The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Sergeant's Gold Flea & TickCRAP and WILL HURT YOUR DOG!!!!

LISTEN. DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT BUY THIS FOR YOUR DOG!!! DO NOT DO NOT DO NOT!!!

This stuff is soooo bad even the 1-800 number for ER calls is not their company!!! THIS STUFF SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS and is very very very very very harmful to your dog, maltest, cockers, and kind of dog this is NOT what you want to use!!! SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK again SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK!!!

SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK is CRAP! Made by SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC - again SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INCSERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INCSERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INCSERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INCSERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INCSERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC and that is for net clicks because I WANT PEOPLE TO SEE THIS BEFORE

BEFORE BEFORE they buy it and use on their pet!!! I almost lost my dog because of this crap!! IT IS CRAP!!!

If you are reading this and have used it.

WASH YOUR DOG IN PALMOLIVE GREEN OR DOVE - it gets the crap off! IT IS THE ONLY THING THAT WILL GET THE CRAP OFF!!

At least the 1-800 person was HELPFUL and CARING!!! DONT USE SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC ANYTHING THEY MAKE IT IS ###!

SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC SUCKS

SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC for dogs is horrible.

Call me personally if you want to talk about this - even if you work for SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC in Omaha, NE!!!


jonathan

[protected]@yahoo.com


SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC MAKES CRAP

SERGEANT'S PET CARE PRODUCTS, INC KILLS ANIMALS THEY ARE TRYING TO HELP!!!

Responses

  • De
    Depends Jun 24, 2015

    Again please do not use any flea, or tick products on your pets that are young, or are not at least a year old. I do not care what the instructions indicate, use your common sense, read all of the directions. I will avoid any shampoo, and drops at all costs, unless it is absolutely necessary just because my own common sense and education instructions me otherwise, besides they sound dangerous.
    Please, do not use foul language on or in your comments, they only turn people off and away from them. It does you, nor your pets any good to swear, and it will make a large difference if you don't swear. People usually respect your comments more, and will listen if you appear to be more educated and value yourself by not swearing, you lower yourself by using foul language and even hurt the website by swearing. So please, I know your upset, and you love your animals and so do I. But please use your common sense, again I would use a flea collar before any drops, as for the shampoo, I would never, ever wash, or use the shampoo more then once a week. And I would surely rinse it all off, as much as possible after a good shampoo, or wash, and I would never use it on a young pet, dogs, or cats. Good luck and God Bless.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Depends Jun 24, 2015

    Like people, some medications and/or treatments are not safe, while for others they work great. I have had many pets over the years, from dogs, cats, chickens, rats and even snakes, so I have had many experiences with different products. As for my house pets, both cats and dogs I have used both the flea collars, and the drops, over the past few years I have stop using the drops from any company for the control of fleas, and/or ticks. The safety factor is a high priority for me when it comes to my house animals and even for indoors, however I have discovered that a good brand name flea collar, using common sense, like washing your hands, and using on at least a year old pet. Following all instructions, they are safe and effective, but don't use on a senior pet, or one that is not very healthy, or has sores. Like I said, please use your common senses, read directions and even read reviews, but I have had no serious reactions on any of my pets, both cats and dogs did well with these collars.
    I have found that a good brand name, are usually the safest, and you would surely not consider costs when it comes to your children, so please do not buy the cheap, off brand name collars for your pets. Flea collars are ok in my book, considering what fleas and ticks can do to your pets, and to your own health, common sense calls for some form of protection, or prevention. Remember, an once of prevention is much better and affordable, then a pound of cure, correct.
    Again, summon it up, I would use flea collars, but not the drops, they are too easily adsorb into the animals skin, and even yours. At least with the collar, you can somewhat control it, anyway, good luck, it is a personal choice, and please do not show your intelligence by using foul language, it takes away any influence that you wish to imply on any product. Oh well, that's my opinion and I am sticking to it...God Bless and Good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ronnie Chaplin Sr Jul 03, 2013

    I used Sergeants Flea & Tick shampoo for dogs, I used it for quite awhile and my Jack Russell Terrier all of a sudden started trowing up and shakeing in his back legs so I took him to the Vet and I told her I thought he eas poisiond and she felt he had been also, well this dameged his pancrius and now hes on insulin for the rest of his life and Seargents rep, said that there product wouldnt cause this, I think they are a dam lie is what I think Im like the rest of these people I think we ought to have a class law suit brought against these people I have spent 1800.00 dollars to save my dog as of right now and Im not through yet.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    mom23furbabies Aug 02, 2012

    I used flea and tick collars on my 3 cats last night, and they all went completely mental. excessive drooling, panting, and running all over the house. excessive pacing and scratching on top of that. i contacted consumer affairs for the company and am getting a refund. i appreciate the quick manner in which they took care of the situation, and am grateful it wasn't worse that what it was. i knew it was the collars because it was the only different thing i'd done with them. i won't be buying sergeant's again.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laura1128 May 02, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My boyfriend and I put this CRAP on our dachshund/Jack Russell Terrier mix (8 months old). She has been twitching, scratching and moping around ever since. We have given her a bath, but it doesn't seem to be working. I'm about to give her another bath, but not sure if I should use the HARTZ puppy shampoo or try Palmolive. Like all of you, I feel horrible for putting that stuff on her. Does anyone recommend what I should do to get this off of her? I'll try whatever I need to so I can avoid a HUGE vet bill from this company that should be sued for allowing people to buy their poison!! I would also like to know what flea and tick medicine I should buy for our puppy.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Grace Mccoy Feb 26, 2012

    Hi, i am Grace McCoy.I am only nine years old.You guys are mean to my dog! My dog was fine before we gave her that stupid stuff. My dog could of died because of you guys.You guys ruined my life.My dog is nice and NEVER bite someone.I am telling EVERYBODY that you guys almost killed my dog! thank you for being SO mean!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Danimaldonado Sep 30, 2011

    HI!!! PLEASEEEE Im panicking!!! I need help! I just apllied this product to my dog, and now she is uneasy, running through all the house, crying and trying to tell me that there is something wrong! What can I do???? I am giving her a bath in the jacuzzi to get this product off, put what else can I do to save her in my house?

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sargeantsvictimlew Sep 18, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Another thing that helped, was giving our dog some Benedryl after wasjing him a few times with dish soap. The dish soap gets the poison off the skin, but the dog will still be really itchy. You can look up the appropriate amount for your dog's weight online. Our explained to me that the chemical in Sargeants affects the dog's nervouse system, which is why they spazz out. He also confirmed that washing with dish soap and following up with Benedryl is the way to go. Of course, if your dog isn't feeling any better, get him to the vet!

    Durell from May 27th, you mentioned you used the shampoo. I believe most folks here are talking about the flea and tick drops. The drops do indeed contain an ingredient rarely used for flea and tick control because of the problems documented here.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mandigurl Sep 18, 2011

    We applied this to our dog three hours ago and he is now going crazy and in pain. We have two Rottweilers that are full grown. One had sergeants applied and the other hartz ultragaurd. Amazing that the dog with hartz is acting perfectly normal and the one with sergeants is running like crazy and scratching and biting himself until he bleeds. We have now bathed him twice with dish liquid and twice with baby shampoo and neither has worked at all in helping his suffering. I really hope he is feeling better in a few hours because I am pregnant and really not trying to drive 50 miles to the nearest animal hospital. If so, Sergeants WILL be refunding me my money and figuring out a way to have me not so pissed about my dog or my ruined night.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    Speaker2nml Aug 25, 2011

    I usually use Frontline, but I saw the Gold by Sargeant's at a local bargain store. I figured I'd give it a try, if I find a tick The Dude, I'll go back to Frontline. An hour after application my 45lb beagle was completely agitated, scratching and whining. He then started throwing up foam. I googled and found this blog.
    I've now washed him 3x. He is obviously uncomfortable. Can't sit still. Barking at the couch (he doesnt bark, except at rabbits). I've given him 325mgs of Benedryl, hopefully that will give him some comfort. In the past hour (2.5 hours after application) he has barked at the door to go out (again, he is a quiet dog) and urinated like a racehorse 3x.
    I am writing a letter to the CEO where I purchased this terrible product, linking this website. This needs to be taken off the shelves immediately.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John the Pug guy Jun 14, 2011

    Same thing happened to my 3 year old Pug. Applied exactly as instructed on box. 1 hour later she was panting and running aound the house wailing and panting with her toungue hanging out. All night long she would not sleep and was just running around the house. called the 800 number and filed a complaint with a log number. By 9 AM we called our Vet and as stated in other posts he said keep an eye on her and she started to act normally by about 1 PM which was about 19 hours after the application. Sargents can try to cover this up but this stuff is POISON and sould be taken off the market. I have video of my dog suffering so they (Sargents) cannot dispute that this stuff does hurt your dogs.

    DO NOT USE SARGENTS PRODUCTS ... IT WILL CAUSE PAIN AN POSSIBLY KILL YOUR DOG

    John Masson
    email me [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Durell May 27, 2011

    I used this shampoo on my cat 3 times in the last week (didn't leave it on the first time, and my wife didn't later it in well enough the second time) and we have had no problems with our cat getting sick. Now, I'm not trying to start an argument here, but is it possible that in using this shampoo and another product did cause the health issues with your pet. Regardless, unless there is some kind of scientific proof that this product was to blame, it is in fact illegal to claim that it is "poison" and such. A warning that this happened after taking this product is fine...but when you type it like you did..someone like me who reads more then just one website will likely discredit yours...again mainly because it's more tantrum like and not very professorial.

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    c&bburger May 15, 2011

    I agree completely! This stuff should not be on the shelf! It was harmful to my puppy, she was having tremors I hurried and washed it off of her but the cat is always playing with the dogs and she must of been triing to clean the dogs and we neerly lost her! This is a product that should not be around! Animals are very important to us, we would have been devastated if we would of lost any of them!!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sargeantsvictimlew May 12, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We just went through this horror with our 8 year old Walker Coonhound. A couple hours after applying the Sargeants flea and tick drops, he started running around the house like he was on speed. Then he just got totally fidgety, jumpy, and couldn't keep still. I tried to get him into his bed and calm him down, but then his muscles started to sieze up and his legs were going in crazy directions, claws curled up, unable to stand. We guessed it was the drops, so my husband carried him to the tub while I called our 24-hour ER vet. They said bathe him with dish soap and bring him in for evaluation. He was way better after the bath, but I'm still shaking from the fear! After the years of documentation of these complaints, why is this product still available? I would think there would have been some class action law suits by now? Unbelievable. Sargeants doesn't even put a warning of any kind regarding these serious allergic reactions, yet they want us to call and give them the grisly details if something happens?! Our dogs are not your lab rats Sargeants!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnnaT Mar 24, 2011

    Used SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA & TICK, the dog was fine till we put this on her.
    She wouldn't sit still, anxious, panting, you could see she was stressed. This is not like her at all.
    This product should not be on the market.
    It could kill!!! or severly damage your pet!!!
    BEWARE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    FLEABELINA Mar 04, 2011

    I put this Sergeants flea and tick drops on my he is a 22 pound pug and i brought the right kind for his size. i didnt even put the whole tube on him and throw the rest away thinking he would be covered. about six hours after the application he is whining and yelping and rubbing his body all over the furniture and running around. the only way i could get him to hold still was to rub his back repeatedly. i took him to the vet as sooon as they opened and they gave me bathing instructions and some antihistimine pills. 5 hours later and four bathes later and he is still in discomfort and whining. I called the sergeants poison control and they told me that it causes a burning tingling sensation on some dogs. THEY NEED TO STOP SELLING THIS PODUCT!!! my poor dog has been in pain for the last twenty four hours and i cant get the crap off. They told me their reviewing my case for a refund. refund my [censor] they wont pay [censor]. All i have to say is my dog better get better or they are getting sued!

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    kerrie110 Oct 24, 2010

    We bought the Sergeants Gold Flea and Tick squeeze-on for our mini-dachsund yesterday. About an hour after the application was put on, she vomited a LARGE amount of foam and liquid and was shaking and drinking water like crazy!!! Her tail was between her legs (she never does that) and she wouldn't come when I called her she just kept running around the room itching herself and rubbing her back along the floor. She vomited HUGE amounts 4 more times I didn't know so much could come out of such a small dog!!! I gave her a bath (not knowing what to do since there are no suggestions on the box) and she continued to shake and act abnormal for about 2 more hours. I will NEVER use this product again and I will make sure I tell people about what happened and about all these other posts I discovered. I happened upon it by accident because I googled this product to see if anyone else had the same problem. Absolutely horrible this product is still being sold.

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sage's Mom Oct 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I put sargents flea & tick drops on our 6 month old lab mix yesterday as I've done before.A little while later I noticed she was acting strange, unable to sit still, panting, whining and as I rubbed her chest to try and calm her down I could feel her heart pounding.She also was drinking alot of water.Then I remembered that I had put the flea drops on her about 5 hours earlier & decided to Google it to see if other peoples pets had any side effects.Boy was I scared after I read all the horrors about this product.At about mid night last night after quickly reading about what to do, I put her in the bathtub & washed her neck with Dawn dish detergent & rinsed her throughly with water, removed her collar & washed that too.Needless to say I didn't sleep too well last night worrying about how she would be.She is much better today but still not 100 percent herself, ocassionally trying to rub her back on the carpet or anything else but much better than last night, I will bathe her again this morning just to be sure.I can't believe this product is still on the market.I was scared I was going to have to tell my little girls that their best friend died while they were sleeping last night!What a horror, I WILL NEVER purchase any of Sargents products again, they can't be trusted.I threw the rest of it away & will stick with Frontline or possibly find something thats organic.Thank God my Dog is doing o.k now.My heart goes out to those who weren't as fortunate. Sincerely, Donna Finley

    0 Votes
  • Na
    Naomi55 Aug 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a victim also of the Sergeant's Gold tick and flea solution.
    I have a problem with Sergeant’s Pet Care Company. In June of this year, I had found a couple of ticks on our dogs, so I bought Sergeant’s Gold Squeeze On tick solutions for Dogs.

    My husband put the application on the father, and mother.

    About an hour later my daughter saw her puppy in the back yard foaming at the mouth and shaking violently, and falling down. This is my daughter’s (Diamond) puppy. Diamond was home for summer break from college (Wash U in St louis MO.)

    Diamond started to scream, “Somebody get my dog”.
    We rushed Fanta to the veterinarians where they gave her IV’s, and treatments for toxic shock, and poisoning, and they kept her for two hours for observation.

    The puppy was throwing up, she had diarrhea. The vets say that she probably would have died had we not taken her in, and that this was the worst case of toxic poisoning that they had ever seen. They also say that Sergeant’s is aware of this product’s toxicity, and the vets warned us to NEVER use those products again.

    I called Sergeants and they say that their products usually do not cause such severe reaction from ingestion, and told me to send all of the paperwork.

    I submitted all of the paperwork, but they refuse to reimburse me because they say that I used their products illegally by “applying” it to a dog below the 61 lb weight requirement on the package, and that the vet say that Fanta weighs only 50 lbs.

    They refuse to acknowledge that this was “INGESTION”, and not an application issue. For the second time SERGEANT’S have replied and refused to reimburse me saying that I “applied” the medication to Fanta. I feel like they are not even reading the information that I’m sending.

    My daughter was traumatized. This was the first time Diamond had met her puppy. She picked Fanta out of the litter just from seeing photos.
    I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, and I believe that you all should as well.

    THIS STUFF SHOULD NOT BE ON THE MARKET!
    Naomi---Phoenix, AZ

    0 Votes
  • Go
    GODGRRL Aug 02, 2010

    I used the Sentry Natural Defense on my cat. Thinking that the Natural part is better for her. I had to take her to the Animal Hospital last night. She was vomiting and foaming at the mouth. According to poison control this "safe" for use around animals and children can cause kidney failure/neurological problems/seizures/foaming at the mouth etc. Sounds real safe. Cost me around $300 for the vet visits and almost cost me my cat. She is still having a reaction and sometimes foams. The vet seems to think that she should be ok. THIS STUFF IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS!!! DO NOT USE ON YOUR ANIMALS... NOT SAFE!!! DANGEROUS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    sheri k Jun 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I treated all five of are dogs that are all different breeds. All five had reactions! They acted like I poured acid on them. Four baths later and now they are just misserable except for our doxie, she just shakes and crys still and this is day three.

    0 Votes
  • My
    mypoorchihuahua Jun 25, 2010

    OMG!!! My poor Chihuahua!!! We put this on her night before last and she hasn't been the same since! The next morning she was running around and biting at her backside and salavating like crazy. Everytime she would come to cuddle she couldn't lay still; up and down, up and down! She was so thirsty she was actually walking around in her water dish! I feel so badly that I didn't check this stuff out before I bought it! Thank you for all of your postings. I gave her a bath and she has calmed down a little bit. If she continues to act like a rabid squirl, I am taking her to the vet. My poor poor baby! I will never buy Sergeant's anything ever again for my dogs!

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    pitbullmama Jun 21, 2010

    I put this crap on my babys a pitbull and my little chichuua and they started to go crazy my pit started droaling and foaming at the mouth it is scaring me to death i never thought that a product that was sold at the store or is even on the market could do such a thing I'm so scared right now and i don't no what to do for my poor babys if this stuff kills them i will be sure im sueing the hell out of this piece of crap compnay sergants is the worst stuff and needs to do something besides posting i hope they are better help us with our vet bilss from applying your bull crap that posiened them !!! [email protected] im pissed

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    wills13 May 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I also have been affected by this. My poor wheaten terrier has been acting erratic all day ever since receiving a dosage of this. He obviously is in pain. I bathed him in the Palmolive, and applied the vitamin E...but he is still extremely uncomfortable. I feel terrible that I did this to my beloved dog. My kids are so upset watching him in so much pain...they are extremely upset...we are all extremely upset. DO NOT PUT THIS PRODUCT ON YOUR DOG!

    In defense of the medical team...they were very kind...but I wish I would have known that such a reaction is quite common. This should be pulled from the market immediately!

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sergeant SUCKS Apr 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is the BS response I received back from Sergeants..Needless to say I was not very nice when I responded to them!! I attached a link to this complaint board and will not be giving them any of my information..Please if anyone has not contacteed them do so only so your complaint can be documented with them.The are liars and animal killers.If anyone has idea how we can stop them please let me know. They need to look at the statistics again, don't they???Low my ###!


    Dear Ms. O'Kelley,

    Thank you for contacting Sergeant's Pet Care Products. We are truly sorry to hear that your dog may have had a reaction to our Gold Squeeze-On for Dogs. How is your dog doing? We hope that your dog feeling better.

    We can assure you that the manufacturing and use of our flea and tick products are approved and closely regulated by the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). Sergeant’s has tested its flea and tick products in accordance with EPA rules and regulations in order to ensure that the products are safe. As warned on the product label, some animals may exhibit sensitivities to ANY pesticide product. However, the number of animals that may experience a sensitivity to these products is statistically very low.

    We are extremely concerned about this occurrence and would like to start an investigation. Would you please respond to this email with your full mailing address so we can mail you an Adverse Reaction Report to complete? We also ask that you please send in a copy of the proof of purchase (box, UPC code from box, tube, or a receipt), a copy of the itemized vet bill, as well as the completed Adverse Reaction Report. Once this information is received, we will ask a Review Committee to look into this matter and respond to you. Our mailing address for your records is as follows:

    Sergeant's Pet Care Products
    Attn: Consumer Affairs Department
    2625 S. 158th Plaza
    Omaha, NE 68130

    Fax: [protected]

    Once again we are sorry for your inconvenience and appreciate you taking the time to contact us. If we can be of further assistance please feel free to call our Consumer Affairs Department at [protected].

    Kindest regards,

    Danielle
    Sergeant's Pet Care Products
    Consumer Affairs Department

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sargeantssucks Mar 31, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I wish I had read these before putting this on my Miniature Schnauzer... I feel like a horrible pet owner right now. My dog has been going crazy and itching and scratching for 24 hours. I've already given him 5 baths, last two with palmolive and I've given him 2 benadryls today. It's sad that this company continues to sell such a product knowing they are causing harm. I'm really too angry to continue typing about this subject.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chris in MO. Mar 20, 2010

    Thank-you for posting this and for talking me through my ordeal this morning, yesterday I gave my 3 dogs SERGEANT'S GOLD FLEA&TICK SQUEEZE-ON FOR DOGS-40lbs.to 60lbs.this morning 03-20-2010, I had dog vomit from the 2nd. floor to the 1st. floor, frothy dog vomit everywhere.My dogs are in distress, my Jack Russel was looking for somewhere to hide and retching, I followed your advice, just washed them down, my 13 year old spanial is just acting depressed and suffering, this is a terrible product, will never buy it again.Chris C in Missouri.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Sergeant SUCKS Mar 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I put this Sergeant Crap on my dog today .I bought it at the local CVS.I have had her 14 years .She was drooling terribly, shaking, and could hardly walk about 12 hours after the application.I can not believe that Sergeants is allowed to continue to manufacter and sell this ###! I as well call the number on the box.I gave her 3 bathes with dish soap, washed her mouth out with several glasses of water and put vitamin e oil down her throat.I was told the medicine was probably burning her.This is ### !!! I will be talking to friend tomorrow who is a lawyer.Screw you Sergeant!!! You people make me sick. Your going to pay for hurting my dog! I will also be contacting CVS to let them know they should not be carrying your products!!

    0 Votes
  • Be
    BeagleOwner Feb 20, 2010

    I had serious issues with my beagles. I saw the posting. Has anyone tried calling the Consumer Affairs Department for Sergeant's? They don't answer. It is just endless hold music. Perhaps a class action lawsuit is more appropriate?

    0 Votes
  • Lk
    lkp Feb 19, 2010

    The product I usually buy was not available at my store so I purchased Sergeant's Gold (9lbs to 20 lbs) for my two dogs. I applied the product as instructed and within 30 minutes my two dogs (12 lb Silkie and a 20 lb King Charles) were suffering. The Silkie started whining, twitching and scratching and the King Charles started screaming anytime he tried towalk. I quickly put both dogs in the sink and tried to wash off the product. It seemed to help the Silkie, but the King Charles continued to scream in pain any time he moved.

    Two days later they were both acting uncomfortable the King Charles would no move on his own. He would not eat and had not urinated or pooped. Except for occasional twitching the Silkie was acting normal. I received a call from someone at Sergeant's ( I emailed them) who was very nice and suggested that I bath both dogs again using a particular dish soap and to be sure that I washed between the toes of their feet. She also suggested I change their collars incase the stuff got on them.

    I washed the dogs and it is now the third day. This morning the Silkie spit up some white foamy stuff, but ate and drank normally after that. The King Charles finally walk slowly from his kennel to the dog bowl and ate and drank then he walked slowly to the dog bed in the tv room and layed down and began chewing on a toy. Thankfully he walked without any obvious pain.

    This is a terrible product that should come off the market. I don't think I will ever buy another dog product without checking the internet for possible product problems first. I certainly will not buy a Sergeant's product again. I'm so thankful my dogs survived this.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David X Leveille Feb 12, 2010

    This stuff KILLED my dog. I placed this stuff on my 120lb. Chesapeake Bay Retriever about ayear and a half ago with the same symptoms. She had two seizures before I got a hold of the vet. I washed the dog 3 times in Dawn dish detergeant to get the stuff off and then rushed her to the Veterinary Hospital where they placed her on Valium for 3-4 days which seemed to stop the seizures. However, they continued to occurr in clusters of 3 almost every month. Then we started treating with Phenobarbital and Potassium Bromide and at one point went 3 months w/o a seizure. However, as of recent the seizures continued to get worse. She began to lose control of her hind legs as I suspect there was damage done to the nervous system in the spine where you apply the poison. Then she went into seizures for 6 hours (in and out every 5 minutes) the other night until I had no choice but to put her down at the young age of 4. Its unfortunate that everybody, including myself, reading this site has already made the mistake before reading this information. THere is an alternative to using these chemicals on your pet. Since that incident I had been giving my dog Garlic Pills which are just as good if not better at preventing Fleas and Ticks on animals. It is even used on horses. There are also natural flea & tick shampoos that you can use on your pet. You can purchase them at places like allnaturalpet.com. If you know somebody who uses these chemicals (whether it be Hartz, Sergeants, Frontline, Bio Spot, Revolution, etc) please inform them of the side effects and encourage them to use natural products rather than these poisonous pesticides on their pet before it is to late.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    MOLLI THOREN Feb 03, 2010

    THIS STUFF IS SO SCARY, LAST NIGHT I PUT THIS MED ON MY 12 LB DOG AND ABOUT 2 HRS LATER SHE WAS GOING NUTS. I HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS WRONG. SHE WAS DROOLING EVERY WHERE, RESTLESS, CHEWING HERSELF, PANTING, DIGGING THE FURNITURE!! I HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS WRONG. I KEPT HOLDONG HER TRYING TO GET HER TO CALM DOWN. THAT JUST GOT ME SOAKING WET. I CALLED THE EMERGENCY VET PLACE AT 320 THIS AM AND THEY ASKED ME IF I HAD USED ANY MEDS OR TREATED HER WITH ANYTHING. WHAT A COINICIDENCE! I TOLD THEM I HAD JUST USED THIS PRODUCT. THE TOLD ME I SHOULD GIVE HER A BATH AND IF I HAD ANY TRY TO GIVE HER A SEDATIVE. SO THERE I WAS GIVING MY DOG A BATH A 300 IN THE MORNING! I WAS SO SCARED. I GAVE HER A TINY PIECE OF A SEDATIVE SHE WAS GIVEN FOR SOME THING ELSE. SHE FINALLY CALMED DOWN A TINY BIT ENOUGH FOR ME TO BE ABLE TO PUT HER DOWN. WHAT A NIGHTMARE. THIS STUFF IS POISON, I WISH I HAD KNOWN BEFORE I PUT HER THRU THIS.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sarapalin4us Jan 15, 2010

    ju crap a dog jes?

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    missmommy Jan 15, 2010

    I applied this to our 75 lb. Chesapeake Bay Retriever this afternoon. I have used this product twice before with no problems. Tonight she cannot sit still, keeps licking herself, is going in circles, is jittery and panting. I thought she had injested something. When I googled this and found everyone's posts I immediately put her into the Jacuzzi to wash this crap off of her. I will NEVER use this again. I checked the box and there were no possible side effects listed except "if signs of sensitivity occur..." What the hell is "sensitivity"? What it should say is "if your dog starts acting like they are suffering from crack withdraw, immediately wash this off of them and switch to Hartz Ultraguard."

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    krkmw1995 Dec 26, 2009

    I gave this to our dog on Thursday night and he was up and down all night! This was after washinging it off as best I could too. He was panting, couldn't sit or lay still, and just agitated! It was awful and I felt so bad for giving it to him! Had I known, I would have NEVER EVER used this product! Don't give it to your dogs - it is bad news! Fortunately, my dog is starting to get a little back to normal. He's able to sleep some and is starting to play more. However, he still has spells where he shakes and can't lay still for very long. We are going to try the bath with Palmolive or Dove and see if that helps. Thanks for the suggestions on what works to get it off! I hope that it works!

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    FanOfPaws Dec 20, 2009

    The post from Glory Ervin is exactly what I am experiencing with Rudy, my 13 lbs Shizuh this very minute. We put it on him and in less than an hour he was barking at us and being sassy. We bathed him with his dog shampoo to get the stuff off (no where ON the box does it say to use any other kind of soap) Still, he was aggitated and would sit still. I called the toll-free number on the box and the lady said to bath him in Dawn dishwashing soap and apply vitamin E oil. I called again 3 hours and no change in their advise. I called a local emergency vet clinic and the lady said she hears this ALL the time from this product. She said this stuff is POISON to PETS. She suggested children's benedryl might make him comfy - I couldnt really see a change in him after an hour, so I searched GOOGLE and read ALL these terrible stories. I wish I would have looked here first - this product is nothing short of POISON. I called the toll-free number from the box back and the person was surprised when I told her what the internet said. Something has to be done - when you clearly us a product as instructed and this is the outcome, something has to be done. On the box the only warning is " Sensitivies may occur.." I would be interested in knowing the success rate of this product.

    0 Votes
  • Du
    Duke's Mom Oct 24, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My 1 1/2 year old Lab had a severe reaction to Sergeants Gold Squeeze on Flea medication. We applied to his skin on Monday. That same night he woke up very restless. His eyes were "wild" and he could not sit still. Well today is now Saturday and after a few nights at the vet I brought him home to more than likely die. If you love your pet like I do DO NOT USE this product it WILL KILL your dog.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shellij Oct 09, 2009

    I used this product on my shih tzu and I had to take her to the vet. She was foaming from the mouth and was having seizures. This is a dangerous product for pets of all kinds.
    I think Sargeant's should pay our vet bills and remove this product completely!!!

    0 Votes
  • Gl
    Glory Ervin Sep 25, 2009

    I bought Sargeant's Flea & Tick squeeze on for dogs 9-20 lbs. at Menard's on Sunday. My dog is a 13 lbs. shizh. My husband applied it on Thursday evening as she had been to the groomer's on Saturday she suggested that we should apply Flea Tic medication to her in a couple of days as she had found some on her. About 2 hours after applying it, she started walking around, couldn't be still, scratching and drinking a lot of water. We picked her up and tried to hold her to calm her down, but all she wanted to do was to get down and walk around continuously. My husband and I agreed that it was probably the the tick med he put on her. We thought it might be just a mild irritation to it. So we put her to bed later and she barked most of the night. My husband got up this morning at 4:30 a.m. to let her go to the bathroom. He let her out in our backyard and sat with her until she finished. She still would not stop walking continuously. When I got up at 6 a.m. to go to work, she was still walking and scratching. I noticed klumps of hair in her bed. My Husband bathed her with her regular shampoo and she seemed to calm down.

    I decided to google Sargeant's and discovered that this stuff is no good. I called my husband back and told him to bathe her again this time with the Dawn and called our Vet. We will be taking her in to see him right away.

    Please do not use this product. It can harm your pet. It should be taken off the market.

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    aelapolla Sep 06, 2009

    My 12 pound shiz tsu is experiencing a very severe reaction right now. The vet I consulted stated that she sees this reaction all the time from this product. My dog is suffering needlessly. As an attorney and a nurse, I believe it is unacceptable to keep this product on the shelf. There are no warnings on or in the box describing the possibility of such a reaction. I know my vet bill will be over $500.00 for treatment. This product is inherently dangerous and causes harm to animals.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.