The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Specialized Loan Servicinghome loan modification

My mortgage was sent to sls from bank of america last december.in january I submitted the paperwork for a loan modification. I would call to check on the process and would be told everything looks good its in review.in may I was told the paper work need to be submitted once again because it was out of date. Again I would check on the process and was told the same thing its in review and everything is in place. Just last week I called again to check and I was told I needed to resubmit everything all over again and I should have callled to check more frequently on the process passing the blame on me. I want to get away from this mess and just have my mortgage motified as originally planned. I am current on payments at this time and even when i9 try to speek to someone in a higher level they tell me they are going to tell me the same thing. When I found a number to call for complaints I got an answering machine I left a message and never got a return call.

Responses

  • Tr
    trainermom Mar 27, 2014

    The same thing happened to us. They do it on purpose. We gave up after 6 months.

    1 Votes
  • Dw
    Dwight D. Gibson Apr 30, 2015

    BOA sold our loan to these crooks and we have had 7 months of hell. they have continued to find problems with our paperwork like twos that look like fives, failing to circle our bank deposits, the 4506-T is a simple tax form they rejected 7 times because they cannot believe that a 100% disabled person on ss disability doesn't pay taxes. Twice I had agents help me line by line with this simple tax form only to have them rejected by another agent two weeks later. I have never talked to the same agent twice. Getting a supervisor is insane wait 30 to 45 minutes then the phone hangs up. they never contact me I always have to call them. This is a nightmare my wife is very ill and all I asked for was for a few month's to get the medical bills under control now I am in hell. I have 18 years of equity in my home. They have jerked me around for 7 months I have a bad heart my wife is very sick and I cannot afford a lawyer. Will FHA or HUD help the stress is killing my wife. Specialized Loan Servicing is a scam and a joke. Shame on Bank of America for dealing with these crooks.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy SLS Client Feb 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have the same issue with the scam artist company known as SLS. They've rejected my Request for Mortgage Assistance package THREE TIMES. After reading articles about the other homeowners who have attempted to get modifications for special circumstances (divorce, illness etc), I realize this is fruitless. SLS has NO INTENTION of helping any of their clients. They are NOT a bank. They say there are "investors". Hmm . Ok.
    I filed a claim with Colorado's State Attorney Generals office, in hopes they will be exposed for the frauds they are. I don't know how fast it will happen, but I'm positive after the investigation begins - many more class action lawsuits will be filed against these felons.
    Did anyone check on the background of who runs this scam or the CEO? Coincidentally, he was connected to the financial debacle (the government bailing out Countrywide...) that brought our economy back down.
    It's a shame greed overcomes these people, and pretending to offer "assistance" when we need it. In my case it's been once in this ifetime! If anyone has more information on ballon payments on HELOCS held by SLS & being threatened they'll foreclose on you - I'd be very interested in reading. Good luck everyone. Please file an online complaint on Cynthia Coffman's (Colorado State Attorney Generals Office) website. If enough of us expose their illegal activity, it will force stronger action against them.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Donald Wayne Huffman Jul 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have just been foreclose on my rental home these people kept making me do paperwork over and over again on a small loan of six thousand dollars, i cant believe they wont reprocess a loan that small after i lost my job last year, im
    Now employed but that didnt matter to
    Them i did everything they ask i work with a lady name Felicia. For six months and then three weeks ago change me to a new point of contact a ding bat call Dedra You never know their last name i wonder why hmmmmm, she told me three weeks ago they were going to
    Underwrite it but then
    All of a sudden they told me they couldnt because they didnt get all the paper work. What a lie. I have a letter saying they have all the papers completed im going to lose my house of forty years to this bunch of crooks. They wont even send me a payoff quote. There needs to be action taken against these crooks and the banks that sold the loans to them and clerks ov court who order foreclosures If anybody can
    Help give me advice my email is huffmandw @
    Hotmail.com Im from Connelly Springs North Carolina These people neec to hp to
    Jail

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy SLS Client Jul 18, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    FILE A CLAIM WITH COLORADO'S ATTORNEY GENERAL !! Then find other sites to report them on (BBB, FTC, social media sites like Yelp/etc).

    I have seen hundreds of class action law suits against SLS. You have absolutely nothing to lose! Don't you want to be compensated for the damages you've incurred? The law firms are some of the largest in the country (who handle the SLS debacle & scam). If you don't sign up for class action lawsuits, you won't get paid. It is also helpful for anyone who had their credit reports negatively impacted - due to SLS incorrectly reporting "Late Payments" so they have "reasons" threaten foreclosure --- when payments prove to have been sent & received timely. This also happened to me. I've had at least 4 separate and illegal actions that SLS took upon me/my HELOC. I've lost about 400 hours of my life since August of 2015, trying to work with a company who has NO INTEREST WHATSOEVER in helping us! I'd be very weary to suggest anyone ask SLS for a RMA. WHY? Because it won't happen and you'll lose 400 hours of a year, on the Impossible. I pity anyone who had to go through what I still am enduring with SLS. Here's a short list of the issues you'll probably come up against, if you're in good standing and ask for a modification. I sorely regret this:

    - SLS claiming a payment was received late, when I have concrete banking proof it was not.
    - SLS refusing to accept ANY of my payments for the last 12 months! Guess what, they will report you to all 3 bureaus, even if your payment is sent in and returned to you!
    - SLS not accepting OR reviewing my RMA (Request for Modification Assistance) after completing and sending in 5 fully filled out applications, 2 months of bank statements, income proof, all documents SLS requested. I am STILL waiting for a forgiveness, modification, any type of modification program (internal or external) from SLS!!! This is so far beyond ridiculous. Now it's criminal, and I will join all class action lawsuits against them. THERE ARE LITERALLY HUNDREDS OF LAWSUITS US VICTIMS CAN APPLY FOR PEOPLE ! Look them up online, sign up and someday soon we will get "some" payment for their crimes against us. I doubt it will match the amount of pain, stress and endless time spent jumping through SLS Hoops.
    - No specific point of contact.
    - No Supervisors to speak with (what corporations operate this way?).

    Best of luck everyone. When I find the largest SLS class action lawsuit I will post it here.

    1 Votes
  • At
    Aterr18 Jul 26, 2016

    I agree. I had identical experiences with this SLS company. Yes, please post the class action info here.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unhappy SLS Client Jul 28, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I found another SLS victim here, who won a lawsuit against SLS. The only reason I didn't contact his attorneys is because they serve Florida, not California. I'm still keeping my eyes open for a class action. Keep the faith, we will prevail!

    0 Votes
  • Fu
    FuriosaInFL May 04, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Unhappy SLS Client I am in FL and am interested in suing--who was the lawyer/firm you mentioned?

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Pantry Jul 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @FuriosaInFL Tycko & Zavareei is a large national law firm with offices in California & Washington D.C. They filed a class action lawsuit against SLS in October 2016 and are asking to hear from people across the country who have been duped as I have also been.

    0 Votes
  • An
    angryslsclient Oct 26, 2016

    I agree I've been fighting with them since august, I sent my papers in three times twice via fax and the 3rd time via postal mail. I received an email stating that I needed to redo 1 form which I did and then was told that I never sent in the complete application which is a bold face lie because I have an email to prove that I in fact did send it and they received it. I end up getting so frustrated that I cursed them out and was hung up on when asked to speak to a manager. They are the worst place to do business with and is indeed a scam.

    0 Votes
  • 1r
    1RugerGrl Feb 26, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @angryslsclient Are you in default or foreclosure now due to the games they have played stalling loan modification?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Joan Teresa Kloth-Zanard Jul 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I started out with Country Wide which put me in a predatory option arm without proper explanation. Then we went from bad to worse with it being sold to Bank of America. In 2008, we finally got a loan modification for 5 years. In the middle of this, I became legally disabled on a fixed income. April 2010 I proactively asked BofA if we paid our loan modification on time and in full, would they please convert to permanent loan as my new debt to income ratio could only sustain the loan modification payment amount. They refused and even refused to do this when the Department of Banking got involved. In 2013, as the original loan modification that we paid on time and in full was about to end, we began the process of a new loan modification. It was a constant stall tactic with us sending in all the paperwork and them constantly claiming that they did not get something or paperwork was out dated. They would make us constantly restart the loan modification process. By 2014, Bank of America had turned the servicing over to SLS who continued this same game. We have now attempted this loan modification process 11 times. The last few loan modification I started to use a Federally Funded Agency to help and still we got the run around. With the 11th loan modification attempt, I made sure to include the Department of Banking (DOB) when I submitted all of my paperwork so they were aware that everything had been sent as required. As usual, SLS claimed paperwork was missing. Both the Agency and DOB confirmed that the paperwork was NOT missing and had been submitted. Instead, we get a letter stating that we never submitted any of the paperwork. I am trying to sue SLS and all their predecessors that were listed on my land records in Federal court. And the DOB had me finally file a complaint against them. I do not hold out much hope but after 7 years of this game playing, it is really absurd.

    0 Votes
  • 1r
    1RugerGrl Jul 31, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Joan Teresa Kloth-Zanard please contact me at [protected] there is still hope, please do not give up.

    0 Votes
  • Eu
    Eugene M Smith Aug 14, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @1RugerGrl It seems like we all have the same story . There must be a way that we came band together,
    and stop this criminal behavior . When large companies are negligent of wrong doing, they just pay the fine, and continue along the same path !!!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem