Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Unauthorized Charges Value Plus Unauthorized charges to my discover card

Value Plus  -  Unauthorized charges to my discover card

M
Author of the complaint
10:18 am
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I have no idea who this company is but they have been taking 16.95 out of my discover card for over a year. The number they tell you to call don't work. I can't find any one to help me with this matter. If any one has a good phone number to contact them or address, it would be a great help.

Thank You.

ADVERTISIMENT

More Value Plus complaints & reviews

20 comments
Add a comment
G
Jan 25, 2007 12:00 am

I never received any letter or email from this company and I already left US on Dec. 19. I never got to use my dollar debit card from then on. I was surprised when I got charged for 14.95 each for 12/27 and 1/23. This is impossible 'cause I never made any purchase from this company and never even received anything from them!

M

I also have the same problem I just check my acccount i am being charged 19.95 for service i did not authorize. I try calling the number provide and no answer. I have submitted a dispute on these transactions.

W
Jul 03, 2009 12:55 am

I have complained to this number twice now. [protected]) The first tme they refunded my money and said they canceled my membership, which I never knew I was a member. This time I have to fill out a form and send it back to them. I will make copies and send it to the BBB. Babe Ruth never got more than three strikes and these knuckle heads shouldn't either.

J
Aug 12, 2008 10:34 pm

The same damn thing happened to me. Where does this ### come from. I have caller id so I dont even answer bogus numbers

M
Aug 11, 2008 1:58 pm

How are these people getting our credit card number numbers? That what I would like to know!

C
Apr 14, 2008 3:41 pm

FIRST OF ALL CANCEL YOUR CREDIT CARD/DEBIT CARD
I disputed a claim on behalf of my Grandmother. I got over $400 returned to her. I called the customer service number and cancelled the membership. I made a formal complaint to the BBB in Minnesota. I believe she may have ordered something from Haband (a catalog that caters to the older customer). I have also read complaints online from other people that got scammed, and believe that they prey on older customers or people that they do not believe will notice. I believe you call and order something and then the credit card number is transferred to these Value Plus people that talk quickly (most times mumbling or using broken english). I encourage everyone to keep fighting for their money back.
Contact at Provell952-258-2000
Contact Email: [email protected]

Better Business Bureau of Minnesota and North Dakota
C/O Ms. Donna D'amalfi
2706 Gannon Road
Saint Paul, MN 55116

A
Feb 06, 2008 5:45 am

This value plus is a scam. Beware. Took money out of my account i do not know the company and never received any products.

A
Feb 05, 2008 2:58 pm

This company fraudulently took money from my account, and thankfully I noticed it immediately. I specifically told the salesman "no." The way to get your money back is to write a letter to the company notifying them of your complaint, your desire to cancel & demand your money back - send it certified mail. Send it to the company responsible for WC Value Plus:

Provell
1100 Wayzata Blvd
Suite 680
Minneapolis, MN 55305

Also send a copy of the letter to the Better Business Bureau of Minnesota & North Dakota [protected]). Their address is:

2706 Gannon Rd
Saint Paul, MN 55116

The director of consumer affairs at Provell/WC Value Plus is Michael J. Murphy. He will probably send a letter back saying that you placed an order & provided "electronic signature authorization" (which is a lie), but they will refund your money.

You can also send a copy of your complaint to the Federal Trade Commission at:

https://rn.ftc.gov/pls/dod/wsolcq$.startup

The FTC cannot get your money back, so it is still important to send letters to Provell & the BBB. But the FTC needs to be notified about these fraudulent business practices.

A
Dec 16, 2007 10:44 pm

Be sure to contact your bank after the company offers to refund your money... I had this same crap pulled on me too, a $40 and $19.95 charge was made to my account, I called the company, (one of the numbers above) and they were more than willing to cancel my account and refund the money, I saw the transaction go through that afternoon that they refunded my account. A month later, I wasn't watching my account very closely and I fianlly noticed that they charged me for last month and this month... I'll call them back this afternoon to get them to cancel and refund again and then I'm calling my back directly to tell them not to accept anything else from them...

Thanks for the numbers Again! Hopefully this will become illegal soon and no more of these scams will be possible!

K
Nov 27, 2007 3:52 pm

This company is a huge rip-off! They took $16.95 out of my account two different times and had another transaction on hold to come out today! I tool a look at my bank statement online and noticed this charges on my account that I did NOT authorize them to do so! So, be careful ordering anything online because these companies that you actually buy things from in turn sell your name and credit card number to these fraud companies! Here is a valid number [protected]) that I actually talked to someone to cancel my account and reimburse the total amount of money taken out of my account! Good luck to everyone who gets caught up in this kind of scam!

A
Nov 02, 2007 4:07 pm

I also had the same problem you have to report what happened to consumer rights wc value plus. todays escapes and hcpgold (healthcare privileges) get access to your card number illegally even though they may tell you that merchants share personal information, that is true but they cannot share card numbers only names address and phone number... so u need to call this number to make a complain (if there are enough complaints to these people they will investigate and take legal action against them) [protected] their website is www.fdic.gov/index.html... u should also cancel these subscriptions the number for wc value plus is [protected]... please make complains to this phone line cause they say they get the card numbers legally and that if they were doing something illegal they would be out of business. So please make the complain against them.

P
Oct 03, 2007 7:45 am

My husband received a call on his cell phone from someone idenitifying themselves as the bank where we do have an account. On 7-25-07, they convinced him to sign up for some membership services thing for $1.00.

He told me about it and I called the next day to cancel, explicitly following all their instructions to do so. WC HOMEPLAY nevertheless charged our account $19.95 in September and October. I had ordered other things and assumed this September charge of $19.95 was legitmate.

My suspicions were arroused in October when another charge came. I started investigating and read all the complaints online with regard to WC HOMEPLAY.

I called WC HOMEPLAY and told them to cancel and was advised by them that they would credit my account $19.95 and there would be no further charges. Based on the complaints I read, I did not believe them, so I proceeded to call my credit card company and dispute the charges.

My bank informs me I should get my almost $60 returned and there would be no further charges from WC HOMEPLAY.

Thanks for the warning about WC HOMEPLAY. My advice is to not trust them but proceed immediately to dispute the charges.

R
Jun 07, 2007 5:18 am

I don't have any idea about this company and what they sell /services. I just checked my on line banking and they charged my debit account of $16.95 for wc value plus and i didn't authorize them. I don't know on how to contact them regarding taking the charge off my bill.

R
May 08, 2007 8:06 am

Value Plus Phone - [protected]
Value Plus HomePlay - [protected]

Provell Inc.
11100 Wayzata Blvd. Ste. 680
Minneapolis, MN [protected]
[protected]

At the time I called to cancel my "membership" representatives at both of the 1800 numbers could pull up both of my "memberships." I have not yet used the 952 number. However, I will if I incur additional charges. This seems to be the number to the parent company controlling ValuePlus.

I must admit, my charges from this company resulted from my own stupidity. I believed the representative was contacting me about an account I held through Chase Bank. Things I learned:

***Do not assume that your bank is contacting you by phone. Interrupt any "representative" that calls you. Ask for a number to call them back, and then call or visit your legitimate bank.

***Recognize that your information is being sold daily. Don't assume a call is legitimate simply because the caller has information on your activities that sounds correct. Remember how your mom told you never to go off with a stranger simply because they knew your name? When I called Chase about this (immediately after the scam call), they could not fully help me identify whether or not this was a legitimate call regarding their rewards program. Why? Because they DO participate in four programs - which means that they most likely sold my information to these four "Rewards programs" and possibly others.

***When in doubt - Hang UP! Yes, it is rude to cut off another human being mid-sentence. However, think of the cost of a mistake! The representative (or computer) on the other end of the line will just call the next person assigned. It's not personal.

***In closing: Read the fine print, don't sign anything that you have not read first (really - even the back page with the ink in some crazy color), don't believe that anything is free, check the FTC website frequently, document your communications in writing, and SHARE - this complaint board can really assist people. I learned the first of the 1-800 numbers here.

J
Apr 22, 2007 5:41 pm

I do not know what WC Value plus is and i did not buy anything from them

S
Dec 20, 2006 3:45 pm

These companies attach themselves to other purchases either through 'As seen on tv' purchases. If you EVER order anything like that, the 'FREE' training CD's, computer software training, or As seen stuff, be VERY CAREFUL. The packing slip you get will have just a little information on it about the 'trial offers' like this one that will start hitting your bank account, sometimes less than 30 days after you placed your order.

The people taking your order on the phone ask eighteen million questions and usually toss ones like this in stating that it's FREE, for the first 30 days... I started getting charged from the VALUEPLUS thing right after I ordered something I actually DID want. It cost me four phone calls to four different places to cancel all the FREE crap they tried to hit me with.

L
Nov 14, 2006 8:28 pm

I don't know who this company is or what they sell but I just checked my on line banking and they charged my acct 16.95 for value plus and 16.95 for wc explorer usa mem. Didn't authorize.

W
Nov 08, 2006 9:18 pm

This company billed my Capital One card for two payment of 14.95 on separate dates.
I called the 800 number listed on the transaction line [both transaction lines have the same number].
I advised them that I did not want to see any more charges from them. They said they would cancel my account. I advised them that I never authorized the account, and yes, they better not try charging my account again.

I then wrote a letter to Capital One and placed it in the mail today.

I hope this resolves it.

They did say my wife authorized the account, yet when I asked for them to send me proof the agent said the account is now closed and hung up on me.

How can we stop these type of rip-offs?

J
Jan 31, 2018 12:33 am

CALL THEM BACK ASK FOR SUPERVISOR AND EXPLAIN THAT YOU DID NOT AUTHORIZE THIS AND YOU WANT A REFUND, THEN CALL THE ATTORNEY GENERAL IN YOUR STATE, AND EVEN IF THEY DO REFUND THE MONEY IT IS STILL A FELONY AS THEY DEBITED YOUR ACCOUNT WITHOUT PERMISSION. I GOT MINE BACK WISH THE SAME FOR YOU.

J
Nov 07, 2006 4:48 pm

I just called and cancelled my subscription to Valueplus. The number I called is
[protected]. I talked to a real person

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

160 complaints
70 resolved 90 unresolved

Value Plus contacts

(added by reviewer)
PO Box 5265, Minnesota United States
ADVERTISIMENT