Perkins I am in California and was scammed by YP in 2017 out of hundreds of dollars. I finally got them to let me out of their ridiculous contract and was promised a refund for the monthly charges that to this day I’ve yet to receive. They ignore my emails and voicemails and it’s my word against the guy who told me over the phone they would refund me since I had an unprofessional account manager who screwed everything up 6 ways from Sunday and left nasty voicemails. They were also supposed to do a phone book ad that was messed up so I told them I didn’t want it and all they’ve done is canceled and finally stopped billing me (I had to stop payment on my auto draft with my bank since they still kept charging my card). I never received one client from their online YP website and do not believe their bogus back office stats that claim they sent calls to me. I also had asked upfront not to be put on Yelp and they added me on there against my will then tried to say they didn’t. They put the wrong info on the ad and when I complained to the agent he left a voicemail saying he couldn’t believe I was a therapist given my rude behavior (provoked by all their mistakes and stonewalling). I tried to call the number above for Lynch Lawyers and it won’t even dial or ring. Anyone in California sued YP or in the process of it please email me [email protected] so I can be added to a lawsuit.

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    cmlewi Jan 16, 2010

    I work with a labor organization trying to assist the workers of YellowPages.com a subsidary of AT&T. I would encourage all complaints with details, names, phone numbers etc. You may forward to my email at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Bg
    bgkelsen Dec 07, 2009

    All those interested in a class action suit please let me know! these guys must be stopped!!! enough is enough!

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    JorgeRAvilaM Sep 24, 2009

    DO NOT ADVERTISE AT YELLOWPAGES.COM!!! THEY SIGNED ME ON FOR A PROGRAM CALLED "$0.00 DOLLARS FOR NO CALLS/NOT PICKED UP CALLES/LESS THAN 15 SECONDS CALLS"... THE SALES REP'S NAME IS RICHARD SEIFERT -THE THIEF.

    HE NEVER SENT ME THE CONTRACT. I HAD TO GO GET IT BY CALLING THE COSTUMER SERVICE LINE
    HE LISTED THE WRONG TELEPHONE NUMBER AND IT TOOK HIM 4 MONTHS TO MAKE THE CORRECTION
    I STARTED RECEIVING INVOICES FOR $120.00 AND TODAY, SEPTEMBER 24TH, 2009 I GOT CHARGED $528.00 FOR A SERVICE THAT HASN'T BEEN DELIVERED!!!

    THE TELEPHONE NUMBER OF RICHARD SEIFERT'S SUPERVISOR IS NOT AN ACTIVE NUMBER (HOW STRANGE!!!)
    NEITHER YELLOWPAGES.COM PROVIDES AN E-MAIL ADDRESS OF MR. SEIFERT'S SUPERVISOR, OFFICE LOCATION OR SALES DIRECTOR. NO ONE, NOT ONE SINGLE SOUL IN COSTUMER CARE KNOWS WHO THEY WORK FOR!!! NO ONE COULD EVER TOLD ME WHO THE CHAIRMAN, OR GENERAL MANAGER IS!

    I STRONGLY ADVISE YOU TO NOT BECOME PART OF HIS HUGE SCAM!

    1 Votes
  • Mf
    mfczero Jul 13, 2009

    we have been with yellowpages.com for 7 months now and we have been fighting with them about our website. they have not fulfilled any of there part and we have gone through 3 salesman from yellow pages who have quit. we have had nothing but problems with them, our site does not show up on any search results, they keep changing the site without talking to us. we have been guaranteed business from the website and in the past 7 months we have not had 1 call or sale.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dismayed Jun 17, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Well, I'm not sure if our company's situation qualifies to be included under the class action but here's what happened. I am the new Collections Manager for a Hispanic owned company(I speak English only) A Sales person called our company from the Yellow Pages and spoke with a Spanish(only) speaking CSR. She agreed to sign -up with Yellow Pages via phone(no signature ). Unfortunately she didn't understand English enough to know about the monthly charges. Additionally, she wasn't authorized to approve ads or change service for the company. Anyway, I called to see how this could have happened.They let me listen to the tape recording of the order and what a joke!!The Yellow Page Rep spoke in Spanish but the agreement was in English it was OBVIOUS that she had no clue what she was being asked to agree to..I listened along with a Manager and someone from their "CLAIMS" Dept. I thought to myself as I listened surely we will ALL agree that this was an unfortunate mistake and that the $3, 400 bill would be excused.But, to my dismay I was the only one that thought reading an agreement in ENGLISH to a SPANISH speaking person was wrong and deceptive. Our Rep answered yes or umm(the umms were answered with so you agree?) to everthing. Needless to say the ad has wrong info. including our tele!!! Which I complained about.They changed everything overnight to the correct info so now it looks like it was ALWAYS correct.WHAT A RIP OFF!!I'm 49 years old and remember very fondly their ads "Let your fingers do the walking"...Let's me just say it's not those 2 fingers shown in their ads that they are getting from me!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Perkins Jun 14, 2009

    This is Paul Perkins, you can contact me at [email protected] or 800.656.9529.

    Thanks!

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul Perkins Jun 14, 2009

    I am Paul Perkins. I have filed a class action in New Jersey. Please contact me if you think you may have a claim against yellowpages.com. We have filed the case in New Jersey and it may expand to a national class action.

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    warshrike Jun 02, 2009

    I was sold a bill of goods by a sales rep one day, and literally the next was told he had quit and they could not get into his account. So they still took my money and considered me signed up, they just have not given me the services that I was promised by the original sales rep. I even have these promises via email. YP doesnt care. My new sales rep says that YP does not offer those particular services and that the old rep should never have told me that. When I said fair enough I want either to cancel or receive a discount on my services as I am getting a third of what was promised I was told that wasnt possible. Now I have to get a lawyer involved and sue YP to get this worked out. BEWARE this horrible, horrible company.

    1 Votes
  • Dr
    drueke Mar 07, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in the same situation, they got me in a "contract" over the phone, and they are not delivering what was promised lets join together a file a class law suit with them.

    1 Votes
  • Cr
    Craig Feb 24, 2009

    Yellow Pages Group has ripped me off as well! My business had moved to a new location so I needed to change my ad before it went to print for the next issue. I contacted them and arranged for a salesman to come and meet with me so that I could make the changes. He never came on the day he was supposed to and subsequent phone calls went unattended to. Needless to say, I missed the cut off time for the ad to go to print. I spoke with an agent and she agreed to not make me pay for that issue but there was another city book that my company was in that hadn't gone to print yet so I agreed to pay only for that 2nd city book and the online ad assuming the changes would be made. Well the secoind book went to print and my ad was not changed. To this day my on-line ad is still wrong and I have begun refusing to pay but they keep calling for payent. If it goes to collection, I will sue!

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    John Lincoln Klyne Nov 11, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ok, ...I just got a notice saying that I have a lien on my house and that it would be taken away if i did not pay $ 20, 000.00 immediately to yellowpages...for my advertising that they did not even do correctly, and above that I did not even receive notice of the lien on my home until today, when I am trying to apply for a construction loan-when my mortgage company denied it for having a lien on my home.

    2 posts above this...you said you wanted to sue...you said that the company said your company was not worthy of their services...Well, that is illegal in the USA, to deny services to a company or 2 a person for whatever reason. They can't say, I am only serving construction companies in this location and not in that location. That is against the law...SUE THEM, you basically won your case, and a couple hundred thousand dollars to go along with it...owe and if you do...feel free to contact me and tell me how it goes...(I may not even have a home then let alone this computer).

    I have about 20k to pay to yellow pages...and can deffiinately not make that in 6 months with my current bills.

    Good luck with this horrible company. I know I need it, and well I know I can't make 20k in 6 months...

    0 Votes
  • Qu
    Quincy Carnley Aug 05, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have also felt the thieves on my neckl. I was told that I would recieve 90 clicks per month for $330.00. What a lie. I have had no calls from anyone during the four months. Thier analytics claim about 50% of what they promised and even that is a lie.
    I would certainly join a class action.
    Q. Carnley

    0 Votes
  • Pl
    P LABARGE Aug 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I NEVER EVEN GOT OUR COMPANY OFF THE GROUND WITH THESE JOKERS, I AM GLAD I DIDN'T NOW. IN MATTER OF FACT I NEVER EVEN RESEARCHED ABOUT COMPLAINTS CONCERNING THIS BOGUS COMPANY UNTIL RECENTLY BEING JACKED AROUND DURING A SALES CALL. THIS IS WHEN I BGAN TO THINK THEY COULD BE UP TO NO GOOD, AND I AM RIGHT ON BY READING POSTINGS IN THIS SITE. MY SOTRY STARTED THREE MONTHS AGO WHEN I WAS SHOPPING AROUND FOR ADDITIONAL CLICK FOR MY WEB SITE. I SAW THE YELLOWPAGES.COM COULD PROVIDE "UNLIMITED" CLICKS FOR A FLAT FEE. I FILLED OUT THE ONLINE FORM FOR A MONTH WITH NO REPLY. I THEN CALLED THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE TO FIND OUT WHY NO ONE CONTACTED ME REGARDING MY SALES LEAD. I WAS HUNG UP ON AT LEAST THREE TIMES AFTER WAITING A HALF HOUR TO SPEAK WITH SOMEONE. I FINALLY GOT INTOUCH WITH ONE PERSONL WHO GAVE ME A SALES REP EMAIL ADDRESS TO CONTACT. THE REP NEVER REPLIED TO MY EMAILS FOR OVER A MONTH UNTIL I FINALLY THREATNED TO COMPLAIN TO THEIR PARENT COMPANY AT&T. AFTER ALL THIS SHE TOLD ME A COUPLE OTHER COMPANIES IN MY LINE OF BUSINESS HAD DEFAULTED ON THEIR PAYMENTS SO IF I WANTED TO ADVERTISE I WOULD HAVE TO PREPAY OVER $77, 000.00 A YEAR WITH NO GUARANTEE OF CLICKS. THE REP MADE IT VERY CLEAR THAT OUR BUSINESS WASN'T WELCOME EVEN WITH THE PREPAYMENT HAD BEEN MADE AND THAT OUR BUSINESS TYPE WAS UNREPUTABLE. HOW DARE SHE CLAIM I RUN AN ONLINE SCAM BECAUSE A COUPLE OTHER COMPANIES DEFAULTED ON THEIR PAYMENTS. I EMAILED HER BACK LETTING HER KNOW THAT I WAS NOT GOING TO PREPAY THAT MUCH MONEY ON A CREDIT CARD AND CANCELED THE ORDER. I WAS ALSO SO UPSET ABOUT HER TELLING ME THAT MY BUSINESS WASN'T REALLTY WORTHY OF THEIR SERVICE, THAT I WAS SWITCH MY OTHER TELECOMMUNICATION SERVICES AWAY FROM AT&T AND WRITE CORPORATE A LETTER THAT THAT THEY DIDN'T EVEN WANT TO TRY AND GET MY BUSINESS, SHE NEVER BOTHERED TO REPLY. IF IT WAS THIS HORRIBLE TO EVEN GET A CONTRACT WITH THESE PEOPLE I COULD IMAGINE HOW THEY RUN THEIR "LIVE" ACCOUNTS. I JUST EXPECTED MORE FROM A COMPANY THAT CLAIMS TO HAVE SUCH A LARGE INTERNET PRESENCE AT YELLOWPAGES.COM, AND ESPECIALLY THEIR PARENT COMPANY AT&T. I WOULD ADVISE PEOPLE TO NOT EVER EVEN CONSIDER THESE LIFE SUCKING VAMPIRES. I WOULD LIKE SOMEONE TO CONTACT ME REGARDING ANY LAWSUITS ABOUT THIS COMPANY TOO. I AM EVEN CONSDERING SUEING THEM ON MY OWN FOR DEFERMATION OF CHARACTER.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Jul 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I signed up with these people not knowing that I could cancel at any given time. Once your in, it the end. Your bound with this contract as long as 1year. I was also told from a buddy that you have to send a cancellation letter to them 30days before your 1 year contracted date.
    Please read the fine print when you meet with the rep. note: if you do, you wont sign the contract like I did.

    0 Votes
  • Tc
    T Clark Jul 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tell me where to sign up. I am sick of this company. I can do you all one better... yellowpages.com had me sign a
    contract for internet advertising in Dec 2007. I have two businesses. One business was to have a print ad only and the
    other was to have internet advertising, for which they would build the website and guarantee xxx number of clicks
    per month. I told the salesman that because my business was a branch office of a national affiliate, I would have to have
    compliance approval from corporate in order to use their material/logos etc. Without the use of this material, the internet advertising/website would be of no use to me and that I would not want to proceeed. He said "no problem" if you cant get approval
    we will cancel the contract. BIG FAT LIE!!! In less than a week, I was being harrassed on a daily basis by the webdesigner
    asking me for the material and then telling me it couldnt be used. It takes months to get approval from corporate so I
    told him to just wait. He then decided to go ahead and take the print ads from my other business and create a website and
    advertising page. I received an email stated my website was up and running. I was shocked and told by another rep. that
    my contract stated that they could take info from my print ads and create a website based on their best guess just to
    fullfill the contract by February 1. By March they had corrected some of the material on the website using the original
    material they said they couldnt use, the same material I still had not received approval to publish. Additionally, they will
    not give me a credit for the wrong business being adv. for almost two months, they suffle you from manager to manager ad the
    sales rep is always out on medical leave. The cherry on the cake is that at&t is now slamming themselves. I have had to call every singl month about by business phone sservice bill being wrong and the services, for which they mademe committ to for two
    years are constantly being changed by them!!! PLEASE LETS SUE THESE PEOPLE..

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Dustin Jul 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Let's get a class action suit together. I'm going throught the same thing as everyone else.

    2 Votes
  • Me
    ME Jul 01, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I strongly agree with your complaints and feel this company should be exposed. Yellowpages.com does NOT provide the services they promise during their sales presentation.

    Before signing any contract read the fine print. What the salespeople do not tell you is that you are committed to their yearly contact NO MATTER WHAT. Furthermore, they will automatically renew the contact unless you write to them 30 DAYS before. This company is running a "shady" practice.

    In the event you find that the advertisement is not delivering as promised - too bad! It is impossible to reach personnel at Yellowpages.com who will resolve your issues.

    I've filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and they too have been "unsuccessful" in contacting the company regarding complaints.

    Currently, I am seeking the help of an attorney. Perhaps a Class Action Suit is in order.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael Zack May 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This company doesn't even know how their own website works. After cancelling our book ad the sales rep convinced us to contract for an online ad. We offer an expensive product that depends on reaching people across the country and the salesman assured us that the search features, including the "distance" search would work for us, even if we didn't show our address in our ad.
    Needless to say, the only people who can find our ad are those who know which cities are in our local directory. They tried to convince me that "No one searches by distance." They also tried to say that their site is NOT a search engine! I pointed out that they offer searches up to 500 miles and should capture any business in the search category within that distance. They then tried to tell me that they do not offer search engine features on their site. Their contract offers you a choice of listing your full addres, just city and state, or no address. Nowhere in their contract does it state that, without your full address listed, the search features on the site will not work.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mike jones Feb 04, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are going through the same thing they never got the ad right and we didnt get the clicks we were told we would. We also must get a lawyer is there any advise you could give us, also has anyone ever mentioned a class action suit because we are not alone. Thak you for your time any help you could offer would be great thank you, mike [email protected]

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.