Santanderauto reposession

F
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I bought a car in Oct 2017 & financed through HSBC. In March 2017 I found out that my loan had been sold to Santander. This company has some of the worst customer service and policies I've ever experienced. Once they get a phone#, they constantly are calling you to harass you about payment. If you try to call them back, you cannot talk to a live person...so they never know that you have attempted to contact them. Bottom line, we fell behind on our payments due to some health issues and associated bills and they agreed to defer payment. I now know that they tack this on to the end of your loan and interest accrues all the while. Come to find out I fell behind as deferrment was never processed and another payment was due before I could get resolved as you never talk to the same person twice. I was told that standard procedure is you go to voicemail if you request to speak to a manager and they will call you back. That never happened until one day when I insisted to stay on the line until I spoke to a manager and then she was incredibly rude, disrespectful and of no assist. Long story short, without notice, two men arrived at my door on January 15 to repo my car for non-payment, even though I'd told them I would have money in the next 2 weeks and would bring my account current. I relinquished the care; when I called to get status of repo I was told some unreasonable amount of money that was due and informed that to get my vehicle back I would have fees above the quoted amount. The car evidently was sold at auction. This week the phone calls and automated messages started again from Santander...asking for the payment of the balance of my loan. I've been paying on this car for 3 years and my loan amount is barely below the amount I signed for when I bought the car! I've asked for documentation and cannot get my hands on it. Now they want over $7700.00! I read on Pissed Comsumer.com that there is a class action lawsuit against Santander - does anyone know the status of this? 60 Minutes has also been called. We need to stand together and get these predatory lenders out of our lives! I need an attorney - anyone have a good recommendation-live in KY. Thanks

Responses

  • Ar
    archhist Apr 30, 2012

    Auto loan over 1 year not behind but notice the strange fees that I NEVER RECEIVE AN ANSWER ON CARMAX also a party to this as they lie at closing to receive large kick back to use Santander financing. Then you are stuck! lie after lie!
    Santander claims to offer a payment reduction plan, this plan is for 6 month's. to assist you if you may have a problem making payment in future.
    So far 18 phone calls e-mails. talk on line, produce nothing! The Presidents Office checked out to be a phony racist check point.
    Yes, that is correct! The off the cuff remark by a so called representative when he called me all but a liar, that they sent out the information. THAT ALL MY INFORMATION WAS INCORRECT., SAME SPIEL EVERY ONE IS A LIAR!, AND OF COURSE THEY SEND YOU E-MAILS AND CALLS ALL THE TIME.MY SECOND TIME CALLING THE LIAR PRESIDENTS OFFICE.
    The representative slurred out whitey and something else. when he went to supposedly retrieve the forms, stalled me online for 20 minutes stated he e-mailed them to me. and to call him the next day.
    I never received the forms, as I expected. then it is the same lie after lie and lie. and 5days lated and 45 days nothing in the mail no e-mail .nothing. I THOUGHT IT STRANGE THAT I NEVER HAVE GOTTEN TO SPEAK WITH A NON BLACK PERSON, SEEMED STRANGE BUT NOW I KNOW WHY.
    check with FOX NEWS DALLAS. on the investigation of this company LAW SUITE OVER 600;
    A CORRUPT COMPANY.

    0 Votes
  • Bl
    blushersbest Feb 27, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have set up a transfer of money to a company in UK for transfer to my Australian bank account. My account has been frozen because of 'security' reasons; I have called Santander every day for 5 days now and they insist the security team have to make a call to me to verify I am on the numbers in contact details. I find myself in Australia with $6 in my purse, no means of paying the motel and no means of getting more funds transferred. This is the worst experience of any bank I have ever encountered. They have absolutely no heart, although I have satisfied all the security questions on every phone call, i still can't get a call back from security. Don't bank with them, do whatever you can to secure your funds elsewhere. A very sad expat in Australia.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    cheriecannon May 22, 2011

    Anyone willing to be involved in a class action law suit please contact me asap! [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Yu
    Yuohatemyscreenname May 18, 2011

    I don't know what to do at this point either. I have tried to discuss my loan and get an early pay off but they kept hanging up on me. Finally when I did get through to them they where just absolutely rude. Now they are calling my work phone number. The pay off I get from the website is for the maturity of the loan which is BS! I should not have to be paying the interest on my auto loan all the way through when im paying it off 2 years early!!

    0 Votes
  • Cp
    CP in HTEXAS May 11, 2011

    Who ever you are in denver put the bong down and go back to work and let the poeple getting screwed deal with this you have no voice here. I, however, do and if i want your opinion I will ask for it. I see more complaints than not. that should tell you something about this abomination that calls itself an company, and they should have been up front with the addition of ten percent to my already spooty credit 14 percent that . Drive said was the reason for the 14 percent was already because of that credit so I get f$%$#d twice.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    mikes_ou Apr 30, 2011

    The problem is that I never financed through Santander the bought my loan from Citifinancial. And they problem is not that I can't pay my bill is that they want to lose my payment that they cashed and not give me credit for it. How would you feel if you sent a check that they cashed and tell you that they never received it? That's what I'm going through. And how would you feel if all you get from the customer service is ... you need to do a trace, you need to submit proof that it was cashed, and you need to make another payment.

    0 Votes
  • Hu
    humm Apr 29, 2011

    What you said is true, but their always someone else or even another company that will take you. However, nomatter who it is everyone should be able to vent wheter you get a negative or a positive response. Fine we all have to get pass that point vent and keep moving forward from that point and don't be found in that situation again.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnnieOakley Apr 29, 2011

    NOT A COMPLAINT at Santander! It is a company that finances hard to finance people. If you signed the contract, DEAL WITH IT. After a time of GOOD payments, you can go elsewhere and refinance, but don't slam the helper! They were there when you needed them. The arm leg I pay them is MY fault, NOT THEIRS. If your 'iffy' about it, take the bus or save a couple payment amounts and buy something for cash.
    There are enough truly crappy companies out there to complain about. To my experience, this is not one of them.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jannxxxxx Apr 19, 2011

    a company was trying to take cash from my account i had told this company NOT to but they tried and tried, each time i ended up with a £30 fine from the bank through no fault of my own, however the bank santander started calling my mobile up to 7 times a day leaving a stupid message, i am a mature disabled person and find this upsetting so after around 56 calls in a week i called them sorted out the debt and told them i would be in touch, BUT still they call 4 calls today already its only 6pm, 6 calls yesterday please get them to stop, i dont want to change my number as hospitals doctors family all have this number, i have asked them not to call, i filed a complaint against them, and i have been rude, i have hung up NOTHING STOPS the calls, , , , , help

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheAngryConsumer Mar 12, 2011

    Wow, I just noticed there's 717 complaints about Santander.. I can't really say I'm surprised..

    0 Votes
  • Th
    TheAngryConsumer Mar 12, 2011

    Tried to register on Santander's site to monitor my payments and balance, but says that my email is already on file.. but I never registered.. Every time I call them they give me an excuse of why I cannot give me my login information, understandably, but instead state that they will reset my password. I never receive that password through my email. Then the bank started deducting my car payments out of my retired mother's bank account (no idea how they got her information since she has never done business with them), at the same time I was paying EXTRA on my account.. the worst part is, they never credited her money to my account.. it went missing?? hmmm.. but her bank showed clearly that Santander did a withdrawl from her account in the amount of $515 (my car payment is only $463). On top of that, the extra money I pay is not being paid toward principal (which means I will never pay this car off no matter HOW much I pay them..)..

    Damage: My mother's credit union account of 21 years was closed down due to overdrafting PLUS the fees accumulated.

    This bank is a scam..

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mitch Calhoun Feb 09, 2011

    Like many of the other complaints my loan was passed from Citifinancial Auto to Santander and immediately there were problems. For 40 something payments with Citifi Auto no problems, then these unprofessional people get it and immediately i have problems and extra fees. First they were taking two payments out of my account then one month they took three, I stopped having money in the account and started using another and havent paid them for two months. I got a call saying i owed a past due amount for three months. They included March 2017 payment in the past due! WTF! its the begining of FEB how can I be past due an amount for a month that hasnt happened yet! I hate this company and will be refinancing immediately

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leonel A & Kimberly A Feb 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Before Santander took over Citi Financial, Citi Financial set up a payment on my accvount and I have done everything Santander has asked me to do as far as faxing over the proof of documents of the payment that was set up and Santander continues recurring late fees and stating that we are one payment behind and this is causing major issues. We are due a refund on the recurring late fees. Its making the balance occur more interest on a balance thats not appropriate! Get it straight.. I make my payments EVERY MONTH... NO COMPLAINTS FROM SANTANDER ON MY PAYMENTS BEING MADE MONTHLY...

    0 Votes
  • Es
    Esalated Jan 11, 2011

    I contacted Santander repeatedly to find out why my payments were applied to interest. The told me that they could not tell me the amount of interest i owed then told me to call in. When i called in the person said i didn't owe back interest. Then I sent extra in to pay down my principal and it was all applied to interest. I called them 4 times to discuss this issue no help. I am escalating my issue.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Va Beach, VA Nov 14, 2010

    I completely agree! We had "almost" the EXACT same situation around the same timeframe (save for a few small details) . We were NOT notified by Citifinancial and the first notice I received was a late notice.

    I never received and October statement either. Funny thing is, a supervisor told me last month after the first debacle that the amount on the statements wasn't always correct anyway...

    My advice to anyone considering this business ( and I use that word "business" very loosely here) is that if it smells like a fish and it you know it isn't a fish then AVOID.

    To current clients REFINANCE with another company ASAP if possible.

    To those who can't, well, call them daily to ask what you owe and when. Then hope they give you the right answers.

    K. French

    0 Votes
  • Ee
    eeyore0965 Nov 01, 2010

    I purchased a Jeep Wrangler from a local dealer and they set up my loan through Drive Financial in 2017 approximately $16, 000.00. During the course of the loan I made $450.48 month payments to Drive Financial then it switched to Santander in 2017. I recently suffered from medical condition and got behind the harrassment calls and contacts and threats were devasting to my reputation. I have reviewed my current balance it is the same as it was when i first purchased the vehicle. How is this possible? They have tried to repo the Jeep even though I have brought my account to current. I do not understand how this company can buy my loan without my consent then start my loan from beginning amount after paying on the vehicle for 3 years.

    0 Votes
  • Wr
    Wright F Oct 25, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I received a letter from Citi Financial that my car loan account had been sold to Santander and that we would be receiving a coupon booklet to make our car payments in the future. I began checking the mail daily in an effort to make sure I did not overlook receiving this booklet so that I could make my car payment in a timely manner. However, I did not receive a booklet from Santander; what I received was a statement that was supposedly mailed out on 9/27/10 and may payment was due 10/10/10. This statement was received on Saturday 10/09/10; however, I did not check my mail until Sunday, 10/10/10 (glad I did). On the statement it says "there is NO grace period for payments. If your payment is not received or is returned for non-sufficient funds, immediate collection procedures and applicable fees begin...If you do not receive a billing statement for any given month, call our toll free number [protected] and notify us immediately." Evidently, this is something to be on guard for. Needless to say, my husband then called and made a payment by phone which costs an additional $10.95. I totally believe this was done intentionally in hopes that people sign up to pay online and if you don't you are penalized for it by paying additional fees. Anyway, I called their customer service number the next day to see if this is their practice to send statements out late. I spoke with "Natasha of the South Carolina office" she did not want to give me her last name; she told me that statements are usually mailed out 15 days before payments are due...okay well let's see between 9/27 to 10/10 that's 12 days and then she stated there is most likely a problem with my postal service and I need to call them (I stated I would do that if I needed to but I don’t think that’s the problem - we will see when it’s time for next month’s payment). Ms. Natasha then informed me that I could have sent them a payment earlier because there name and address information was on the letter sent to me by Citi Financial. What? What type of customer service is this??!! Whatever I said she had a reply for but no apologies. I have a bad feeling about this company especially after reading the other reports. So keep up when your payments are due (you may even have to submit payment before receiving a statement) as it may be this company's intention to trap you!!!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tooz Oct 13, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    From what I understand they pay well below the market for collectors and customer service reps. I've also heard they run it lie a sweatshop. So, if you combine the two...people under stress that will work for peanuts and you get a get poorly run company where the left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. They probably couldn't stop the double payment as it may have already been sent to your bank. However it shouldn't have happened in the first place. If I were you I would be VERY proactive. I'd talk to a manager and see if they can refund you ASAP. I hope it works out for you. Hopefully you can get this paid off quick so they can't make any money off you.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Desi2kus Oct 10, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I paid my first car note and the idiots ran my card twice so it was a total of 2 payments instead of one. I've been calling their customer service (yea right)and no one knows what to do or they hung up. How does a company get away with this? Finally a capable person (yea right again)took my information and then stated he was not sure if he could get this cleared and oh by the way, he admitted that it was their fault. So why couldn't he stop the double payment? Bad company ever. When the rep took my payment I knew she made a mistake and when I inquired, she replied there was an transaction error but never clearly stated what she had done. so I hold Santander completely responsible sine the people they hire are very incompetent when it comes to this sort of business.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    Greg Metcalf Jun 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I had been with Abbey all my life, i am 45 now and now Santander have taken them over i have had nothing but problems.
    I have not seen a statement since the takeover, i opened a basic account to save in over 3 months ago and have recieved nothing, I have spoken to several people on the phone who just give poor excuses and sometimes even hang up because they dont know how to resolve the situation. I have never been rude or abusive towards them on the phone, i just want answers.

    I lost my debit card a few months ago and reported it missing straight away. it took over 2 months for me to recieve a new card.

    Its pretty clear to me that they are sending documents to another address that is not mine but just keep telling me the the royal mail has a terrible service and are always losing mail.

    I should withdraw all my money and go with a bank that knows what they are doing but the thought of all the changes that would need to be made puts me of.

    one very annoyed customer
    Greg Metcalf

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DogBoy74 Feb 09, 2010

    In the past year I had to close an account that i had with the (former) Abbey now Santander because after over ten years of having the account they just decided to change my name thus locking me out of my own account due to the data protection act. Ever since closing the account, three times to be exact, i have been sent random peoples bank statements through the post all obviously with my address on them. The first time this happened i took the statement into my local branch to inform them of their mistake just to be told that this is a common mistake and watched as the assistant nonchelontly tore it up and brushed the whole issue aside rapidly.

    I now have three peoples complete bank account details thanks to these jokers and i just can't seem to find anyone that gives a toss about it. I would supply photographic evidence but that would be wrong. I wonder how these people would feel if they knew i had their bank account details, i know how i would feel.

    Can anyone shed any light on this for me..??

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.