The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
The Cover GuyBad service

Y Review updated:

I have been waiting for my spa top ordered in September. The company collected our money in quick fashion. Since then I have been told that they confused my order and needed the color of top. I immediately responded and again was told that the top would be delivered aspa. I was informed that the top was shipped but the tracking number was invalid would advise anyone considering this company think twice.

Responses

  • Cb
    cbasil Dec 07, 2009

    The Cover Guy fully supports all the products we sell, and we strive to provide the best customer service that we can.
    If any of our valued customers have any issues with their covers we do ask that they contact us directly and we will work with them to come to a resolution.
    The average life of our covers is 5-7 years depending on upgrades and handling.
    Our covers are the best in the industry because each cover's foam is sealed in plastic, not tape like many lower quality covers, and each cover has two pillows on either end of the seam to prevent heat loss. We also offer and recommend the vapour barrier and insulted hinge that help improve the covers longevity.
    The vapour barrier is a thick chemical resistant plastic sealed to the foam to completely prevent the foam from absorbing any water. The insulted hinge is a full length pillow that runs the entire seam of the cover to prevent any potential heat loss from the center seam.
    We make each cover based on the size, color, shape and dimensions specified by the customer.
    We are a custom Hot Tub Cover provider so we always recommend that you double check your measurements.
    When a cover is delivery to a customer we emphasize that they check packaging for damage before they sign. If the cover is damaged we will replace the cover within a reasonable time frame.
    The Cover Guy has a long standing record of positive feedback from our many satisfied customers that are now becoming repeat customers for accessories for their covers.
    The Cover Guy provides custom made covers, and even though it is rare, issues will occur. However we look at issues as a opportunity to improve upon our customer service and ensure all our customers can be added to our long list of satisfied customers.

    We appreciate and welcome all feedback.

    -1 Votes
  • Lu
    Lucinda May Apr 01, 2010

    After seeing how much a new cover cost from my dealer, I decided to try and find something online that better suit my budget. I saw that the cover guy made covers to custom fit your spa. I contacted my dealer for the measurements and after learning I was ordering a cover somewhere else, they refused to give me them! I couldn’t believe how difficult they were being. I called the cover guy and told them my situation, not only did they have my make and model’s dimensions on file, they walked me through the measuring process to ensure the custom fit would be perfect for my hot tub. I have already told all my friends with hot tubs about them and I know I will be using them in the future! Great company.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    Carter-L Apr 15, 2010

    I had a perfect experience with ordering my new cover! The order was easy to place, the invoice came right away, then a few weeks later my cover arrived. Perfect fit! The Cover Guy was a great company to do business with.

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Never again...The Cover Guy Jul 09, 2010

    Received my hot tub lid today after great difficulty with delivery, they used a service from a town 60 miles away who did not deliver after 2pm and only Monday through Friday. Even after sending them our measurements they planned to change the size lid I had ordered, based on the tub I own. We re-measured, and told them our measures were correct. Then the final clincher...the lid has one strap on each side...they knew the tub I owned based on the prior contact regarding size and then send a lid that I does not work for my tub unless I don't mind not securing it down. I called them with my complaint and after they told me this is how they make them and that is the way it is...they hung up on me and via caller ID...put my call to voice mail. I have not heard from them, and will now dispute this via my credit card...so much for the comment above that states they work with you when you contact them directly...unless you call hanging up and refusing my calls...working with me.

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Judy Kruk Jul 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I generally have my hot tub cover replacements custom-fitted on site by local suppliers, so ordering online was a daunting task to undertake on my own. I had fully expected to deal with aggressive upsells for features I didn't need or eventually wind up with a cover that was substandard to the one I was replacing. From my first phone call, the customer service representative was helpful, informative and even recommended features that would be more cost effective in the long run. Upon receiving my cover, I had additional questions regarding my purchase and called back expecting to be told that by ordering online I was fully responsible for any issues. My second experience with customer service was better than before. After explaining my situation to the rep, she forwarded me to her supervisor, who was extremely apologetic and was more than willing to work with me until I was completely satisfied with my purchase. I now have a beautifully custom fit hot tub cover that would have cost way more if buying from a local supplier. I highly recommend The Cover Guys to my friends and am very pleased that I chose them to do business with.

    -1 Votes
  • Ar
    Arfdad Feb 19, 2011

    Terrible quality product. Only lasted 3 years and the warranty was worthless. Read More: http://www.daddysnuts.com/spa-hot-tub-covers-cover-guy-review

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    janmar22 Jul 22, 2011

    I had purchased a cover & later a lifter from the cover guy without any issues. When the vinyl cover started to fade badly (I live in Ontario, Canada, not California, and we only get 2-3 months of hot weather annually) and the stitching was all rotting, I contacted the cover guy re a warranty claim.
    The warranty as a prorate was worth very little & they tried to sell me a complete new cover. As there was nothing wrong with the foam I opted to buy replacement vinyl only and, as they had built the original cover, I assumed (WRONGLY!) that they could build it properly.
    The new vinyl arrived & was a tight fit (too small for the foam) and although I contacted them re the problem & sent pictures they now want us to send thge botched job back to them, cover the tub with a tarp in the meantime & wait for however long it takes them to patched the botched job!!!
    I take great exception to 'cbasil', the company employee. I & others have attempted to contact you first & YOU DO NOT WORK with people. YOU ARE A BUNCH OF NICKEL & DIMERS!!
    Never Again 2

    2 Votes
  • Tp
    T. Plunkett Jan 24, 2015

    Follow-up:

    I submitted a complaint a couple of days ago regarding a hot tub cover that leaked. The cover was delivered in June and by October the interior poly wrap had water inside causing the metal spines to rust. Since my posting I have been contacted by The Cover Guy directly and have been assured I will be receiving a new cover. Having a separate warranty company that looks after a product may not be the best way to go for these guys. I have been told by a representative of The Cover Guy that they are looking into issues with the warranty company.
    Hopefully the new cover will be issue free!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jason Hrsak Jun 16, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Before purchasing I reached out to the company and asked how long for a cover because of the pandemic. They replied 3-4 weeks. I ordered my new cover April 13th, 2020. I was taken back that the next day I got a promotional email for 10% off my next purchase, maybe something you should offer before someone checks out. I then got an email May 3rd saying your cover went into production today. Thought that was unusual as we were already close to 3 weeks since order date. They said your delivery time of 3-4 weeks doesn't take into account when we put it into production. I didn't think it would take 3 weeks to start making something but so be it. On May 21st they contacted me again saying sorry delays because of covid-19 and high order demand and would be another 4-5 weeks and again offered me a 10% discount on my next order. I asked for a timeline and they got back the next day with 4-5 weeks we are sorry. May 29th another email saying sorry for the delay. I replied back saying this is ridiculous can you just give me date I can expect my lid instead of a third apology as we are into week 7. On June 1st I actually got a name of a person Amanda whom played the same story of we are so busy, we are sorry. I asked again for a date I will have my cover. She said I will follow up with production. This was on June 1st. I emailed her back on June 8th a week later saying do I need to wait 2-3 weeks for a simple reply to this question of delivery date? Finally got a response yesterday June 15th saying sorry production missed the order!!! We are sorry would you like a refund as it will take another 2-3 weeks. Order placed April 13th Today is June 16th. 66 days in transit, several communications, no cover, and they have my cash already. I asked for an immediate refund and have seen nothing on my end. Absolutely unacceptable service from any company.

    0 Votes
  • Kd
    K. Dorey Aug 10, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Worst customer service ever. Lead time and response time is terrible, emails dont get answered for a week - my order from May is still not here 3 months later. I was told it was shipping last week and that I would get a tracking # - I ave not even had a shipped confirmed email. I have complained 4 x throughout this process and got a $50 refund which is nice but does not get my cover to me any faster - We have already gone on 1 wk summer vacay and it should have arrived well before then. It is now August and we are going away again still with no cover shipment in sight. The worst service I have ever experienced.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions