Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Scam & Fake Checks Winners International scam
C
Author of the complaint
9:39 am
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I reciently received a number of phone calls from men, claiming to be from a company, winners inernational. They advised me that I had won a sweepstakes lotto, and was entitled to a large sum of money. They said to keep it confidential, so that know one would try to rob me. Funny, it was them who was trying to rob me. They were very persistant, and called me for a few days, before I started screening my phone calles. If you recieve any phone calls like this, it is a scam, also check out td financial for the latest scam, which I also recieved a few days after the phone calls. They want you to wire / money gram them money, to cover, insurance, or state taxes on the supposed money that you have won. They assure you that you will recieve your money immediately after paying. Don't do it, it's a scam.

ADVERTISIMENT

More Winners International complaints & reviews

Winners International - you won 3.5 million dollars! oh did I forget 2 mention all the strings attached? scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Winners International - Lottery Winning Scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Winners International - telephone call
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Winners International - Scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Winners International - threatening phone calls
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Winners International - Charged for things I did not order and they won't cancel the suscription
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
179 comments
Add a comment
R
Jan 18, 2022 12:22 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I received a call yesterday from a Jamaica 876 number about having won a $1.5 M Sweepstake, being selected by Publishers Clearing House for being in good standing with VISA and MASTER CARD and a Bonus of $15, 000 which would be sent to my bank account. This was from a Mr. Walter Greenby who asked me to call him back in the morning. I asked him to send me an e-mail explaining the details. He said he would send it immediately, but it never came. Instead I was referred to the manager, Michael Anderson, who explained that I had won $5, 5M and a bonus, but I would be talking to Mr. Jack Foster for further details. Jack also said that he wants to see to it that I get an extra recovery amount of $150K for previous losses to scamsters. All along they waived the proverbial carrot in my face, but I knew what their trick was and played along. After more smooth talk Jack finally sent the requested e-mail which explained that the prize money is in escrow at the Bank of America awaiting stamp fees, transfer charges and claims by Revenue Canada Taxation for a total of $10, 500 to be paid in advance by me, plus a $2, 500 bank fee. I told Jack that I wanted to see the $15, 000 put into my debit account first and then pay those charges from this bonus. I also told him that I would never pay one Dollar to somebody promising me to send me money. After telling Jack what I thought of him and the crook he is, he hung up. Let it be a warning to anybody being approached by these slick gangsters and NEVER, NEVER send any money before not receiving some from them first, also NEVER let anybody share your access to your computer through Team Viewer or Any Desk. Further, you may get a bogus cheque which you are to deposit into your account and then right away return some of the money. Only send money after the cheque has been cleared by the bank - usually after 5 days.

G
Aug 18, 2021 4:16 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

i have been told i won 6 million and 9 hundred thousand this was in feb the 9th so i was happy and went along for a while and they were comming to deliver my check they in my town and called said they were in jail two of them then on my phone i get from FBI texts saying it was ok they checked it out but had to back to NY. as to late to go to the bank. a few months later they were comming again to bring check well they did not do some thing they were to suppose register some thing they did not do back to NY again the next time i moved and they were going to be there in were i moved the man i always talk to said him IRS would deliver it with the sales man then i got a call a family emergency in FLORADA so not done again then the end of june they called to say they were in town and all was good then i got a call saying that prize would be cancelled by the prize giver and a new one would be replaced in sept with a whole new gift from scratch and not a truck but a car i am waiting n o date given, they have 85, 000$ of my money put if it new why do they keep my money they took $5 0.000 for IRS lady BECAUSE OF THE LARGE AMOUNT SHE HAD TO BE THERE so this going on for almost 7 month does a IRS have to present at the bank ?

G
Oct 22, 2019 1:25 pm

I received a call from them saying I won $10, 000, 000 & $8, 000, 000. Right now I am waiting for confirmation documents in the mail. I believe I won't receive them. If I do I'll let you know. But I refuse to send any money to anyone I don't know.

J
Nov 16, 2017 5:16 pm

Yes this is a scam I tell him I'm laying in hospital having breast surgery because of cancer.And they don't care.They are willing to take advantage of anyone.please do not do this.if it's to good to be true..it is..

M
Oct 31, 2017 4:03 pm

Beware: the scammers are on the prowl again in 2017. My mom has received multiple phone calls from different men (all speak with an accent) claiming she has won 3.5 million dollars and to collect her money she needs to pay the tax on the money. It is a scam! Luckily I was at home when the call came through and she asked me to speak with the party on the other end of the line. Please do not support terrorism!

G
Oct 02, 2017 3:31 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I just received a call from a Ryan Anderson October 2/2017 advising me that I had won $984, 000.00 and a brand new car-he said that he was representing Canadian tire ? I asked him where he was calling from -St-John Nebraska--- what the hell Nebraska ? Canadian Tire has no stores outside of Canada -so I knew then that this was a total scam but I continued to ask him questions -I asked him if this call was being monitored and his answer was yes and by whom? his reply was -the cia ? I asked the central intelligence agency ? he replied yes WOW
HOW STUPID DOES HE THINK PEOPLE ARE-- he was even then very insistent and I then asked him how will my prizes be delivered?
he said that someone would deliver the said check at my home but will I be ready to pay $487.00 as delivery costs?/
I hung up but did not give out my address or any other information----ps this guy had a strong accent so maybe from Nigeria but definitely not a ryan Anderson

S
Jul 14, 2017 12:14 pm

I was just contacted by Wayne Walters @ [protected]. His email is [email protected] He asked me if I had been getting his mail. I said no because I no longer live at that address. Of course he wanted my new address and I didn't give it to him. He said I had registered at Walmart back in 2010 and I had just now won. I told him that I was at work and I didn't have time for this nonsense. I said what did I win? I won a new car and a check. I asked OK how much money did I win? He said you have my phone number and that's when he gave me his email address and said it was private and he didn't want to give that information when everyone was around. I said you are not on speaker phone and I am in my office so no one can hear. He said it is private so call me when you get home. I bet I do! If these darn people would get a legitimate job and stop trying to steal from people it would make it so much easier on helpless older people and disabled people that need money so badly that they fall for this crap. Contacting me 7 years after I so called entered something was stupid on his part. Please people I contacted Walmart and this is a scam. DO NOT fall for it.

J
Jun 09, 2017 12:43 pm

Call came in today June 9, 2017 man named Tony Simith said he was a UPS driver, had a certified check with Winners International, stating that we have won 250, 000 dollars and a Chevy Malibu.
Congratulated me on our win. Wanted to know how far the Post Office was from where we lived then said we would have to go to Wal mart to get the papers for taxes, and pay 1% with a money order to give them when they delivered the check for the money and car. Gave us all sorts of Confirmation numbers [protected] USA, [protected] USA, [protected], Phone # [protected]. My husband and I keep talking to him to waste his time and hopefully aggravate him. Hope some one out there can catch these people and put a stop to trying to take advantage of those that actually work hard to make a living.

J
Feb 18, 2017 3:23 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I've received 3 calls today beginning at 1:05 AM this morning (EDT). Said I had won $3.5MM and had a certified check ready to send me. Said to call them back at [protected]. Caller identified himself as Bill. BEWARE! Total SCAM!

D
May 22, 2011 11:33 am

I recieved a check today(5/7/09) from the winners co. inc. The check has a Mrs. Winners logo in the top left-hand corner with an address from Atlanta GA beside the logo. The check is for 4, 775 dollars and the letter with the check says i, ve won 250 thousand. this check is to pay the applicable taxes of 2, 950. It claims that i will receive the balance after the taxes are paid. the letter said to not cash the check until i called. I called and gave the claim # to a claim agent and she then said that I could go to the bank and cash it and then call her back. I did not go yet. What is the deal here?

A
Sep 30, 2016 7:33 pm

They are now using Facebook to try and scam people. I received a friend request from a MARK ALLEN whose timeline and profile say he's a UPS employee from Tennessee City, Tennessee. The next day I received a message via messenger stating I had won $90, 000, a 2016 Lexus, $1, 000 per month for the rest of my life and an Amazon gift card, no amount listed for the gift card. He wanted me to confirm my phone number and my full address. When I asked for some form of validation of the Company and him, he would only message back for me to confirm my information. He repeatedly asked for my phone number and full address. I gave him nothing. I think it's pretty low to use a person in anyway. I posted a warning to my friends. I unfriended and blocked him on Facebook.

N
Jun 07, 2016 3:54 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Well my information is this...all of the above...this very sweet man was very concerned with my health...did I have enough medicine...did I have enough money to buy my meds...He even told me that he would send me a money order and I was to take out all the money I needed to get my bank account straight...told him I was overdrawn which I am...he was very willing to help me but I needed to go and borrow money on my car and send him as much of $2500.00 as possible to pay taxes on my $250, 000.00 that I had won...I'm 70 years old and have lived long enough to know a scam when I hear one...but my husband does not trust anyone so threatens me for even talking to these people...he doesn't understand that I enjoy listening to the promises they make to you and even tell you they are a Christian and wouldn't ever do anything to hurt you and to trust them as much as they trust you...well yes I am a believer and one of the things I believe is that he will stand before God and answer for all the lies he has told poor people who believe him...I am just thankful I am not one of them... BEWARE of men with sweet talking foreign speaking voices...If you lose you money it's your own fault for not listening to us...because the officials won't help you.!

R
Oct 14, 2015 3:15 pm

Call you on the phone they tell you you won so many millions of dollars but in order to get it you have to send them some money first.

D
Sep 16, 2015 2:23 pm

Also just called by this company, a representative Andy Goldgerg asking if received their leeter/notification of my winnings. He was hard to understand. I gave very little info in the way of responses. He then started to say 'F*&% You ' to me over and over. I asked him if this is how he spends his day and I hope he gets arrested soon. Hi # is [protected]. What is wrong with people!?

A
Aug 24, 2015 1:30 pm

This lady sent me a face book friend request then sent this message Well we all at the usa womanfreebies company would like to say congratulation you were been selected for this month first place winner for $350, 000 and $1000 gift card weekly also 2015 Toyota Camry car once more congratulation! Angelica strebeck and it sent them 150$ now I'm broke they said they were delever in my stuff no later than 12 but lied and won't answer their phone and the woman deleted her face book .

Guy called my husband claiming we would be receiving a delivery today at 3 pm and he was making sure we were going to be home. I called them back and gave them a fake name, they told me they had called me to tell me I had won $375k cashiers check, $275k in cash, a 2010 mercedes (its 2011 for pete's sake) and a gift basket with a 42" plasma tv. I strung the guy along for over 15 minutes - told him I would go right away to the Western Union to wire the $375 processing fee. I kept him going until I asked if it would be a problem that I was a Federal Interal Revenue agent. I think he Sh*t his pants!

G
Jan 26, 2015 2:43 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I received a call from a guy about 2 weeks ago, he said that i won 2.1 million dollarsand a brand new mercedes benz. but i had to send them $1200.00. for the processing /registration for the car. i said no thank you and hung the phone up. He kept calling me about 5 more times, he finally stop calling.Well today i received a call from the so called F.B.I. he said his name was, this is funny ( GARY COOPER).mind you that his accent was so so heavy like he was from haiti. unbelievable. he said that he was following up on International Sweepstakes that it was not a scam. its true thats why he was calling me to let me know its ok to send them the money.I told him i need to see some documents all about the 2.1 mil and the car, he said that the don't have a fax or e-mail. i hung up the phone. he kept calling me. so the next morning he called again around 6:45 a.m.He said he's in california. there time is 3 hrs back, so he called me 3:45 a.m. weird rite. there nothing but trash . they need to be caught put those scams away.

A
Jan 06, 2015 10:55 am

I received a call from a friend who had gotten calls from the number [protected] and said when he tried to call back he got an error code. I called the number and a man named Peter Douglas said I had an undelivered package and he needed to call me back in the morning because he was just leaving the office. He called back at 8:15 on Jan. 6, 2015 and I told him that I had called for a friend and gave him his number. He called back a few minutes later and said he did not want to speak to a man but to me. He had my name and address and told me I had won a car and $72, 000.00. I asked him how I had won and he said by using my credit and debit cards. He said he wanted to verify that I would be home so they could deliver my prize. He said he was just a delivery man and had worked at Publishers Clearing House as a delivery person. He said these people didn't want to just pop in. They wanted to be sure I'd be home to accept my prize. I told him I thought it was a hoax and he tried to change my mind but I told him to give the prize to someone else, I wasn't interested.

L
Oct 11, 2014 2:00 pm

-T) hese ###s just called me, supposedly from Jamaica, the number it came from was [protected]. Perp stated that his name is Mr. James Anderson and that he is calling me from Winner's Int'l. That this matter is urgent and for me to call them back immediately regarding a certofoed check that they have for me. I know that this is ### and I have contacted the police giving them ALL of this information. If "Mr. Anderson" only knew how broke we are, he'd have a cow and realize that this 'pawn' is not worth the time. I hate those effers!

P

Yes I was contacted about a year ago from a man claiming to be Mr. JOHN FERNANDEZ saying that I had won 2.5 million also a merecedes benz in a years time he has coned me out of 4500. He had me sending money to a KEMAR RHODES in St Marys Jamaica claiming that he was the broker. This guy is a fraud. I finally spoke with the president I was told that Mr. JOHN FERNANDEZ was an employee of Winners International and that he would be fired right away I hope this is true. Now I am suppose to receiive documentation of all this in the mail if not I am contacting the FBI. So please beware of this man Mr. JOHN FERNADEZ and KEMAR RHODES

P
Sep 12, 2014 8:07 pm

I have really enjoyed Mr. John Kennedy calling me from Winnners International. This was an obvious scam - wanting me to buy green dot cards and give him the number to pay taxes on my winnings of $2.5 million. He called me 67 times over a day and one-half. Finally tonight I told him that I enjoyed "playing with him". Then I started calling him at the same number from which he had called me. After about 100 phone calls he was begging me to stop calling him. It was so much fun. I told him I had to go to bed early because I had to slop the hogs in the morning and all kinds of stories about why I couldn't get the green dot cards for him.

The only way to stop these idiots is to harrass them more than they do you. The green dot cards should be outlawed. The cards are marketed by Visa and Mastercard and are issued by the Green Dot Bank, which is owned by Visa and Mastercard!

A
Jun 14, 2014 4:46 pm

Received a call today from Winners, Int'l - Caller ID [protected] Kingston JM - The guy had a heavy accent and the phone line had a lot of static and I couldn't understand some of what he said so he had to spell several words so I could understand what he said.

Here is some of the conversation:
"You have won 2.5 million dollars"

But, I didn't sign up for anything.

"When you paid your cellphone bill on time and every time you paid your credit card bill on time your name was entered in a drawing and you won the 3rd prize of 2.5 million dollars"

Okay...

"UPS will deliver to you tomorrow between 2-3pm"

UPS doesn't deliver on Sunday.

"Oh, yes. Monday morning, they will deliver between 2 and 3, and you will need to give the driver the following reference code xxxxxx, package code xxxxxxxx and 3 digit code xxx and you will need to present a claimers card, Green Dot Money Pack card"

I don't have a claimers card. I don't even know what that is.

"You go to Walmart or Walgreen's and buy a $50 .."

I'm not buying anything, this is a scam.

Then I hung up. Unfortunately I did tell him that I would not be home between 7am and 6pm and he knows my address.

L
Jun 12, 2014 1:06 pm

Today we got a call from winners international. The man said i won a 2004 bmw. That i had to go over get green dot card from walmart with total 560. 00. He told my mom she had to stay on phone while i went. Then he told her she was to go to bank with him because she won 1 million dollars. That we couldnt tell anyone. The scary thing is he got our adress. Now he wont stop calling.

C

I got a call from these guys at 2:00 AM telling me I won 4.5 million dollars and a new BMW from Winners International/ Donald Trump & Oprah Winfrey. He said his name was Mark Peterson but he spoke with such a thick Jamaican accent that I could barely understand a word he said. I called his number back at 8:00 AM to question why a legit business would call someone in the middle of the night and he said because he wanted to be sure that I was home! Then he told me I had to go to CVS or Wal Mart right then and purchase a Money Card for $199 to give to the driver who was delivering my check that morning. While he was blabbering on... I went online and read all the complaints from others about him. His phone number is [protected] but my caller ID said the call was from Jamaica. I told him Donald Trump and Oprah Winfrey were professionals and they would NEVER hire someone who doesn't speak proper English to call someone at 2:00 AM! To mess with him, I told him I already had a money card but my brother who was a police man would be here to meet his driver. He said if I had the card on me to read the numbers off the back of the card so he could purchase the "security insurance" before delivering the money to my house. I said, No, when the driver shows up with the money, I'll call you back and give you the numbers then. Then the idiot said, "That's not how this works! And I said, Oh that's not how your SCAM works? I hung up on him. I hope someone finds this idiot and puts him in jail.

J
Apr 28, 2014 11:20 am

HOW CAN WE DO A CLASS ACTION SUIT AGAINST THE WINNERS INTERNATIONAL SWEEPSTAKES, VEGAS NV? We could get our money back! Is there an attorney out there that willing to help those that have been scammed?

C
Apr 25, 2014 5:18 pm

CONTACT SCAM INVESTIGATION DEPARTMENT E-MAIL:[email protected]

R
Apr 24, 2014 3:19 pm

Yes, just got a phone call from Joe Johnson [protected] his supervisor [protected].. He stated I had won 25 Million and 2 Mercdes. I laughed"..I let him keep talking ! Google the scam . He said I needed to be happy about my winnings and should send my 1 percent via western union to get delivery of cars. He said he was calling from location in New York. But it's an international number. Do these scammers not realize people have caller ID.
He keeps calling me back. So I text to his international number to stop the calls, the I have contacted consumer affairs., I just feel very bad for the people who believed this...

J
Jan 06, 2014 3:46 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I've been messing with 'Winners International' for a year now. Many things on this SCAM sight are exactly what they told me; many different approaches but all used by most of them. They are persistent, even pushy. If you push back, they get outwardly angry and verbally offensive. They are Jamaican and share some of the same language/cultural idiosyncraties. With me, they acted like others had invaded their territory and instructed me to never talk with the other guys. I'm sure they were all part of the set-up, with their plan being to get more money from me by stating that if I paid money to the others, it would not be counted as a payment with their company.
They, too, used the explanation that the $$ be sent by W. Union or MoneyGram or use Green Dot MoneyPac, or USPS Overnight Mail, to some assumed regular citizen in several places in US and Jamaica. I, too, cannot believe there isn't some legal intervention in this country to handle these individuals. From this website, there are a lot of people with a lot of info on this "company". For me, I've recorded my info and am mailing it to my attorney for safe keeping, my local law enforcement, the State Attorney General, and perhaps some attorneys who handle these kind of cases and would love to see these guys (I never talked to a woman at Winners International) behind bars with some of the biggest, nastiest criminals in the world.
Yes beware--and do not stop your vigilance. I had my phone #s changed 3 times to try to avoid the persuing calls

G
Dec 02, 2013 7:58 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I received phone call today (12/2) from Andrew Moore, Winner International. Winning 2.5 million BUT I WON'T HAVE TO PAY ANYTHING! Ha! If anyone else calls, ask for my code which Andrew gave me, to see if they are legit. He is supposed to call in the morning at 7:30 and they are supposed to deliver the check accompanied by a marshal and an attorney, between 9 and 10:30 A.M. tomorrow. This is tax free BUT the IRS is going to have to ok the "package" because I receive a government check monthly. Ha! His "cell" number is [protected] from Rialto, CA. I have received numerous calls from these scammers for at least 2-3 months - all with an accent (Asian?) Most of the time I ignore, sometimes lift up receiver and click on and off! But this one called back 3 times before I finally stopped to listen when he answered that I would not have to pay anything... we will see.

L
Jun 23, 2009 10:41 am

Yes, a man keeps calling me to say iv'e won 2.5 million dollars and I need to send a money-gram or western union 200.00 to a : (thelma howell at 2562 warm springs rd. chambersburg, pa. 17202) he would'nt give me a phone number on her just that she recives the money for the co. after I send the money to her, they contact her to send my check. I know this is a scam, and it makes me so mad that people can do this and get away with it! im in hopes that you can use this address on this women if she is envolved in helping these people, or maybe she isnt even a real person, who knows! please let me know if you catch these scam artists, they should be jailed without any hopes of getting out. what an awful thing to do to people! no wonder they want you to keep it confedential! again please keep me informed as to the hopes in catching them and prosecuting them to the fullest extent of the law! you can also go to ebay where I have my store and e-mail me at (pony's jewlery10) thnks so much!

mrs. leanna gipson

J
Dec 22, 2009 12:25 pm

Today at work I received a second call from a man who claimed to be from the customs department who said he was in possession of a check in the amount of $2.5 million for me. He said that I am the confirmed 2nd place winner and that he wanted to deliver my check to me. He said that I, along with everyone else who uses their credit cards/debit cards or pays their bills on time are entered in the drawing. He then confirmed my address (scary) and said that he needed 1% customs and tax fees to cover delivery. He then asked if I was married. At that point I asked why that would matter. I told him that I wasn't interested and please not call back. He persisted, so, I told him that I wanted to bridge in the police on a 3 way call so that he could again confirm my "winnings". at that point, he began cursing at me in what I believe was French and asked me if I had heard of Scarface. He said he was the person the movie was written about and that he was going to come over and murder my whole family.

That last part was particularly disturbing, however since the person was calling from Jamaica, I think that it will be a while before they actually get to California..

That number by the way.. [protected]...

I received a call today from an Eddie Jones employee # 588066 statng he was from Winners International in Las Vegas stating I won a large sum of money. He requested my email address and or a fax number to send documents and then he will call back. How far do they have to go before being arrested. Perhaps then they would stop harrassing people.

J
Sep 16, 2010 2:43 pm

I got a phone call at 10am and the guy called from [protected] and said to call [protected]. I had won 2.5 million dollars. I thought yeah right. I called the number and the lady's name was Beverly Simmons, and she said that my VISA credit card application gave my a nomination for this award. BUT I have never used my VISA and I just got it in the mail. They said that I needed to get a money gram from $250.00. I told them I didn't have $250.00 and Beverly told me that the Tresurey department could take care of half, but I still had to pay $125.00. I am not going to pay to recieve money. I asked if they could take the $125 out of the winings and she said I couldn't because that money is mine and they can't touch it. The money would be great, but I don't remember signning up for a $2.5 million dollar sweepstakes. I wish there was a way to get back at these people. It is cruel to tell someone that their dreams are answered and then take from them. WHATEVER YOU DO DON'T GIVE MONEY TO GET IT, ESPECIALLY IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE.

L
Oct 12, 2010 7:59 pm

I, too, have received several calls recently from Winners International. They are telling me that I too was the winner of 2.5 million dollars, and also a convertible mercedes. I even so much as told them to call my local police station and talk to an officer. And that if he would call me, and tell me this is all on the upty up, that I might go along with it. I was told that they were already in the town where I lived and that they needed me to pay $199.00 for them to deliver the car to me, and that they would also give me a check when the car was delivered, and I was to pay them $2, 500 also out of the check that they were giving me. Truthfully, I never believed a word of it. The man however, did call the police dept. and talked to the officer that I had talk to before this man had a chance to call. The policeman told me not to go for it. Infact he told the guy to bring the car by the police dept. so that he could see for himself, then he would give me a call. The man, with a unusal accent calls me then one more time. When I finally told him I was not going to go for it, he started cursing me out something terrible. He then hung up and I hung up. But today, a different man called me. And I too, reported this to the police. Not much more can be done.
I conscider myself LUCKY

I have been receiving phone calls from an unknown number for several days now. After ignoring them for two days, I decided to go ahead and answer the call one Saturday afternoon. The guy spoke with an accent, later recognized as Jamaican, and told me he was with Winners International. He said that they were ready to deliver me a prize of $450, ooo and a New Mercedes. I asked about the contest, and he told me the Oprah Winfrey was rewarding random people that had paid their bills on time. He explained that they were covering 95% of the shipping fees on the car, but I would need to take care of the remaining 5% (a sum of $299.00) in order to qualify for tax-free status. According to him, "President Mo-Bama" had approved that the winnings be tax-free under these conditions. I asked where he was if he was going to be delivering the prize, and he said, "We are right in your neighborhood".

I asked where exactly he was, he asked me to hold, and then he read out my address. I asked if he was in my yard, and then he replied no. I asked where he was then. Then he told me "at the airport". I asked "What airport?" He then said, "The airport in your city. What do you think?" I then told him that there was no airport in my city, and he tried to tell me that he was at the one that closest to my house.

I then asked him if he had been sitting there at the airport for a few days because I did not get a chance to talk to him. He said that he was in Las Vegas before, but he had flown in that day because he wanted to be there to deliver my prize. I then asked him again what airport he was at, and he could not name the airport. He could not even name the city that the airport was in, 20 miles from me. I then badgered him until he finally hung up because I did "not want to be a winner." I assured him that I wanted the money and asked if he would please just answer my questions. He told me that he was going to give the prize to someone else because I was doubting his honesty.

Two days later, I am getting a call from "his manager" and now the prize is $2.5 million dollars, but I have to pay $399 now instead of $299. This time the new guy (sounded just like the first) is at the home office in Las Vegas. That is because they had to store my Mercedes for a couple of extra days. I told him to let me run to the Western Union, and I would call him back. He gave me a number to call him back to verify after it was done. The number was [protected]. It checks out as a number in Jamaica. I have caught these guys in so many lies and slip ups when I talk to them that it is ridiculous.

I have done nothing but laugh at these people because it is so obviously a scam.

B
Dec 27, 2010 9:52 pm

A man called stating that I had won a $5.5 M reward through filling out some coupons. I asked what company it was through and he said Winner International. I immdiately looked it up while I was still on the phone and saw it was a scam. He wanted to send me a certified check and needed my address. I told him that I knew it was a scam and he hung up the phone. BEWARE - if it's too good to be true, it's probably is!

W
May 02, 2011 6:02 pm

Mr. John Green just phoned to tell me I am a winner of $2, 500, 000.00 from Winners International. Prize Number 665L. His phone number is [protected]. And, was I over 65 and an American citizen. No account of what I might have done or why I was selected. But, I was to send them $499.00 ( stated as 4 - 9- 9 ) by loading the funds onto a green.moneypak reloadable debit card, purchased from a CVS store. He is going to call me back in a few hours to get the debit card number. Once he get it, he will transmit the cheque for 2.5 million $ to me to be delivered by a FedEx employee. Of course he will. No doubt in my mind. I hope he is holding his breath.

D
Jun 27, 2011 9:52 pm

I received about 50 calls in the past week saying I had won a whopping 9.2 million dollars and that I would. Receive the check tax free from. Donald Trump himself, oh. Joy, anyways all I had to do was send them a check of 400 dollars! Isn't that a deal! They said it was to pay off the shipping and handling? Well I sent them a check canceled it and later had the guys call me wondering why I canceled the check before they could cash it. Wellitold them "oh silly me of course I'll trust a complete stranger with my money. I recorded all their calls sent it to the police and now they are looking in to it.

K
Aug 14, 2011 3:59 pm

I got a call last night around 10:00 pm and could not believe these jerks were calling me again and so late. About two months ago they called everyday and sometimes 3 or 4 times a day. One day the call 12 times in an hour. I called the police and they said there was nothing they could do. So I called my phone service carry and they told me to change my number. So I went to Walmart and bought an air horn. Now everytime they call, I hold the phone as close as I can to the air horn and blow it for about 30 seconds. It seems to help, cuz now they only call about once a month. Maybe after blowing out their ears a few more times they will get the message. By the way the police seemed to think the air horn was a good idea. If can't afford an air horn, then get a loud wistle. We will then show these ### SCAMMERS whose in charge.

A
Sep 14, 2013 4:08 pm

My grandmother, has had this same problem, with these people calling her day after day, to 4x a day. Their story changes, the com that they are calling from changes, the only thing that stays the same is the 876 area code. She finally got fed up with it, and asked to use my police whistle, that I used to use for yard duty. Well this morning when they called, she blew it right in to the phone. I hope they got the message. Don't mess with the elderly, they know old school, they will pull old school. I do hope these people get caught, they are more persistent than bill collectors.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

97 complaints
51 resolved 46 unresolved

Winners International contacts

(added by reviewer)
ADVERTISIMENT