Having problems with Global Tel Link?

File a complaint and get it resolved. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!
Proudly resolving consumer concerns since 2004

Customer Service

3120 Fairview Park Dr., Ste 300
Falls Church, Virginia
United States - 22042-4570

ComplaintsBoard.com is not affiliated, associated, authorized, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected with Global Tel Link.

We are an independent complaint resolution platform that has been successfully voicing consumer concerns since 2004. We are doing work that matters - connecting customers with businesses around the world and help them resolve issues and be heard.

Complaints & Reviews

Global Tel Link CorporationFunds on my phone account

On July 24, 2020 I put $50.00 on my phone account, however on July 27, 2020 I discovered that no funds were put on my account. I contacted GTL at [protected] and talked with a supervisor he told me that the funds were removed because I requested a refund and it would take 21 days to be credited to my card. I did not request any refund. He is lying and that is not true. At no time did I request a refund from my phone number and from my account.

Add your opinion

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    • Updated by ki.hi · Jul 27, 2020

      I have had a phone account with GTL for over 5 years. I clearly had the impression that this was all done maliciously and with bad intentions. Over the 5 years I had several instances where very malicious things has been done. About 3 and a half years ago Global Tel Link had a Corporate phone number in Texas and they had an Investigation Dept to investigate these matters but they no longer have that. If the current investigator would like I can provide the fully tape recorded phone call I had with the supervisor at Global Tel Link.

    Jul 25, 2020

    Global Tel Link Corporation — Unethical behavior - scam

    Global Tel Link is a rip off and this scam is a new low: 1) I deposited $75.00. 2) They claim someone...

    Mar 09, 2020

    Global Tel Link Corporation — Connect Network and employees

    I have wrote and told this so many time and got no where i put a 26 deposit on my Gtl accoynt it said payment...

    Dec 11, 2019

    Global Tel Link Corporation — my account being blocked without being notified

    on 12/10/2019 around 5:01 pm my loved one was calling me and his call was not going thru or some reason which...

    Global Tel Link Corporationsetting up a phone account

    I wanted to put $10 on my phone so that a inmate could call me but instead i was charged 45 dollars and when i wanted my refund global tel link charged me 15 dollars just to get my money back. That is fraud and robbery all in one. I didnt even use any of your services to get charged any money. You should do a better job at being very clear and straight forward about any hidden fees or chargers before taking someone's money. Thanks alot for taking money from me that i would have used to feed my kids with!

    Add your opinion

      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

      We are here to help

      • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
      • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
      • Honest and unbiased reviews
      • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

      Globaltelelinks.com GmbHfraud

      The agent took money from our credit card without our consent, we emailed them and got an automated email with a ref number after this we heard nothing the link that was given to see the result is not available.we called and the agent that took the money was handling our complaint we spoke to his colleague claiming to be a manager whom promised to email but this didn't happen but the agent and customer support person is asking us to send in ID and a copy of our credit card.
      we have asked them to put the request in writing but no one gets in touch
      email from globaltelelinks.com
      Thank you for writing to us. we have created and assigned #181311. One of our support executive will reply or call you to follow-up with you as soon as possible. You can view this ticket's progress online.

      Your Global Telelinks GmbH Team,
      Support Department

      Add your opinion

        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

        Global Tel Link Corporationcustomer service

        4 male Customer reps. were so rude and all calls but1 ended up with them hanging up in my face and when I asked to speak to a Supervisor the Rep put me on hold and no one came to the phone.. Finally I called back and a Woman Rep name Shanna was on the other end.. It took awhile to resolve all my challenges I was having with my services with them but she took them head on!!** GTL really need to go back to the drawing board with how to treat paying Customers and listen to Ms. Shanna calls and allow that to be their number 1 Staple on how to properly Service Customers Respectfully and sufficiently .. Shanna should be over CS Reps. Cause everyone I have spoken with before her was so horrible by saying the word horrible is still speaking to kindly about their garbage Customer skills they posses.. Even with all been said, this company needs to make a lot of changes starting with giving Shanna a raise and a teaching position on CS!!**

        Add your opinion

          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

          Global Tel Link Corporationthey won't refund my money

          I signed up to the wrong company they are so much alike on Google. And I was charged 200 after being declined and then charged I been trying to get get my money back not know this was not the company for my county's jail. I'm so mad right now that they can take your money so easy and you have a love one you want to talk to. Something needs to be done about this they can't keep doing this. I got kids and I work hard for my money and I refuse to let them get my money
          I WANT MY MONEY BACK I WANT MY MONEY BACK NOW. IM SO PISSED

          Add your opinion

            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

            • Tr
              TRA321 Oct 22, 2018
              This comment was posted by
              a verified customer
              Verified customer

              Global Tel Link (GTL) claim this is not their complaint sight. I called the Governor of Tennessee office. They told me that they had not received any calls complaining about this company. I advise everyone that is having issues with GTL to contact the governor's office of that state where their loved one is incarcerated, and the commissioners office, to make a report. If we bombard them with complaints, they will have to investigate and prayerfully GTL will be shut down.

              I was told today by one of their representatives that this page is fake. They have no complaints against them. Also,
              please be informed that they have no supervisor's or escalation's department and the numbers on their website are fake.

              0 Votes
            Oct 02, 2018

            Global Tel Link — trust account service

            I was trying to make a pmt last night I called a spoke with Rodger don't have badge number her was very rude...

            Global Tel Linkinmate call

            My friend accepted a call from montgomery county jail ON THEIR PHONE & I used my debit card to add minutes for $10. I got that charged PLUS AN UNAUTHORIZED CHARGE with a different name on it "global tel link" as seen in the picture. Never made a username or passward & there was NEVER anything about being charged $45.99 during the call. This is a [censored] scam I did not set up an account or agree to being charged anything more than $10. They said i set it up through this same ip address, which is false. It wasn't on my phone which i'm using now to contact them. I believe my info was sold to them. They are doing nothing to fix it & can't tell me ANYTHING about my "account" or what to do.

            Add your opinion

              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

              Global Tel Linkphone company: calls from correctional facility

              GTL is an absolute horror of a company! In the first place they happily inflate the prices of phone calls simply because they can, and because they know they are dealing with people who have no say on the matter and really have no choice but to use their slip-shod service! The connection is often very poor. I have had to reset my password for their app, I believe three times now, which in the case of any other service would be a simple process, however in GTL's case it involves multiple calls to their call center, repeating my personal info 100x as the operator tunes you out and reads of their script. They don't actually know anything, and can never do anything to help resolve any issue that one might call with. These are simply various was in which I've found this company less than stellar. (I'm having to bite my tongue to keep this civil.) I haven't even gotten to the real issue, which is that a huge number of the calls I received would then drop me as though I hadn't accepted the call. I spoke with them so often (much more often than my loved one who is incarcerated) that my put them at the top, of a frequently called list. I informed them of th3e problem, they responded with excuse #1, after 2 days I was able to accept the call. When it happened again, I received excuse #2 which was different than the first one. After several more issues (oddly enough some were fixed very quickly) they began to blame the issue on my havoc a cell Is this because I am one of those "rare" individuals who uses a cell phone??! It was laughable. All this time the operators ranged from apathetic to rude to hateful, but guess what, I'm only about one third of the way into my Global Tell Link nightmare! It went on and got significantly worse. Then much of October and November occurred without issue, much the same way I didn't have this issue when I first received these calls. Last week it began again, and I cant accept the calls at the moment, despite already speaking to two operators, who probably did nothing at all.
              I hope every single person who works for Global Tel Links: the phone company based in Hell, finds out exactly what it feels like to rely on them as the only line of communication to someone they love.

              Sincerely,
              Lillian Roeckl

              Add your opinion

                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                Global Tel Linkstolen payment, unethical, uneducated "reps"

                Absurd company, horrendous service, and blatant stealing. I buy the one vanilla pre-paid cards to make deposits to only the phone account. I deposit the money using the automated phone system they have. Common sense dictates that if someone is using a pre-paid card, then there is a pre-determined amount of money on that card. Therefore if I put $20 on a card, then deposit $15 onto the phone account for my phone #, my balance should not be.14 cents on gtl. My horrible experience began when I called, and got "oswald" from india. I explained this process to him, and that the funds did not reflect on my account, however the payment was taken off my card by gtl. His response? "oh, I see it here, but it's"pending status"so there's nothing I can do". I then asked what is the hold up, it's been 2 hours, the money has been taken off of my card, but you haven't posted it yet, why is that? Oswalds response? "looks like it was processed twice, so it was declined the 2nd time, this is not our fault, you have to call your bank". Needless to say I already called the # on the back of the card (Customer service rep was amazing), she explained that each transaction has an authorization # associated with it, and that global tel link would/should be able to see that the transaction they were seeing was clearly the 2nd one (The one they tried to process twice). She went on to explain that if they has any idea what they were doing, all I had to do was give them the first transaction # & authorization code (She confirmed that the payment was in fact released & gave me the authorization #), and the money would have hit my account within that very minute. Called oswald back, he refused to stop talking, interrupting every word I said in horrific broken english, he refused to listen to the common sense instructions I just received from the card service rep hat he asked me to call, so I asked him to stop talking, and get a supervisor on the phone. 45 minutes later, still nothing, no supervisor, no one telling me what the hell was going on, I hung up. It's been 24 hours now, and the rep I just got from gtl was as incompetent as oswald. She began repeating the same script oswald did. I finally stopped her, and asked "what country are you based out of" she says "united states", I said "#, now tell me what country your operating out of, where are you located right now?" she finally says "oh, right now mexico city". I just laughed. Yesterday I got oswald in india, today I get some lady in mexico city, oddly enough both countries can see my money, both confirm my deposit, the amount, even the card I used!!
                But neither can tell me why it's not on my account, or where exactly the money even is. Stop telling me it's in "pending status", that should not be the case, and stop telling me to call "my bank", they confirmed the error was due to gtl trying to process my card payment twice. I even gave you idiots the authorization code from the issuing card! Now, after looking into these idiots @ gtl I find out that there are literally thousands of complaints. Why & how the hell are they allowed to be the only provider for jails? Who do I need to contact to get the process going to replace these idiots? This company charges different amounts with no guidelines on "why" this is done, the connection sucks, people are being hung up on, billed wrong, and literally being stolen from... Robbed, then insulted by their rude, illiterate, condescending, employees who aren't even citizens of the country their servicing!!! This is illegal. I don't give a # who is getting rich from this, bottom line is if everyone just stops using them, they will have to change, or get a new provider. I've never experienced this kind of incompetency with any company ever. I will make sure I get my money back, I will make the calls necessary to get the process started to shut you # down everywhere, and I will be sure to make the general public aware of all of this. Local news stations live for stories like this. I have all the recorded calls, the screenshots of the monetary differences, the "holding" of peoples money, and the hundreds of complaints already made by others. Bucks county correctional facility will not have gtl much longer.

                Add your opinion

                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                  Global Tel LinkDepositing money in account which does not service certain prisons

                  I deposited money for 2 phone numbers.First 1/30/2017 Second 3/07/2017.
                  $25.00. $28.00. I just found out that Globel Tel link does not service Safford Prison in AZ. I was told they did. But my son keeps calling collect says nothing works for Advance Pay. I called customer service and was told that the money was with VIC called the no. given and it just hangs up on me each time. Cannot get a customer service by phone. I would like a refund for the monies I have paid #53.00.
                  Leslie Romanoff-Sims
                  30843 W Bellview St
                  Buckeye AZ 85396
                  e-mail [protected]@gmail.com
                  [protected]-7288 These no. are on file.

                  Add your opinion

                    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                    Global Tel Linkcustomer service

                    the are very rude they hung up on me twice they need someone who can understand English they are very unprofessional all I want is a refund of my money they will not get no more of my money they ae freaking ignorant they need some improvement as soon as possible

                    Add your opinion

                      By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                      GTL (Global Tel Link)Horrible services

                      I have used this service on 2 separate occasions to be able to communicate with my husband. We have had multiple instances of disconnected calls after only a minute and a half after contacting gtl customer service we have been refused any help or refunds. The customer service reps are rude and majority of them do not speak clear English so you can't understand much of what they say. They also refuse to transfer you to a supervisor/manager and will not give out any info regarding how to contact there corporate office. I was informed on 2 separate occasions that my complaint would be submitted to the corporate office and I would receive a call back within 24hours but never received callbacks. When I attempted to call and find out why and submit another complaint I was given the runaround each time and never got to speak with anyone in charge.

                      Add your opinion

                        By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                        Global Tel LinkConnections with Inmates

                        The company has recently made a change to their computer software (Feb 2016) and service quality has dramatically declined. I routinely experience calls terminated by their computer system mid-conversation, or the computer does not completely connect the two parties - the call terminates the incoming call before I have the opportunity to respond and accept it by pressing the "0" key on my keypad. Sometimes when the call is terminated I hear a dial tone followed by the sound of a phone ringing followed by the voice message "the party you are trying to reach is not available - please call back again later" even though I am not attempting to place a call. Furthermore, their Customer Service staff do not respond to my e-mails.

                        Their service worked much more reliably in the past - it now stinks !!

                        Add your opinion

                          By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                          Global Tel LinkInternational call.

                          Iam a customer of globel telelink about 4-5 years.but they take money from my account and promise for one year unlimited for one year.(july-2015 to July2016 ) so my minutes now nearly finish.when I call globel tele link they told agent is gone he was a fraud.What I can do further.

                          Add your opinion

                            By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                            Global Tel LinkGenesis Inspire Tablet

                            The Pennsylvania State Correctional System has a deal with Global Tel Link to provide Genesis Inspire Tablets to inmates who can afford to purchase one. They are really pieces of junk. I know a few inmates and every one has had problems and have had them sent back at least once. The prices are too high for what the inmates get and the price for songs is outrageous compared to the open market. I have a son who is in the Albion State Correctional Institution at Albion, PA. I gave him the money to purchase the tablet. In no time it had to be returned for problems. He called me tonight - Tuesday January 12, 2015 telling me that this tablet has the same problem as before and he reported it on December 31, 2015. As of today he has not received any response. My guess is they want to wait until the warranty is up and then don't want to fix the problem. Again the cost for the tablets - for what they get - and the cost for downloading songs is not competitive with the outside world. The inmate in question is Brian K. Benner JC-9295. If this is not resolved, I will take the same course as many did before when they were over charging the inmates for phone service. The rates are less that 1/5 what they were before with a new company. I understand that the FCC had to get involved. Since I provide most of the support for Brian, I do believe I have the right to make a formal complaint. I expect to get a response and I expect his tablet be fixed or better yet replaced with a new one.

                            Add your opinion

                              By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                              GTL (Global Tel Link)Prepaid phone call

                              First of all they are a rip off. When I first went through them they told me each collect call that I received would cost $1.95 per phone call. The duration of the call would be for as long as the correctional facility would allow each inmate to talk. So, did you know they charge you $2.30 per call? You get charged tax and a fee on each call they say are only $1.95. Also, whenever you add money to your account and the minimum is $25.00 they deduct $9.00 for a fee. I usually use a visa debit charge card to pay over the phone. So, if you pay $25.00 you only get about $16.00 to use on you account. They never tell you about these hidden fees. They told me if I don't want to get charged a $9.00 fee, then I will need to mail my payment which will take 10 business days before it is received. But the additional .35¢ added to each call still will remain. Now, how does this save families money.

                              Add your opinion

                                By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                GTL (Global Tel Link)Fraudulent practices

                                GTL is a fraud company that overcharges inmate families for a calls. The calls often drop causing the inmate to use up more money than necessary. Their billing practices are fraudulent and the charges for taxes is more than the government should allow. When GTL took over, they could not explain why there was about 30.00 missing and did not want to provide any additional information. Please call our bank to dispute this matter and force them to pay you back. I detest (loathe) this company.

                                Add your opinion

                                  By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

                                  IN THE NEWS

                                  Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
                                  If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
                                  One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
                                  A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
                                  ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
                                  You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem