The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
United Collection BureauAwful experience

A

I received a phone call from this collection company, and the message said 'It would be in my best interest to return the call because further action could be taken against me if I did not call.' When I did call back I was treated very rudely. The woman I talked to tried to degrade me and insult my intelligence. I tried to explain my financial situation, but she kept interrupting me, with threats. She was not very good at her job. I'm one of many who paid my bills until circumstances out of my control put me in a financial crisis.

I've worked in collections and I never had to treat anyone with such disrespect. You have to understand that collection agencies like this one do hire bottom feeders (not all of them are like this), and they usually work for low wages or on a commission basis. If they work on commission, they will be ruthless because the more they collect, the more they make. You wouldn't believe some of the Bull**** they will try to pull. DON'T FALL FOR IT! You don't have to give them any information. Chances are they have bought your debt along with many others from the same company for a bargain and the more they can collect the more they get paid.

You have rights under the 'Fair Debt Collection Practices Act' You don't have to put up with abuse. You do have the right to inform them that they cannot legally call you at work, or anywhere you don't them to, if you tell them not to. You can write them a letter and tell them to stop calling you, and they are required by law to stop all calls. You can write and inform them of your financial situation and request that they leave you alone, and they must do so.

They cannot, by law, threaten you with letters that look like they came from an attorney, they cannot call you before 8:00am or after 8:00pm, they cannot threaten you or your family (to come after you), and they cannot garnish your wages. If they threaten any of these things you have a lawsuit. You must keep written records of all calls, date, and time, name of person and company, and what was said.

If they violate any laws under the 'Fair Debt Collection Practices Act' You can sue them and you can win. If you do win a lawsuit against a collections agency, you can request as part of your settlement that your debt be wiped clean and you credit restored. Debtor's prison was done away with, and these bottom feeders can do nothing but harass you and try to get you to agree to pay them. You have rights!

Responses

  • Am
    Amy Garcia Jan 24, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    These people are awful! Call in the middle of A Sunday afternoon. The only day a lot of us have to rest. As you are home enjoy your day, you send an automated call to my home. Yes I have debt. Sorry medical insurance is terrible anymore and I can't afford all the medical bills! Leave people alone on Sundays. Give us one day of peace please!

    -1 Votes
  • La
    Lalaticktock Mar 26, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is a scam. I received a letter claiming this was the number of United Collections Bureau, Inc. I called the company that had legitimately collected my debt and confirmed that no collection account had been transferred (it had been paid). When I looked up this fraudulent company's number, the site (not mentioned in the letter) does not point to this number. It points to [protected]. BBB's scam ratings point to [protected] and [protected]. I called 866.769.4084 and they did not pick up. I called the number on the site and they claimed I had an account with them (I called claiming to be legal counsel) and that they are Better Business Bureau accredited (neither of which is true!).

    They threatened me, trying to phish for information. Don't buy it. Call your original debtor or collector first.

    2 Votes
  • Li
    Lisab39 Jul 16, 2011

    I love how the debt collectors come on here, try to act all god-like. United collections bureau has an auto-dialer calling my house and leaving recorded messages. The auto-dialer assumes that a HUMAN picks up and that it's the HUMAN it leaves a message with out realizing that it's a voice mail or an answering machine. Before the allotted legal hours and after the legal hours. I will be sending a DC letter, if they do NOT stop calling my house, I will file a FCC report and a report with the BBB. Any debt collector that feels the need to come on these boards and say pay your bills, is a dog and a low-life ###. You know you're breaking the law, and hope you loose sleep at night.

    1 Votes
  • Tw
    tweeky Mar 13, 2010

    I love how debt collectors got on here to comment, very funny. Its debt you bought at rock bottom prices. the moment i had the money to pay my debt i wanted to but found out that it had been sold to united collections bureau so i felt almost like not doing it at all. debt collectors are parasites. you steal from credit card companies and from people, go to ###ing hell.

    1 Votes
  • By
    ByStander Jan 11, 2010

    I can see both sides of the story. I was a debt collector and I have been the one needing to pay the debt. As a collector I felt the same way. Just pay the debt and you don't have to whine and complain. However, when you find yourself in the same situation because of a lost job/lay offs you quickly began to understand the other party's side. I've heard both sides get rude, crude, and down right nasty. None of it is necessary. I believe collectors shouldn't call at 6am or 11pm. I don't believe that collector's should call a total stranger by their first name to trick them to come to the phone. And I certainly don't think collectors should tell someone they "renig" because they can't make their payments. I believe as debtors we should try and find a way to pay even if it's 20 bucks. Do all you can to try and pay. Because the bottom line is this: without each other we would all be hungry. Those are my two cents...

    0 Votes
  • Uc
    ucb collector Jul 26, 2009

    Debtors realize this...
    It is just like stealing when you dont pay back what you borrowed.
    You forget you agreed to these terms when you got the credit and now you want to renig?
    And how sensitive you get when we try to collect. You debtors are extremely rude as well.
    We start out nice then 99% of the time the debtor get ignorant and we get cussed at, called names, accused of harrassing. You debtors are nuts!!! Not all of you are like this, I have talked to lots of people who want to do the right thing and just do it.
    The whinners try to find a way to get out of it.

    -2 Votes
  • Uc
    ucb collector Jul 26, 2009

    You dont hear people who are paying correctly crying!

    -2 Votes
  • Uc
    ucb collector Jul 26, 2009

    stop crying!!!

    -2 Votes
  • Uc
    ucb collector Jul 26, 2009

    If you paid your bills or made an acceptable arrangement you wouldn't be getting the collection activity. Why shouldn't they try to retrieve their money back?? You did use their services and spent the money and agreed to the terms. Debtors always wanna make it personal, Its business. And just becuz you have been paying faithfully till now does not give you a free pass to stop paying the debt correctly.
    What would your mortgage co do if you stopped paying??
    Shut up and take care of the debt!!!

    -3 Votes
  • Ms
    ms. mccoy Apr 20, 2009

    bottom line just pay your bills and you want have that problem

    -1 Votes
  • Pm
    pmf1 Mar 04, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Wow, what a response from NTFI ~!~

    I admit I defaulted on some credit card debt.
    The approach by the collection agencies was horrible.
    I have consulted attorneys and have come up with a letter that puts them off.
    I was just contacted by the Northland Group.
    I sent them the letter via certified mail.
    Guess what ?
    Within 4 days I received a letter from Northland Group saying they were ceasing all collection efforts and I should contact the card issueing company for further information.
    The letter is a mix of asserting your rights, warning them about any negative credit reporting, requesting all communication be in writitng (no telephone calls!), and threatening them with severe legal action should they tranish my record or violate the law.
    It is one hum-dinger of a letter.
    I can't believe that it worked [email protected]!
    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mike delgiudice Feb 10, 2009

    many late night calls from rude people

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.