Singapore Changi Airportrude and racist custom officers

E
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I would like to lodge a complaint regarding the Singapore Changi Airport Custom officers at Terminal 3 called Nur Filiza, a malay lady.
I am a frequent traveler, having to travel to many different airports and go through numerous custom officers. I am truly disgusted by This custom officer as i found her extremely rude and racist.
We ( with my Malay colleague) were going though the custom channel and was asked to scan our bags. There were 3 Malay officers . The Man asked my colleague to go and asked me to open my bag. I am most willing to cooperate with them as it's for the safety of the country. However to my dismay . this Lady (NUR) was either illiterate or just simply RUDE to the core! I asked her what are they looking for as she was rampaging through my stuff, open pouches and left widely open and left it all over the place. And she even attempt to open my box of chocolates! Asking stupid questions like, " Is this chocolates?" There are English wordings of Chocolate on the box! After failed attempts to find something to tax me, she just walk away! Just walk away without a word! I am not a criminal, why should i be treated like one?? She left all my belongings opened and lying everywhere on the table.
She has no respect, no manners! How can a respectable country like Singapore have a staff like her? This is my worst experience with customs in the whole world!

Responses

  • Do
    Donnie Vashir Nov 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is quite different than what I would expect of Singapore. Most often the people at the airport are quite polite.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emma Wellinton Nov 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes... unexpected treatment from Singapore Changi Airport staff!! Disgrace to Singapore!
    I need to make an official complaint!

    2 Votes
  • Au
    Aunty zoo Nov 15, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I read another complain about the singapore immigration being rude in the yahoo A&Q.just 2 days ago. At least you would have believe me if I have told you it happens .singaporeans are becoming too proud of themselves.

    0 Votes
  • Pt
    Ptwh Sep 05, 2012

    This is what exactly happened to me today! The custom officer lady was very rude. She openned my luggage and after messed my stuff around and can't find things to tax me she just left! Without a word! They realy ###ed up!

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AL Wong Nov 18, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The changi airport baggage check ( done just prior to entry into the holding room) should incorporate one very important feature...namely, when travellers were ignorant that any lotion, facial cream or body cream which contained some liquid which needs to be sent for official sealing, the officers should not be so unfriendly and rude, going through the luggage in a rough manner. But most important of all, they should include a feature that allows all such 'confisticated' items to be properly tagged and stored so that once the travellers reached their forward destinations, could retrieve their items ( some costing thousands of dollars) later on. Such unpleasant experience in the hands of such rude, nasty officers and the loss of valuable items is v regretable.

    1 Votes
  • Si
    Sillypore2 May 15, 2014

    YES!
    This is becoming all too frequent at Changi Airport, which is a shame as the facilities are excellent, and its mostly government employees not commercial staff in the stores. IF only the Singapore government could do as good a job of training their officers as the merchants have done.

    0 Votes
  • Ya
    Yawatsup2K Jun 21, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just came back from a short holiday with my family(4 of us) and we were quite tired but happy to reach back in Singapore. At the arrival check out counter, we were told to checkout in twos by a female staff (Terminal 1, 1230pm, 21.6.2014). So my wife and my son went off first followed by me and my daughter. However another female security officer who was guarding at the lane saw me and told that I did not have to wait and can joined my wife to checkout as a whole family instead of letting my wife and son went off first. So I pushed the stroller where my daughter is sitting to join my wife and son at the counter where Md Shariff was manning. Upon seeing me, Md Shariff made a nasty remarks (Malay) " What do you think you can just throw your passport here ?! Get back behind the lane!" He told me off in a rude gesture without even looking at me. I was quiet ashamed when my wife and especially two of my children saw their father being treated like hooligan . I was about to inform him that the female security officer said I can joined my family in checking out together but was so pissed off that I just kept quiet and walked back with my daughter to the starting lane. When it is my turn, Md Shariff ignored looking at me and just kept quiet. I'm not sure whether something pissed him off that day, but there is no reason for him to be rude to a customer.

    Bad service to Singapore Changi Airport Immigration Officer (Md Shariff)!

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    Harry057 Jul 18, 2019

    Racist *alays can't take much stressed, they will become very hostile when they can't sit, chat, pray, eat, smoke, relax etc... during working hours. When you want to hire them make sure you know that for 8 hours job, it's their culture to work only for 4-5 hours. If you need to believe more, visit Malaysia and try to observe their employees especially in public sector backend offices. They are like that.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.