The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Workx GT trimmer/edgerPoor product

J Review updated:

Product does not work as advertised. Battery life is much shorter than stated and takes longer to charge than stated as well (if you can get the battery to charge). Infomercial states that the line automatically feeds which it does about 20% of the time.

Responses

  • It
    it workx Nov 03, 2009

    I purchased the Worx Trimmer and has worked beautifully for two years. Battery charges, no problems.

    2 Votes
  • St
    Stephen A. McNerney Nov 21, 2009

    I have had Worx Trimmer for a couple of years and have had no problems. So far, it's the best trimmer that I have ever had.

    [email protected]

    2 Votes
  • Rm
    R McInerney May 22, 2010

    Jst received the Workx trimmer NOT Worth the price.
    Lasted 20 minutes... kaput. Battery done.
    Had an electric Weedeater trimmer 15 years ago that works this well.Think I paid $40 for it not $150 with shipping etc.
    I still have the box etc. and it will go back this week.I amvery dissapointed.

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    JanParm May 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just used it for the first time.. at first I didn't push it down really hard on the charger and it showed green and it wasn't charged, finally got it to go from red to green.
    went out today and used it 25 minutes and it stopped. Now I sitting here typing this complaint waiting for it to charge, have 3/4 of my yard to go yet.. No it won't do 3 football fields without charging. I like it because its light to handle and does a good job, but can't take all day to do it. I thought I would be done in less than an hour and here I sit!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ro
    Robin Claire May 05, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @JanParm Have had just the opposite experience. OUrs does our whole yard without recharging, and we have a long circle drive. Perhaps you did not charge properly to begin with. OUrs has been a great product, much better than far more expensive trimmers. It is flexible to do a great job in different circumstances, different angles, etc.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brian Speir Jun 01, 2018

    @JanParm Same experience @ my home. When i complained aboit the battety, all they did was ofget to send me anothet sorty battery. Anyone giving positive commenys on this site must be employerd or relativrs og Worx!

    -1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mamabena May 31, 2010

    My son-in-law assisted me with the Workx Weed Wacker for the first time since I received it two weeks ago. He is accustomed to using yard equipment since it is part of his job; but the frustration set in when the charger de-charged it self. Of course, we thought, we just opened the bos - perhaps we should have it charged it first. So we put it on the charger, awaited the green light, and it lasted another 20 minutes or so. I left the battery on the charger overnight, but after reading the entries here, I'm not so sure that will matter. If it works, I'll share my glee and overjoyment. If it doesn't, I'll ship it back and wait for a refund!!! I don't usually fall for infomercials - and this will be the last time - there ought to be a law!!!

    -1 Votes
  • Wm
    Wm .Ray Jun 07, 2010

    Workx trimmer not Worth the price.
    It is a sorry Product

    -2 Votes
  • Ro
    Robin Claire May 05, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Wm .Ray I have found it much better than much higher priced products. It is great, and has been for several years.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael5951 Jun 13, 2010

    bought mine first of last year just brought it out of tool shed and the battery still had a charge on it. Not much of a charge though I am charging it now and will post the results later.

    3 Votes
  • Mi
    Michael5951 Jun 14, 2010

    I recharged the unit and while the light never went to green after an hour the sun was going down on my day so I went for it anyway and weed whacked till the day and my arms wore out probably an hour or so, I am going to rig up a strap for it. When I went to recharge the unit it went on green immediately so I am letting it cool will go check and see if it will charge now. It has been a few hours. Clicked right over to red so it is charging. Unit seems fine. It of course is no where near as powerful as a gas or an electric trimmer but I am in no real hurry and I love the automatic line feed and the guard it keeps the unit to the exact placement when going along fences and decks. I wish it had a bit more power but it is the best cordless charge to use ratio I could find.

    YMMV

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RobertNE Jun 24, 2010

    I like the product but the battery life doesn't last as indicated...it charges slowly as well. It is light and allows one to work at different angles. A second battery costs around $99 which is more than the cost of a gas operated trimmer. The edging feature worked better than I thought. My suggestions is to keep the WORKX for edging and hard to reach trimming areas. Instead of buying a second battery, buy a gas trimmer for your heavy duty trimming. Now you have the best of both worlds.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bonnie56 Jul 14, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree, the battery sucks as you all have said, and it does have good features, but why do I want to have different trimmers when this one was stated to be the one for all trimming jobs? This is blatant misrepresentation of the product!! Why should I have to buy another battery or wait for re-charge time, just to get a third the job done that they claim it will do? Very disappointing with the performance and the product!

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    VinceMc Jul 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    agree!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Bragg Aug 01, 2010

    I have the workx and both batteries have gone bad with regular use in less than two months. I always ran battery completely down then charged. It would't hold a charge. Great tool if you can get batteries to charge and work.

    -1 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Bragg Aug 01, 2010

    Your battery and charger suck badly. Two batteries gone bad in less than two months. Unit not worth having if you can't get your battery and charger problem sovled. Next call is to the Better Business folks.

    -1 Votes
  • Ti
    tidy house Aug 04, 2010

    ... would really like to know 3 things... first of all- love the advertising on this product/ caught my attn which is rare, great marketing job guys, but does it work and work well ? 1st question --- Are there special instructions about when, how and how long the battery should be charging ?... are those instructions similar to those of a cordless phone where you need to Fully charge the battery before operating it i.e. 24-48 hours or it will not hold the charge ? or is it just an overall too-small, small juice battery (that maybe the company could improve on ?) ? 2nd question --- how large of an area are yours actually being used on, i.e. how large is your yard, would it still be an acceptable piece of lawn equipment for someone w/a very small lot ? i.e. me or retirement community yard, etc ? 3rd question --- for someone (like me) that purchased her first home, doesn't have a ton of edging or weeding to do or a lot of time and inclination to do it very often (but really likes the idea of having a neat and tidy yard), would the WorkX be an acceptable lawn tool ? just wondering- cause the price could come down...

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    tidy house Aug 04, 2010

    ... also, just looking for some positive answers if there are any out there/ ? I plan on doing most of the yard work myself unless I have some major renovation job or something... yard area is only 50x50 ... lot of 50 x 107 w/house on it... so... hope the manufacturer reads these, poss makes some small improvements, adds a strap- good idea, lowers the introduction price (which always happens) then I'll consider it...

    0 Votes
  • Bw
    B Worthy Seattle, WA Aug 06, 2010

    I have a workx trimer and it was the best investment I have ever made.
    I can do my yard (one acre) in half the time it used to take.
    I have never had the battery go dead between charges.
    I recommed this product to anyone. I am one happy camper.
    Do yourself a favor...get one. you won't regret it
    B Nosworthy seattle, wa

    2 Votes
  • Cj
    CJ Olney Aug 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got the worx weed trimmer, and it does do what the company said it would( starts easy and charges battery), however, , , , , I worked just for a few minuites, and the grass I was trimming worked itself around the spindle( that thing that makes the trimmer work) and I spent a lot of time just pulling the grass out . I would like to send the thing back to the company, but I cant find their website for their number. I am sorry I bought it. I guess I will contact my charge card company and see if they can hunt this company down. I dont want to pay for it.

    -1 Votes
  • Hv
    hvokey198 Sep 12, 2010

    i bought workx trimmer with battery and charger. It works great in the beginning, but not using it for sometime and went to charge the battery, it only lasted for few seconds when trimming the edge of my lawn. Im senting it back to the company, and i still i hope theirs a warrenty on the battery.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    they should be sued Dec 12, 2010

    I waisted my money and can't get it back. I even went through their service man in our area. It worked for 2 small trimmings and edging. I HAVE BEEN RIPPED OFF! THEY SHOULD BE SUED FOR FALSE ADVERTISING! I HAVE ALL THIS LINE NOW THAT FITS NOTHING AND I'M OUT $179.00 +

    1 Votes
  • Sk
    skipper051 Mar 27, 2011

    Ive had mine going on 3 yrs i bought two batterys and i love it no more cords or hard starting gas engines. I agree the batterys dont last but about 20 mins but by having two i have had no problems
    and the charger has allways worked fine .

    0 Votes
  • Bf
    bfarjob Apr 11, 2011

    I PURCHASED A WORKX WEEDTRIMMER ABOUT EIGTH MONYHS AGO.HOWEVER DUE TO ILLNESS, .ONLY RECENTLY ASSEMBLE IT AND COULDN'T WAIT TO TRIM THE "MONKKEY GRASS" ALONG MY DRIVE WAY AND HOUSE...20 MINUTES!. OR LESS!!!.WHAT HAPPEN?..I BOUGHT IT WITH THE EXPECTATION THAT THE BATTERY WOULD LAST AT LEAST 1 TO 2 HRS..I BOUGHT IT FROM QVC NOW ITS TOO LATE FOR A REFUND..I CAN'T AFFORD ANOTHER BATTERY...bfarjob

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anna Neff May 23, 2011

    I thought it was great at first. Real light and easy for a woman to use. Had some trouble getting charger to work occasionally. Now this year charger won't work at all. Hope they stand by warranty. Calling tomorrow.


    Anna- Michigan

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anna Neff May 23, 2011

    I thought it was great at first. Real light and easy for a woman to use. Had trouble with charger occasionally the first year, now this year, which is the second year I've had it, the charger won't work at all. First the light shows fully charged then it blinks red and won't charge battery. I'm hoping company stands by warranty. Calling them tomorrow.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ROBERT HOUCK May 25, 2011

    I BROUGHT THE WORKX TRIMMER A YEAR AGO AND WORKED GREAT FOR A MONTH OR SO. THE BATTERY
    CHARGE STARTED LASTING LESS AND LESS. IS THE
    BATTERY THE PROBLEM OR THE CHARGER?

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dizzydean67 Jun 03, 2011

    If your trimming a very small area the Workx Trimmer is fine, the battery life on a single charge is about 15 minutes so Two batteries is what I'd recommend. This is my 2nd season with the trimmer, while not fully satisfied I can't complain all that much Since I do my trimming over two days time to allow the battery's time to charge again, we have alot of areas to trim so it's a chore, Perhaps a Gas trimmer would have been a better choice in my case, I was thinking of the Wife and how it would have been easier for her to use the workx, but ha ha, I do all the work, sooo. One other thing here, if you let the trimming go for very long, it will take longer to get through the weeds and hence exhaust the battery's faster, so stay on top of the weeding and edging. not a bad machine for small areas, all in all

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    Lou Hoetzlein Jun 18, 2011

    I purchased the trimmer on June 6, 2009. You must have the battery COMPLETELY discharge. I put electrician tape arourd the two buttons, and let it run untill it stops. No problem after recharging. Today I was trimming and it just stopped dead. Won't start. Warrenty expired June 6, 2011. Go figure.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ramiro Zamora Jun 30, 2011

    I agree it doesn't feed the line all the time. I have two batteries, so I charge one as I use the other. Also, they will not charge if they are hot, thus I place them in the freezer if hot. All in all, it's less of a hassel than mixing gas, pulling strings, and dealing with leaking oil or other maintenance problems.

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    Gaétan Fournier Jul 29, 2011

    I bought one at the beginning of this summer and last week kaput! Doesn't work any more, after reading all of those complaints my choice is clear, I will not buy a new battery, I will buy another trimmer. I lost my money did not keep the bill. I am in electronic engineering so I have openned the battery pack to see where could be the problem. There is electronic circuitry in the battery, I think the problem comes from the temerature sensor that disables the battery charging circuit. The electronic design inside the battery seems to lack. There is also an electronic circuit connected to the temperature sensor into the unit itself, for me this is probably why it stopped to work instantly instead of gradually. I had before a battery operated trimmer from Black & Decker that lasted for more than seven years.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carlos01 Jan 10, 2014

    The Battery does not hold the charge, and the charger does not work

    0 Votes
  • Aa
    Aarron Jul 30, 2014

    Worx trimmer not a good product from standpoint of limited battery charge time that allows it to run and do a trimming job for only 15 minutes at most. Had I known I certainly would not have purchased the WORX trimmer.TV informercials are a hoax and to put it bluntly BS. Not worth the money. Contacted the company website only to find they mostly agree to the short work time of a fully charged battery. Then the battery needs to be fully discharged by clamping in the run mode until it fully dies. Be sure to cool the battery before charging. Product representative offered to sell me another battery at more than the price I paid for the complete unit. Higher rated battery only fits in new unit. Sorry I bought it.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    William young Jul 18, 2015

    I purchased the workx trimmer/weed eater. I charged the batteries, put the wheels on sets up too high to cut the grass, handle adjustment would not stay locked. Overall this is a over priced piece of trash. It would not be worth the effort to use it if it was free.

    0 Votes
  • Wm
    WmsFamily Williams Jul 20, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This has got to be the worst product I've ever purchase...I am returning it tomorrow!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Nakia Wiley Nov 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received my product almost a week ago, and have not been able to see if it even works because the cord did not come with it. Do I have to purchase my own power cord??? If so, where can I get one??? My yard is still full of leaves and they're talking about snow real soon! Has anyone else had this problem? I cannot get in touch with anyone about this issue that makes it even worse! I am so disappointed right now!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.