Menu
Register
Write a review File a complaint
Standard Bank South Africa

Standard Bank South Africa review: scam 17

K
Author of the review
1:36 pm EST
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

THIS IS A SCAM ARTIST FROM AFRICA - posing as a black girl
In her 1st email she sends me emotional stuff. I have copy pasted her email and her "bank manager's " email here.
I am getting a kick out of this because, I am playing along and they think I am falling for it. I want to waste their time and money calling me...lol hope innocent people learn from this.

My Dearest one,
Thanks very much for your response to my mail.How is everything going over there? Hopefully you are doing well today. As I told you in my mail, my name is Miss Juliet Tendaji. a 24 year old girl. I'm (from Sudan in Africa) But presently residing in a living church missionary in Senegal as a result of civil war that was fought in my country four years ago. I'm average in size about 5.7 ft tall and 57 kg weight.I'm very beautiful and like challenges.My picture is attached for you to see me

My father's name is late Dr.Martin Tendaji, and my mother's name was late Mrs Flora Tendaji.I had only one brother who is late also his name was Kingsley.He died the same day my parents died in the incidence of war.My late father was the personal assistant to the vice president of Sudan john Garang (DENGZ INDUSTRIAL TECHNOLOGY COMPANY PLC), in south Sudan.) my country which was destroyed during the war.When my parents died together with our only son, I managed to find my way to the coast of Africa (Senegal) through the red-cross rescue ship but it was not easy for me. Presently, I live in a missionary here to get sustained for my dear life. here is too tough and hard on me and I'm planning to seek for a better future.

Listen carefully, before the death of my late father, he deposited some amount of money in some banks in my name as the next of kin/inheritance. the amount in question is
($5.7 Million US Dollars). that is in the BANK, which I'm planning to claim. This is the more reason why I contacted you to seek your assistance. But before we continue I would like you to prove to me that you are a reliable person in whom I can place my confidence on and entrust my inheritance to, really I don't know you in person but hope so much that we will discover ourselves as we go on. If you are a trustworthy person, then, I would like you to help me transfer the money to your personal account, pending my arrival to meet with you and plan together how to invest the money in any business you know that will be nice for us. Then, when the money is transferred to you, you shall send me some money from it to enable me clear myself from this camp and prepare my travel to meet you. You shall take 20% of the money for your kind assistance Important note; please do not disclose this my plan with you to any other person (it is my secret. I don't want to lose this money to wicked people.

to eat here is too hard and there is much hunger too. we only feed once a day unless one receives a personal help from elsewhere.The only person who shows concerns is Reverend pastor Gabriel Anselm, the reverend minister in charge of the missionary,

I use his computer to communicate you. And in case you would like to hear my voice you call me with his telephone. The number is (+[protected] )if you call tell him that you want to speak with me Juliet Tendaji and he will send for me to come and answer your call or you ask him the right time to speak with me because I'm not living with him, I'm living in the female hostel. I shall appreciate your urgent reply indicating your ability and willingness to handle this transaction sincerely.

Awaiting your positive response with your Data s.
such as
1. Your full names
2. Your contact and and telephone
3. and any information you feel might be good for me to introduce you to the said bank

Please do keep this only to your self until the transfer is made to your account for security reason.
May God bless you.
Yours Sincerely,
Juliet Tendaji.
..Red rosehttp://tracking.technodesignip.com/?action=count&projectid=642&contentid=18093&referrer=-&urlaction=...Red heartRed lipsRed rosehttp://tracking.technodesignip.com/?action=count&projectid=642&contentid=18091&referrer=-&urlaction=...http://tracking.technodesignip.com/?action=count&projectid=642&contentid=18093&referrer=-&urlaction=...

AND THIS IS THE EMAIL I RECEIVED FROM THE CON ARTIST'S FRIEND IN LONDON - or wherever the heck he is.

Standard Bank Standard Bank
Mr. Simon Ridley,
The transfer Manager of Standard Bank Plc.
5th Floor Cannon Bridge House
25 Dowgate Hill
London
EC4R 2SB
United Kingdom.

Attention, Sir Cassiano Miranda

I have been directed by the director of Foreign Operation/Wire Transfer to write you in respect to your mail which we received.

Actually, we have earlier been told about you by a young lady Miss Juliet Tendaji
residing in refugee camp in Dakar Senegal that she wishes you to be her trustee/representative for the claim of her late father's deposit with your bank.

Her Late father Late Dr Martin Tendaji was our late customer with substantial amount of deposited with us. Hence you have been really appointed as a trustee to represent the next of Kin.

However before our bank will transact any business concerning the transfer of the fund with you, we will like you to send the following documents to our bank:

(1). A power of attorney permitting you to claim and transfer the funds to your bank account on her behalf. This document must be endorsed by a Senegalese resident lawyer.
(2). The death certificate of (Her deceased father) confirming the death.
(3). A copy of deposit certificate issued to him by our bank.
(4). An affidavit of oath from the Senegalese high court.

Note that the above are compulsory, and are needed to protect our interest, yours, the next of kin after the claims. These shall also ensure that a smooth, quick and successful transfer of the fund is made.

We promise to give our customers the best of our services.

If you have any question(s), please contact our foreign transfer officer Mr. Simon Ridley, on office Email ([protected]@mail.com) for more directives/clarifications.

Yours Faithfully,
Mr. Simon Ridley
(Customer Service / Accounts Department.)
( [protected]@aol.com)
United Kingdom.

View 0 more photos
17 comments
Add a comment
G
G
gopi.ees
, IN
Feb 16, 2010 4:01 am EST

sir,
iam gopi from india
from standard bank plc.. UK.
mr craig bond call me and told i have won the prize amount of £ 1, 000, 000
from yahoo lottery..they asked to me to deposit Rs.10000/-indian rupee for transaction...
really i won the prize or not.? please reply me immediately

R
R
Remi07
, MY
Feb 16, 2010 6:37 am EST

They suppose to pay you not you pay them...one more thing, are you buying the lottery ticket as what they had told you? This is a scam don't let all this "Hooker' to cheat you..this ### just want your money...damn real ###!

M
M
Madeleine Norval
, ZA
Jun 19, 2010 4:47 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

We were sequestrated in 2007 but after sequatration Standard Bank gave us an overdraft on our cheque account

T
T
Trish23
, US
Aug 24, 2010 6:23 am EDT

About a week ago I applied for RCP line of credit online from Standard Bank. I was told that someone would get back to me within 48 hours. It’s been nearly a week now and I have still not had any feedback! Is this the type of service that I should expect as an excising customer of Standard bank?

W
W
Wulkerman
, US
Sep 14, 2010 6:49 am EDT

I deposited a chq 169 and tried to have it cleared as it was a bank chq. On monday pamela send a e-mail that she would assist in clearing the chq, but till now I had to wait but still it is not cleared. I was told that the chq will be on hold for 7 days but how long still. Can Mr cohen please sort this out as he previously did.

K
K
khloee13
Fort Wayne, US
Sep 14, 2010 12:15 pm EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

it could be 7 BUSINESS days...they have to make sure it is a real check. Banks dont clear stuff like they used to because there was a lot of fraud with fake checks so now they make sure the check clears before they will release the funds

S
S
Shibella
, US
Sep 15, 2010 9:20 am EDT

Wow. For the umpteenth time I experience this cold, impersonal, condescending service. No smile, no friendly greeting or treatment.

Speaking to you like you have the IQ of a ### as you CAN get your card from THIS queue, even though it's not marked.

O
O
Owander
, US
Sep 15, 2010 10:21 am EDT

The incompetency of your staff has just put me in more debt than i was already in, simple thing to do and they take you from one place to another.to go into details would be a waste of my time so am gona spare you the details, just know that i will be taking my business somewhere else.

A
A
Akleu
, US
Sep 16, 2010 7:27 am EDT

There is a recession in SA but not at standard bank. I held on for 17 minutes to get through to HOME LOANS only to be told that they are extremely busy and then the call cuts. I call back after 7 minutes I get through to be transferred to SALES. After 16 minutes the call gets cut. Their call centres are not inspired and management obviously tolerates these delays.

E
E
Echsole
, US
Sep 16, 2010 8:05 am EDT

My offer expires the 1st of October... Do you think it is possible for Standard bank to let me know if my bond application is approved or declined before i do not need the bond anymore? OBVIOUSLY Standard Bank do not have ANY idea of a sense of urgency!

A
A
ARthur
, US
Oct 12, 2010 11:35 am EDT

This is now my 4th complaint regarding th same problem. To date no one has called or even tried to resolve the problem. What does one have to do to get service from Std Bank? It was only yesterday that I read in the Star that Std Bank was voted No 1 for Service...how untrue this is?

Can some one please call me to resolve from issue as calling your compaints resolution centre does not help! No-one answers..

B
B
Biladjo
, US
Oct 13, 2010 1:35 pm EDT

I applied for a pre approval in the middle of August 2009. It is now almost 3 months later and I have still not received an answer. I have made numerous calls to the call centre concerned only to be given a call reference number and a promise that they will look into it. Does a person nowadays have to resort to such measures to get a response.

A
A
Arsen
, US
Jan 17, 2011 4:52 pm EST

The bank has re-charged me the R 194.99 for the Avis Admin fee after having refunded the money a month ago. The same issues apply: unauthorized access to my Credit Card and Illegal billing. All Credit Card owners be scared very scared at what the bank can do.

S
S
Sergei F
, US
Mar 25, 2011 10:00 am EDT

We have requested Standard Bank more than a week ago to cancel our credit card.
No attention is paid to our numerous requests despite SB's slogan Faster, Longer, Stronger
leaving us no choice but to draw attention to their appalling service level which leaves us vulnerable to credit card fraud.

S
S
S. Harborth
, ZA
Apr 13, 2011 10:27 am EDT
Verified customer This complaint was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

On the 2/2/2011 I went to the Std Bank in Liberty Mall Pmb and when enquiring how best to invest some monies was advised about the possibilty of taking out a Funeral Cover for myself and my family and was told that as it was a promotion I would receive R1000 in grocery shopping vouchers - well I took out the policy and didn't get the vouchers - what total misrepresentation from the bank !

P
P
P.R. DLADLA
, ZA
Aug 29, 2012 2:11 am EDT

I AM MR P.R. DLADLA HAVE A PROBLEM WITH STANDARD BANK LOAN AND CREDIT CARD. THE BANK SUBMITTED ME TO DCM WHO ARE PUTTING ME IN MORE DEBT PLEASE HELP

S
S
SCR2
WR, ZA
Apr 25, 2022 8:21 am EDT

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAH43TZYGt4

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sCG-5fluNPo

  1. Standard Bank South Africa Contacts

  2. Standard Bank South Africa phone numbers
    +27 860 123 000
    +27 860 123 000
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 000 phone number 33 33 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 000 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 000 phone number 18 18 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 000 phone number
    29%
    Confidence score
    Customer Service
    +27 116 369 111
    +27 116 369 111
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 116 369 111 phone number 10 10 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 116 369 111 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 116 369 111 phone number 8 8 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 116 369 111 phone number
    11%
    Confidence score
    Head Office
    +27 860 101 341
    +27 860 101 341
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 101 341 phone number 5 5 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 101 341 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 101 341 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 101 341 phone number
    43%
    Confidence score
    Branch Customer Service
    +27 112 994 701
    +27 112 994 701
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 701 phone number 6 6 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 701 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 701 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 701 phone number
    33%
    Confidence score
    International
    +27 860 123 108
    +27 860 123 108
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 108 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 108 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 108 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 108 phone number
    Telephone Banking
    +27 860 001 321
    +27 860 001 321
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 001 321 phone number 6 6 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 001 321 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 001 321 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 001 321 phone number
    50%
    Confidence score
    Prestige Banking, South Africa
    +27 112 994 607
    +27 112 994 607
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 607 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 607 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 607 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 607 phone number
    Prestige Banking, International
    +27 860 109 075
    +27 860 109 075
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 109 075 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 109 075 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 109 075 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 109 075 phone number
    Business Customers, South Africa
    +27 112 994 633
    +27 112 994 633
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 633 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 633 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 633 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 112 994 633 phone number
    Business Customers, International
    +27 800 222 050
    +27 800 222 050
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 800 222 050 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 800 222 050 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 800 222 050 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 800 222 050 phone number
    Report On-line Fraud, South Africa
    +27 102 490 070
    +27 102 490 070
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 102 490 070 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 102 490 070 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 102 490 070 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 102 490 070 phone number
    20%
    Confidence score
    Report On-line Fraud, International
    +27 860 238 837
    +27 860 238 837
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 238 837 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 238 837 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 238 837 phone number 4 4 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 238 837 phone number
    Cellphone Banking
    +27 860 001 237
    +27 860 001 237
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 001 237 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 001 237 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 001 237 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 001 237 phone number
    33%
    Confidence score
    Cellular Prepaid Services
    +27 860 123 001
    +27 860 123 001
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 001 phone number 7 7 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 001 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 001 phone number 6 6 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 001 phone number
    8%
    Confidence score
    Home Loans
    +27 861 201 000
    +27 861 201 000
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 861 201 000 phone number 6 6 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 861 201 000 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 861 201 000 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 861 201 000 phone number
    33%
    Confidence score
    Card Division
    +27 861 114 494
    +27 861 114 494
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 861 114 494 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 861 114 494 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 861 114 494 phone number 1 1 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 861 114 494 phone number
    Travel Insurance
    +27 800 020 600
    +27 800 020 600
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 800 020 600 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 800 020 600 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 800 020 600 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 800 020 600 phone number
    Lost & Stolen
    +27 860 123 002
    +27 860 123 002
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 002 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 002 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 002 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 002 phone number
    20%
    Confidence score
    Asset Finance
    +27 860 123 222
    +27 860 123 222
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 222 phone number 3 3 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 222 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 222 phone number 2 2 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 860 123 222 phone number
    20%
    Confidence score
    Vehicle Insurance
    +27 10 249 0100
    +27 10 249 0100
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 10 249 0100 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 10 249 0100 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 10 249 0100 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 10 249 0100 phone number
    +27 10 824 1515
    +27 10 824 1515
    Click up if you have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 10 824 1515 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have successfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 10 824 1515 phone number Click down if you have unsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 10 824 1515 phone number 0 0 users reported that they have UNsuccessfully reached Standard Bank South Africa by calling +27 10 824 1515 phone number
    More phone numbers
  3. Standard Bank South Africa emails
  4. Standard Bank South Africa address
    9th Floor, Standard Bank Centre, 5 Simmonds Street, Johannesburg, 2000, South Africa
  5. Standard Bank South Africa social media
  6. Stan
    Checked and verified by Stan This contact information is personally checked and verified by the ComplaintsBoard representative. Learn more
    Jun 14, 2024
Standard Bank South Africa Category
Standard Bank South Africa is ranked 63 among 403 companies in the Banks category