The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
TD Bankmisinformation, rudeness, lack of customer service

Thanks to TD Bank's inaccurate information and horrendous customer service through both their call center and e-mail center, I lost a substantial amount of money and had both a vacation and work trip ruined.

I travel often and was recently in Mexico when my TD Bank credit/debit card was taken, leaving me almost totally without funds and stranded in a small town.

I found out that the "toll-free" number provided was not "toll-free" at all (and later discovered, via an e-mail exchange, that TD Bank was aware of this). So, using my last cash, I placed a phone call to report the card gone. Darren, in the Mount Laurel, NJ call center, was extremely rude, told me I was wrong when I told him it was not a toll-free call. I asked to speak to his supervisor. "Jessica" was even worse and told me that there was no other number, nothing she could do, that she couldn't look up my local branch, and that they couldn't transfer money, wire money, or issue a new card in less than 5 to 7 business days. (Most of which was substantially untrue.)
She then reprimanded me for not having someone "just go to Western Union and wire some money."

I tried for two days to reach my local branch (who could have issued a new card immediately). But the line was busy during four tries on Saturday and four tries on Sunday.

Those same days I e-mailed the customer service people on the web site. (And of course, had to wait 24 hours for a reply.) I received an inane reply from a woman named Susan Catanzarite saying that she was "sorry" and telling me that the matter had been forwarded for review. She suggested I call the toll-free number!

Not only that, but when I finally made it home--a story in itself--I found that there were no notes on my account and none of the information had been forwarded.

Since I had no other access to funds (and since the Visa emergency services don't apply to a TD Bank Visa credit/debit card) my trip was ruined. I spent a small fortune in bank fees and phone charges and TD Bank's phone and e-mail service did nothing to respond.

Responses

  • Ka
    Kay45 Jul 12, 2016

    I called TD bank customer service and this lady whose name I don't know and never bothered to ask was very rude to me because I have a different accent.She yelled at me continuously and I cut the line.That's not the first time this has happened.TD bank has one of the worse customer services I know.I know some of the people who work there will be here to insult me more but I dont care.That's the truth and it needs to be addressed.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BettyGordin Aug 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am with you on this. If you are out of the country and in this situation...it would be nice to speak with a helpful person...I don't care if they take 100 calls a day. If you are in a stressful situation they should be trained for this. People answering stress calls should be special and be graded accordingly.
    I have also been in a situation similar to this, but I was fortunate of having a really, really good person to talk with.
    In fact this is so important to me. Even if something can't be done, at least the person has tried to give you ALL the options they could.
    TD may be an excellent, very good company I am not sure...but the fact that something like this happened during travel...I would think their upper management would be jumping though hoops to be professional and helpful.

    0 Votes
  • Io
    Ioannis7 Jul 20, 2012

    Deceiving Practices - Credit Line -
    TD Bank Pre approved me for 60K at 3.7% - I did submit all appropriate documentation they stated that my submission was in order. I told them that I was puzzled as what they offering. They insisted that I didnt know what I was talking about. Their processing department was RUDE and gave me a hassle for not receiving documents. Then they called me that they counter offering with a 14K @ 4.2%. The under writer ( ###) told me that his furmula was based that I have over extended my credit and was puzzled. He said that I have "big car payments" but I dont have a car loan. Anyway to make a long story short please avoid doing business with TD bank. I intend to file a complaint with NYS Finance Dept, BBB and go after them via small claims court. Have nothing to loose! They are bunch of crooks

    0 Votes
  • Mw
    mwarz May 03, 2011

    Okay first of all, you lost your debit card and its your fault. Would you personally like a td bank employee to get on an airplane and deliver you a brand new card? Thats insane. You were also calling from Mexico, what on earth were you thinking that calling a number in the US is going to be toll free from Mexico? Maybe I need some clarification because I have worked retail and customer service my whole life and I could never imagine myself complaining and arguing like 80 percent of customers do on a daily basis. Can you just explain what happened in your life or what do you do for a living that makes you whine and complain about customer service. Because when you think about it, there are people out there that dont have food and clothes and your sitting here complaining about a fee you had to pay because you made a phone call from Mexico to the US.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    microchiropteran Jun 25, 2010

    today TDBank, for the second time in a year, required me to go to the FDIC to recover my deposited funds (september 2009). I activated that ridiculous flat debit card with the same number as my old card save expiration date and security code. The outsourcee who answered the phone in some cholera infested rathole of a country ensured me the card would work. I had a thousand dollar balance and could not buy an 8 dollar lunch. Upon calling my local branch, they stalled me with something about bad ivr numbers on the new card and that i have to postpone my evening flight today so i can go sit in their branch and wait for them to pretend to solve this problem. I am leaving TDBANK! and if anyone else knew what was good for them, they will too!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Margus56 Mar 02, 2010

    @ OP: Dude, you really gotta make sure you have a couple of solid backup plans when traveling out of the country. You really never know what could happen.

    @ TD employees: You really must not care to much about keeping your paychecks coming, because WE are the reason you are getting them. People come to websites like this to not only rant or rave about your company, but also to make up their mind about using your service. Do you really think it is wise to tell us to go find a better bank?

    I've been a customer with TD Bank for 7 years now. My wife has her own account, my In- Laws have accounts, my parents have accounts. And in the last ten days of dealing with your phone branch customer service and reading some of the comments written on forums, such as this, you have just lost OUR business. Good Job Geniuses!

    0 Votes
  • Xs
    xsmart Feb 16, 2010

    TD Bank is garbage, they have no appreciation for their customers.

    My Story is way to long to even get into. But i'll mention that TD Bank closed my account (causing many direct debit problems for me) accusing me of online gaming, telling me that placing a wager or bet on a horse online is illegal, and violates the UIGEA and Wire Act of 1961, which if they were govt officials, or actually knew anything about laws or cared to know, would know the UIGEA isnt an actual law yet, and still doesnt pertain to horse racing.

    So they acted as a court, or police officer, and accused me of breaking a law that really isnt even a law. And therefore closed my account which i feel is a violation of my rights.

    I fully plan of filing a lawsuit for the troubles they have caused me.

    ::irate ex-customer

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Bud Fox Dec 30, 2009

    I was with Commerce for over 15 years.

    Since the merger and the intermittent problems, let me inject some additional thought.
    TD...the T stands for Toronto...While waiting in line in the lobby, I saw that slogan "TD Bank - America's most convenient bank" (or something of that nature) and got irked by the fact that TD has gone out of their way to avoid mentioning that they are NOT an American entity.

    I have chosen to depart TD altogether.
    Vote with your money and spending choices...banks, employers, consumer choices like autos...that is how real change happens.

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    FormerTDEmployee Dec 15, 2009

    If it was their friend or relative in Mexico, the TD Bank employees would have had compassion and tried to help. But since its someone they could care less about... and since they were already having a bad day... and since they don't appreciate the fact that this customer is the SOURCE that puts food on their table and clothes on their back...

    I mean come on TD Bank employee! (I used to work there for years, and i HAD COMPASSION!)

    Are we still human? Do we still have hearts? Or are we all so miserable that we are ready to kick everyone in the guy that falls down on the ground? ("Kick 'em while they are down"?)

    KARMA people... Karma... what goes around comes around... just wait ;)

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    john mcaffe Dec 08, 2009

    BTW, I worked there in [protected] when it was still Commerce.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    john mcaffe Dec 08, 2009

    I understand that it is a stressful job being a customer service rep. I used to be one myself at TD Bank. But some of the practices and policies of TD bank are extremely unprofessional. Vagueness about when funds will be available in your account, lack of knowledge of tellers and misinformation, and the fees associated with this is purposely built into TD's system to milk every last dollar out of you.

    And the attitude of "I laugh when people tell me they're going to close their account because there are millions of people with accounts through TD" is exactly why the bank is destined to fail. One pissed off customer is enough to snowball off to hundreds. This is probably due to the rapid expansion of the bank. I remember about 8 or so years ago when the bank knew me by name and really honestly cared about each customer. I NEVER had any problems with TD until just before the merger.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    johnrbre Dec 08, 2009

    TD Bank has developed a system to legally steal your money. That is correct, right in front of their customers eyes, they have developed a system to legally embezzle hundreds of millions of dollars from their customers bank accounts. Congress is hard at work to pass a bill to stop this activity, but as all things work in congress, it will not be passed until August 1, 2010. TD knows this, but will continue to steal money right up until that very minute. Yup, the American dream has left the country folks, thanks to a bunch of greedy corporate scandals that are more than willing to surrender their title of CEO and step down in disgrace as long as they retire in style with a couple hundred million of the common man's money. If their is a loophole in the legal system and they can steal your money, they will. What ethics??? Integrity, what does that mean. Oh, I graduated from Yale. Screw you Mr. CEO. God bless America, we need it desperately.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carol LaMon Oct 01, 2009

    Td bank canceled my account because of poor attitute towards their employees. I am an owner of a small day care center and I am fed up.Each branch operates under different rules. I deposited money on a Friday at 5:27 pm and it wasn't available till Monday? What Happened to next day availability. It seems my teller was already on Monday's date. Anyway I called the 800 number and they made my money available and said if I was charged a non collected fee it would reversed... GOOD LUCK I spoke with my home office, a representative and also the manager that said I would be reimbursed. Never happened. I called numerous times and now they say I am threatening them and harrasing them. Any body knows me that I am not that type of person, All I want is my fee reversed.

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Natalie1128 Aug 26, 2009

    I used to work at the call center and I don't think people understand that reps take 100-150 calls every single day. It is an extrememely stressful job. Of course, any job where there is contact with the general public is going to involve a lot of frustration, but this particular job is the only one I've ever had where it is pretty much guaranteed that you will be getting yelled at most of the day by customers who are unfortunately, the ones who can't figure out how to use the phone or online banking, so we are talking about the bottom of the barrel here. That's not to say that the customers who do have two brain cells to rub together never have a need to call in to the call center. I am just speaking in generalities .

    Anyway, first of all, if you look on the back of your card you will see that there is a specific number listed to use to call COLLECT from outside of the U.S. I know this works because BEFORE I worked for TD I used that number several times to call and get transferred to the automated system to get information about my account when I was traveling back and forth to Costa Rica. The 888 number does not work as a toll free option outside of the United States. Are we all clear on that now? Ok, good.

    Now, to the issue of expecting to be wired money to an international bank with phone authorization only, and the other points you mentioned that according to you are not an issue for other banks. I honestly do not know what the policies and procedures are of each particular banking institution, but I do know that there are rampant fraud issues in the banking industry and account security holds priority over everything else. The bank has no choice but to take precautions in ensuring the security of it's customer's account information. If, by some chance someone were to convince a TD Bank rep that they were you calling from Mexico and they needed all your money wired to ___ Bank in Mexico city and the bank went along with this, then what? You would screaming up and down about that even more I'm sure.

    From what you wrote, I ascertained that you travel frequently for some sort of business reasons, which leads me to believe that you are some sort of professional whom one would assume has some common sense in order to achieve that career level. So then explain to me how such an intelligent person would travel to another country with only their debit card as their primary source of money with no back-up contingency plan whatsoever? And if you were inclined to do that, would it not occur to you to get the information about your banks policies on this type of situation beforehand? Had it never crossed your mind that your wallet could possibly get stolen on a trip to Mexico? Or anywhere else, for that matter.

    The bottom line is that people need to start taking responsibility for their own lives and stop expecting to be bailed out whenever they need it due to poor planning on their part

    -1 Votes
  • Kj
    kjimk11114654 Aug 22, 2009

    TRY KEEPING YOUR CARD SAFE NEXT TIME - DUMB fool

    -2 Votes
  • Kj
    kjimk11114654 Aug 22, 2009

    your an idiot

    -2 Votes
  • 50
    50+ customer Jul 11, 2009

    And hey, if you think the 888 call center number works from Mexico, why don't you go there and try it?

    2 Votes
  • 50
    50+ customer Jul 11, 2009

    Hey guys,

    I have news... other U.S. banks DO have contingency plans... that's why I was so upset. I have to travel all the time. Stuff gets lost, stuff gets stolen but when I report it, the other banks don't scream at the customer.

    And maybe the TD Banker is unaware, but yes, they can wire you money. I've had it done from Chase. And guess what, nobody yelled. Nobody reprimanded me. Nobody screamed.

    They tried to be helpful. Worth a try for you guys.

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    Pain May 23, 2009

    I agree with employee of TD Bank, I once had a disagreement over something and they said check my New account opening agreement which I had signed. To which I still had and did, and it was all there, that was 13 years ago. Amazing how the ability to read helps. (I'm still learning how to write, its my disclaimer for typo's) So here's the thing, TD is loyal to me and I am loyal to it, it is like respect you have to give it to earn it and the same goes to and with the banks.

    I don't agree with the attitude some employees have, sometimes something happens in someone's life that causes them to have abnormally, you are trained to be professionals and accept the responsibility that comes with Customer Service, it doesn't mean that the customer is always right, it means even if they are rude it does not give you the right to be rude as well. Its an opportunity to be able to help them, even if they are unable to help themselves. If you don't have understanding or some form of it, then you shouldn't be in the industry to begin with.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    employee2 May 14, 2009

    My experience is that people call and be rude to the representatives and just yell at them. They have no respect for the work they do perform every day. Customers think the world should just revolve around them. I have worked for commerce/td for over fours year now, and it is a wonderful company. The employees will be nice as long as the customers stop acting rude and jump down the representatives throat for something they did not even do. The hire-ups do enough monotorings of the calls, if a representative is rude, they are fired immediately.

    I dare people to take on this job, it is not easy and many cannot handle it. Why? Because of the rude customers. I laugh when customers say "I'm just going to close my account then". We have 70 million customers, you closing your acting isn't going to do ###. We open hudreds of accoutns per week and we still get our paychecks at the end of the week. So nice attempt to threaten us. I'm sure your "better, more caring and responsible bank" will piss you off too.

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    Harry L May 14, 2009

    It's this cocky, self-righteous attitude that makes you and your bank look bad. If you are representative of a higher position there, then that doesn't surprise me in the least, since they specialize in hiring these types. Needless to say, I've moved on to a better, more caring and responsible bank and haven't had any problems since. And a lot of my friends have moved on or are planning on moving away from TD as well for this very reason. It honestly doesn't take much extra effort to show a little compassion and care, even if you can't do anything about the situation. My experience with TD is that employees are just flat out rude.

    -2 Votes
  • Dr
    drumstixx88 May 14, 2009

    You're so dumb. I work at the call center. No employees would ever do that.

    And yes sir, I'm sick of customers thinking we can just pull a card out of our ### and send it to some
    address we don't even have on file. Ever hear of identity theft?

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Employee of TD Bank May 13, 2009

    pissed-off:

    Grow up and take responsibility for your actions. EVERY other bank would have informed you that receiving a new Visa debit card would take a substantial amount time. It's amazing to us how so many customers of banks expect this personal catoring when they find themselves in bind.

    I understand it sucks to be stranded in Mexico but check your New Account Disclosure, all your complaints are clearly addressed. Perhaps its our fault you didn't read it, just like its our fault that Mexicos crime-rate is high and we don't come to your rescue in less than 5-7 business days.

    Things take time, no matter how grave the situation. You remind me a child throwing a tempe tantrum because he didn't get what he wanted, but doesn't accept that its not something we're in the position to give.

    Also, its odd that in the midsts of an emergency you saw fit to only call the bank 4 times.

    The moral of this story is that TD Bank didn't steal your card, a Mexican citizen did. We are just the nice guys that issued you a card and hoped you'd use it. When problems occur, give us the time to rectify it any way we can, but don't expect us to be the solution to your problems. (Because we aren't the cause)

    P.S. I don't need to look for another job, and I'm above customer service. You have no solid complaint here.

    -1 Votes
  • Te
    telurian May 13, 2009

    It's always best to have a credit or charge card on you when you travel to another country. Debit cards are of limited value. Also, some emergency contingency plans would be important - relatives or close friends you can contact in the event of an emergency as opposed to strangers who have no vested interest in your well-being.

    2 Votes
  • Pi
    pissed off May 05, 2009

    Hey Employee of TD Bank,

    It is YOUR job to inform the customer of the correct policies and procedures. Perhaps you know what your doing, but you cannot speak for your company as a whole. The fact that the bank could not help or respond in this particular situation any way, shape, or form is an example of the kind of people they hire... People like you that flat out don't care and won't put in the extra effort to help someone out that is down on their luck.

    What if it were YOU that were stranded in Mexico? And considering you work for the company, if you had called and had gone through the same process as this customer did, you would be infuriated I'm sure. Just face the facts that you work for a terrible company with a reputation that is going down the tubes. If I were you, I'd take a look at a new line of work.

    -1 Votes
  • Em
    Employee of TD Bank Apr 21, 2009

    It appears that you were a victim (I'm using the word "victim" generously) of theft, and expected TD Bank to resolve your woes immediately, without long hold-times, and to your exact expectations.

    Now to reference the real-world: You're in f*cking Mexico, apparently without cash, and you want an American-based Bank to somehow wield it's *poof magic, and put a Visa debit card in your little vacationing hands.

    Guess what? You f*cked up, and your damn right you'll have to wait before another card can be sent to you. Nevermind the fact that ALL other banks *do not* issue Debit Cards immediately, and the standard turnaround is 7-10 business days.

    The fact that you also found the time to [censored] about whether or not the number is toll-free is further proof of your lack of credibility.

    Be careful when traveling outside of the U.S. in the presence of strangers - things can get stolen.

    P.S. I had to tell you that because apparently you weren't aware.

    -2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.