[Resolved] TapJoy โ€” scam

5
K Review updated:

Someone should take legal action against this company if all of the other complaints around the web are true. I thought I was having problems with my account alone but it is clearly quite common.
They lure you into buying things or downloading apps with promises of "currency" in various online/mobile games. You never get the currency. I'm guessing it works for some people but there must be enough of a problem in the system that it is actionable. I have tried all sorts of things to correct my missing credits and I get emails from the company that are either generic or claiming credits were awarded. It is ridiculous. It is a class action waiting to happen.

  • Updated by SaadTapjoy ยท Sep 24, 2012

    Hi Dean,

    My name is Saad and I work for Tapjoy. I am sorry you are running into issues getting currency. Can you please send me the tapjoy ticket ID that you created for this issue? If you haven't create one yet, please send me email [email protected] along with the issues, and I'll investigate and respond to you.

    Regards

    Saad

  • Resolution Statement

    Customer Service has done everything in their power to resolve the complaint. All attempts to contact the customer have failed. Therefore, the complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and its services are concerned.

Responses

  • De
    Demarcus Sumter Feb 25, 2013

    Well... I sent a ticket last week and never got a response other than an automated email. It really displeases me that i went through all that crap downloading apps I don't want for a game and you guys do not hold up your end of the bargain.

    9 Votes
  • Bl
    Blasco Holcomb Jul 04, 2017

    @Demarcus Sumter I agree, tapjoy is a scam and I will take action seems since you ignored dozens of my complaints and never paid me! I already have numerous lawsuits going cause of you and now I know you're the ring leader, I'm taking action!

    5 Votes
  • Bl
    Blasco Holcomb Jul 04, 2017

    @Blasco Holcomb Lol, they, not you. Oops

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reverend Thintie Jul 09, 2017

    @Demarcus Sumter I've NEVER reveived a response from these Bozo's about the Bermuda Triangle that my tokens keep disappearing in. I HAVE begun to contact their advertisers to tell them I associate their products with [censor] scams.

    2 Votes
  • Br
    Brenda Stark-Fries Sep 25, 2017

    @Demarcus Sumter I too am having the same issue. I've messaged through the app directly. They responded ONCE telling me I needed the Tapjoy Ticket #. I gave them that - still no response from Tapjoy or Design Home staff. I'm going to return the merchandise I have coming and relay the scam to the vendors that are advertising on their site to make them aware. Too bad because I really like the app :(

    2 Votes
  • Sh
    ShaunaStartzel Nov 06, 2017

    @Brenda Stark-Fries Same.

    1 Votes
  • De
    Debedeb America Mar 12, 2018

    @Blasco Holcomb I want in on the suit

    2 Votes
  • Ca
    Cara Anderson May 15, 2018

    @Blasco Holcomb https://www.ftccomplaintassistant.gov/#crnt&panel1-1

    0 Votes
  • Lj
    ljubica fiket Oct 29, 2018

    @Demarcus Sumter same here.. every offer i got denied, failed.. with no explain why

    2 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott Karbiner Mar 01, 2013

    Agree wholeheartedly. Tapjoy is a scam. I completed an agreement and met all requirements. I sent them proof and their response was that they couldn't get proof from the purchaser (MACYs) on offer #2138304 and that if their website has issues or something went wrong it's MY fault. They then immediately block the e-mail so you can't even reply. I am going to make my life's work to ruin this company. Nowhere in their agreement does it say "complete an offer and we'll sent you points only if we feel like it". I have friends who just finished law school. I honestly think this should be a class action lawsuit. Anyone agree?

    8 Votes
  • Terryrox Jun 29, 2013

    Yeas Scott. Just a few thousand at least by the 12 or so who bothered to start threads ON THIS SITE ALONE.

    6 Votes
  • Sp
    spri Jul 08, 2013

    Tapjoy is a full ripoff. On 3 separate occasions on 2 games, I purchased things. I never got the currency even though I sent in proof and the ### never even had the courtesy to respond back even though I sent them many letters with the proof. I'm out $$$ and PO'd. I'm never buying anything through them, have written to the BBB plus Im writing to each company that has offers telling them they are dealing with ripoff artists. I suggest everyone in the same boat do the same. I'm also sending tapcrap the copies

    5 Votes
  • Ih
    I hate tapjoy Jul 25, 2013

    I have reported them to the BBB in San Francisco as they are a California company, still nothing, that Saad Khan is a frigging muslim terrorist that hides behind the company.

    -7 Votes
  • Jo
    jorgofthejungl Dec 21, 2013

    Tapjoy always seems to have an explanation or excuse as to why they will not pay out a reward. I was told in my last email there was no record of my tracking ticket therefore they were closing my request for misiing currency. It was in pending status for two days then it just disappeared. I got my order the very next day. I have also been told by tapjoy that the burden of proof is on the consumer and the company who is advertising the offer must respond back to tapjoy that the offer has been completed. It seems the only offers that tapjoy has no problem fulfilling are the low reward amounts. Any large reward amount they almost never payout.

    5 Votes
  • La
    Laurie brisbane Feb 10, 2014

    So true, all of the above I have seen.
    Even there contact page will not accept complaints.
    I suggest putting pressure on the game companies, ie Nordeus, keep telling them that tapjoy is costing them money and goodwill. If they get nervous then maybe something will happen.
    I have contacted nordeus by email and phone, and will continue with this angle. I am getting a list of companies that use tapjoy to try and hurt them that way.
    I have contacted by phone and email three companies inc news international and experian, to cancel subs and make sure they knew why. News international were surprisingly curious, result!
    I know this I a email, but phone calls get more traction than emails, try it.

    5 Votes
  • Ta
    Tapjoy = scam Dec 03, 2014

    I contacted Tapjoy, and this dude call James B. reply. I was trying to tell Tapjoy about my concern and problem, instead of listen and help me to solve the problem Mr. James B. shut me up by permanent suspend me. After I click on the ads sponsor, after I provided my personal information I starting receive 200+ junk mails and 9 phone call... sometime 3 in the morning. ALL junk mails and phone calls I received ALL related to the ads I clicked. Tapjoy is not a company but a scam ads supporter. Do you know some of thing you download from Tapjoy got bugs/virus!!!

    3 Votes
  • Eh
    Eharami Jan 23, 2015

    I have been getting the run around from Tapjoy over and over. I filled out offers with credit card, downloaded and watched videos and not one reward. Only robot response send in proof and wait 5 days for response. The problem is in 5 days your credit card gets charged, and then your SOL. And the guy SAAD I emailed a few times with no response. Tapjoy is a big joke and they have a phone number to the office in Sanfrancisco, but when call says you can't make complaints and send you back to the run around web site. I say people call non stop till they make right on the rewards, and stop running everyone around.

    3 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer19975 Dec 12, 2015

    I have completed many offers from TapJoy. At least 75% of the offers I completed they never paid me. I try to resolve the issue through TapJoy but they never came through. I have spent money on subscriptions and was not paid. I have completed surveys and received SPAM and sales calls to my cellphone. Yet I was never paid.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Andrew0314 Dec 20, 2015

    I have been having the same issues with TapJoy. The problem is that when completing an offer the majority of them send me to consumer surveys that try to force me to buy something. By the way these were supposed to be free offers. In the surveys I was prompted to provide my name, phone number, address, and DOB. This company I believe collects consumer information fraudulently and sells it to third party marketers. If this is the case I will contact a lawyer, and sue TapJoy.

    2 Votes
  • Da
    David D. Lambert Feb 28, 2016

    Tapjoy requires you to watch videos/download apps/fill out surveys/request auto/life insurance quotes or make purchase from select companies. Tapjoy may be a viable solution for advertising, but it is a major source of frustration for consumers.

    I have found it is very common to not get paid for in-game rewards from Tapjoy even after submitting reports for assistance. They are good about answering support request, but their emails are asking for information that has already been sent or the requirements are changed. I have told them to keep it. Not worth the hassle.

    Almost none of the download and run apps will payout. Have not had success with any of the insurance quote offers working. The survey offers never pay out after filling out several pages. I have spent much time filling out forms to no avail.

    I have received many calls from companies for insurance quotes or university information requests completed and no reward was given by Tapjoy. Even though completion of offer exactly as instructed.

    There are also offers that are not supposed to require any payment, but after inspecting offer it either requires payment or Tapjoy states reward will be revoked if trial membership is canceled.

    2 Votes
  • Ba
    baggiesfan83 Mar 07, 2016

    Completed an offer to join a bingo website (dotty bingo) in order to receive in game currency for Topps Kick though the tap joy app and have so far got nothing after over a week of waiting. Have emailed several times with no reply at all. There has been no correspondence other than automatic replies. As you can only raise a ticket once there is no way to get the issue resolved if they don't deal with the first ticket.

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    Hotwils Mar 18, 2016

    I've been trying to contact Tapjoy for almost a week now. They have put me into a binding contract with Disney Movies that I can't get out of and they have not given me my credits. No response after NUMEROUS emails.

    1 Votes
  • Le
    Lea Carroll Mar 24, 2016

    I have had the exact same trouble with TapJoy, after weeks of fighting with them sending in email after email providing proof of completion of their offers apps downloaded, credit card transaction screenshots, welcome emails, screenshots of every offer I ever completed they still are calling me a liar and saying that I didn't complete the offer. I have a product I ordered simply because I would receive awards and I haven't gotten them, how am I lying?? They refuse to answer any of my emails anymore, totally ignore two other offers that I've completed and only focus on one, which they won't give me the rewards for. They've blocked me from commenting or messaging them on their Facebook page, or being able to warn other consumers of their lives. You can't contact or speak to anyone in person since they don't have an available phone # or reliable customer service. Once they are done with you they simply cut off all communication, whether the issue has been resolved or not. They are lying to and stealing from people and should be put out of business. They used to operate under the name Offerpal and they had a class action lawsuit brought against them for the exact same thing. I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, and will be filing complaints with the FTC, California Attorney General, and the California Consumer Affairs. This business is a horribl and should not be allowed to steal from, lie to, or scam the public any longer!

    0 Votes
  • Er
    Erica Lynn Howe Apr 29, 2016

    Tapjoy is a scam no one has gotten any rewards from completed offers from these ### for over a week now

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    marcin ablo May 12, 2016

    Does someone know what legal actions can we take against them right now I think we need a real lawer even if it would be a paid case there is plenty of us who are happy to pay just a bit to make a decent reword for bringing justice

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    Blasco Holcomb Jul 04, 2017

    @marcin ablo I'm with ya there brah. I have numerous lawsuits going now because of Tapjoy and I'm taking action. Hopefully I can keep in touch and I'll give you info. It's time to make them pay big time.

    0 Votes
  • Ts
    TS2147 May 20, 2016

    I completed a 7-day trial enrollment for eScore through Tapjoy, cancelling the service on day 6. Despite quickly filing a missing credits report, I never got those Tapjoy credits, and to add insult to injury, eScore zapped my credit card $29.95. I then had to spend 45 minutes on the phone with two different people trying to get my account cancelled and the charge removed.

    Still no follow-up or credits from Tapjoy, just the one automated reply when I opened the ticket. I've sent pictures of the welcoming email from eScore with my account number, etc. but so far no reply at all.

    I feel that Tapjoy is little more than a scam, and should be taken down by class action. I think that they are unethically harvesting user information to use for whatever gain they can get. Shame on Topps for partnering with them, and mega shame on Tapjoy for lying and cheating users who are honestly fulfilling their part of an agreement only to end up locked into third party contracts and out substantial sums of money.

    California Attorney General Kamala Harris, please take note and stop these unethical losers!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bruins Jun 24, 2016

    My name is Cindy a Brown and my tap joy case number is 02139716 and I emailed tapjoy over a week ago and the only response I got from them was an email containing that case number.

    1 Votes
  • Jk
    jkaplanek Jul 01, 2016

    Anyone know how to start a Class Action Law suit against these people? MANY complaints on them. Ive written 5 customer request for help. They just write backing saying "since we haven't heard from you in 72 hours, we have marked your problem solved" WHAT? you never addressed the problem!

    2 Votes
  • Ih
    I hatebs Jul 02, 2016

    TapJpy is a scam! I filled out a quote for auto insurance and never got my coins. I sent a request for coins and was told by a rep from TapJoy that I needed a screenshot. This is BS. Has anyone checked on starting a class action lawsuit? They lie all the time. They get advertisers to pay them and then they refuse to give you the coins. I'm sure I'm not the only one dealing with this. The whole operation is a total SCAM. I bet a class-action lawsuit would change the way they handle things

    2 Votes
  • Le
    Lea Carroll Jul 05, 2016

    I am trying to get a lawyer to take on TapJoy in a class action suit for a long time. I have started a Facebook page TapJoy is a scam in order to bring those ripped off by tapjoy together. Hopefully a law firm will decide to prosecute them soon. They already had a class action lawsuit brought against them when they were going by the name Offerpal, and they settled. As far as I can tell they changed the name of their company, and went ahead and did the same stuff to people all over again. Please visit, like, adn share my facebook page. Lets band together to get TapJoy shut down, and also hopefully get restitution for the money we have spent on offers, and the rewards we were promised and owed. If anyone has had any luck in talking to a lawyer I would love their contact information as well. I have already contacted two firms with no response, and the Better Business Bureau. The next step will be to contact the Californian Attorney General and the FTC. https://www.facebook.com/Tapjoy-is-A-SCAM-1667407370212493/?ref=bookmarks

    2 Votes
  • Be
    Bellรซ Avakin Jul 08, 2016

    Same thing happens to me. I've emailed them at least three times in the last 4 months and they will not respond.

    1 Votes
  • No
    Norm Yates Aug 08, 2016

    I have had the same crap happen to me, Tapjoy has not been responding to my complaints. I have pasted a link below to start a lawsuit against them. Waiting for further people before taking action as this may be a blow out, don't have a lawyer as of yet. Need as many people as possible to register so we can hold them accountable for this.
    http://www.thepetitionsite.com/783/138/296/tapjoy-lawsuit./

    1 Votes
  • Le
    Leah Smith Aug 27, 2016

    They are payed by disreputable companies who are scams and potential identity fraud and spammers. They don't pay out, and put the onus of 'proof' on the customer.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cat K Sep 09, 2016

    I've seen Tapjoy go from unreliable to downright fraud. You have always had to review the offers on their page carefully to weed out the sketchy ones (about 75-80%). Once you find something that is a legitimate company/offer, you still have to worry about receiving promised rewards from Tapjoy. In the past, this meant that sometimes you would immediately receive the rewards. Often, you would not receive them, you would have to file a report for "missing diamonds". Then, after weeks or months of back and forth, you may eventually receive the reward--but not always. But now, the well seems to have dried up, and they are in the mode of never giving promised rewards. Even when you have paid money for an offer, you don't receive the diamonds. You file for "missing diamonds". You receive a form email saying the information they need, you send it, and you never receive any further response, even months later. Even if you send a followup email at some point, it goes unanswered. This company definitely deserves a class action lawsuit and/or to be put out of business!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jason Appel Oct 11, 2016

    I'd love to find a way to get a class action against these guys. I have been ripped off for millions of credits on Star Wars card trader while completing numerous free or paid for opportunities. Ironically I got so pissed off a few months ago that I did a godaddy offer and purchased tapjoysucks.com and of course didn't get my credits - what a shocker!

    0 Votes
  • We
    WeakNeckBaby Oct 24, 2016

    Tapjoy has screw me over time and time again, on all the card trader apps. But, recently, I purchased over $50 dollars worth of stuff from Macy's... and have yet to receive my coins. I have written emails, sent proof of purchase. They still haven't replied. I am down for the law suit! This is bogus. What good are fake coins, when they are costing real time and money. Boo.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    MJmysterious Nov 01, 2016

    I completed and paid for an offer through tapjoy and didn't get my diamonds. Emailed them and got a really condescending mail back saying: sorry you feel frustrated. But as you can't seem to abide by our term of service your account has been permanently suspended. What in the world ?! No answer as to how I didn't abide by their rules. Wrote back asking wth he was on about and showed proof that I'd paid and fulfilled my end of the agreement but I haven't heard back and probably won't. So I can kiss my money goodbye. They are scamming people without shame.

    1 Votes
  • Tr
    troyaof Dec 22, 2016

    @MJmysterious I actually had this happen and contacted the company I paid for a service through and demanded and a refund citing the TapJoy issue. They refunded and I havent seen them on Tapjoy pages. If you cant take out tapjoy, take out their money flow.

    1 Votes
  • Ze
    Zed19 Jun 14, 2017

    I don't know how this company is still in existence with all the complaints and their disgraceful conduct. Due to the huge amount of scamming going on I know a massive game where the players have had enough. The decent companies who provide their offers through Crapjoy are getting to find out about their shady actions so will hopefully withdraw their participation. Games will lose money as nobody trusts their offers. This is an issue in many States and different countries. Just read their reviews in Google Play for example. If that were my company or my employer I would be ashamed to be connected to them. WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. You may as well hand your money over to a thief or burn it. Luckily I read reviews so have only wasted my time. Not a penny from me or my friends!

    1 Votes
  • Re
    Reverend Thintie Jul 09, 2017

    I agree with every comment I've read. They want you to buy tokens, and apparently if you're proficient at the game you've accumulated them in the SOP is to deduct larger & larger amounts from your balance. It's absolutely infuriating & they're about as customer-oriented as head lice. Frollicking corksuckers ๐Ÿ˜ค๐Ÿ˜ค๐Ÿ˜ค๐Ÿ˜ค๐Ÿ˜ค๐Ÿ˜ค๐Ÿ˜ค๐Ÿ˜ค

    0 Votes
  • De
    Destiny Litko Sep 07, 2017

    This has been going on sincere 2013 and I'm still having problems with it 4 years later, did anybody find what legal action can be placed on this company? Filed a complaint with the BBB and got nothing back.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liseran Thistle Jun 20, 2018

    Someone really outta sue them.

    0 Votes
  • Mu
    Music666 Jul 01, 2018

    I'm so sick of tap joy scamming and ripping people off I have submitted two tickets for two seperate things I did the first one was to receive 126 cash in my Jurrasic World alive game and it was to download and run Pandora so I did and I ran the app all night since I listen to music at night anyway. And the second one was to receive 184 cash in the same game but it was to download and pass the yellow desert in Angry Birds evolution which I did and after a day or so I contacted them and I got the same generic response so I sent them all the information and proof they needed and I still have heard from them and the offer for the incubator I want goes away soon since it's limited time and I would like to evolve my Veloceraptors and maybe get Blue since I have the other ones from the movie

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donna Baker Sturgis Jul 11, 2018

    Very much a RIP OFF. I installed the app, did the required levels to receive the award, only to be told that my ID on my device didn't match. This was a very large reward and it took me days to complete. I only have one device, so I took several screen shots to prove that I did indeed install the app and play to the required level, I was still denied. This company has no way to reach customer support, with the exception of putting in a ticket through the app. I would love to speak with someone higher in management. I did the required steps, I deserve the reward.

    1 Votes
  • No
    no more123 Sep 06, 2018

    I'm a publisher.
    Tapjoy owns me 2200 USD.

    I'm trying to reach them... but they don't answer my emails. I never had any response from them.
    I was trying to call them, but they customer phone is kind of fake... it's hanging out automatically after giving information to contact them by email...
    I'm not sure what I can do at this point. But this company seems to be shady.

    I also use IronSoruce and AdGate media and have no problem with them.
    Same time Tapjoy is not answering a single email.

    Can someone know any officials so I could address this claims and possible fraud?

    1 Votes
  • Iv
    IvanSmo Oct 04, 2018

    They cheat people ! ! ! ! Scum company

    0 Votes
  • Jr
    J.R. Tloken Oct 25, 2018

    I'M MAKING GOOD ON A PROMISE TO EXPOSE THESE SCAM ARTISTS! I'VE PLAYED COVET FASHION FOR AWHILE NOW. ACTUALLY, MY COUSIN AMD I SHARE A GAME. AT FIRST, REWARDS WERE PROMPT. THEN, I HAD TO START SUBMITTING COMPLAINTS WITH THE "MISSING CURRENCY" BUTTON WHICH AFTER A WHILE MYSTERIOUSLY DISAPEARED! DESPITE THEM TELLING YOU TO PRESS THAT BUTTON OVER AND OVER AGAIN! I GUESS THEY WERE GETTING TOO MANY COMPLAINTS! THEY THOUGHT THEY WERE SLICK! I JUST EMAILED THEM THROUGH THE "CONGRATULATIONS" MESSAGES THEY SENT ME! BUT ME AND MY COUSIN BOTH WOULD HAVE TO KEEP MESSAGING THEM FOR WEEKS AFTER DOING A DEAL TO GET REWARDS! AND THEN THEY HAVE THE NERVE TO COMPLAIN ABOUT "BAD" LANGUAGE AND THREATEN TO SUSPEND YOUR ACCOUNT, LIKE THEIR TRYING TO GET OUT OF PAYING YOU! MOST RECENTLY, ALL THE WAY BACK IN MARCH OR APRIL I DID A FIFTY DOLLAR DEAL, KEPT EMAILING FOR LIKE 2 MONTHS JUST TO GET A RESPONSE, WHICH WAS THAT MY ACCOUNT HAD BEEN SUSPENDED FOR SOME BOGUS REASON! I DIDN'T GET ANY NOTICE OR EMAILS ON THAT BEFORE THESE LYING CHEATING SCAM ARTISTS LET ME DO A FREAKIN' FIFTY DOLLAR DEAL!!! I THREATENED TO GO PUBLIC OVER THE LAST FEW MONTHS OVER THE CRAPPY, UN-BUISINESS LIKE WAY THEY DO BUISINESS IF THEY DIDN'T PAY ME WHAT THEY OWE ME! MY COUSIN DIDN'T GET HERS EITHER! WE'VE BOTH BEEN IGNORED AN SO HERE I AM, NOT WILLING TO LET THESE LYING, CHEATING BASTARDS SCAM PEOPLE OUT OF THEIR MONEY ANYMORE!!! DON'T DO BUISINESS WITH TAPJOY!!! EVENTUALLY, YOU'LL BE SORRY WITH THESE ASSHOLES!!! AND THIS IS WORST LANGUAGE THAN I'VE USED WITH THEM IN A "LONG" TIME, EVEN THOUGH THESE ASSHOLES DESERVE IT AND A WHOLE LOT MORE FOR JUST FINDING WAYS TO CHEAT PEOPLE OUT OF THEIR MONEY!!!

    0 Votes
  • Br
    Bruce W Cooper Nov 12, 2018

    I too have been scammed by Tapjoy. They do not bother to respond after you get sent an automated email. They don't care because we are not their customers. With this in mind I am going to every company that uses TapJoy and find where I can leave a negative review about their association with TapJoy. Hopefully enough other people will do the same so the companies who are TapJoy's customers take notice and drop TapJoy. This will effect TapJoy's profits which will get their attention.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem