Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
CB Entertainment StubHub Beware sellers nightmare!
StubHub

StubHub review: Beware sellers nightmare! 15

B
Author of the review
12:37 pm EDT
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

I am surprised sellers have not filed a class action lawsuit against RobHub for the thousands of people they rip off!

Please think twice before you sell tickets with StubHub. My mother fell ill on the day of an event that she was attending and asked if I could help sell her tickets. I put her tickets up on my StubHub account and was given an option to mobile upload them. The instructions tell you to scan a copy of the entire ticket and then upload them directly on the site, which is what I did. The site said the tickets uploaded successfully. Within 30 minutes I received an e-mail that my tickets were sold. I called StubHub customer care directly to be sure that the tickets uploaded properly and were going to be valid for use.

I was told they would have to check and was kept on hold for over 30 minutes. The rep came Back and said that even though she saw my upload, the mobile upload option shouldn't have been available since the concert was day of (even though the site clearly gave me instructions and allowed me to upload the tickets). So I told the representative to cancel the transaction because I only have hard copies of the tickets. She said my transaction was cancelled and the buyer bought another set of tix. She informed me that I may receive a 40% charge for the cancelled transaction but I could still try to sell my tickets by going to will call and speaking with Stub Hub site services if they were still there. I told them I shouldn't be charged a fee because it was the websites error and I called within 5 minutes. After an hour on the phone with customer support, I was told that they couldn't do anything to help me and they would be charging me 40% of my list price for their mistake. I demanded a manager and was denied very rudely and then hung up on. I called back and spoke to a representative named Kathy who said she was communicating with a manager to get my problem resolved.

They proceeded to tell me that I never uploaded the tickets, which was false because I took screen shots. After 2 1/2 hours of being put on hold and rude representatives, I was finally told that the issue was resolved and given a service request number which was supposed to have all of the notes, stating that I wouldn't have to pay any fees and everything worked out.

Two days later, I received an email stating that I had to pay them $810 + $405 in fees because the buyer could not get into the venue. WHAT?! I never sold the tickets. The transaction was cancelled! It turns out ROBHUB went back in and reactivated a cancelled order and sold to another buyer without my permission. I spoke to someone named Matt in Marketplace investigations who was very rude! Did nothing to try to help even though I gave him the service request number the previous two gave me saying everything was resolved. He even confirmed that he saw notes that I wasn't supposed to be charged, but said the other manager was wrong and I am going to be charged anyway. If this is not resolved I have two class action attorneys willing to take my case. Do not let them get away with these unetical tactics! DO NOT trust this company or service. They are deceitful, money hungry, and have terrible customer service! You will regret doing business with StubHub!

More StubHub reviews & complaints

StubHub - canadian buyers beware 1
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
StubHub - do not sell tickets on stubhub - it is fraud website 30
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
StubHub - tickets to wrong address 3
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
StubHub - honest seller got scammed by buyer
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
StubHub - mike manning 16
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
15 comments
Add a comment
K
K
KrystalKlear
Dublin, US
Sep 04, 2023 6:59 am EDT

StubHub is refusing to honor my sale of a ticket I sold stating I did not transfer all of my tickets. I had 3 - 1 day tickets for a 3 Day event. Each ticket was for a different day. The show was completely sold out and ScrewHub deactivated my listings for the remaining two days of the event and cost me the sale of those tickets that were sure to sell. One listing doesn’t even show up in my account as a past listing as if it were deleted. They say mobile transfer tickets automatically deactivate 4 hours prior to the start of a show if they have not sold but this is false because I sold the first ticket within one hour of the shows start time. When I called the customer service number, the representative blatantly lied to me saying what I sold was an e-ticket. I said “nice try as I am looking right at the listing and it says MOBILE TRANSFER!”

StubHub hires people who are either not very bright or they hire convicts who can’t get a job anywhere else and compensate them on the basis of how many people they can screw over.

ScrewHub owes me nearly $1,000 for the sale I made and for the two sales they sabotaged and believe me I am going to get my money one way or another.

After reading all of these negative reviews and nightmare stories, sounds like ScrewHub is about to become SmeerHub after we get our hands on you. Better run losers!

S
S
Steven Simms
, US
Apr 11, 2023 9:39 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Same here

My problem with ripoff hub is that I purchased two tickets for a Colorado Rockies game in February. The listing said the tickets were in hand. Today April 11 I still do not have the tickets and Stub hub tells me that the seller uploaded the tickets. I was never told that I could get the tickets from MLB.com / ballpark app. No Biggie but when I download the app no tickets. I called MLB's help line and was informed that no seats were uploaded, and they would send an e mail to stub hub informing them that the tickets are there. In turn stub hub would then notify me with a link to get the tickets.

No one at stub hub told me this after hours on the phone with them. Since I am giving these seats to a very big customer of mine, I requested replacement tickets as the game is only four days away. No dice

I'm told the are having problems with the bar codes. This is the same line they gave me last august when selling some seats.

I love how they are going to escalate the matter. To whom they will not tell you and I have never heard back from stub hub ever when they escalate.

They are a terrible company to work with. You cannot ever speak to anyone with any authority. No wonder they don't list corporate phone numbers. You are better off using other platforms, less hassle less bs

C
C
Carflo
Upland, US
Oct 13, 2022 12:59 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I received an email confirmation at 12:30am that my tickets were purchased by a buyer. I transferred tickets and noticed the buyer was accepting the tickets. Day of the concert a 4 hours before the concert I get an email from Stubhub that my sale didn't go through and I would be liable for a cost. I had to sell the tickets on a rush and made less money for them.

I was just charged $500 because I missed their "cutoff" of transferring the tickets to the buyer by 2 minutes. I had less than 12 hours basically to transfer and the buyer accept my tickets. Been on the phone for almost an hour waiting for a supervisor. The guy on the phone said his supervisor is going to tell me the same thing and will have to wait a long time.

This is ridiculous. Seems this is their MO. I will never use Stubhub again and will let everyone I know not to fall for this scam.

R
R
rcrichie
Alameda, US
Sep 30, 2022 2:20 pm EDT

dont believe the give away promise by stub hub. we paid top bucks for two tickets to sf giants vs Rockies.

it was snoopy figurine give away. Stub Hub made a splash about free collectable with ticket purchase. They created comical peanuts pictures on their website. however at game employees laughed at us stating this is for fans who purchased from Sf Giants website AND purchased extra ticked to get collectable. Kids cried and were upset. Employees said this happens all the time with customers of Stub Hub. You are baited to by tickets.

G
G
GG2022
, US
Sep 26, 2022 11:42 pm EDT

They did the same to me; sold my parking pass, reactivated my deactivated/canceled sale of 2 tickets and charged me a penalty, stating I had to call to cancel sales of tickets! They just settled a class action lawsuit not too long ago. I guess they need another one. Perhaps the news would like to hear about this? Ticketmaster was on the news for price gouging

G
G
GG2022
, US
Sep 26, 2022 11:38 pm EDT

I paid $1,000 for 4 tickets and 1 parking pass 10/4/2021. They never got me my parking pass. I called several times in 2 months prior to the event coming up 9/30/2022. Each operator swore a 100% guarantee and full refund plus compensation for my inconvenience. They all said they'd add new call information to their "notes" yet each time I had to call again, there were no notes found. I had to buy parking elsewhere and ask for my refund. However, the app is defective. I tried selling 2 tickets then canceled/deactivated the sale on the app 3 times until they didn't show under sale and all 4 barcides showed up. It turns out my tickets somehow never got deactivated and had to pay a penalty of close to $200! They wasted my money on several times calling them, ruined the concert before I could attend, and had seriously nervous about scrambling around looking for parking. They need another class action lawsuit! They just settled one but it looks like they haven't learned their lesson. I bet they're selling our information to scammers right now for complaining!

S
S
Stubhub Ripoff
Westerville, US
Jun 23, 2022 12:26 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Stubhub charged my credit card $218 for tickets and I was the seller. I called customer service to complain and the supervisor hung up on me, pretended they couldn’t hear me on their phone but I heard them fine. Filed a dispute on the BBB site and disputed charge with my credit card company but Stubhub seems to be able to get away with their total scam unchecked. I would be happy to join any class action lawsuit against them. Surprised they are still in business but I guess it is really profitable to steal money from your customers. First and last time I will use them. Crooks!

M
M
MikeKaz
SOUTH LYON, US
Aug 30, 2022 11:11 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I hear you - they tried to charge me $500 for tickets I couldn't deliver because they were sold concurrently elsewhere.

M
M
Michelle Seiter
Harrison, US
Dec 15, 2022 3:45 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

They are trying to charge me $900. THis is total BS.

C
C
catgonzalez1974
, US
May 06, 2022 10:10 am EDT

Sold ticket for $120 + parking pass for $120 - received notice tickets sold, but my Stub hub fee was $138. WTF?

View 0 more photos
T
T
TICKETed Off
Willimantic, US
Jan 26, 2022 7:09 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Stubhub is trying to recover its legal and post-Covid losses on the backs of their customers...Outright STEALING the proceeds of sales on their site. SUE STUBHUB via the Dispute provisions in their User Agreement -- it's the only way to get your $ back until a new class-action suit is filed against these WEASELS. And altho they're required to pay the $200 filing fee, make sure you pay it up front...Otherwise, they will NEVER pay it and delay the proceedings forever. God, they have to be the SLEAZIEST on-line biz, or at least in the Top 10...C-A Suit, PLEASE!

T
T
TICKETed Off
Willimantic, US
Jan 26, 2022 7:03 am EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Stubhub is trying to make up for their Covid losses on the backs of their customers. Their epic lack of customer service is deliberate...it allows them to rip off the proceeds of ticket sales. SUE STUBHUB via their Dispute provisions in the User Agreement. But even tho they are required to pay the filing fee, you MUST pay it yourself up front because Stub will NEVER pay it and delay the proceedings forever. It's a pain to do, and time-consuming, but your only hope until a new class-action suit vs. them takes shape. Stubhub has gotta be the SLEAZIEST on-line biz, or at least in the Top 10.

A
A
Aggrieveddd
Willimantic, US
Nov 15, 2021 5:04 pm EST

Stubhub robbed me of $3, 000 in ticket sales. Then they refused to comply with the Dispute/Arbitration procedures from their own User Agreement! ROBBERS.

A
A
Ang Rosenthal
, US
Oct 29, 2018 5:11 pm EDT

Im willing to join any class action lawsuit against this company. What they do is not right. They have ripped me off too. I will be contacting lawyers since BBB have not encouraged them to do the right thing. If you file a class action suit please contact me.

M
M
MikeKaz
SOUTH LYON, US
Aug 30, 2022 11:10 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I'm in as well. Stubhub is awful.

  1. StubHub Contacts

  2. StubHub phone numbers
    +1 (866) 788-2482
    +1 (866) 788-2482
    Click up if you have successfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (866) 788-2482 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (866) 788-2482 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (866) 788-2482 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (866) 788-2482 phone number
    USA & Canada
    1800 770 534
    1800 770 534
    Click up if you have successfully reached StubHub by calling 1800 770 534 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached StubHub by calling 1800 770 534 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling 1800 770 534 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling 1800 770 534 phone number
    Australia
    +1 (800) 436-0113
    +1 (800) 436-0113
    Click up if you have successfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (800) 436-0113 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (800) 436-0113 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (800) 436-0113 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (800) 436-0113 phone number
    Mexico
    +1 (415) 222-8400
    +1 (415) 222-8400
    Click up if you have successfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (415) 222-8400 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (415) 222-8400 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (415) 222-8400 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +1 (415) 222-8400 phone number
    International
    +44 800 783 0260
    +44 800 783 0260
    Click up if you have successfully reached StubHub by calling +44 800 783 0260 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached StubHub by calling +44 800 783 0260 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +44 800 783 0260 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +44 800 783 0260 phone number
    United Kingdom
    +33 805 542 574
    +33 805 542 574
    Click up if you have successfully reached StubHub by calling +33 805 542 574 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached StubHub by calling +33 805 542 574 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +33 805 542 574 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +33 805 542 574 phone number
    100%
    Confidence score
    France
    +49 800 724 1913
    +49 800 724 1913
    Click up if you have successfully reached StubHub by calling +49 800 724 1913 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached StubHub by calling +49 800 724 1913 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +49 800 724 1913 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached StubHub by calling +49 800 724 1913 phone number
    Germany
    More phone numbers
  3. StubHub emails
  4. StubHub address
    199 Fremont Street, Suite 300, Floor 4, San Francisco, California, 94105, United States
  5. StubHub social media
  6. Andrew
    Checked and verified by Andrew This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 13, 2024
StubHub Category
StubHub is ranked 1 among 57 companies in the Entertainment category