Suburban PropaneTank fee & pickup fee

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

After years of two deliveries a year by Suburban Propane they have place a $60 a year rental fee for the tank they service. Our average bill is $90 each delivery. Now a $60 dollar charge on top of this.

When I called about the fact that we were not told of this charge prior to filling the tank this last time they had no answer to my request. They tole me they will pay me for the gas remaining when they pick up a tank. OK all well and good right? Wrong the pick up fee is $79 plus tax.

So they get their tank and my gas and my money.

Responses

  • Mg
    Mgtow Smurf Jul 20, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I rented a 200 gal. tank from Suburban Propane for $90 a year. I also own a 250 gal. tank on another property. I had the 250 tank filled for $1.99/gal by another company that I have done business with for years, but they would not fill up the Suburban tank because I did not own it. I called Suburban for fuel and they wanted $4.49/gal. I went to their office in person and offered to purchase the tank and they told me that they did not sell tanks. I then showed them my receipt for $1.99/gal and said that if they could not match the price they could come pick it up. The did match the price but instead of dealing with them in the future I purchased a 500 gal. tank from a competitor and when Suburban came and picked up their 200 gal. tank I was sent a bill for almost $100.

    0 Votes
  • Mg
    Mgtow Smurf Jul 20, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I rented a 200 gal. tank from Suburban Propane for $90 a year. I also own a 250 gal. tank on another property. I had the 250 tank filled for $1.99/gal by another company that I have done business with for years, but they would not fill up the Suburban tank because I did not own it. I called Suburban for fuel and they wanted $4.49/gal. I went to their office in person and offered to purchase the tank and they told me that they did not sell tanks. I then showed them my receipt for $1.99/gal and said that if they could not match the price they could come pick it up. They did match the price but instead of dealing with them in the future I purchased a 500 gal. tank from a competitor and when Suburban came and picked up their 200 gal. tank I was sent a bill for almost $100.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Alpaca Farm Feb 13, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Suburban Propane (SP) is an expert at price goughing! The property we purchased in Chico, CA was being serviced by SP and they gave us a "sweet" price for our first fill-up and for the next 2 1/2 years, the price per gallon kept creeping up. When I called to ask about the continuing price increases (never a lower price per gallon), I was told that SP charges more because they are a bigger company and have better service...yeah, right! We just had them come out and pick up the tank (thank god our lease is up) and today, we got a bill for $125.00 to close out the account! Really bad business!!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Perry Adams May 30, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I moved into a rental in 2017, the propane tank was owned by the landlord. I filled the tank with Suburban because they were the lowest in price @$2.67 a gal in northern Calif. The propane tank was old so the landlord decided to rent a tank from Suburban since that's who I was using for the propane. In April 2020 I called to fill the new tank, expecting the price to be the same or a little more, as I called around checking out prices not realizing I had to use Suburban since they were the ones who owned the tank. I was getting quotes from $1.95 to 3.15 a gal from other companies. When I called Suburban to ask what they were going to charge me, they said the rate was $5.85 a gallon...I was shocked! If I sign a contract for 3 years they will give me a rate of $1.95 a gallon for 6 months and
    then give me a reasonable rate for the next 2 1/2 years but they won't tell me what that is!!! Unbelievable an open end contract with NO guarantee on what that price could be, or a ceiling on the max per gallon for the remainder of the 2 1/2 yr contract...I'M NOT signing IT!

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    M J Trom Jul 09, 2018

    WOC is doing the same thing 200.00 dollar charge to pump the tank down and a credit for what ever gas is left and a 75 dollar pick up fee for them getting their tank off my property. I asked what if I just left their tank and used the new company they told no they want their tank back. I said fine it will cost you 75 dollars to come and get it on my property they told me I can't do that. So I may have to pre buy at a little higher rate and keep them until I figure this out. It would cost me 275 dollars to get rid of them. It robbery!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Round man Mar 23, 2018

    I received a tank rental bill from Suburban Propane after I wrote them that I would end my contract at the end of my 3 year agreement. I called Suburban propane and told them I wanted the tank picked up, as I had moved from the house, and had no more need for fuel. I also wrote them again with the statement my contract was ended, and I felt I was not responsible for a years rent. I still got a bill for closeout of $125.00. I agree with other comments about their way of doing business, as I was also victim of higher prices than other suppliers quoted.

    Jack Wade

    1 Votes
  • Al
    Alan M Odom Jan 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    SUBURBAN PROPANE will entice you with a reasonable price per gal ($1.99) to get you set up with their tank and service then when you need gas again, they will charge you 3X the going rate for propane. When you tell then to cancel your service and they will not only charge you tank rental ($60.00) but a tank removal fee of $85.00. Beware of this company. They will scam you!

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris F. Feb 16, 2011

    Please post any updates to your situation. We are very interested to learn about your results.

    -1 Votes
  • Du
    Durkee Jan 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was with Suburban for only a year, and when we called them. I got a good rate of $1.799 gal., but that only lasted about 3 months. Lucky spring & summer were here. We waited as long as possible to turn our heat on. I called Suburban to see what there going rate was at that time, & they wanted to charge me $4.50 gal. WHAT??? So I called around, & found a new provider. When the other company came, put there tanks aside. I called for Suburban to come get there tanks. I called Suburban the first time to cancle my account, the women I spoke with just wanted to know why, and who the other provider was. Mind you, know one spoke of any charges. So about 2 weeks later, there here to get them. So I called the office a second time to comfirm there pick up, and suspected a fee of some sort. The women proceedes to tell me, "There is a $100 fee for pick up, & $1 gal for whats left in the tanks." Again WHAT???? I wasn't told this, but she said it was explain to me, because thats what was in the notes. I'm sure with those charges I would remember!! I had about 70 gal. left, so altogether $170+ for pick up. The 70 gal. times what I paid for the propane at the time is only about $126. Now Suburban is telling me I owe them more money. I don't think so!!! This conversation has not ended with Suburban yet, but they can stick there charges, where the sun don't shine. How are they gettin away with this??

    2 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.