The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Trenitaliamoney stolen!

On viewing my credit card statement online I noticed $368.60 had gone to trenitalia. I had to google this to see what it was as i'd never heard of it before and then I came across this site with other people in the same boat. I contacted my credit card company immediately and they have promised to contact me within the next 7-14 days. Hopefully the person responsible will be found before it happens to other people who may not notice.

Responses

  • To
    Tommy678 Sep 02, 2018

    Won't deal with this company again. They cheat customer I lost 600 Euro for nothing because of their stupid international booking system.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Brian LL Nov 19, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have the same issue too. I received a SMS saying my card authotized Uber to charge me a CNY7. In no way it would be me since I am not in China. Then I called my bank and found that there are some more transactions in HKD and GBP not done by me amounted to around GBP1000. I only purchase clothing online from some reliable sites and I have been doing it for years. Nothing like this has happened on me before until I made a few purchases on Trenitalia. I thnk Italo is a much safer choice for travellers.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Paul-Batangas Feb 18, 2013

    Way back in 2007 or 2008 I noticed charges on my Allied Bank credit card statement that I did not recognize a couple to a train company in Italy called Trenitalia and one to a web hosting company in USA. I think the amounts were around US$1200. I informed Allied bank right away. I even found other people with the same issue on this website, example here: Trenitalia — money stolen! Allied Bank failed to do a charge back within the normal 120 days. They then decided that I should pay the amounts due and I refused. Eventually the issue was "dropped" by Allied Bank and they no longer pressed me to pay. I closed the card account. I had previously been an excellent client always paying by card bills. Now fast forward to 2012 and I get an offer for a credit card from Metro Bank. But they cannot issue it because of a bad credit check because of the issue from Allied Bank. I contact Allied Bank again to try to get this issues all cleared - clearly I am not a bad credit risk. But they said they require payment of over US$3000 which covers interest and legal fees so that they can clear my name and the account. I refused and tell them its their fault for not doing a charge-back in the first place. They are now reviewing their decision. But I been waiting since December 2012 for them to decide.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Golden Boy Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    bad services

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Golden Boy Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i want to remove my registration from trenitalia.it

    0 Votes
  • An
    ant Sep 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I work for major bank credit card dept, we see lots of trenitalia and can dispute through visa if you advise us within 120days of it hitting your account, unfortunately as of yet no point of content is identifiable. we require a writtenletter/ stat dec as we submit this to visa. bollette telecom is also an issue. best bet always monitor your own account regularely and report ASAP

    0 Votes
  • Ei
    eiyrtiru Jul 07, 2008

    Trenitalia train conductors also prey on tourists who don't and have no way of knowing that they need to validate their train tickets after purchase. They purposely don't tell tourists when buying tickets at the window and all signage is in italian, although a majority of the non-italian tourists speak English (unlike every other European country that ensures even tourists know to validate). These conductors have a notoriously bad reputation, subjectively charge different "fines" and pocket some of the cash they receive. We're never going back to Italy again because of this and many other problems (ie. trash, rudeness, etc.).

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    Gail Jun 06, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have has AU$275.00 taken from my credit card and have no idea how this has happened. In the process of making a written complaint to credit card issuer who wont do anything till its in writing!! Meanwhile someone has used my card fraudulently. I have used this card once only to buy online airtickets. How do they get my details!!!????

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joe May 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just got billed $370 from trenitalia. My credit card company emailed me straight away to verify the transaction and blocked my credit card in the mean time. They are sending me a new card, refunding me the amount and pursuing this matter further with the culprits. All I can say is thank god for the card fraud department!

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    Kashif Mar 25, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing happened with me. First it was very small amount so I ignored it and now its 110 euros. Any idea how to make a complaint to them and get the money back?

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sherry Feb 27, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Trenitalia has tried twice to withdraw $550.00 from my debit card. I never heard of this company and had to google to find it. I want to know where they are getting card info from people.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kerri Jan 19, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Trenitalia seem to have a history of allowing credit card fraud. I've had the same thing happen to me this week and when I've googled trenitalia, I've come across this happening for over 12 months. It's so bad that many credit card companies block their cards from being used on the trenitalia website.
    I hope you get your money back, in Australia our banks are quick to cancel the card and return the funds.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.